The Archives and Special Collections is on the third floor of the J.D. Williams Library. It is open to researchers Monday through Friday from 8am to 5pm. Before beginning research in manuscript collections, expect to complete a researcher registration form at the Reference Desk and show a photo ID.
Contact:
Dr. Leigh McWhite
Political Papers Archivist & Associate Professor
slmcwhit@olemiss.edu
League of Women Voters of Mississippi Collection. This collection contains the official records for the Mississippi division of this national, nonpartisan organization which “encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government and influences policy through education and advocacy.” Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
James O. Eastland Collection. Jim Eastland served in the U.S. Senate for a few months in 1941 and then from 1943 until his retirement in 1978. The collection contains quite a bit of material on the subject of housing at the federal and state levels, including correspondence with presidents, congressional colleagues, federal departments and agencies, organizations and constituents as well as recordings, newspaper clippings, speeches, and press releases. Please contact the Political Papers Archivist directly for a more explicit list of relevant information on housing and where they are located in this large and complex collection. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Jamie L. Whitten Collection. Jamie Whitten served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1941 until his retirement in 1995. Lafayette County remained in his district throughout his tenure in office. The collection contains quite a bit of material on the subject of housing at the federal and state levels, including correspondence with presidents, congressional colleagues, federal departments and agencies, organizations and constituents as well as recordings, newspaper clippings, speeches, and press releases. Please contact the Political Papers Archivist directly for a more explicit list of relevant information on housing and where they are located in this large and complex collection. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
John C. Satterfield/American Bar Association Collection. A Mississippian, John C. Satterfield served as president of the American Bar Association in 1961-1962. In 1969, Time magazine described him as “the most prominent segregationist lawyer in the country.” Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
While researching, keep track of the location of material that you intend to reference in your research paper. Remember that you are providing bread crumbs for readers (or your professor) to retrace your steps and find that specific item. The following information is essential:
Sample:
Letter dated 8 August 1958 from John Smith to Chancellor Porter L. Fortune. Chancellors Collection/Porter L. Fortune (Box 28, Folder 12). Department of Archives and Special Collections, University of Mississippi.
An Appraisal of the Fair Market Rental of Faculty Housing on the Oxford Campus of the University of Mississippi, July 27, 1988 [Oxford, MS: Brian Pray Reality, 1988]. Call Number: LB3225 P73 1988.
An Appraisal of Estimated Fair Market Annual Rental Apartments and Single Family Homes, University of Mississippi [Oxford, MS: Dewey Hawkins Reality, 1982]. Call Number: LB3225 H39 1982.
An Appraisal which Reflects Fair Market Rentals on Properties Located on and off the Campus of the University of Mississippi [Oxford, MS: Jerry Bristow, 1982]. Call Number: LB3225 B75 1982.
Michael Baker Jr. A Comprehensive Plan for Oxford, Mississippi (1962). Call Number: HT393 M72 O94 1962.
Judith Coursey Crowson. “A Study of the Adequacy of Mobile Home Living for Married College Students in Relation to Their Current Housing Values” (M.A. thesis University of Mississippi; 1967). Call Number: Thesis.
Housing Element Update: Citizen Participation, A-95 Review, Technical Assistance (Pontotoc, MS: Three Rivers Planning and Development District, 1974). Includes Lafayette County. Call Number: HT393 M72 T4646 1974.
Initial Housing Element Update (Pontotoc, MS: Three Rivers Planning and Development District, 1973). Includes Lafayette County. Call Number: HT393 M72 T4755 1973.
Initial Housing Element Update (Pontotoc, MS: Three Rivers Planning and Development District, 1972). Includes Lafayette County. Call Number: HT393 M72 T47 1972.
Lafayette County Rural Area Development Committee (Miss.). Comprehensive Overall Economic Development Program (OEDP), Lafayette County, Mississippi (1962). Call Number: HC107 M7 L3.
Housing Element Update: Citizen Participation, A-95 Review, Technical Assistance (Pontotoc, MS: Three Rivers Planning and Development District, 1974). Includes Lafayette County. Call Number: HT393 M72 T4646 1974.
Initial Housing Element Update (Pontotoc, MS: Three Rivers Planning and Development District, 1973). Includes Lafayette County. Call Number: HT393 M72 T4755 1973.
Initial Housing Element Update (Pontotoc, MS: Three Rivers Planning and Development District, 1972). Includes Lafayette County. Call Number: HT393 M72 T47 1972.
Lafayette County Rural Area Development Committee (Miss.). Comprehensive Overall Economic Development Program (OEDP), Lafayette County, Mississippi (1962). Call Number: HC107 M7 L3.
Neighborhood Analysis and Housing Element, Capital Improvements Program (Oxford, MS: Michael L. Bridge and Associates, 1972). Call Number: HT393 M71614 M53.
Overall Program Design Update (Pontotoc, MS: Three Rivers Planning and Development District, 1974). Includes Lafayette County. Call Number: HT393 M72 T47695 1974.
Oxford-Lafayette Chamber of Commerce. Oxford, Mississippi, Lafayette County (1962). Map. Call Number: G3984 O9 O9 1962.
Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce. Industrial and Community Statistical Data Brochure: Oxford-University, Mississippi (1963). Call Number: F349 O9 I53 1963.
Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce. Map of Oxford (1981). Call Number: G3984 O9 1981 M37.
Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce. Mullin-Kille and Chamber of Commerce, Oxford, Mississippi ConSurvey City Directory. Special Collections has 1960 and 1963. Call Number: F349 O9 M852.
Oxford (Miss.). Subdivision Regulations: A Part of the Comprehensive City Plan (Michael Baker Jr., 1961). Call Number: F349 O9 O89 1961.
Nina Llewellyn Stein. “A Descriptive Study of Eastview Apartments, a Public Housing Project in Oxford, Mississippi” (M.A. thesis; University of Mississippi; 1971). Call Number: Thesis.
A Town Survey [Oxford, MS: League of Women Voters, 1965). Call Number: F349 O9 O9.
Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy, State of Mississippi, October 1991-September 1996 [1992]. Call Number: HD7303 M7 C66 1992.
Mary Wallace Crocker. “An Analysis of the Living Arrangements and Housing Conditions of Old Age Assistance Recipients in Mississippi” (Thesis; Florida State University; 1968). Call Number: HV1468 M7 C76.
Mary Wallace Crocker. “The Role of Public Housing in Mississippi” (Thesis; University of Mississippi; 1963). Call Number: Thesis.
Vernon Davies. Housing for Mississippians (University, MS: Bureau of Public Administration, 1947). Call Number: HM15 M5 no.1.
Annie Belle Fort. “The Federal Housing Administration and Its Activities in the State of Mississippi” (Thesis; University of Alabama; 1939). Call Number: HD7303 M7 F67 1939.
Jesse Oscar McKee. “The Residential Patterns of Blacks in Natchez and Hattiesburg and Other Mississippi Cities” (Thesis: Michigan State University, 1972). Does not include Oxford. Call Number: E185.89 H6 M32.
Non-Farm Dwelling Construction in Mississippi 1940-45 (University, MS: 1946). Call Number: HC107 M7 U56 no.2.
Population Characteristics of Persons by Mississippi Cities (1980). Census of Population and Housing. Call Number: HA461.5 1980 C46 v.3 pt.1 (OVRS).
United States. Bureau of Census. 1970 Census of Housing. Detailed Housing Characteristics. Mississippi. Call Number: HA222 1970 D47 M7 1972.
United States. Bureau of Census. 1970 Census of Housing. General Housing Characteristics. Mississippi. Call Number: HA222 1970 G45 M7 1971.
United States. Bureau of Census. 1970 Census of Housing. General Demographic Trends for Metropolitan Areas, 1960 to 1970. Call Number: HB3525 M7 C46 1971.
United States. Bureau of Census. 1970 Census of Housing. General Housing Characteristics. Mississippi. Advance Report. Call Number: HA461.5 1970 C47 1971.
United States. Bureau of Census. Congressional District Data Book. 93d Congress. Mississippi (1972). Including housing statistics. Call Number: HB3525 M7 C66 1972.
United States. Bureau of Census. 16th Census of the United States, 1940. Housing. First Series. Data for Small Areas. Mississippi. Call Number: HA201 1940 P6 1st series.
United States. Bureau of Census. 16th Census of the United States, 1940. Housing. Second Series, General Characteristics. Mississippi. Call Number: HA201 1940 H6 2nd series.
United States. Bureau of Census. 16th Census of the United States, 1940. Housing. Third Series, Characteristics by Monthly Rent or Value. Mississippi. Call Number: HA201 1940 H6 3rd series.
United States. Bureau of Census. 16th Census of the United States, 1940. Housing. Fourth Series, Mortgages on Owner-Occupied Nonfarm Homes Mississippi. Call Number: HA201 1940 H6 4th series.
John Leslie Collection. John Leslie served as mayor of the Oxford, Mississippi from 1973 until 1997. Information on affordable housing may be scattered throughout the 3 boxes of this collection. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Chancellors Collection/Porter L. Fortune. Porter L. Fortune was University of Mississippi chancellor from 1968 to 1984.
Chancellors Collection/John D. Williams. J.D. Williams was University of Mississippi chancellor from 1946 to 1968.
Political Science Department Vertical Files. Box 1 contains 13 files on Oxford, many on zoning ordinances and the planning commission. Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Vertical Files. This collection of newspaper clippings includes folders on “City Planning,” “Housing,” and “University of Mississippi – Housing.”
Franklin E. Moak Collection. Franklin E. Moak was University of Mississippi’s Dean of Student Personnel from 1964 to 1981.
Lafayette County Records. Includes Ledgers of Real Estate Assessments from 1917 to 1951.
Vice Chancellors Collection. Files maintained by various vice chancellors of the University of Mississippi. Box 9, Folder 7 “City Planning 1966-72.”
