This list of Archives & Special Collections holdings includes publications dating from the antebellum period (1817 to 1860); indexes to primary source collections; compilations of antebellum records; and published memoirs, letters, and diaries. The archives also possesses issues from several antebellum newspapers -- check out the Newspaper Page on the Journalism and Mass Media Subject Guide.
Richard Abbey. An Inquiry into the Ecclesiastical Constitution, the Origin and Character of the Church of Christ, and the Gospel Ministry. Being a Complete Refutation of All Strange Notions and Sectarian Heresies on the Subject of the Church and the Ministry. Nashville: E. Stevenson & F.A. Owen, 1856. Mississippi author. Call Number: BV647 A4.
Richard Abbey. Letters on Apostolic Succession, Addressed to Bishop Green, of Mississippi. Louisville: Morton & Griswold, 1853. Call Number: BV665 A2 L4.
Abstract and Brief in the Case of David McCaa, Administrator, vs. Ann E. McPherson, in the High Court of Errors and Appeals, of the State of Mississippi. Fayette, MS: Jefferson Journal Office, 1858. Call Number: JK4684 M323.
Abstract of Early Records of Monroe County, Mississippi: The George W. Howell Jr. Collection. University of Mississippi, [19--]. Call Number: F347 M7 A2.
Stephen Adams. A Bill for the Relief of Jose Carxillo. [Washington, DC: 1845]. Call Number: KZ239 1845 A33.
Stephen Adams. Jose Caxillo: To Accompany Bill H.R. No. 318. [Washington, DC: Richie & Heiss, 1846]. Mississippi land tenure. Call Number: HD1251 A33 1846.
Stephen Adams. Speech of Hon. S. Adams, of Mississippi, on the Bill to Amend the Naturalization Laws, Delivered in the Senate of the United States, on the 16th June, 1856. Washington, DC: Organ Office Print, 1856. Call Number: JK1814 A21.
Address to the People of Mississippi, by the Committee Appointed by the State Rights' Convention Assembled at Jackson, May 21, 1834. Jackson, MS: C.C. Mayson, 1834. Call Number: JK2391 S83 A83 1834.
Address to the People of Mississippi, by the Committee Appointed by the State Rights' Convention Assembled at Jackson, May 21, 1834. Natchez, MS: Courier and Journal Office, 1834. Call Number: JK2391 S83 A83 1834a.
James Lusk Alcorn. An Address to the People of Coahoma County, Mississippi, upon the Subject of Levees. Memphis: Bulletin Company, Cheap Book and Job Printers, 1858. Call Number: TC425 M66 M7a.
American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. View of the Missions, Funds, Expenditures and Prospects of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. [Boston: Crocker & Brewster, 1820]. Choctaw Indian missions in Mississippi. Call Number: BV2360 A5.
American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. View of the Missions under the Direction of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions; Compiled December 10, 1821. [1821]. Choctaw Indian missions in Mississippi. Call Number: BV2360 A52.
H.P. Andrews. The Sure Anchor; or, The Young Christian Admonished, Exhorted and Encouraged. Vicksburg: Book and Tract Society of the Mississippi Conference, 1858. Call Number: BV4501 A53.
Annual Report of the President and Directors of the Miss. Cen. Rail-road Co. to the Meeting of Stockholders. Holly Springs, MS: "Miss Times" Cheap Book and Job Printing. Special Collections has 1854 report. Call Number: HE2791 M722.
A.H. Arthur, Wm. A. Lake, and John R. Yergus. Memorial of Citizens of Vicksburg, Mississippi, Praying an Examination of that Place, with a View to the Selection of a Site for a Naval Depot and National Armory. [Washington, DC: 1844]. Call Number: VA70 V53 A78 1844.
At Apollo Hall: Leader and Director, -- Prof. D.C. Hall, the Popular Choral and Orchestra Combination, Known as the Old Folks Concert Company...Will Have the Honor of Appearing on Tuesday Evening, January 17, 1860. [Vicksburg, MS: 1860]. Call Number: F349 V7 A8 1860.
James R. Atkinson, ed. Records of the Old Southwest in the National Archives: Abstracts of Records of the Chickasaw Indian Agency and Related Documents, 1794-1841. [Mississippi State, MS]: Cobb Institute of Archeology, Mississippi State University, 2005. Call Number: E99 C55 A85 2005.
Ivers James Austin. An Account of the Origin of the Mississippi Doctrine of Repudiation; with a Review of the Arguments which His Excellency Alexander G. McNutt, Late Governor of Mississippi, Advanced in Its Vindication. Boston: Bradbury, Soden, 1842. Call Number: HJ8372 A2.
Daniel Baker. Rev. and Dear Sir: Presuming upon Our Past Friendship and the Interest which You Take in the Cause of Christ, I Send You the Foregoing Prospectus... Holly Springs, MS: 1846. Call Number: BX8947 M7 B34 1846 OVRS.
Joseph G. Baldwin. The Flush Times of Alabama and Mississippi: A Series of Sketches. New York: D. Appleton & Co., 1853. Lawyer in DeKalb, Mississippi in the 1830s. Call Number: F327 B183 1853.
Bank of Mississippi. Charter of the Bank of the State of Mississippi. By an Act Passed on the 23d of December 1809, and an Act Supplemental thereto, Passed on the 4th Day of February, 1818. Natchez, MS: Richard C. Langdon, 1818. Call Number: HG2411 M7 B3.
Baptists. Mississippi. Baptist Missionary Society. The Fifth Annual Report of the Executive Board of the Mississippi Baptist Missionary Society, Embracing a Brief View of Missions, Etc. Natchez, MS: Andrew Marschalk, 1822. Call Number: BX6248 M7 A1 1822.
Baptists. Mississippi. Central Association. Minutes of the...Annual Session. Jackson, MS. Special Collections has 1860 edition. Call Number: BX6209 M7 C3.
Baptists. Mississippi. Mt. Pisgah Association. Minutes of the...Annual Session. Meridian, MS: Office of the Southern Baptist. Special Collections has 1837 edition. Call Number: BX6209 M7 M6.
Baptists. Mississippi. Union Association. Minutes of the...Annual Session. Jackson, MS: Mississippi Baptist Book and Job Office. Special Collections has 1860 edition. Call Number: BX6209 M7 U5.
William Barksdale. "The True Office of the College." An Address Delivered before the Alumni Association of the University of Mississippi, July 15, 1857. Memphis, TN: Bulletin Company's Cheap Steam Printing House, 1857. Call Number: LD3419 A3 B37 1857.
Frederick A.P. Barnard. Gratitude Due for National Blessing; A Discourse Delivered at Oxford, Mississippi, on Thanksgiving Day, November 20, 1856. Memphis: Bulletin Co., 1857. Call Number: BV4305 B3 1857.
Frederick A.P. Barnard. Letter to the Honorable, the Board of Trustees of the University of Mississippi. Oxford, MS: 1858. Call Number: LD3405.8 B3.
Irene Barnes. Marriages of Old Tishomingo County, Mississippi. 1837-1870; two volumes. Call Number: CS68 M7 B37.
Alexander Barrow. A Bill for Making an Appropriation for the Building of Barracks at Pass Christian. [Washington, DC: 1845]. Call Number: UC404 M7 B37 1845.
William S. Barry. Civil and Religious Toleration: Speech of William S. Barry, of Miss., Delivered in the House of Representatives, December 18, 1854. [Washington, DC]: Congressional Globe, [1854]. Call Number: JK2341 A7 1854.
Betty Bentley Beaumont. Twelve Years of My Life. Philadelphia: T.B. Peterson & Brothers, [1887]. Merchant woman in Woodville, Mississippi. Call Number: CT275 B544 A4 1887.
Joseph Ephriam Bell. Census of the State of Mississippi for 1850. [MS: 1851]. Call Number: HA461.5 1850 OVRS.
Thomas Y. Berry. To the Voters of Wilkinson, Adams, Jefferson, Franklin, Amite and Claiborne Counties. Port Gibson, MS: 1853. Call Number: F341 B47 1853.
John Black. A Bill to Remove the Land Offices from Clinton to Jackson, in the State of Mississippi. [Washington, DC: 1836]. Call Number: HD243 M7 B53 1836 OVRS.
Albert Taylor Bledsoe. An Essay on Liberty and Slavery. Wiggins, MS: Crown Rights Book Co., 1998. Originally published in 1856. Mississippi author. Call Number: E449 B646 1998.
Albert Taylor Bledsoe. An Examination of President Edwards' Inquiry into the Freedom of the Will. Philadelphia: H. Hooker, 1845. Mississippi author. Call Number: BT810 E25 B6.
Books to Read: Mississippi Conference Depository at Vicksburg, R. Abbey, Agent. [Vicksburg, MS]: Methodist Episcopal Church South, 1857. Call Number: BX8397 M57 1857.
Kathryn Rose Bonner. Mississippi 1860 U.S. Census Index. Three volumes. Marianna, AR: 1983. Call Number: HA461.5 1860.
Samuel Stillman Boyd. Speech of Hon. Samuel S. Boyd, Delivered at the Great Union Festival Held at Jackson, Mississippi, on the 10th Day of October, 1851. Reported Especially for the Natchez Courier. Natchez, MS: Natchez Courier, 1851. Call Number: E423 B78.
Maxie Ruth Hedgepeth Brake. Lawrence County Mississippi Marriages, 1818-1879: Copied from Records of Circuit Clerk. Shreveport, LA: N.E. Gillis, [1970]. Call Number: E347 L35 L3.
Katherine Branton and Alice C. Wade. Early Mississippi Records, Washington County, Mississippi. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Pub. Co., [198-]. Court records 1828-1880. Call Number: F347 W35 E37.
Katherine Branton and Alice C. Wade. Early Records of Mississippi: Issaquena and Washington Counties. Leland, MS: 1982- . 1827-1900; five volumes. Call Number: F347 I7 B73 1982.
Joan Boar Bratton. Lafayette County, Mississippi Will Abstracts, 1836-1898. [Oxford, MS]: Skipwith Historical and Genealogical Society, 1980. Call Number: F347 L2 B68 1980.
Traugott Bromme. Mississippi, a Geographic, Statistic, Topographic Sketch for Immigrants and Friends of Geography and Ethnology. Hattiesburg, MS: Book Farm, 1942. Translated from original 1837 German edition. Call Number: Z1302 H4 no.64.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Address of Hon. Albert G. Brown: Before the Members of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi, November 8, 1859. Washington: Lemuel Towers, 1859. Call Number: E440.5 B73 1859.
Albert Gallatin Brown. An Address on Southern Education: Delivered July 18, 1859, Before the Faculty, Trustees, Students, and Patrons of "Madison College," Sharon, Mississippi. Washington: 1859. Call Number: LA208 B8.
Albert Gallatin Brown. A Bill Supplemental to an Act to Confirm the Survey and Location of Claims for Lands in the State of Mississippi, East of the Pearl River and South of the Thirty-First Degree of North Latitude, Approved March Three, Eighteen Hundred and Forty-Five. [Washington, DC: 1843]. Call Number: TA522 M7 B76 1843.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Message of the Governor of Mississippi to the Senate and House of Representatives: January Session, 1846. Jackson, MS: Price & Rohrer, [1846]. Call Number: F341 B87 1846.
Albert Gallatin Brown. The Slave Question. Speech of Mr. A.G. Brown, of Mississippi, in the House of Representatives, January 30, 1850, on the Subject of Slavery, and on the Action of the Administration in Relation to California and New Mexico. [Washington: Congressional Globe Office, 1850]. Call Number: E338 B7 1850.
Albert Gallatin Brown. The Southern Movement -- Mississippi Politics: Speech of Hon. A.G. Brown, of Mississippi, in the House of Representatives, March 14, 1852. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1852. Call Number: E423 B872.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Speech of Hon. A.G. Brown, of Mississippi, Delivered at Elwood Springs, near Port Gibson, Miss., November 2, 1850. Washington: Globe Office, 1850. Call Number: E423 B873 1850.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Speech of Hon. A.G. Brown, of Mississippi, in the House of Representatives, April 28, 1852, on the Homestead Bill. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1852. Call Number: HD197 B7 1852.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Speech of Hon. A.G. Brown, of Mississippi, on the Bill to Authorize the People of the Territory of Kansas to Form a Constitution and State Government: Preparatory to Their Admission into the Union, When They Have the Requisite Population: Delivered in the Senate of the United States, April 28, 1856. Washington, DC: Union Office, 1856. Call Number: F685 B869.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Speeches, Messages, and Other Writings of the Hon. Albert G. Brown, a Senator in Congress from the State of Mississippi. Philadelphia: J.B. Smith & Co., 1859. Call Number: E337.8 B85.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Speeches of Hon. Albert G. Brown, of Miss., in the Senate of the United States. [Washington, DC: 1860]. Call Number: E415.7 B7.
Albert Gallatin Brown and W.R.W. Cobb. A Bill to Grant a Quantity of Land to the State of Mississippi, for the Purpose of Improving the Navigation of Certain Rivers in that State. Call Number: GB1225 M7 B76 1848.
Samuel R. Brown. The Western Gazetteer: or, Emigrant's Directory, Containing a Geographical Description of the Western States and Territories, Viz. the States of Kentucky, Indiana, Louisiana, Ohio, Tennessee and Mississippi: and the Territories of Illinois, Missouri, Alabama, Michigan, and North-Western. With an Appendix Containing Sketches of Some of the Western Counties of New-York, Pennsylvania and Virginia; a Description of the Great Northern Lakes; Indian Annuities, and Directions to Emigrants. Auburn, NY: H.C. Southwick, 1817. Call Number: F353 B87.
William J. Brown. Woodson Wren: To Accompany Bill H.R. No. 102. [Washington, DC: Blair & Rivers, 1844]. Right of property in Mississippi. Call Number: HB711 B76 1844.
Nash K. Burger. Vestry Minutes, 1843-1863, St. Paul's Church, Grand Gulf, Mississippi. Jackson Diocese of Mississippi, 1942. Call Number: BX5917 M7 G7.
Betty Ann Burton-Cruber. The Marriage Records of Itawamba County, Mississippi, 1837-1866, with Heads of Families, 1840 Federal Census. Memphis: Milestone Press, 1973. Call Number: CS68 M7 I8.
Mann Butler. An Oration on National Independence: (Delivered by Public Request) on the Fourth of July, 1837, at Port Gibson, Mississippi, Consisting Principally, of a Sketch of the Rise of the State of Mississippi, from the Exploration of De Soto, in 1539, to the Present Time. Frankfort, KY: A.G. Hodges, 1837. Call Number: F341 B95.
Frances Ann Cain. Farewell to This Day: The Diary of Miss Frances Ann Cain of Zion Hill, Mississippi, 1856-1858. [Oska, MS]: K.C. Mogan, 1983. Call Number: F349 Z56 C34 1983.
Florence Elizabeth Campbell. "Journal of the Minutes of the Board of Trustees of the University of Mississippi, 1845-1860." M.A. thesis; University of Mississippi; 1939.
Canton Male Academy (Canton, Miss.). Rules and Regulations of the Canton Male Academy. [1850]. Call Number: LD7501 C3.
Carrier's Address of the Columbus Democrat, December 25, 1857. [Columbus, MS: 1857]. Call Number: GT4905 C37 1857.
Samuel A. Cartwright. On Malignant Fever. [Shreveport, LA: 1826]. Yellow fever in Mississippi. Call Number: RC211 M7 C3.
Albert E. Casey, et al. Amite County, Mississippi, 1699-1865: Data Selected, Analyzed and Comp. from the Records on File in the Courthouse at Liberty, Mississippi; in the Mississippi Dept. of the Interior, Washington, D.C.; and from Various Bibliographic Sources. Birmingham, AL: Amite County Historical Fund, 1948-1957. Three volumes. Call Number: F347 A5 C3.
Thomas W. Caskey. Caskey's Last Book: Containing an Autobiographical Sketch of His Ministerial Life, with Essays and Sermons. Nashville: Messenger Pub. Co., 1896. Mississippi Baptist preacher. Call Number: BX7327 C38 1896.
Hiram Cassedy and John J. Pettus. Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi in Favor of a Grant of Land to Aid in the Construction of the New Orleans and New York Railroad. [1854]. Call Number: TF215 C373 1854.
Hiram Cassedy and John J. Pettus. Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi Praying that a Grant of Land Be Made to Aid in the Construction of the Mobile and New Orleans Railroad, and All Other Railroads Now in Progress in the State. [1854]. Call Number: TF215 C37 1854.
Hiram Cassedy and John J. Pettus. Resolution of the Legislature of Mississippi in Favor of a Donation of Land to Aid in the Construction of a Railroad from St. Louis, Missouri, Via the Iron-Mountains, to Helena, and Thence Via Lexington, Miss., to New Orleans. [Washington, DC: 1854]. Call Number: TF208 C37 1854.
Hiram Cassedy and John J. Pettus. Resolution of the Legislature of Mississippi in Favor of the Bill to Organize the Territories of Nebraska and Kansas. [Washington, DC: 1854]. Call Number: E438 C37 1854.
Greene Callier Chandler. Journal and Speeches. Memphis: [1954]. Member of 1854 Mississippi legislature from Lauderdale County. Call Number: F341 C45.
Charter and By-laws of the Commercial and Rail Road Bank of Vicksburg. Vicksburg, MS: M. Shannon & Co., 1835. Call Number: HG2611 M7 C32 1835.
The Charter and Statutes of Jefferson College, Washington, Mississippi, as Revised and Amended: Together with a Historical Sketch of the Institution from Its Establishment to the Present Time. Natchez, MS: Book and Job Office, 1840. Call Number: LD7501 W33 J4.
François-Rene Chateaubriand. Les Natchez; suivis de la description du pays des Natchez. Paris: Librairie de Firmin Didot freres, 1849. Call Number: PQ2205 N3 1850.
Chickasaw County Historical and Genealogical Society. Marriage Records: Chickasaw County, Mississippi. [Houston, MS]: 1998. 1858 to 1900. Call Number: F347 C4 M37 v.1.
J.F.H. Clairborne. Life and Correspondence of John A. Quitman: Major-General, U.S.A., and Governor of the State of Mississippi. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1860. Two volumes. Call Number: E403.1 Q8 C5.
Jeremiah Watkins Clapp. Memoranda of Travels of J.W. Clapp, 1834-1892. [Holly Springs, MS: 1964]. Mississippian. Call Number: F341 C588.
Jeremiah Watkins Clapp. Public Addresses of Judge J.W. Clapp, 1839-1869. [18--]. Call Number: F341 C59.
Theodore Clapp. A Report of the Trial of the Rev. Theodore Clapp: Before the Mississippi Presbytery, at Their Sessions in May and December 1832. New Orleans: Hotchkiss, 1833. Call Number: BX9193 C4.
William Clark. Report of Wm. Clark, Treasurer of the State of Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: 1853]. Call Number: HJ525 R47 1853.
Alexander M. Clayton. Address Delivered at the First Annual Commencement of the University of Mississippi by Hon. Alexander M. Clayton, President of the Board of Trustees. Also Address Delivered on Same Occasion by Albert Taylor Bledsoe, A.M., Professor of Mathematics etc., and Acting President of the University, July Twelfth, 1849. Oxford, MS: 1849. Call Number: LD3417.2 1849.
Alexander M. Clayton. Commencement Address by the Hon. Alexander M. Clayton, LL.D., Read Before the Law-Students of the University of Mississippi, on the 26th Day of June, 1860. Oxford, MS: 1860. Call Number: LD3417.2 1860l.
Ann Jones Clayton, comp. Minutes of Zion Baptist Church of Buckatunna, Miss., 1813-1832. Clinton, MS: 1972. Call Number: BX6480 B72 Z5.
Daniel Bragg Clayton and J.J. Sledge. A Theological Discussion between D.B. Clayton and J.J. Sledge; Held at Pleasant Grove Church, Marshall County, Miss. on the 3d, 4th, 5th and 6th Days of August, 1853. [Aberdeen, MS]: 1853. Call Number: BV4510 T3.
W.L. Clayton. Olden Times Revisited: W.L. Clayton's Pen Pictures. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1982. Recollections of 1840s to 1860s in northeast Mississippi that originally appeared in the Tupelo newspaper in 1905-06. Call Number: F213 C633 1982.
Joseph B. Cobb. Leisure Labors; or, Miscellanies Historical, Literary, and Political. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1858. Mississippi author. Contains "The true issues between parties in the South: Union or disunion." Call Number: F342 C65 L4.
Joseph B. Cobb. Mississippi Scenes; or, Sketches of Southern and Western Life and Adventure, Humorous, Satirical, and Descriptive, Including the Legend of Black Creek. Philadelphia: A. Hart, 1851. Call Number: F342 C65.
Jacob Collamer. Land Sales in Northwestern District, Mississippi. [Washington, DC: Ritchie & Heiss, 1845]. Indian land transfers. Call Number: E93 C66 1845.
Charles E. Colliflower. A Check-List of Mississippi Imprints from 1831 through 1840: With an Historical Introduction of the Period. M.S. thesis; Catholic University of America; 1950. Call Number: Z1301 C6.
Simeon Colton. An Address Delivered at His Inauguration to the Presidency of Mississippi College. Jackson: Southron Office, [1846]. Call Number: LD3381 M52 C65 1846.
Columbus Baptist Association (Miss.). Minutes, Constitution, Articles of Faith and Rules of Decorum of the Columbus Baptist Association, Adopted November 22, 1838. Columbus, MS: Argus Print, 1839. Call Number: BX6249 C648 C6 1838.
Mary Savage Conner. Mary Savage Conner of Adams County, Mississippi: A Young Girl's Journal, 1839. Redwood, MS: Blake Printing Press, 1982. Call Number: F213 C65.
Gordon A. Cotton. From the Letters of Emma Balfour, 1847-1857: Dr. & Mrs. Balfour at Home. Vicksburg, MS: Print Shop, 2004. Call Number: F341 C68 2004.
Gordon A. Cotton. News from Rodney, 1834-1840: Notices of Historical and Genealogical Interest from the Newspaper at Rodney, Miss: Also, Twenty-One Rare Photographs of the Old River Town. Raymond, MS: Keith Printing Co., 1987. Call Number: F349 R6 C68 1987.
Myrtis S. Craft. Old Account Book Entries, 1837-1841, Decatur, Newton County, Mississippi. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Publishing, 2001. Tavern records. Call Number: F349 D43 C73 2001.
James R. Creecy. Scenes in the South, and Other Miscellaneous Pieces... Includes Mississippi. Washington: Thomas McGill Printers, 1860. Call Number: F210 C91.
William Darby. A Geographical Description of the State of Louisiana, the Southern Part of the Mississippi, and the Territory of Alabama...Together with a Map, from Actual Survey and Observation...of the State of Louisiana, and Adjacent Countries. New York: James Olmstead, 1817. Call Number: F374 D22.
David Ragland Davis. Edmondson Presbyterian Church, 1844-1930, DeSoto County, Mississippi. [Memphis, TN]: 1994. Call Number: BX9211 E3 D39 1994.
Jefferson Davis. Address, Delivered by Hon. Jefferson Davis, before the Phi Sigma & Hermaen Societies, of the University of Mississippi, Oxford, July 15, 1852. Memphis: Appeal Book and Job Office Print, 1852. Call Number: LD3416.2 D3.
Jefferson Davis. A Bill for the Relief of Mary B. Dix. [Washington, DC: 1849]. Call Number: KZ239 1849 D38.
Jefferson Davis. A Bill Granting to the State of Mississippi the Right of Way, and a Donation of Public Lands for the Purpose of Locating and Constructing a Railroad from Brandon to the Eastern Border of Said State, in the Direction of Montgomery, Alabama. [Washington, DC: 1849]. Call Number: HE1064 M7 D38 1849.
Jefferson Davis. Private Letters, 1823-1889. New York: Harcourt, Brace & World, [1966]. Call Number: E664 D28 A4.
Jefferson Davis. Relations of States. Speech of the Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, Delivered in the Senate of the United States, May 7th, 1860, on the Resolutions Submitted by him on 1st of March, 1860. Baltimore: J. Murphy & Co., 1860. Call Number: E438 D26 1860.
Jefferson Davis. Reply of Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, to the Speech of Senator Douglas, in the U.S. Senate, May 16 and 17, 1860. [Baltimore: Murphy & Co., 1860]. Call Number: E440 B82 1860.
Jefferson Davis. Speech of Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, on His Resolutions Relative to the Rights of Property in the Territories, Etc. Delivered in the Senate of the United States, May 7, 1860. [Washington, DC]: L. Towers, [1860]. Call Number: E438 D26.
Jefferson Davis. Speech of the Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, on the Exercise of Civil Power and Authority by Military Officers; Delivered in the U.S. Senate, August 5, 1850. [Washington: 1850]. Call Number: E405.1 D26 1850.
Jefferson Davis. Speech of Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, on the French Spoliation Bill: Delivered in the Senate of the United States, January 6th and 10th, 1859. Baltimore: J. Murphy, 1859. Call Number: JX238 F75 1859a.
Jefferson Davis. Speech of Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, on the Pacific Railroad Bill, Delivered in the Senate of the United States, January, 1859. Baltimore: J. Murphy & Co., 1859. Call Number: HE2763 1859c.
Jefferson Davis. Speech of Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, on the Subject of Slavery in the Territories. Delivered in the Senate of the United States, February 13 & 14, 1850. [Washington: Towers, 1850]. Call Number: E423 D26 1850.
Jefferson Davis. Speech of Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, on the Subject of the Coast Survey of the United States: Delivered in the Senate of the U.S., Monday, Feb. 19, 1849. [Washington, DC]: J & G.S. Gideon, [1849]. Call Number: QB296 U85 1849b.
Jefferson Davis. Speeches of Hon. Jefferson Davis, of Mississippi, Delivered During the Summer of 1858. Baltimore: J. Murphy & Co., 1859. Call Number: E436 D26.
John Wesley Davis. Entries of Land: To Accompany Bill H.R. No. 344. [Washington, DC: 1844]. Indian land transfers in Mississippi. Call Number: E93 D28 1844.
Reuben Davis. Recollections of Mississippi and Mississippians. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin and Company, 1889. Lawyer. Call Number: F341 D26.
Reuben Davis. Speech of Hon. Reuben Davis, of Mississippi: On the Bill Making Appropriations for the Army, Delivered in the House of Representatives, February 17, 1859. Call Number: HJ254 D3.
Reuben Davis. Speech of Hon. Reuben Davis, of Mississippi, on the State of the Union; in the House of Representatives, December 22, 1858. Washington: Congressional Globe Office, 1858. Call Number: E436 D264.
Varina Davis. Jefferson Davis: Ex-President of the Confederate States of America, a Memoir by His Wife. New York: Belford Company, [1890]. Two volumes. Call Number: E467.1 D26 D2.
Ella Griffin Daws. 1860 Census, Kemper County, Mississippi. Centreville, AL: 1985. Call Number: F347 K3 D38 1985.
Estelle de Lisle. Magnolia No. 1: Valse Elegante. Philadelphia, PA: Beck & Lawton, 1859. Sheet music with cover illustration of Calhoun Female Institute at Macon, Mississippi. Call Number: M32 D4 M3.
Dallas C. Dickey. Seargent S. Prentiss, Whig Orator of the Old South. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1946. Call Number: E340 P9 D5.
E. Grey Dimond and Herman Hattaway, eds. Letters from Forest Place: A Plantation Family's Correspondence, 1846-1881. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1993. Carroll County, Mississippi. Call Number: F347 C3 L48 1993.
Charles Squire Dod. Address at the Laying of the Cornerstone of the Presbyterian Fem. Col. Institute: At Pontotoc, Miss., May 6, 1854. Holly Springs, MS: "Miss. Times" Cheap Book and Job Print, 1854. Call Number: LD7251 P6 D6 1854.
Lorenzo Dow. History of Cosmopolite; or, The Four Volumes of Lorenzo Dow's Journal, Concentrated in One, Containing His Experience and Travels, from Childhood to Near His Fiftieth Year. Also His Polemical Writings... Wheeling, VA: Joshua Martin, 1848. Includes his travels in Mississippi. Call Number: BX8495 D57 A3 1848.
Charles L. Dubuisson. Inaugural Address Delivered by Charles L. Dubuisson, A.M. President of Jefferson College, Washington, Mississippi, July 6, 1835. Natchez, MS: Courier & Journal Office, 1835. Call Number: LD7501 W33 D8.
J.M. Duffield, et al. Memorial of Citizens of Natchez, in Favor of Selecting that Place as the Site for a Naval Armory and Dry Dock. [Washington, DC: 1843]. Call Number: VA68 M7 M466 1843.
Joseph Dunbar and Abram M. Scott. Resolutions and Report of the Judiciary Committee: Relative to the Rights of This State to Unappropriated Lands within Her Jurisdiction. [Jackson, MS]: 1830. Mississippi. Call Number: F341 D895 1830a OVRS.
Catherine Eskridge Eatman and Earl A. Truett Jr., comps. Lafayette County, Mississippi Probate Court Records, Abstracted from Original Court Dockets. Oxford, MS: 1978. 1836-1958. Call Number: KFM7116 L2 A7 1836.
Patricia N. Edwards and Jean Strickland. Covington County, Mississippi: 1820, 1830, 1840 & 1850 Federal Census, 1841 State Census. Moss Point, MS: 1987. Call Number: F347 C8 E38 1987.
E.N. Elliott. Cotton Is King, and Pro-Slavery Arguments: Comprising the Writings of Hammond, Harper, Christy, Stringfellow, Hodge, Bledsoe, and Cartwright, on This Important Subject. Augusta, GA: Pritchard, Abbott & Loomis, 1860. Author is desribed as "President of Planters' College, Mississippi." Call Number: E449 E48.
Catherine Eskridge Eatman, comp. Lafayette County, Mississippi, Marriage Bonds, Books 1 through 5 (1848-1881). Oxford, MS: Skipwith Genealogical Society, 1971. Call Number: F340 E3.
Catherine Eskridge Eatman and Earl A. Truett, comps. 1850 U.S. Federal Census, Lafayette County, Mississippi. Oxford, MS: 1979. Call Number: F347 L2 E3.
Edward O. Eaton. Editorial Schottische. Composed and Inscribed to His Friends Col. Isaac M. Partridge & Robert H. Pordom, Esq. of the Mississippi Press. New Orleans: P.P. Werlein & Co.; Vicksburg: Blackmar & Patten, [1858]. Sheet music. Call Number: M25 E3 E3 OVRS.
Alexander Evans. A Bill Granting a Half Section of Land for the Use of Schools within Fractional Township Nineteen South, of Range Eighteen West, County of Lowndes, State of Mississippi. [Washington, DC: 1848]. Call Number: LB2827 E93 1848.
W.A. Evans. Monroe County, Mississippi Cemetery Records. Columbus, MS: Lowndes County Department of Archives and History, 1980. Call Number: F347 M7 E88 1980.
Joseph W. Fawcett. Journal of Jos. W. Fawcett: (Diary of His Trip in 1840 Down the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers to Gulf of Mexico and up the Atlantic Coast to Boston). Chillicothe, OH: D.K. Webb, 1944. Call Number: Z239 D28 F3j.
Winfield Scott Featherston. Speech of Hon. W.S. Featherston, of Mississippi, on Rivers and Harbors. Washington: J.T. Towers, 1851. Call Number: TC223 F397 1851.
George William Featherstonhaugh. Excursion through the Slave States, from Washington on the Potomac, to the Frontier of Mexica; with Sketches of Popular Manners and Geological Notices. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1844. Includes travel in Mississippi. Call Number: F210 F28.
Emma Finley. Our Pen Is Time: The Diary of Emma Finley: A Memoir of Social Life in Jolly Springs, Mississippi on the Eve of the Civil War. Lafayette, CA: Thomas Berryhill Press, 1999. Call Number: F213 F53 1999.
John Fletcher. Studies on Slavery: In Easy Lessons. Natchez, MS: J. Warner, 1852. Call Number: E449 F61.
Timothy Flint. Recollections of the Last Ten Years, Passed in Occasional Residences in the Valley of the Mississsippi, from Pittsburg and the Missouri to the Gulf of Mexico and from Florida to the Spanish Frontier; in a Series of Letters to the Rev. James Flight, of Salem, Massachusetts. Boston: Cummings, Hilliard and Company, 1826. Includes brief remarks on Natchez, Mississippi. Call Number: F353 F63.
Henry S. Foote. Bench and Bar of the South and Southwest. St. Louis: Soule, Thomas & Wentworth, 1876. Call Number: F396 F68.
Henry S. Foote. A Bill for the Relief of the Heirs and Legal Representation of Joseph McAffee, Deceased. [Washington, DC: 1848]. Call Number: KZ239 1848 F66.
Henry S. Foote. Casket of Reminiscences. Washington, DC: Chronicle Publishing Company, 1874. U.S. Senator from Mississippi 1847-1852; Governor of Mississippi 1852-1854. Call Number: E415.7 F68.
Henry S. Foote. Governor's Message. [Jackson, MS: 1854]. Call Number: F341 F66 1854.
Henry S. Foote. Rev. Theobald Mathew: Remarks of Hon. H.S. Foote, of Mississippi in the Senate, December 10, 1849, on the Resolution to Permit the Rev. Theobald Mathew to Sit within the Bar of the Senate. Diplomatic Relations with Autria; Remarks of Hon. H.S. Foote, of Mississippi in the Senate, January 4, 1850, on the Resolution of Mr. Cass to Suspend Diplomatic Relations with Austria. [Washington, DC]: Congressional Globe Office, [1850]. Call Number: E423 F66 1849.
Henry S. Foote. Texas and Texans; or, Advance of the Anglo-Americans to the South-west; Including a History of Leading Events in Mexico, from the Conquest of Fernando Cortes to the Termination of the Texan Revolution. Philadelphia: Thomas, Cowperthwait & Co., 1841. U.S. Senator from Mississippi 1847-1852; Governor of Mississippi 1852-1854. Two volumes. Call Number: F389 F68.
Henry S. Foote. War of the Rebellion; or, Scylla and Charybdis. Consisting of Observations upon the Causes, Course, and Consequences of the Late Civil War in the United States. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1866. U.S. Senator from Mississippi 1847-1852; Governor of Mississippi 1852-1854. Call Number: E459 F692.
Henry S. Foote. The War with Mexico: Speech of Hon. Henry S. Foote, of Mississippi, in the Senate of the United States, January 19 & 20, 1848, on the Bill Reported from the Committee on Military Affairs to Raise, for a Limited Time, an Additional Military Force. [Washington, DC]: Congressional Globe Office, [1848]. Call Number: E407 F6.
Sam Ford. An Address, Delivered before "Evergreen Lodge, No. 38," I.O.O.F., of Canton, on the 26th of April, 1851. [1937]. Call Number: HS983 F6.
Clara Wright Forrest, comp. Hinds County, Mississippi Marriage Records, 1823-1848. [Jackson, MS]: 1957. Call Number: CS68 M7 H5.
Clara Wright Forrest, comp. Hinds County, Mississippi Will Book I, 1822-1859. [Jackson, MS]: 1959. Call Number: F340 F6.
Freemasons. Grand Lodge of the State of Mississippi. Digest of the Decisions of the Grand Lodge of Masons in Mississippi. From Its Organization in 1818, to Include the Annual Communication of 1903. Vicksburg, MS: 1904. Call Number: HS537 M7 A5 1904.
Freemasons. Grand Lodge of the State of Mississippi. Proceedings of the Grand Lodge, F. & A.M. of the State of Mississippi (1818-1914) Embracing Addresses of the Grand Masters, Decisions of the Grand Lodge on All Masonic Questions Pertaining to This Jurisdiction, Reports of the Most Important Committees, Etc., Etc. Atlanta, GA: Foate & Davies Co., [1914]. Call Number: HS537 M7 A19.
Freemasons. Grand Lodge of the State of Mississippi. Proceedings of the Grand Lodge of Mississippi, of Free and Accepted Masons, at Its...Annual Communication... Vicksburg, MS. Special Collections has 1824, 1829, 1834, 1836, 1839-1842, 1844, 1853-1859 and later post-Civil War editions. Call Number: HS537 M7 A2.
Samuel Gibbs French. Two Wars: An Autobiography of General Samuel G. French...Mexican War; War between the States, a Diary; Reconstruction Period, His Experience; Incidents, Reminiscences, Etc. Nashville: Confederate Veteran, 1901. Mississippi planter. Call Number: E467.1 F87 T9.
Horace Smith Fulkerson. Random Recollections of Early Days in Mississippi. Baton Rouge: Otto Claitor, 1937. Reprint of 1885 original. Call Number: F341 F96 1937.
George Strother Gaines. The Reminiscences of George Strother Gaines: Pioneer and Statesman of Early Alabama and Mississippi, 1805-1843. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 1998. Call Number: F326 G28 1998.
Hazel Crenshaw Garrett and Louis Taunton. Early Records of Choctaw County, Mississippi, 1835-1850. Louisville, MS: G & T Publishers, [199-]. Call Number: F347 C45 G373 1990z.
John Gayle. A Bill to Extend the Provisions of an Act of the Third of March, Eighteen Hundred and Forty-Five, Entitled "An Act to Confirm the Survey and Location of Claims for Lands in the State of Mississippi, East of Pearl River and South of the Thirty-First Degree of North Latitude" to the District West of Pearl River. [Washington, DC: 1849]. Call Number: TA545 G935 1849.
John Gierlow. An Address, Delivered before the Brethren of Washington Lodge, No. 3, Free and Accepted Masons, at Port Gibson, Mississippi, December 27, A.L. 1858. Port Gibson, MS: Daily Reveille, 1859. Call Number: HS397 G5.
Irene S. Gillis. Copiah County, Mississippi Marriages, 1823-1865. Shreveport, LA: 1984. Call Number: CS68 M7 C75 1984.
Irene S. Gillis. Mississippi 1850 Census; Surname Index. [Shreveport, LA: 1972]. Call Number: F340 G49.
Irene S. Gillis. Mississippi 1850 Mortality Schedules. Shreveport, LA: Gillis Publication, [1973]. Information collected on all persons who had died in the preceding 12 months. Call Number: CS49 M7 1973.
Irene S. Gillis and Norman E. Gillis. Adams County, Mississippi Marriages 1802-1859. Shreveport, LA: 1976. Call Number: CS68 M7 A2.
Irene S. Gillis and Norman E. Gillis. Mississippi 1820 Census. [Baton Rouge: 1963]. Call Number: F340 G46.
Irene S. Gillis and Norman E. Gillis. Mississippi 1830 Census. [Baton Rouge: 1965]. Call Number: F340 G47.
M.F. de Graffennid and A.M. Scott. Memorial of the General Assembly of the State of Mississippi Praying an Amendment to the Act of the Last Session of Congress, Granting Pre-emption Rights to Settlers on Public Lands. [Washington, DC: 1831]. Call Number: HD197 G73 1831.
Richard Stanford Graves. Richard S. Graves to the People of Mississippi. [1843]. "A defense by the author of his conduct as to certain state funds while treasurer of the state of Mississippi." Call Number: HJ529 G8.
Henry W. Gray. Mississippi Pioneers. Mobile: Southern News Service, 1962. Stories of the Gray family of Mississippi. Call Number: CS71 G73.
John C. Green III. 1860 Federal Population Census, Bolivar County, Mississippi. [Alexandria, VA: 1984]. Call Number: F347 B6 G75 1984.
Julia Cook Guice. Marriages, Harrison County, Mississippi, 1841-1899. Biloxi, MS. Call Number: F347 H3 M3.
Julia Cook Guice. Wills: Harrison County, Mississippi, 1853-1927. Bilxo, MS. Call Number: F347 H3 W5.
George Strother Gaines. The Reminiscences of George Strother Gaines: Pioneer and Statesman of Early Alabama and Mississippi, 1805-1843. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 1998. Call Number: F326 G28 1998.
Hazel Crenshaw Garrett and Louis Taunton. Early Records of Choctaw County, Mississippi, 1835-1850. Louisville, MS: G & T Publishers, [199-]. Call Number: F347 C45 G373 1990z.
John Gayle. A Bill to Extend the Provisions of an Act of the Third of March, Eighteen Hundred and Forty-Five, Entitled "An Act to Confirm the Survey and Location of Claims for Lands in the State of Mississippi, East of Pearl River and South of the Thirty-First Degree of North Latitude" to the District West of Pearl River. [Washington, DC: 1849]. Call Number: TA545 G935 1849.
John Gierlow. An Address, Delivered before the Brethren of Washington Lodge, No. 3, Free and Accepted Masons, at Port Gibson, Mississippi, December 27, A.L. 1858. Port Gibson, MS: Daily Reveille, 1859. Call Number: HS397 G5.
Irene S. Gillis. Copiah County, Mississippi Marriages, 1823-1865. Shreveport, LA: 1984. Call Number: CS68 M7 C75 1984.
Irene S. Gillis. Mississippi 1850 Census; Surname Index. [Shreveport, LA: 1972]. Call Number: F340 G49.
Irene S. Gillis. Mississippi 1850 Mortality Schedules. Shreveport, LA: Gillis Publication, [1973]. Information collected on all persons who had died in the preceding 12 months. Call Number: CS49 M7 1973.
Irene S. Gillis and Norman E. Gillis. Adams County, Mississippi Marriages 1802-1859. Shreveport, LA: 1976. Call Number: CS68 M7 A2.
Irene S. Gillis and Norman E. Gillis. Mississippi 1820 Census. [Baton Rouge: 1963]. Call Number: F340 G46.
Irene S. Gillis and Norman E. Gillis. Mississippi 1830 Census. [Baton Rouge: 1965]. Call Number: F340 G47.
M.F. de Graffennid and A.M. Scott. Memorial of the General Assembly of the State of Mississippi Praying an Amendment to the Act of the Last Session of Congress, Granting Pre-emption Rights to Settlers on Public Lands. [Washington, DC: 1831]. Call Number: HD197 G73 1831.
Richard Stanford Graves. Richard S. Graves to the People of Mississippi. [1843]. "A defense by the author of his conduct as to certain state funds while treasurer of the state of Mississippi." Call Number: HJ529 G8.
Henry W. Gray. Mississippi Pioneers. Mobile: Southern News Service, 1962. Stories of the Gray family of Mississippi. Call Number: CS71 G73.
John C. Green III. 1860 Federal Population Census, Bolivar County, Mississippi. [Alexandria, VA: 1984]. Call Number: F347 B6 G75 1984.
Julia Cook Guice. Marriages, Harrison County, Mississippi, 1841-1899. Biloxi, MS. Call Number: F347 H3 M3.
Julia Cook Guice. Wills: Harrison County, Mississippi, 1853-1927. Biloxi, MS. Call Number: F347 H3 W5.
William Haley. History of Copiah County: Recollections of an Old Citizen. Hazlehurst, MS: 2000. Originally published in Mississippi Democrat newspaper in 1876. Call Number: F347 C75 H58 2000.
Hancock College (Hancock County, Mississippi). Memorial of the Trustees of Hancock College, by Their Committee, A.R. Ellery and E.W. Ripley, January 20, 1819. Washington: E De Krafft, 1819. Call Number: LD7501 H35 H3m.
William Harris Hardy. No Compromise with Principle: Autobiography and Biography of William Harris Hardy in Dialogue... [New York: American Book-Stratford Press, 1946]. Founded the Mississippi cities of Hattiesburg, Laurel, and Gulfport. Call Number: F341 H27.
Lewis Harper. Preliminary Report on the Geology and Agriculture of the State of Mississippi. Jackson: E. Barksdale, 1857. Call Number: QE73 M56.
Wiley Pope Harris. Speech of Hon. W.P. Harris, of Mississippi, on the Nebraska and Kansas Bill: Delivered in the House of Representatives, April 24, and 26, 1854. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1854. Call Number: E443 H3 1854.
William Littleton Harris. Address of Hon. Wm. L. Harris, before the Agricultural Association, Jackson, November 12, 1858. Jackson: E. Barksdale, 1858. Call Number: S523 H3.
Herman Haupt. Report of the Final Location of the Southern Railroad from Brandon Mississippi to the Alabama Line, in the Direction of Charleston and Savannah. Philadelphia: T.K. & P.G. Collins, 1853. Call Number: HE2791 S83 H38 1853.
Jeanne Hand Henry. 1819-1849 Abstradex of Annual Returns: Mississippi Free and Accepted Masons, with 1801, 1816, and 1817 Petitioners & First Returns through 1851. New Market, AL: Southern Genealogical Services, 1969. Call Number: HS537 M72 H4.
Robert A. Herring. The John Herring Family of North Carolina and Mississippi: A Narrative Report. [1969]. Call Number: CS71 H45.
Eugene W. Hilgard. Report on the Geological and Agricultural Survey of the State of Mississippi. Jackson: Mississippi Steam Power Press Print, 1858. Call Number: QE73 M57 1858.
Eugene W. Hilgard. Report on the Geology and Agriculture of the State of Mississippi. Jackson: E. Barksdale, 1860. Call Number: QE M57 1860.
Jan Hillegas. Index to Dates through 1850, Index to Names, and Partial Index to Subjects in Records of the Old Southwest in the National Archives: Abstraces of Records of the Chickasaw Indian Agency and Related Documents, 1794-1840. Mississippi State: Cobb Institute of Archeology, 2002. Call Number: E99 C55 H54 2002.
Adam Hodgson. Remarks during a Journey through North America in the Years 1819, 1820, and 1821, in a Series of Letters, with an Appendix Containing an Account of Several of the Indian Tribes and the Principal Mission Stations, &c. Also a Letter to M. Jean Baptiste Say, on the Comparative Expense of Free and Slave Labour. New York: 1823. Includes account of visit to Natchez, Mississippi. Call Number: E165 H69.
David Holmes. Letter from His Excellency David Holmes, Governor of the State of Mississippi, Transmitting a Copy of the Constitution and Form of Government of the Said State. Call Number: JK4625 1817 A52 1817.
Etoile Loper Hopkins. 1840 Census of Newton County, Mississippi. Forest, MS: Richard S. Lackey, 1966. Call Number: F347 N48 H6.
George S. Houston. Land Sales at Chocchuma and Columbus: To Accompany Bill H.R. No. 63. [Washington, DC: Blair & Rives, 1844]. Indian land trasfers in Mississippi. Call Number: E93 H68 1844.
H.R. Howard. The History of Virgil A. Stewart, and His Adventures in Capturing and Exposing the Great "Western Land Pirate" and His Gang, in Connexion with the Evidence; Also of the Trials, Confessions, Execution of a Number of Murrell's Associates in the State of Mississippi during the Summer of 1835, and the Execution of Five Professional Gamblers by the Citizens of Vicksburg, on the 6th July, 1835. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1836. Call Number: F396 M96.
V.E. Howard and A. Hutchinson. The Statutes of the State of Mississippi of a Public and General Nature, with the Constitution of the United States and of This State: And an Appendix Containing Acts of Congress Affecting Land Titles, Naturalization, etc. and a Manual for Clerks, Sheriffs and Justices of the Peace. New Orleans, MS: E. Johns & Co., 1840. Call Number: KFM6630 1840 A23.
Thomas J. Hudson. Address of Hon. Thomas J. Hudson of Marshall County, at the Agricultural Fair, Jackson, November 9th, 1858. Jackson: E. Barksdale, 1858. Call Number: S555 H8.
Louis Hughes. Thirty Years a Slave: The Autobiography of Louis Hughes: From Bondage to Freedom: The Institutions of Slavery as Seen on the Plantation in the Home of a Planter. Montgomery, AL: NewSouth Books, 2002. Originally published in 1897. Mississippi and Alabama. Call Number: E444 H89 2002.
F.W. Huling and S.B. Issacs. Circular: To the Voters of the Eighth Judicial District. [Holly Springs, MS: 1837]. Judicial election. Call Number: KFM7125 C57 1837 OVRS.
Benjamin G. Humphreys. "The Autobiography of Benjamin Grubb Humphreys (1808-1882)." Reprint from Mississippi Valley Historical Review (September 1934). Call Number: E664 H92 A3 1934.
A. Hutchinson. Manual of Juridicial, Ministerial and Civil Forms, Revised, Americanized and Divested of Useless Verbiage: Comprising the Process, Proceedings and Entries before Justices of the Peace, and in the Inferior, Superior and Appellate Courts of Mississippi, with Illustrations of the Author's System of Opening and Conducting the Clerk's Offices; Also, Conveyances, Mortgages, Trusts, and the Various Instruments in Popular Use. Jackson, MS: Barksdale & Jones, 1852. Call Number: KFM6668 H8 1852.
Important Documents, Concerning Texas and the Controversy between General T.J. Chalmers and Messrs. Wilson and Postlethwaite. Natchez, MS: Courier & Journal Office, 1836. Call Number: F390 T4.
Joseph Holt Ingraham. The South-West. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1835. Includes descriptions of Mississippi; two volumes. Call Number: F396 I54.
Joseph Holt Ingraham. The Sunny South; or, The Southerner at Home, Embracing Five Years' Experience of a Northern Governess in the Land of the Sugar and the Cotton. Philadephia: G.G. Evans, 1860. Mississippi author. Call Number: F213 I55.
Jefferson College (Washington, Miss). Address to the Public. 1839. Call Number: LD7501 W33 J4.
Jefferson College (Washington, Miss). Laws of Jefferson College: Located in the Town of Washington, State of Mississippi. Natchez, MS: Andrew Marschalk, 1820. Call Number: LD7501 W33 J41.
Jefferson College (Washington, Miss). To Builders! Those Who Have Not Yet Made Proposals for the Erection of College Buildings, at Washington, and Who May Desire to Contract Therefor, Are Desired to Send in Their Proposals Previous to the Second Monday in April... [Nachez, MS]: Natchez Daily Courier, 1838. Call Number: LD7501 W33 J4t.
Dudley S. Jennings. Nine Years of Democratic Rule in Mississippi: Being Notes upon the Political History of the State, from the Beginning of the Year 1838, to the Present Time. Jackson, MS: T. Palmer, 1847. Call Number: JK4625 1847 J4.
John F. Johnson. Minutes of the Baptist Church of Christ of Greensboro, 1846-1897. [University, MS]: J.W. Brannon and Elizabeth Cummings, 1985. Greensboro, Mississippi. Call Number: BX6480 G7 B3 1985.
Reverdy Johnson. A Bill to Amend the Act Approved June Seventeen, Eighteen Hundred and Forty-Four, Entitled "An Act to Provide for the Adjustment of Land Claims within the States of Missouri, Arkansaw, and Louisiana, and in Those Parts of the States of Mississippi and Alabama South of the Thirty-First Degree of North Latitude, and between the Mississippi and Perdido Rivers. [Washington, DC: 1849]. Call Number: HD1251 J64 1849.
William Johnson. William Johnson's Natchez: The Ante-Bellum Diary of a Free Negro. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1951. Call Number: E185.97 J697 A3.
Frank W. Keyes. An Address Delivered before the Alumni Association of the University of Mississippi, on the 5th Day of July, 1859. Oxford, MS: 1859. Call Number: LD3412.45 K4.
J. Estelle Stewart King. Mississippi Court Records 1799-1835. Beverly Hills, CA: [1936]. Call Number: F340 K56.
Richard S. Lackey. 1838 Personal Tax Roll for Newton County, Mississippi. Forest, MS: 1968. Call Number: F347 N48 L3.
L.Q.C. Lamar. Remarks of Hon. Lucius Q.C. Lamar, of Mississippi, on the Ohio Contested Election Case: Delivered in the House of Representatives, May 22, 1858. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1858. Call Number: KFO420 L36 1858.
L.Q.C. Lamar. The Slavery Question: Speech of Hon. L.Q.C. Lamar, of Miss., in the House of Representatives, February 21, 1860. [Washington, DC]: T. McGill, [1860]. Call Number: E438 L885 1860.
Mary Collins Landin. The Old Cemeteries of Hinds County, Mississippi: From 1811 to the Present. Utica, MS: Hinds History Books, 1988. Call Number: F347 H5 L36 1988.
Lawrence County Historical Society. Cemetery Records of Lawrence County, Mississippi, 1810-1988. [Monticello, MS: 1989]. Call Number: F347 L35 C46 1994.
Francis Terry Leak. Diary of Francis Terry Leak (1803-1864) Mississippi...Copied from the Original Manuscript Volume Now in the Southern Historical Collection at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N.C., 1947. Five volumes. Call Number: PN4390 L4 D5.
George Leighton. George Leighton Papers: Jefferson County, MS, 1821-1849. [Hattiesburg, MS: 20--]. Call Number: F347 J48 L46 2000z.
Oscar Montgomery Lieber. "A Sketch of the Geology of the State of Mississippi." Reprint from Mining Magazine (1854). Call Number: QE73 M58.
List of Officers, Non-Commissioned Officers, Musicians & Privates, of the First Regiment Mississippi Riflemen, in the War with Mexico, to Serve Twelve Months, Date of Enlistment, June 1846. Jackson, MS: William W. Yerby, [1846]. Call Number: E409.5 M7 L5.
Lida E. Logan and Margaret E. Webb, comps. Tax Records of Lowndes County, Mississippi, 1833-1840. 1992. Call Number: F347 L8 T3 1992.
Augustus Baldwin Longstreet. Know Nothingism Unveiled. Letter of Judge A.B. Longstreet, of Mississippi, Addressed to Rev. William Winans, in Reply to a Communication Published by Him in the Natchez (Mississippi) Courier, and Addressed to Judge Longstreet, on the Subject of Know Nothingism. [Washington, DC: Congressional Globe, 1855]. Call Number: JK2341 A7 1855a.
Augustus Baldwin Longstreet and Joseph Jones. A Voice from the South: Comprising Letters from Georgia to Massachusetts, and to the Southern States. With an Appendix Containing an Article from the Charleston Mercury on the Wilmot Proviso. Baltimore: Western Continent Press, 1847. Mississippi author. Call Number: E416 L85.
Thomas Neely Love. A Southern Lacrimosa: The Mexican War Journal of Thomas Neely Love. Chickasaw Bayou Press, 1995. Surgeon in the Second Regiment Mississippi Volunteer Infantry. Call Number: E411 L6 1995.
Sir Charles Lyell. A Second Visit to the United States of North America. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1849. Two volumes; includes observations on Mississippi. Call Number: E165 L982.
John Roy Lynch. Reminiscences of an Active Life: The Autobiography of John Roy Lynch. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, [1970]. First African American Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives in 1873; former slave. Call Number: F341 L97 A3.
Lucille Simms Mallon, comp. Noxubee County, Mississippi Marriages, 1834-1869: Index Will Book A, 1834-1861. [1975]. Call Number: CS68 M7 N8.
Lucille Simms Mallon, comp. Winston County, Mississippi Marriages, 1834-1880. [197-]. Call Number: CS68 M7 W7.
Marriage Records of Lafayette County, Mississippi. Oxford, MS: Skipwith Historical and Genealogical Society, 1989. 1848-1990; two volumes. Call Number: F347 L2 M3 1989.
James R. Marsh, et al. Petition of the Citizens of Mississippi, Remonstrating against Indian Claims. [Washington, DC: 1836]. Call Number: E93 P48 1836.
Sallie Love Banks Marston. Memories. Pasadena, CA: 1969. Daughter of a plantation owner in Love, Mississippi born in 1838. Call Number: F341 B35 M3.
James M. Martin. Total Abstinence from Intoxicating Drinks as a Beverage, a Christian Duty. An Essay. Rienzi, MS: S.H. Lockhart and Co., 1857. Call Number: HV5072 M3.
Don Martini. Tippah County Death Notices, 1837-1914. Ripley, MS: Tippah County Historical Society, [1976]. Three volumes. Call Number: F347 T45 M37.
Don Martini and Bill Gurney. Tippah County Land Deeds, 1836-1870. Ripley, MS: Old Timer Press, 1983. Call Number: F347 T45 M38 1983.
Frederick Marryat. Second Series of A Diary in America: With Remarks on Its Institutions. Philadelphia: T.K. & P.G. Collins, 1840. Includes travels in Mississippi. Call Number: E165 M375.
Joseph W. Matthews. Message: Fellow Citizens of the Senate and of the House of Representatives. [Jackson, MS: 1850]. Call Number: F341 M38 1850.
Wilda Blewett McEllhiney and Betty Wood Thomas. 1820 Census of Mississippi. Tuscaloosa, AL: Willo Pub. Co., 1964. Call Number: F340 M34.
Douglas C. McMurtrie. A Bibliography of Mississippi Imprints, 1798-1830. Beauvoir Community, MS: Book Far, 1945. Call Number: Z1302 H4 no.69.
Douglas C. McMurtrie. A Short-Title List of Books, Pamphlets and Broadsides Printed in Mississippi 1811 to 1830. Chicago: 1936. Call Number: Z1301 M17.
John J. McRae. Address of Hon. John J. McRae, of Mississippi, Announcing the Death of Hon. John A. Quitman; Delivered in the House of Representatives, January 5, 1859. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1859. Call Number: E403.1 Q8.
John J. McRae. Inaugural Address of John J. McRae, Governor of Mississippi. Jackson, MS: Barksdale and Jones, [1854]. Call Number: JK4651 M73 1854.
John J. McRae. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi, Related to the Importation of Adulterated Medicines and Chemicals. [Tippin & Streeper, 1848]. Call Number: HD9665.9 U6 M37 1848.
John J. McRae. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi, Relative to the Location of Other Sections in Addition to Valueless Sixteenth Sections, and the Relinquishment of Others, with the Privilege of a Re-location. [Tippin & Streepter, 1848]. Call Number: LB2827 M37 1848.
Cowles Mead. An Address Delivered to Warren Lodge, on the Festival of Saint John the Evangelist, December 27, 1820. Natchez, MS: Andrew Marschalk, 1821. Mississippi Freemasons. Call Number: HS397 M4.
A.B. Meek. Romantic Passages in Southwestern History: Including Orations, Sketches, and Essays. Mobile, NY: S.H. Goetzel & Co., 1857. Alabama and Mississippi history. Call Number: F396 M492.
Memorial of Sundry Citizens of Mississippi: Complaining of Certain Disadvantages Growing out of the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek, with the Choctaw Indians and Praying Redress. [Washington, DC: Government Printing Office], 1836. Call Number: E99 C8 M45 1836.
Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi Asking a Grant of Land for the New Orleans and Jackson Railroad. [Washington, DC: 1852]. Call Number: TF208 M462 1852.
Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi Asking An Appropriation to Remove a Sand Bar from the Mouth of the Pascagoula River. [Washington, DC: 1852]. Call Number: GB1225 M7 M466 1852.
Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi for a Donation of Public Lands to the New Orleans and Jackson Railroad. [Washington, DC: 1852]. Call Number: TF208 M463 1852.
Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi Praying the Establishment of a Custom-House at Biloxi, and Also for the Delivery of the Mail Twice a Week between Biloxi and New Orleans, and Intermediate Places, and a Weekly Mail from Jackson to Mobile. [Washington, DC: 1852]. Call Number: NA4462 M7 M46 1852.
Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi Praying the Establishment of a Port of Entry at Biloxi, and Additional Mail Facilities at that Place. [Washington, DC: 1852]. Call Number: TC224 M7 M46 1852.
Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi Praying the Reduction of the Price of Land in Augusta and Washington Land Districts. [Washington, DC: 1852]. Call Number: HD243 M7 M46 1852.
Charles Fenton Mercer. Mr. Mercer, from the Committee on Roads and Canals, to Which Had Been Referred the Bill from the Senate Entitled "An Act to Relinquish to the State of Mississippi the Two Per Cent Fund Accruing by the Act for the Admission of Said State into the Union," Reported the Same with the Following Amendment. [Washington, DC: 1839]. Call Number: HE2231 M47 1839.
Methodist Female Academy, Washington, Miss. Rules for the Government of the Methodist Female Academy, Near Washington, Enacted by the Trustees in October 1818. Natchez, MS: Marschalk & Evans, [1818]. Call Number: LD7501 W34 M4.
William Henry Milburn. The Pioneers, Preachers, and People of the Mississippi Valley. New York: Derby & Jackson, 1860. Call Number: F351 M64.
William Henry Milburn. Ten Years of Preacher-Life: Chapters from an Autobiography. New York: Derby & Jackson, 1859. Includes travel in Mississippi. Call Number: BX8495 M5 A3.
Carroll E.W. Milton. Diary of Carroll E.W. Milton (1826-1861): for the Period September 1847 to March 1860. [1985]. Geeville and Carrollville communities of old Tishomingo County, Mississippi (Prentiss County after 1870). Call Number: CT275 M525 M56 1985.
Mississippi. Laws of the State of Mississippi. [Jackson, MS]. Special Collections has 1852 edition; see State Docs for more holdings. Call Number: KFM6606.
The Mississippi Almanacs. Jacinto, MS: M.A. Simmons, 1856. Call Number: AY216 M5 1856.
Mississippi Baptist Association. Minutes of the Mississippi Baptist Association. New Orleans: Hinton & Co., 1849- . Call Number: BX6209 M7.
Mississippi Baptist Association. A Republication of the Minutes of the Mississippi Baptist Association from Its Organization in 1806 to the Present Time. New Orleans: Hinton & Co., 1849. Call Number: BX6209 M712.
Mississippi. Constitutional Convention (1851). Journal of the Convention of the State of Mississippi, and the Act Calling the Same; with the Constitution of the United States, and Washington's Farewell Address. Jackson: T. Palmer, 1851. Call Number: JK4625 1851 A25.
Mississippi Female College, Hernando, Miss. Annual Catalogue. Baltimore: W.M. Innes. Special Collections has 1852/53, 1854/55, and 1855/56 editions. Call Number: LD7251 H4 M5a.
Mississippi Genealogical Society. Newspaper Notices of Mississippians 1820-1860. [Jackson, MS]: 1960. Call Number: F340 M5 N4.
Mississippi. General Assembly. The Charter, and Amendments Thereto, of the Planters' Bank, of the State of Mississippi. Jackson, MS: 1833. Call Number: HG2611 M7 P43 1833.
Mississippi. General Assembly. House of Representatives. Journals of General Assembly of the Mississippi Territory: Journal of the House of Representatives, Second General Assembly, Second Session, October 3 -- November 19, 1803. Hattiesburg, MS: Book Farm, 1940. Call Number: Z1302 H4 no. 55.
Mississippi. High Court of Errors and Appeals. Argument of George R. Clayton, for Appellant. High Court of Errors and Appeals, April Term, 1860. Caleb, a Slave of Wm. Kidd, Appellant, Versus the State of Mississippi, Respondent. Appellant Indicted for the Crime of Murder. Columbus, MS: Mississippi Democrat Power Press, 1860. Call Number: JK4682 C3.
Mississippi Historical Records Survey. Mississippi Newspapers, 1805-1940: A Preliminary Checklist of Mississippi Newspaper Files Available in the Mississippi Department of Archives and History. Jackson, MS: 1942. Call Number: Z6952 M55 H5.
Mississippi Historical Records Survey. Mississippi Newspapers, 1805-1940: A Preliminary Union List of Mississippi Newspaper Files Available in County Archives, Offices of Publishers, Libraries, and Private Collection on Mississippi. Jackson, MS: 1942. Call Number: Z6952 M55 H52.
Mississippi. Legislature. An Act to Incorporate the Lake Washington and Deer Creek Rail-Road Company. [Jackson, MS: 1836]. Call Number: HE2791 L353 A38 1836.
Mississippi. Legislature. Memorial of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi, upon the Subject of the Lands Acquired by Treaty from the Choctaw Nation of Indians. [Washington, DC]: 1832. Call Number: HD243 M7 M577 1832.
Mississippi. Legislature. Resolution of the Legislature of Mississippi in Favor of Graduating and Reducing the Price of Public Lands. [Washington, DC: 1846]. Call Number: HD243 M7 R47 1846.
Mississippi. Legislature. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi: Complaining of the Disadvantages Resulting from Certain Reservations of Land to Choctaw Indians, under the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek: And Praying Such Title, When Originating in Fraud, May Not Be Confirmed. Gales & Seaton, [1836]. Call Number: E99 C8 M58 1836.
Mississippi. Legislature. Senate. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi, on the Subject of Slavery and the Questions in Controversy between the Northern and Southern States Growing out of that Institution. May 8, 1850. [Jackson, MS]: 1850. Call Number: E445 M6 M5 1850.
Mississippi. Legislature. Committee on the Judiciary. Resolutions and Report of the Judiciary Committee: Relative to the Rights of the State to Unappropriated Lands within Her Jurisdiction. [Jackson, MS]: 1830. Call Number: F341 D895 1830a OVRS.
Mississippi. State Agricultural Bureau. Premium List for the Third Annual Fair to Be Held in the City of Jackson, Exclusively, under the Control of the Agricultural Bureau: on the 8th, 9th, 10th, and 11th of November 1859, with the Constitution and By-Laws. Jackson, MS: Mississippian Job Office, 1859. Call Number: S555 M7 P7 1859.
Mississippi State Bar Association. Memorial of the Bar Association of the State of Mississippi: February 21, 1825. Washington, DC: Gales & Seaton, 1825. Courts. Call Number: KF322 M74 M46 1825.
Mississippi Typographical Association of Jackson. Constitution and By-laws of the Mississippi Typographical Association of Jackson: Revised and Adopted July 14, 1838: To Which Is Appended a Scale of Prices. Jackson, MS: B.D. Howard, 1839. Call Number: Z120 M566 1839.
S. Augustus Mitchell. Map of Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama. Philadelphia: 1834. Call Number: G3980 M5 1837.
John W. Monette. Observations on the Epidemic Yellow Fever of Natchez, and of the South-west. Louisville, KY: Prentice and Weissinger, 1842. Call Number: RC211 M7 M66 1842.
Frank A. Montgomery. Reminiscences of a Mississippian in Peace and War. Cincinnati: Robert Clarke Company Press, 1901. Call Number: E605 M78.
Chris B. Morgan, comp. The Early Tax Records of Tallahatchie County, Mississippi, 1834-1851. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1997. Call Number: F347 M67 1997.
Chris B. Morgan, comp. Yalobusha County, Mississippi, Original Land Entries, Books 1 & 2, 1833-1853. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Publishing Co., 1997. Call Number: F347 Y15 M62 1997.
Bonnie Morse, comp. Newton County, Mississippi 1860 Census and Slave Schedule. Mobile: 1984. Call Number: F347 N48 M67.
Nicholas Russell Murray. Computer Indexed Marriage Records...Mississippi. Hammond, LA: Hunting for Bear, [1980- ]. Eighty-two volumes. Call Number: F340 M87.
Nicholas Russell Murray. Franklin County, Mississippi, 1817-1899: Computer Indexed Marriage Records. Hamond, LA: [197-]. Call Number: F340 M87 v.19.
Natchez Institute, August 31, 1855. Elementary education. Call Number: LD7501 N2 N3 1855.
Hazle Boss Neet. Pontotoc County, Mississippi Marriage Book, 1849-1891. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 2002. Call Number: F347 P7 N446 2002.
Eliza Lucy Irion Nelson. Lucy's Journal. Greenwood, MS: Baff Print Corp., 1967. 1843-1883; Columbus, Mississippi. Call Number: E487 N4.
Charles B. New. An Address Delivered at Port Gibson, Mississippi before the Clinton Royal Arch Chapter and Washington Lodge, after the Public Installation of Officers, by Companion Charles B. New, P.M. on the 27th Dec., A.L. 5848, A.D. 1848. Port Gibson, MS: Herald Office, 1849. Call Number: HS397 N4.
James K.P. Newton. A Brief Sketch of the Life of Rev. James K.P. Newton, Born September 26th, 1843; Died November 20th, 1898. [1958]. Memoir of Mississippian. Call Number: BX9225 N45.
Ralph North. A Treatise on the Law and Practice of the Probate Courts of Mississippi: Comprising a Compilation of the Statutes of the State on the Subject of the Probate Courts, Last Wills and Testaments, Estates of Decedents, Infants and Persons non compos mentis, Dower, and Partition of Lands... Philadelphia: Thomas, Cowperthwait & Co., 1845. Call Number: KFM6744 N6.
Northeast Mississippi Historical & Genealogical Society. Lee County, Mississippi Cemetery Records, 1820-1979. Columbus, MS: Blewett Co., 1981. Call Number: F347 L45 N6.
Noxubee County Historical Society. Noxubee County, Mississippi Marriages. Macon, MS: 1979. 1834-1904. Call Number: F347 N6 N69 1979.
Oakland College (Miss.). Catalogue of the Officers and Students of Oakland College. Natchez, MS: Daily Courier Office. Special Collections has 1845 edition. Call Number: LD131 A24 A34.
The Oakland College Magazine. Oakland College, MS. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1856 to 1857. Call Number: AS36 O29 A3.
Bruce J. Oakley Jr. A Postal History of Mississippi Stampless Period, 1799-1860. Baldwyn, MS: Magnolia Publishers, 1969. Two volumes. Call Number: HE6376 A1 M7.
Frederick Law Olmstead. The Cotton Kingdom: A Traveller's Observations on Cotton and Slavery in the American Slave States: Based upon Three Former Volumes of Journeys and Investigations... New York: Knopf, 1953. Includes travel in Mississippi. Call Number: F213 O53 1953.
Frederick Law Olmstead. A Journey in the Back Country. New York: Mason Brothers, 1860. Includes travel in Mississippi. Call Number: F353 O51.
Ordinances of the Town of Pass Christian: Revised and Adopted at a Regular Meeting of the Board of Councilmen, Held on the Third Monday of April, A.D. 1858. [Pass Christian: Pass Christian Historical Society, 2003]. Original publication from 1858. Call Number: F349 P32 P37 1858a.
Ordinances Passed by the President and Trustees of the Town of Washington. Also the Acts of Incorporation. Approved May 29, 1841. Natchez, MS: Daily Courier Office, 1841. Call Number: JS1509 W3 A3 1841.
Robert Paine. Life and Times of William M'Kendree, Bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Nashville, TN: Publishing House of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 1874. Includes coverage of the Mississippi Conference; three volumes. Call Number: BX8495 M24 P3 1869.
Pamphlets for the People. In Illustration of the Claim of the Church and Methodism. By a Presbyter of Mississippi. Philadelphia: Hooker, 1854. Call Number: BX8332 P3.
Ray Parish. Cemetery Inscriptions, Pike County, Mississippi, 1750-1978. 1979. Call Number: F347 P6 P3.
Joel Parker. The Right of Secession: A Review of the Message of Jefferson Davis to the Congress of the Confederate States. Cambridge: Welch, Bigelow, and Company, 1861. Call Number: JK320 P3.
James Pearse. A Narrative of the Life of James Pearse. Chicago: Quadrangle Books, 1962. Managed a plantation in Woodville, Mississippi from 1819 to 1822; originally published in 1825. Call Number: F396 P36 1825a.
Henry G. Perry. Phantasy; or, Teachings of Truth from Study and Contrast of the Real with Unreality: A Poem, Delivered before the Literary Societies, at the Annual Commencement of Oakland College, Mississippi, May, A.D., 1859. New Orleans: Bulletin Book and Job Office, 1859. Call Number: PS2545 P65 P3.
The Phi Sigma Magazine. [University, MS: University of Mississippi]. Special Collections has issues from 1856 to 1857. Call Number: LH1 M7 U5p.
Martin W. Philips. "Diary of a Mississippi Planter, January 1, 1840, to April, 1863." Reprint from Publications of the Mississippi Historical Society Vol. 10. Call Number: F341 P35 R5.
Albert James Pickett. History of Alabama, and Incidentally of Georgia and Mississippi, from the Earliest Period. Charleston: Walker and James, 1851. Two volumes. Call Number: F326 P56.
The Planter and the Mechanic: For Mississippi and Louisiana. Jackson, MS: J.J. Williams. Periodical devoted to agriculture, horticulture, and the mechanic arts. Special Collections has February 1859 issue. Call Number: S1 P4.
Gwen Platt, et al. Mississippi Northern District: Index to the United States Census of 1840. [Santa Ana, CA]: G.A.M. Publications, 1970. Call Number: F340 P4.
Gwen Platt, et al. Mississippi Southern District: Index to the United States Census of 1840. [Santa Ana, CA]: G.A.M. Publications, 1970. Call Number: F340 P42.
Political Portraits with Pen and Pencil: Hon. Jacob Thompson, of Mississippi. 1850. Call Number: E415.9 T45 P64.
George Lewis Prentiss. A Memoir of S.S. Prentiss Edited by His Brother. New York: C. Scribner's Sons. 1855. Two volumes. Mississippi politician. Call Number: E340 P9 P7.
Samuel Prentiss. A Bill for the Relief of the Trustees of Common Schools in Township Eight, Range Eleven East, in the State of Mississippi. [Washington, DC: 1836]. Call Number: LB2827 P74 1836 OVRS.
Seargent Smith Prentiss. Speech of Mr. Prentiss, on the Mississippi Contested Election. Delivered in the House of Representatives of the United States, January 17, 1838. Washington, DC: Gales and Seaton, 1838. Call Number: JK1359 25th, M7.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S. North Mississippi Presbytery. North Mississippi Presbytery; a Chronological List of the Churches, Ministers, Candidates, Moderators, Stated Clerks, and Commissioners to the General Assembly from the Organization of the Presbytery in 1856 through the Church Year 1941-42. Sardis, MS: Southern Reporter, 1942. Call Number: BX8962 G7.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Presbytery of Mississippi. Missionary Society. The Constitution of the Missionary Society of the Mississippi Presbytery: Together with the Address of the Presbytery in Its Behalf. Natchez, MS: Isler & Green, 1820. Call Number: BX8968 M7.
Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Presbytery of Mississippi. North Mississippi. Congregational and Sessional Records of College Church, College Hill, Miss.: 1835-1865. University, MS: 1955. Call Number: BX9211 C66.
Proceedings of a Meeting to Consider the Propriety of Forming a Baptist State Convention. Natchez, MS: Stanton & Besancon, 1837. Call Number: BX6248 M7 P66x.
John A. Quitman. Speech of Hon. John A. Quitman, of Mississippi, on the Bill to Increase the Army, Delivered in the House of Representatives, March 4, 1858. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1858. Call Number: UA23 Q85.
John A. Quitman. Speech of John A. Quitman, of Mississippi, on the Subject of the Neutrality Laws: Delivered in Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union, April 29, 1856. Washington: Union Office, 1856. Call Number: F1783 Q85.
Mary Lois S. Ragland, comp. Fisher Funeral Home Records, Vicksburg, Mississippi, 1854-1867. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1992. Call Number: F349 V6 R34 1992.
Rankin County, Mississippi Cemetery Records, 1824-1980. Brandon, MS: Rankin County Historical Society, 1981. Call Number: F347 R3 R36 1981.
George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. Westport, CN: Greenwood Pub. Co., [1972- ]. WPA oral histories of former slaves. Special Collections has volume 7 with Mississippi oral histories. Call Number: E441 A58.
George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography: Supplement, Series 1. Westport, CN: Greenwood Pub. Co., [1978- ]. WPA oral histories of former slaves. Special Collections has volumes 1 through 12 with Mississippi interviews. Call Number: E441 A58 supp.
A. Louise Mozee Raymond. "Publications of the Mississippi Legislature, 1789-1952." M.A. thesis; Atlanta University; 1955. Call Number: Z1223.5 M7 R3 1955.
Record Book of the Faculty of the University of the State of Mississippi: November 1848. Transcriptions of faculty meeting minutes from 1848 until 1861. Call Number: LD3413 R43 1900z.
Record of the Phi Chapter, Fraternity of Delta Psi, 1855-1874. Oxford, MS: University of Mississippi, [1874]. Call Number: LJ75 D53 1874.
James Register. Natchez Is My Name: Text, Views, and Prologue Assembled by James Register; View of Natchez by Artists (Early 1800's); Text of Natchez (1835) by Joseph Holt Ingraham. Shreveport, LA: 1978. Call Number: F349 N2 R4.
James Register. Views of Old Natchez, Early 1800s: Views Sketched by Charles A. Lesueur. Shreveport, LA: Mid-South Press, 1969. Call Number: F349 N2 R43 OVRS.
Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi Asking an Appropriation of Land to Aid in the Construction of the Gulf and Ship Island Railroad. [Washington, DC: 1852]. Call Number: TF208 R476 1852.
Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi in Favor of the Establishment of Certain Mail Routes in that State. [1852]. Call Number: HE6376 A1 M774 1852.
Franklin L. Riley. "A Contribution to the History of the Colonization Movement in Mississippi." Reprint from Publications of the Mississippi Historical Society Vol. 9. Transcribed letters and papers. Call Number: F341 R56.
Robert W. Roberts and Jesse Speight. Memorial of the Legislature of Mississippi, Praying a Grant of Land to the Inhabitants of the Chickasaw Cession in that State for the Use of Schools. [MS: 1842]. Call Number: LB2827 R64 1842.
Robert W. Roberts and Jesse Speight. Resolution of the Legislature of Mississippi, in Favor of the Speedy Adjustment of Claims to Land under the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek. [MS: 1842]. Indian land transfers. Call Number: E93 R64 1842.
Robert W. Roberts and Jesse Speight. Resolution of the Legislature of Mississippi, to Procure the Erection of a Light-House on St. Joseph's Island. [MS: 1842]. Call Number: VK1024 M7 R63 1842.
Robert W. Roberts and Jesse Speight. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi, Adverse to the Bankrupt and Distribution Laws, the Establishment of a Protective Tariff, and the Incorporation of a National Bank. [Washington, DC: Thomas Allen, 1842]. Call Number: HG181 R584 1842.
Robert W. Roberts and Jesse Speight. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi, on the Subject of Regulating the Rate of Postage by the Federal Currency. [MS: 1842]. Call Number: HE6425 R63 1842.
Robert W. Roberts and Jesse Speight. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi, on the Subject of the Right of Search, and the Case of the Brig Creole. [MS: Thomas Allen, 1842]. Slave trade. Call Number: KZ6578 R63 1842.
Norvell Robertson. Autobiography of Norvell Robertson, Senior. [196-]. Pastor of Providence Baptist Church near Hattiesburg, Mississippi until 1840. Call Number: F341 R5835 A3 OVRS.
Thomas E. Robins. An Inquiry into the Validity of the Bonds of the State of Mississippi: Issued in Behalf of the Union Bank of Mississippi, and Means of Payment. New York: H. Ludwig, 1847. Call Number: HG2611 M7 R6 1847.
Dunbar Rowland. Jefferson Davis, Constitutionalist: His Letters, Papers, and Speeches. Jackson, MS: Mississippi Department of Archives and History, 1923. Special Collections has volumes 2 through 9. Call Number: E467.1 D26 D26.
Charles Maurice Scales. A History of the Scales Family of Northeast Mississippi. Macon, MS: 1966. Call Number: CS71 S28 1966.
Charles Scott. The Keystone of the Masonic Arch: A Commentary on the Universal Laws and Principles of Ancient Freemasonry. Jackson, MS: T. Palmer, 1856. Call Number: HS425 S3.
Mildren M. Scott, comp. Index to 1850 & 1860 Slave Owners in Panola Co., Mississippi. Hernando, MS: Genealogical Society of De Soto County, [1990]. Call Number: F347 P2 S26 1990.
Semple Broaddus College, Centre Hill, De Soto County, Miss. Annual Catalogue. Centre, MS: King & Baird. Special Collections has 1857/58 and 1858/59. Call Number: LD7501 C35 S4a.
Semple Broaddus College, Centre Hill, De Soto County, Miss. Origin, History and Organization of Semple Broaddus College or University of De Soto, Centre Hill, De Soto County, Mississippi. Memphis: Memphis Eagle and Enquirer Cheap Steam Presses, 1857. Call Number: LD7501 C35 S40.
Seraiah the Scribe. Chronicles of the Fire-Eaters of the Tribe of Mississippi. Brandon, MS: Republican Office, 1853. Politics. Call Number: JK2318 M73 1853.
Mildred M. Scott and Ozell Donaldson Scott. DeSoto County, Mississippi, Slave Owners, 1850. Hernando, MS: Genealogical Society of DeSoto County, [199-]. Call Number: F347 D4 S36.
Mildred M. Scott and Ozell Donaldson Scott. DeSoto County, Mississippi, Slave Owners, 1860. Hernando, MS: Genealogical Society of DeSoto County, [199-]. Call Number: F347 D4 S362.
William L. Sharkey. Commencement Address Delivered before the Law Students of the University of Mississippi, on the 5th Day of July, 1859. Oxford, MS: 1859. Call Number: LD3417.2 1859l.
William Lewis Sharkey. Judge Sharkey's Speech: Delivered at the Union Meeting, in Vicksburg, on the Evening of the 8th October, 1850. [MS: 1850]. Call Number: F341 S537 1850a.
Charles Galloway Singleton. Captain Richard Singleton and Some Descendants. [Dallas, TX: 1962]. Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Call Number: CS71 S46 S5.
Otho R. Singleton. Speech of Hon. Otho R. Singleton, of Mississippi, on the Resistance of Black Republican Domination; Delivered in the House of Representatives, December 19, 1859. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1859. Call Number: E185.61 S53.
A Sketch of the Life of Jeff Davis, the Democratic Candidate for Governor. Jackson: Mississippi Power Press, 1851. Call Number: E467.1 D26 S54 1851.
James A. Sloan. The Great Question Answered: or, Is Slavery a Sin in Itself (Per Se?) Answered According to the Scriptures. Memphis: Hutton, Galloway & Co., 1857. Author was a Mississippi minister. Call Number: E449 S635.
Susan Dabney Smedes. Memorials of a Southern Planter. New York: Cushings & Bailey, 1887. Hinds County, Mississippi. Call Number: F213 D13.
Chesley T. Smith, comp. Travel in the 1840's. [200-]. Transcription of letters by Henry Craft on his travel in Mississippi. Call Number: F341 T73.
Franklin Smith. The Mexican War Journal of Captain Franklin Smith. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1991. 1st Mississippi Infantry Regiment. Call Number: E411 S643 1991.
Gerrit Smith. Letter of Gerrit Smith to Rev. James Smylie: Of the State of Mississippi. New York: R.G. Williams for the American Anti-Slavery Society, 1837. Call Number: E449 S67.
James Smith. The Christian's Defence: Containing a Fair Statement, and Impartial Examination of the Leading Objections Urged by Infidels Against the Antiquity, Genuiness, Credibility and Inspiration of the Holy Scriptures; Enriched with Copius Extracts from Learned Authors. Cincinnati: J.A. James, 1843. Contains two preliminary pages of notices all from Columbus, Mississippi correspondents. Call Number: BS480 S65 1843.
J.H. Smylie. Sermon on the Occasion of Thanksgiving Day. Natchez: Daily Courier Office, 1857. Call Number: BV4305 S5.
Jesse Speight. In the Senate of the United States, December 16, 1845: Agreeably to Notice, Mr. Speight Asked and Obtained Leave to Bring the Following Bill; Which Was Read Twice, and Referred to the Committee on Public Lands. [Washington, DC: 1846]. Mississippi and Louisiana. Call Number: GB1227 P43 S64 1846.
Imogene Springer, comp. Book I, The People, Chickasaw Co., MS, 1836-1852; Book II, The Land Owners, Chickasaw Co., MS, 1836-1852; Book III, Land Patents, Calhoun Co., MS. [Houston, MS: Chickasaw County Historical Genealogical Society, 1987-1989]. Call Number: F347 C4 S67 1987.
The State of Mississippi, vs. Hezron A. Johnson: Involving the Liability of the State of Mississippi for the Payment of the Bonds Issued for and on Account of the Mississippi Union Bank. Opinion of the Judges, and Final Decision of the Case. Jackson: Thomas Palmer, 1853. Call Number: HG4948 M7 J59 1853.
State Secession Debates, 1859-1862: Guide to the Microfilm Collection. Millwood, NY: KTO Microform, 1976. Call Number: Z7165 U5 S699.
Wendell Holmes Stephenson. Isaac Franklin, Slave Trader and Planter of the Old South; with Plantation Records. Louisiana State University Press, 1938. Natchez, Mississippi. Call Number: F213 F73.
John R. Stockman. Memorial of Citizens of Natchez and Adams County, Miss., Asking the Location of a Contemplated Naval Depot and Armory at that Place. [Blair & Rives, 1844]. Call Number: VA68 M7 S76 1844.
Joseph Buck Stratton. Memorial of a Quarter-Century's Pastorate: A Sermon Preached on the Sabbath, Jan. 3d and 17th, 1869, in the Presbyterian Church, Natchez, Miss. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott, 1869. Call Number: BV4241 S8 M4.
Joseph Buck Stratton. A Pastor's Valedictory: A Selection of Early Sermons. Natchez, MS: Natchez Printing & Stationery Co., 1899. Presbyterian minister in Natchez, Mississippi. Call Number: BX9178 A3 S8.
Ben Strickland and Jean Strickland, comps. Records of Greene County, Mississippi: 1812-1820 Tax Rolls, 1816 Territorial Census. Milton, FL: 1980. Call Number: F347 G65 S77 1980.
Thomas Scattergood Teas. "A Trading Trip to Natchez and New Orleans, 1822: Diary of Thomas S. Teas." Reprint from Journal of Southern History Vol. 7, No. 3 (August 1941). Call Number: F349 N2 T4 OVRS.
Thomas C. Teasdale. Reminiscences and Incidents from a Long Life. St. Louis: National Baptist Publishing Co., 1891. Baptist minister who settled in Columbus, Mississippi in 1858. Call Number: BX6495 T4 A3 1891.
Bannon Goforth Thibodeaux. A Bill Relating to the Collection of District of Pearl River, in the State of Mississippi. [Washington, DC: 1848]. Call Number: HE554 A7 T55 1848.
Betty Wood Thomas, comp. 1850 Census, Lowndes County, Mississippi, Including Free, Slave, Mortality, and Agricultural Schedules. Columbus, MS: Blewett Co., 1978. Call Number: F347 L8 T46.
Betty Wood Thomas, comp. Mississippi Marriages: Lowndes County 1830-1868, Monroe County, 1821-1858. 1979. Call Number: CS68 M7 T34x.
Jacob Thompson. Address of Hon. Jacob Thompson of Mississippi, to His Constituents. Washington: J.T. Towers, 1851. Call Number: E423 T47.
Jacob Thompson. Address of Hon. Jacob Thompson of Mississippi, to His Constituents. Jacinto, MS: W.H. Jones, 1851. Call Number: E423 T472 1851.
Jacob Thompson. Increase of the Army: Speech of Hon. Jacob Thompson, of Miss., Delivered in the House of Representatives, January 9, 1847, in Committee of the Whole on the State of the Union, on the Bill to Raise for a Limited Time an Additional Military Force, and for Other Purposes. [Washington, DC]: Blair & Rives, [1847]. Call Number: E409 T56 1847.
Jacob Thompson. John Mullings: To Accompany Bill H.R. No. 64. [MS: Blair & River, 1844]. Indian land transfers in Mississippi. Call Number: E93 T55 1844.
Jacob Thompson. Speech of Jacob Thompson, of Mississippi, on the Civil and Diplomatic Bill, and the Presidential Election. Delivered in the House of Representatives, July 21, 1848. [Washington, DC]: Towers, [1848]. Call Number: E415.9 T45 S6 1848.
Jacob Thompson. Speech of Mr. Thompson, of Mississippi, on the Oregon Bill: Delivered in the House of Representatives, January 30, 1845. [Washington, DC: 1845]. Call Number: F880 T36 1845.
Jacob Thompson and George Frederick Holmes. Address Delivered on Occasion of the Opening of the University of the State of Mississippi: In Behalf of the Board of Trustees, November 6, 1848 by Hon. Jacob Thompson, M.C. Inaugural Address, Delivered on Occasion of the Opening of the University of the State of Mississippi, November 6, 1848 by George Fred'k Holmes, A.M. President of the University. Memphis: Franklin Book and Job Office, 1849. Call Number: LB41 T5.
Jacob Thompson, Frederick P. Stanton, and Thomas Nixon Van Dyke. Letters from the Hon. Jacob Thompson of Mississippi, and the Hon. Frederick P. Stanton of Memphis District, Tenn., Representatives in Congress, and a Letter from T. Nixon Van Dyke, Esq., on the Subject of the Southwestern Railroad. Richmond: Shepherd and Colin, 1849. Call Number: HE2791 L992 1849b.
TLC Genealogy. Copiah County, Mississippi Taxpayers, 1825-1841. Miami Beach, FL: 1990. Call Number: F347 C75 C67 1990.
Henry Tooley. Address. Mississippi Freemasons. Call Number: HS397 T6.
James L. Totten and Jesse Speight. Resolution of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi, in Favor of a Reduction of the Price of the Public Lands in that State. [MS: 1844]. Call Number: HD243 M7 T67 1844.
James L. Totten and Jesse Speight. Resolutions of the General Assembly of Mississippi, in Favor of the Extension of the Mail Route from Sheildsborough, in Hancock County, to Pass Christian, in Harrison County, and the Alteration of the Mail Route from Augusta to Biloxi. [Washington, DC: 1844]. Call Number: HE6376 A1 M773 1844.
James L. Totten and Jesse Speight. Resolutions of the Legislature of Mississippi, in Reference to the Location of the Armory and Naval Depot. [Washington, DC: Blair & River, 1844]. Mississippi. Call Number: UF554 M7 T68 1844.
Joseph Travis. Autobiography of the Rev. Joseph Travis, A.M., a Member of the Methodist Annual Conference. Embracing a Succinct History of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South; Particularly in part of Western Virginia, the Carolinas, Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi. With Short Memoirs of Several Local Preachers, and an Address to His Friends. Nashville, TN: E. Stevenson & J.E.Evans, 1856. Call Number: BX8495 T74 A3.
Earl A. Truett Jr. and Catherine E. Eatman, comps. 1840 U.S. Federal Census, Lafayette County & Yalobusha County, Mississippi: Also Index to 1850 U.S. Census, Lafayette Co., MS. Oxford, MS: 1981. Call Number: F347 L2 T77.
Earl A. Truett Jr. and Catherine E. Eatman, comps. 1860 U.S. Federal Census, Lafayette County, Mississippi. Oxford, MS: 1982. Call Number: F347 L2 T78.
Union Baptist Association (Miss.). Minutes of the Union Baptist Association, Held at New Salem Church, Hinds County, Mississippi: on the 27th, 28th, and 29th Days of Oct., 1838. Raymond, MS: S.T. King, 1838. Call Number: BX6248 M7 U5 1838.
Union Safety Committee. Celebration of Washington's Birth-day at New-York, on the 22d of February, 1851. New York: Van Norden & Amerman, 1851. Includes an oration by Mississippian Henry S. Foote. Call Number: E312.6 N56.
United States. Board of Choctaw Commissioners. Proceedings of the Board of Choctaw Commissioners. [Natchez, MS: 1843]. Includes a newspaper clipping regarding J.F.H. Claiborne's role on the board. Call Number: E99 U5.
United States. Congress. Mississippi Election. [Washington, DC: Thomas Allen, 1838]. Call Number: JK1359 25th U5.
United States. Congress. Obituary Addresses on the Occasions of the Death of the Hon. John A. Quitman, of Mississippi, and of the Hon. Thomas L. Harris, of Illinois, Delivered in the Senate of the United States, on the 5th and 17th of January, 1859. Baltimore: John Murphy & Co., 1859. Call Number: F341 Q8 U5.
United States. Congress. Petition of a Number of Citizens of Mississippi, Praying Congress to Institute an Inquiry into the Claim of Choctaw Indians to Reservations under the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek, January 21, 1837. [Washington, DC]: Gales and Seaton, 1837. Call Number: HD171 B2 P4 1837.
United State. Congress. House. Attach Part of Chickasaw County to Monroe County, Mississippi. [Washington, DC: 1828]. Call Number: E99 C55 U537 1828.
United State. Congress. House. Memorial of the Choctaw Citizens of the State of Mississippi to the Congress of the United States. [Washington, DC: 1841]. Call Number: E99 C8 M46 1840.
United States. Congress. Senate. The Federal and State Constitutions, Colonial Charters, and Other Organic Laws of the United States... Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1877. Special Collections copy of Part 2 has "L.Q.C. Lamar." Call Number: JK18 1877.
The United States Democratic Review. [New York: Lloyd & Campbell, 1856-1859]. Special Collections has vol. 41, no. 3 from 1858 with "Interior department report of Secretary [Jacob] Thompson" pp. 194-201 and "Biographical sketches, Hon. John Anthony Quitman, Member of Congress for Mississippi", pp. 202-207. Call Number: AP2 U6b.
United States. Department of the Treasury. Lands Entered at Augusta, Mississippi: Letter from the Secretary of the Treasury, Transmitting the Information Required by a Resolution of the House of Representatives of the 1st Instant, in Relation to the Quantity of Land Entered at the Office at Augusta, in the State of Mississippi, from Its Establishment to the Year 1830. [Washington, DC: 1836]. Call Number: HD243 U5587 1836.
United States. President (1825-1829: Adams). By the President of the United States: In Pursuance of Law, I, John Quincy Adams, President of the United States, Do Hereby Declare and Make Known that a Public Sale Will Be Held at the Land Office at Washington, in the State of Mississippi... [Washington, DC: 1827]. Call Number: HD243 M7 U558 1827.
United States. President (1839-1837: Jackson). Message from the President of the United States, with Documents Relating to the Character and Conduct of Samuel Gwin. [Washington, DC: 1837]. Samuel Gwin was register of the land office in Madison County, Mississippi. Call Number: HD171 A18 M7.
United States. War Department. Choctaw Treaty, Dancing Rabbit Creek. Letter from the Secretary of War Transmitting a Communication from the Commissioner of Indian Affairs in Respect to the Manner in Which Certain Stipulations in the Choctaw Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek Have Been Fulfilled. [Washington, DC]: 1841. Mississippi. Call Number: E99 C8 U5.
United States. War Department. Expenditures from the Chickasaw Fund: Letter from the Secretary of War, Communicating a Detailed Statement of All the Expenditures Made from the Chickasaw Fund Between the 2d Day of March, 1833 and the 1st Day of January, 1843. Aberdeen, MS: Chickasaw Pub. Co., 1982. Mississippi and Alabama. Call Number: E99 C55 U55.
United States. Works Progress Administration (Miss.). Index to Naturalization Records Mississippi Courts 1798-1906. Jackson, MS: 1942. Call Number: F350 A1 O5.
University of Mississippi. Historical Catalogue of the University of Mississippi, 1849-1909. Nashville, TN: Marshall & Bruce Company, 1910. Lists students by year. Call Number: LD3412 1910.
University of Mississippi. Record of the Testimony and Proceedings, in the Matter of the Investigation, by the Trustees of the University of Mississippi, on the 1st and 2nd of March, 1860, of the Charges Made by H.R. Branham, Against the Chancellor of the University. Jackson, MS: Mississippi Office, 1860. Call Number: LD3405.8 A16.
University of Mississippi. Catalogue of the Officers, Alumni and Students of the University of Mississippi, at Oxford, Mississippi. Special Collections has 1854/55; 1857/58/ and 1859/60. Call Number: LD3408 U55.
University of Mississippi. Rules and Regulations of the University of Mississippi. Holly Springs, MS: "Miss. Times" Cheap Book and Job Office Print. Special Collections has scattered editions from 1850 to 1911. Call Number: LD3400.5 M5.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Governmental Research. The Constitutions of Mississippi, as Originally Adopted. University, MS: 1982. Call Number: KFM7001 A4 1982.
University of Mississippi. Bureau of Governmental Research. Inaugural Addresses of the Governors of Mississippi. University, MS: 1980-1981. Volume one contains 1890 to 1980. Volume two contains 1817 to 1890. Call Number: F341 I53.
Marie Luter Upton. Marriage Records, Copiah County, Mississippi, 1823-1843. [Madison, MS: 1958]. Call Number: CS68 M7 C55.
Marie Luter Upton. Marriage Records, Lawrence County, Mississippi, 1818-1838. 1970. Call Number: CS68 M7 L3.
Marie Luter Upton. Marriage Records, Marion County, Mississippi, 1812-1860. Madison, MS: 1958. Call Number: CS68 M7 M35.
R.C. Upton and Marie Luter Upton, comps. Marriage Records, Madison County, Mississippi; Book "E" 1830-1836 and Book "F" 1835-1847. [Madison, MS: 1958]. Call Number: CS68 M7 M3.
A. De Puy Van Buren. Jottings of a Year's Sojourn in the South, or, First Impressions of the Country and Its People: With a Glimpse at School-Teaching in that Southern Land, and Reminiscences of Distinguished Men. Battle Creek, MI: 1859. Mississippi. Call Number: F210 V22.
Benjamin L.C. Wailes. Address Delivered in the College Chapel: Before the Agricultural, Horticultural, and Botanical Society of Jefferson College. Natchez, MS: Daily Courier Office, 1841. Call Number: LD7501 W33 W3.
Benjamin L.C. Wailes. Report on the Agriculture and Geology of Mississippi. Embracing a Sketch of the Social and Natural History of the State. [Jackson, MS]: Barksdale, 1854. Call Number: QE73 M57 1854.
Elijah Millington Walker. A Bachelor's Life in Antebellum Mississippi: The Diary of Elijah Millington Walker, 1849-1852. Physician. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 2004. Call Number: F341 W17 2004.
Robert J. Walker. An Appeal for the Union, Letter from the Hon. Robert J. Walker. New York, Tuesday, Sept. 30, 1856. [To] Hon. Charles Shaler and Others, Democratic Committee, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. [New York: J.F. Trow, 1856]. Call Number: E435 W183 1856.
Robert J. Walker. Argument of Robert J. Walker, Esq. before the Supreme Court of the United States, on the Mississippi Slave Question, at January Term, 1841. Involving the Power of Congress and of the States to Prohibit the Inter-State Slave Trade. Philadelphia: J.C. Clark, 1841. Call Number: E449 W185 1841.
Robert J. Walker. Introductory Address of the Hon. R.J. Walker, of Mississippi, Delivered before the National Institute at Its April Meeting, 1844. Washington, DC: W.Q. Force, 1845. Science. Call Number: Q11 S64 W35 1845.
Robert J. Walker. An Outline of the Empire of the West; Including the United Kingdom, the United States, and the British Colonies, Shadowed in a Correspondence between the Hon. R.J. Walker...and Arthur Davies. 1852. Call Number: JN276 W3 1852.
Robert J. Walker. Letter of Mr. Walker, of Mississippi, Relative to the Reannexation of Texas: In Reply to the Call of the People of Carroll County, Kentucky, to Communicate His Views on that Subject. Washington, DC: Globe Office, 1844. Call Number: F390 W181 1844.
Robert J. Walker. Speech of Mr. Walker, of Mississippi, in Senate, Tuesday, Jan. 21, 1840, on the Bill to Provide for the Collection, Safe Keeping, Transfer, and Disbursement of the Public Monies. New York: Evening Post, [1840]. Call Number: HJ250 W3 1840.
Robert J. Walker. Speech of Rob't J. Walker, Esq.: Delivered at the Union Meeting, Held in the City of Natchez on the First Monday of January, 1833. Natchez, MS: Wooster, 1833. Call Number: E384.3 W35 1833.
Robert J. Walker. Speech of the Hon. Robert J. Walker, at Liverpool, England. [Washington: Towers Printer, 1852]. Mississippi author on tariff. Call Number: HF1754 W18 1852.
Robert J. Walker. Speech of the Hon. Robert J. Walker, Delivered March 1, 1850, in Favor of Pennsylvania, in the Case of the State of Pennsylvania, vs. The Wheeling Bridge Company, Published by the Request of the Attorney General of the State, Chiefly from Notes of a Short Hand Reporter. Philadelphia: The Pennsylvanian Job Printing Office, 1850. Mississippi author. Call Number: TG224 P4 W3.
Robert J. Walker. Speech of Mr. Walker, of Mississippi: Delivered in the United States Senate, May 20 and 21, in Secret Session on the Treaty for the Reannexation of Texas. The Injunction of Secrecy Removed. Washington, DC: Globe Office, 1844. Call Number: F390 W19 1844.
Robert J. Walker and Arthur Davies. An Outline of the Empire of the West; Including the United Kingdom, the United States, and the British Colonies, Shadowed in a Correspondence between Hon. R.J. Walker...and Arthur Davies. 1852. Call Number: JN276 W3 1852.
Nathaneil A. Ware. Notes on Political Economy as Applicable to the United States by a Southern Planter. New York: A.M. Kelley, 1967. Originally published in 1844. Acting governor of Mississippi Territory and banker in Natchez in the 1830s. Call Number: HB161 W27 1967.
William Hamilton Watkins. In Memoriam: Life and Labors of the Rev. William Hamilton Watkins. Nashville: Southern Methodist Publishing House, 1886. Mississippi minister; biographical accounts and sermons. Call Number: BX8217 W3.
Margaret E. Webb and Lida E. Logan, comps. Evidence of Births, Marriages, and Deaths in Lowndes County, Mississippi, 1830-1987. 1990. Call Number: F347 L8 W43 1990.
Henry Benjamin Whipple. Bishop Whipple's Diary, 1843-1844. London: Oxford University Press, [1937]. Includes travel in Mississippi. Call Number: F213 W55.
E. Russ Williams, comp. Records of Marion County, Mississippi. Bogalusa, LA: 1962-68. 1812-1861; Special Collections has volumes 1 through 3. Call Number: F347 M25 W4.
O'Levia Neil Wilson Wiese, comp. The Woodville Republican, Mississippi's Oldest Existing Newspaper. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1990- . Six volumes of abstracts beginning in 1823. Call Number: F347 W65 W54 1990.
J.P. Williams. Providence Church, 1818-1918. Forest County, Mississippi. Bound with Oscar D. Bowen's The Baptists, What They Believe and Whey They Believe It: An Address. Call Number: BX6332 B6.
Wilson Hall: The Fall Session of This Institution Will Commence September the 3d, 1860. [Early Grove, MS: 1860]. School. Call Number: LD7501 E28 W55 1860.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Carroll County, Mississippi, Abstracts of Wills 1834-1875, Divorces 1857-1875. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1987. Call Number: F347 C3 W55 1987.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Carroll County, Mississippi Estate Records: 1840-1869 with Freedman Apprenticeships. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1997. Call Number: F347 C3 W56 1997.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Choctaw and Chickasaw Early Census Records. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Pub. Co., [1997]. 1831-1839. Call Number: E99 C55 W56 1997.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Marriages and Deaths from Mississippi Newspapers. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1987- . 1837-1861; three volumes. Call Number: F340 W54 1987.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Mississippi Index of Wills, 1800-1900. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1989. Call Number: HA38 M7 W5 1989.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Mississippi Soldiers: Revolutionary, 1812, Indian, and Mexican Wars. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Pub. Co., 1998. Call Number: F340 W59 1998.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Register of Choctaw Emigrants to the West, 1831 and 1832. [Carrollton, MS: Olde Times Pub. Co., 1993]. Call Number: E99 C8 W66 1993.
William Winans. The Citizen of Zion: Substance of a Sermon on Psalm XV., Preached on Sunday: October 3, 1847, at Laurel Grove Camp-Meeting. Natchez: Daily Courier, 1857. Call Number: BX8333 W5.
William Winans. "Notes and Documents, More Winans Recollections." Reprint from Western Pennsylvania Historical Magazine Vol. 22, No. 2 (June 1939). Methodist preacher in Natchez, Mississippi 1814. Call Number: BR1720 W5 N6.
William Winans. Sermons, or; A Series of Discourses on Fundamental Religious Subjects: Including a Preliminary Discourse on the Divine Revelation of the Holy Scriptures. Nashville: Publishing House of the M.E. Church, South, 1891. Mississippi methodist minister. Call Number: BX8333 W53.
Fountain Winston. An Address Delivered on the Anniversary of St. John the Baptist, 24th June, 1820. Natchez, MS: Andrew Marschalk, 1820. Freemasons. Call Number: HS397 W5.
William Woodbridge. Mr. Woodbridge Made the Following Report: To Accompany Bill S.4. [Washington, DC: 1844]. Mississippi survey. Call Number: HD211 M7 W66 1844.
Janelle Burson Yates. Early Records of Neshoba County, Mississippi. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Publishing Co., [2003]. 1834-1907; three volumes. Call Number: F347 N4 Y39 2003.
Janelle Burson Yates. Neshoba County, Mississippi Tract Book Records, 1833-1900. Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Publishing, [19--]. Call Number: F347 N4 N47.
