DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) Resources

This guide provides users a selection of books related to DEI available through UM Libraries as either a print book or electronic book.

Libraries and librarians’ philosophy is rooted in service to our communities. Collection development is one part of that service, and librarians recognize the critical role the library collection plays throughout our users’ teaching, learning, and research experience. The University of Mississippi Libraries is committed to providing a diverse, equitable, and inclusive collection. We embrace ACRL’s Diversity Standards: Cultural Competency for Academic Libraries, Article I of the Library Bill of Rights, and the University of Mississippi’s commitment to developing pathways to equity.

To fulfill this commitment, the library will:

  • ensure all users have the collection resources necessary to be successful in their research, teaching, and learning endeavors
  • build a collection that reflects the diversity of our users
  • select resources in a wide variety of formats to support accessibility and different learning, teaching, and research modes.

The University of Mississippi Libraries will continue to develop and use holistic assessment methods to identify gaps in our current collection, apply DEI principles, and ensure retention of valued resources.

What is DEI?

Diversity

1) "Diversity can be defined as the sum of the ways that people are both alike and different. Visible diversity is generally those attributes or characteristics that are external. However, diversity goes beyond the external to internal characteristics that we choose to define as ‘invisible’ diversity. Invisible diversity includes those characteristics and attributes that are not readily seen. When we recognize, value, and embrace diversity, we are recognizing, valuing, and embracing the uniqueness of each individual."

2) "Diversity is an affirmation of the intersecting individual, social and organizational identities that make our community vibrant and transformational. We commit to openly increasing, embracing and recognizing the full spectrum of diversity at all levels of our institution."

Equity

1) "Equity is not the same as formal equality. Formal equality implies sameness. Equity, on the other hand, assumes difference and takes difference into account to ensure a fair process and, ultimately, a fair (or equitable) outcome. Equity recognizes that some groups were (and are) disadvantaged in accessing educational and employment opportunities and are, therefore, underrepresented or marginalized in many organizations and institutions. The effects of that exclusion often linger systemically within organizational policies, practices, and procedures. Equity, therefore, means increasing diversity by ameliorating conditions of disadvantaged groups."

2) "Equity is directly addressing the social, institutional, organizational and systemic barriers that prevent members of marginalized groups from thriving in our community. We commit to be both proactive and responsive in mitigating barriers so that all members of our institution are able to reach their full potential."

Inclusion

1) "Inclusion means an environment in which all individuals are treated fairly and respectfully; are valued for their distinctive skills, experiences, and perspectives; have equal access to resources and opportunities; and can contribute fully to the organization’s success."

2) "Inclusion is actively and intentionally creating a welcoming campus where all individuals feel they have a supportive and affirming space to learn, grow and engage. We commit to fostering a campus environment that fully supports, values and engages the intersectional identities of every member of our community."

 

1) Retrieved from the American Library Association's ODLOS Glossary of Terms.

2) Retrieved from the University of Mississippi's Pathways to Equity webpage