Stonewall Book Award (Library Materials)

Summary of all Stonewall Book Award Winners with links to library books in the catalog

About the Stonewall Award

"The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table (formerly the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table). Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award, the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date. The award is announced in January/February and presented to the winning authors or editors at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June or July. The award winners each receive a commemorative plaque and $1,000."

From ALA's Stonewall Award webpage

Interlibrary Loan

All books that the library owns are linked to the book's catalog entry. For those that are not linked, you will need to submit an interlibrary loan request.

Stonewall Book Author Award Winner (2019-2003)

Stonewall Book Author Award Winner (2002-1971)