Library Guides: Topics in Criminal Justice: Crime Statistics

Crime Statistics

Crime statistics are an important part of researching and writing about criminal justice issues. How statistics are recorded and reported affects government funding and programs. Crime statistics are also one of the ways the public interacts with the criminal justice system.

Audio: How Data Analysis Is Driving Policing from NPR Originally published on June 26, 2018.

Best Bets

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window Search Clery Act or Uniform Crime Report, for example.

Guide: Office of Justice Programs One of the best places to start any criminal justice research. These bureaus and offices are the places where you'll find statistics and programs related to crime.
State-by-State and Crime Estimates by Year Data about Mississippi since 1960.
The University of Mississippi Annual Security Reports and Annual Fire Reports Link for annual report in right-hand column.
Custom 1-Search on Crime Statistics Modernization Link searches across disciplines for full text books, articles and statistics from 2008-present from our library.

Polling Data

Statista This link opens in a new window Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window Collection of polling data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.

Gallup Polls Gallup delivers analytics and advice to help leaders and organizations solve their most pressing problems.
Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.

Clery Act

The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act is a federal statute requiring colleges and universities participating in federal financial aid programs to maintain and disclose campus crime statistics and security information.

Clery Act Annual Reports Search Clery Act Reports by year or by school.
Campus Safety & Security - Department of Education The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data.
Clery Center Jeanne Clery was 19 years old when she was raped and murdered in her college dormitory. Her parents, Connie and Howard Clery, could not have known the danger she was in; standards for campus crime reporting simply did not exist in 1986. So the Clerys put into motion a transformative change in criminal justice.
34 CFR 668.46 - Institutional Security Policies & Crime Statistics Reliable copy from Cornell Legal Information Institute.
Custom 1-Search for Clery Act Link searches across disciplines for full text books, articles and statistics from 2008-present from our library.

Uniform Crime Report (UCR)

The Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) compiles official data on crime in the United States, which is gathered by law enforcement agencies across the U.S. and published by the FBI.

Uniform Crime Reporting - FBI Features: • Publications • General Resources • LEOKA Resources • NIBRS Resources • Program Information • Data Collections • Documentation
Summary of the Uniform Crime Reporting Program - FBI Includes the history of the program, advisory board composition, and changes in the program.
The Nation's Two Crime Measures: Program Report - BJA
Custom 1-Search for UCR Link searches across disciplines for full text books, articles and statistics from 2008-present from our library.
Custom Google Scholar search for UCR Link searches across disciplines for full text books, articles and statistics from 2008-present in Google Scholar.