Library Guides: Southern Studies Subject Guide: Databases

One Search

Documentary & Film

Cinema Subject Guide
Copyright & Media; Finding Films & Media;
Finding Film Reviews; Film Criticism;
Cinema Production

Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

Librarian

Alex Watson

Email Me

Contact:

662-915-5866

Subjects: Art, Art History, English & Literature, Southern Studies, Theatre Arts, Writing

Read All About It!

Newspaper Guide

Other Databases by Subject Guides

Subject Specific Databases

Hover mouse over database title for a description.

African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers published by or for African Americans in 35 states from 1827 to 1998. Funded by the Dr. Gerald W. Walton Endowment.
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 This link opens in a new window
Features works published between 1860 and 1922 addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. Includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society's holdings of slavery and abolition materials contains works published over the course of more than 100 years. Includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life including archeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries are among the unique resources available in digital format.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Visual platform that enables users to browse the University Libraries' full-text scholarly journal subscriptions by subject area.
Dictionary of American Regional English This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) - representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adams housecat to Zydeco has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.
Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Contains pamphlets on all major aspects of Reconstruction from 1865 ? 1869 and 1877. This assortment of pamphlets was collected by the Department of State Library and includes speeches, debates, political statements, legislative bills, and more.
Slavery and the Law This link opens in a new window
Features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867 as well as the State Slavery Statutes collection, a comprehensive record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789-1865.

Search Guides

Southern Studies Subject Guide

One Search

Documentary & Film

Librarian

Read All About It!

Other Databases by Subject Guides

Subject Specific Databases