Library Guides: Advertising: Websites, Blogs, & Newsfeeds

Advertising History

Advertising Archives
Mid 19th Century to the present. Image types include: British, French, Spanish, & American magazine covers and illustrations; British TV Advertising Stills; Mail Order Catalogues; and Posters, Postcards, Menus, Theatre Programs.
Duke University Library Digital Collections
Several collections curated by the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.
Vintage Ad Browser
Site draws from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more. Sister site called Cover Browser. Site claims Fair Use of copyrighted material.
Digital Public Library of America
In addition to advertising collections, another approach to advertising history is through digital images of daily life. Images of daily life can be found using this resource.

TIP: Search the web for advertising awards

Ad Forum Search and browse the Agency Gallery and Creative Library. Viewing complete ads and all credits may be limited to subscribers. Includes more than 150,000 campaigns.

ClickZ
ClickZ covers interactive marketing news, information, commentary, advice, opinion, research, and reference.
Social Media Today
Editors categorize by social media topics such as tools, metrics, search, platforms, and strategy.
Social Media Examiner Includes articles on how to use the best social media tools, original case studies, and reviews of the latest industry research.