Online Payments My Library Account
About the Libraries Greetings Calendar & Hours Staff Directory Exhibits Ole Miss News Visitor Information Gifts & Donations Policies Library Maps Diversity
Database A-Z Journals Catalog Research Guides AICPA eGrove Archives & Special Collections Government Documents Digital Collections
Circulation & Access Interlibrary Loan Research & Instruction Reserves Archives Reference Services Distance Services
Print, Copy, Scan IDEAlab 3D Printing Poster Printing Studio ONE
Ask A Librarian Request A Research Consultation Using Electronic Resources Archives Help Accessibility
 
Skip to Main Content

Topics in Southern Studies: Southern Manners

These pages are intended to inspire student research by presenting selected academic resources on topics in Southern Studies.

The South: Manners

Southern women have the best manners and Southern men are all gentlemen, right? Humor books in the popular press riff on this topic, like Maryln Schwartz's book A Southern Belle Primer, or, Why Princess Margaret will Never be a Kappa Kappa Gamma and Metcalfe & Hays' Being Dead is no Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral. 

In Myth, Manners, and Memory Charles Reagan Wilson writes, “in the South, moral codes, laws, and manners have been intertwined, with the aim of curbing individual aggressiveness and maintaining social order through a combination of external community pressures and internalized individual motivation," from "Manners" vol. 4 The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. 

This guide links to selected articles and books related to the peculiar institution of manners.