Protest Movements in the U.S.: Article & Statistics Databases
This guide is to assist students with academic papers on protest and to help student to find their passion.
Economic Injustice
Sample Issues: Fair housing; Living wage project; Unions; Working poor; Occupy Wall Street; Food deserts; Net neutrality; Sweatshops.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
-
EconLit This link opens in a new window Looks at the economic literature from 1969-present. Linked full text only.
Crime & Punishment
Sample Issues: Gun rights; Prison industrial complex; Penal reform; Police brutality; #BlackLivesMatter; Bail system; Probation and parole; Death penalty.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of law and law-related periodicals. Also contains historical trial records, important legal works from the 16th to the 20th centuries, treaties, and select government records, including the Congressional Record and the Federal Register.
All Protest Topics
Search for polls, newspaper, magazine and academic articles. Click on the i for more information about each source.
-
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Surprising range of topics to search about how groups of people are portrayed in the media and how different groups of people communicate.
-
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window Addresses policy solutions for most issues.
-
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window Collection of polling data from 1936 to the present that includes US polling firms, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more.
-
UM Libraries Newspaper Guide Links to current and historical newspapers.
Marketing & Outreach
-
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.
-
United States Census Data This link opens in a new window Includes population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Gender & Sexuality
Sample Issues: LGBT rights; Rape culture; Wage equity; the Women's March; Pride parades.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window Contains all of the content available in LGBTQ+ Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Women's Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Race & Ethnicity
Sample Issues: #BlackLivesMatter; Black radicalism; Native American civil rights, Asian American Activism and LatinX; Black Power; Immigration.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
