Library Guides: LIBA 102 O'Hara Once Upon a Time: Fairy Tales from Around the World: Home

Books

The Classic Fairy Tales by Maria Tatar
Call Number: RESERVE SHELF GR550 .C57 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
LIBA 102 Class Textbook
Books about Fairy Tales in the Library
Books about the History and Criticism of Fairy Tales

Tips for Searching

Here are tips for searching in journals and databases for articles on folklore and fairy tales. When searching using keywords, remember that if you place words in quotes then the database will look for those words next to each other. For example, searching for snow white looks for both the words snow and white but does not necessarily place them next to each other. Searching for "snow white" forces results to have these two words in that order next to each other.

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not)

fairy tale AND cinderella searches for BOTH words

snow white OR sleeping beauty searches for EITHER sets of words

snow white NOT disney searches for the words ‘snow white’ without use of the word ‘disney’

(snow white NOT disney) AND sleeping beauty searches for the words ‘snow white’ without use of the word ‘disney,’ then also requires the words ‘sleeping beauty’

Journals

Marvels & Tales: Journal of Fairy Tale Studies
Marvels & Tales is a peer-reviewed journal that is international and multidisciplinary in orientation. The journal publishes scholarly work dealing with the fairy tale in any of its diverse manifestations and contexts. Marvels & Tales provides a central forum for fairy-tale studies by scholars of literature, folklore, gender studies, children’s literature, social and cultural history, anthropology, film studies, ethnic studies, art and music history, and others.
Folklore
A fully peer-reviewed international journal of folklore and folkloristics. Folklore is one of the earliest journals in the field of folkloristics, first published as The Folk-Lore Record in 1878. Folklore publishes ethnographical and analytical essays on vernacular culture worldwide, specializing in traditional narrative, language, music, song, dance, drama, foodways, medicine, arts and crafts, popular religion, and belief. It reviews current studies in a wide range of adjacent disciplines including anthropology, cultural studies, ethnology, history, literature, and religion.
Fairy Tale Review
Issues from 2019 - 2023 only...Founded in 2005 by Kate Bernheimer, Fairy Tale Review is an annual literary journal dedicated to publishing new fairy tales and to helping raise public awareness of fairy tales as a diverse, innovative art form. Fairy Tale Review is part of Wayne State University Press.
Fairy Tale Review archive
Browse submissions from past editions of Fairy Tale Review from their direct website, includes web exclusive content, author Q&A, and more. For any item that requires purchase, please consult your librarian!

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is one of the largest digital libraries for academic research, offering access to journals, books, and primary sources. You can find scholarly articles, book reviews, and papers on a wide range of topics, including folklore, fairy tales, literary studies, and cultural anthropology. Many folklore journals are accessible in JSTOR.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
An accepted authority on the English language, the OED is unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world. You can track the history and development of terms related to fairy tales, such as "fairy," "folk tale," and other key terms in literature and culture.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. You can find articles on fairy tales in literature, psychology, history, and anthropology. It’s a broad resource with rich coverage of academic and popular perspectives. Many fairy tale journals are accessible in ProQuest.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content. It offers access to scholarly journals and eBooks, especially in the areas of literature, history, and folklore. You can find peer-reviewed articles and book chapters on folklore studies, myth, fairy tales, and their cultural impact.
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 assembles critical responses to the works of writers of all sorts ? novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres ? from every region of the world, from the Late Medieval period through the European Renaissance and Enlightenment and the age of colonial expansion. You can find in-depth resources about fairy tale authors, literary works, and the historical context of famous fairy tales from this time period.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticismthroughassembles critical responses to the works of 19-century authors of all sorts novelists, poets, playwrights, journalists, philosophers, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres from every region of the world. You can find in-depth resources about fairy tale authors, literary works, and the historical context of famous fairy tales from this time period.

Online Resources

Folklore Podcasts
Organized by the American Folklore Society, this website includes links to many podcasts in production around the world, exploring a diverse body of folklore and cultural heritage. This page aggregates folklore podcast feeds for you to explore and share.
International Children's Digital Library
The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of online books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary tales from throughout the world, representing books in many cultures and languages. Hosted by the University of Maryland.

Streaming Media

Academic Video Online @ ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to more than 63,000 videos. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video services for libraries that provides you an easy way to watch movies and documentaries whenever you want, on the convenience of your own device. The library does not subscribe to all of the titles available on Kanopy.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is an on-demand streaming video services for libraries that provides you an easy way to access educational videos, on the convenience of your own device. The library does not subscribe to all of the titles available on Films on Demand.
Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures is a streaming video platform for feature films. Only titles the library subscribes to are available.

LIBA 102 O'Hara Once Upon a Time: Fairy Tales from Around the World

Head of Research and Instruction & Associate Professor

Citation Help

Main Library Chat

Get Help!