Greg Herren and J.M. Redmann, eds. Men of the Mean Streets (Valley Falls, NY: Bold Strokes Books, 2011). Gay noir detective and mystery fiction anthology. Call Number: PS648 H57 M468 2011.
Jewelle Gomez. The Gilda Stories (Ithaca, NY: Firebrand Books, 1991). Fiction about lesbian vampires in Mississippi. Call Number: PS3557 O457 G5 1991.
Jim Grimsley. Dream Boy (New York: Scribner Paperback Fiction, 1997). Fiction about two gay boys in the rural South. Part of the Larry Brown Collection. Call Number: PS3557 R4949 D74 1997.
Winston Leyland. Gay Sunshine Interviews (San Francisco: Gay Sunshine Press, 1978). Interviews with gay artists and authors, including Mississippi writers Charles Henri Ford and Tennessee Williams. Call Number: NX163 G39.
Lesbian Alliance (East Lansing, MI: Greater Lansing Women's Association). Special Collections has issue from May 1992. Call Number: HQ75.6 U5 L345.
Thomas Hal Phillips. The Bitterweed Path (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina, Press, 1996). Later edition of the 1950 novel with a new introduction by John Howard, author of Men Like That: A Southern Queer History. Novel about gay men in Mississippi. Call Number: PS3566 H524 B5 1996.
Kevin Sessums. I Left It on the Mountain (New York: St. Martin's Press, 2015). Memoir of a gay journalist and actor who chronicles career in New York, his HIV-positive diagnosis, and addiction. Call Number: PN4874 S428 A3.
Leslie H. Southwick. The Nominee: A Political and Spiritual Journey (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2014). During Southwick's nomination hearings in the Senate for the Fifth Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals, one case that became the center of debate dealt with a child custody battle between a father and a bisexual mother. Call Number: KF373 S635 A3 2014.
This Month in Mississippi (Jackson: Mississippi Gay Alliance). Special Collections has scattered issues from 1983-1984 and 1986-1991. Call Number: HQ75 T35.
Pat Welch. Open House: A Helen Black Mystery (Tallahassee, FL: Naiad Press, 1995). Mystery fiction set in Mississippi with lesbian detective. Call Number: PS3573 E452 O64 1995.
Robin Whitfield. Run with the Hares and Hunt with the Hounds (Kearney, NE: Morris Publishing, undated). Fictional autobiography of a Mississippi man who left for dancing in New York and "lived on the edge of both heterosexual and homosexual lives." Call Number: PS3523 H58454 R86 2001.
James Wilcox. Plain and Normal: A Novel (London: Fourth Estate, 1998). Uncorrected Proof. Humorous fiction involving gay men in New York. Call Number: PS3573 I396 P53 1998.
Ed Williams. Liberating Dixie: An Editor's Life, from Ole Miss to Obama (Davidson, NC: Lorimer Press, 2013). Collection of writings by North Carolina journalist and Pulitzer Prize winner from Mississippi. Topics include gay rights. Call Number: PN4725 W55 2013.
John A. Williams. Clifford's Blues (Minneapolis: Coffee House Press, 1998). Novel by a Mississippi-born author of a black, gay man in World War II German concentration camp. Call Number: PS3573 I523 C54 1998.
Daniel Woodrell. Tomato Red: A Novel (New York: Henry Holt, 1998). Uncorrected proof in the Larry Brown Collection. Gay ficton of petty crooks in the Ozark Mountains. Call Number: PS3573 O6263 T66 1998b.
Voodoo Child: Memoirs of a Freak (Oxford, MS: Two Spirit Productions, 2013). DVD recording of filmaker Mykki Newton's journey from a television anchorman to a "happy hippie chick transsexual in Mississippi." Call Number: HQ77.7 V663 2013.
The Archives and Special Collections holds a significantly large number of literary works by and about Mississippi authors. These publications may include first editions as well as later editions, biographies and memoirs, appearances in anthologies or periodicals, and literary criticism. To discover listings and descriptions of these works by LGBTQ Mississippi authors, researchers should conduct an advanced catalog search of the library catalog using the author's name as a keyword and limiting the location to "Special Collections."
Examples of LGBTQ Mississippi authors include:
