This list of primary source material in the Archives & Special Collections focuses primarily on Mississippi (and to a lesser extent on the South).
It includes media guides, transcripts and recordings of broadcasts, film press books and other promotional material, memoirs of journalists, newspapers and newspaper abstract publications, and other items related to journalism and mass media.
The 39th Anniversary Edition Greenville Times, Greenville Mississippi (Greenville, MS: 1970). Reprint of 1907 edition. Call Number: F349 G65 G74 1970.
100 Years of Mississippi Memories: 1911-2011 (Collierville, TN: Fundcraft Publishing, 2011). Commemoration of hundredth anniversary of the University of Mississippi campus newspaper The Mississippian and The Daily Mississippian. Call Number: LD3413 O54 2011.
1971, The Year Ending: National, State, County, City (Greenwood, MS: Greenwood Utilities, 1972). Program broadcast on 31 December 1971 over Radio Station WGRM and sponsored by the Bank of Greenwood. Call Number: F349 G82 N38 1972.
2000 Ole Miss Football Music City Bowl Media Guide (Ole Miss Sports Information, [2000]). Call Number: GV958 M5 T97 2000.
2002 Ole Miss Football Mainstay Independence Bowl Media Guide (Ole Miss Athletic Media Relations, [2002]). Call Number: GV958 M5 T96 2002.
All the King's Men: Columbia Picture's Presents Robert Rossen's Production of the Pulitzer Prize Novel (1949). Press book for movie based upon Robert Penn Warren's book All the King's Men. Call Number: PS3545 A748 A45 1949 (OVRS).
Fred L. Applewhite. When My World Was Young: A Collection of Articles as Published in the Tylertown Times Weekly Newspaper (1973). Call Number: F347 W24 A66.
A.C. Bancroft. The Life and Death of Jefferson Davis, Ex-President of the Southern Confederacy. Together with Comments of the Press, Funeral Sermons, Etc., Etc. (New York: J.S. Ogilvie [1889]). Call Number: E467.1 D26 B2.
Black Sunday: International Advertising Manual (Cinema International Corp, 1977). Press book for movie based upon book by Thomas Harris. Call Number: PS3558 A6558 B39 1977 (OVRS).
Books on Journalism and Related Fields in the Library, University of Mississippi (University, MS: Department of Journalism, 1959). Call Number: Z6940 M5.
Books on Journalism and Related Fields in the Library, University of Mississippi (University, MS: Department of Journalism, 1964). Call Number: Z6940 M5 1964a.
J. Epps Brown. The Facts of the Telephone Situation in Mississippi; a Summary of a Series of Newspaper Advertisements, Giving All of the Facts and Circumstances of the Operations of This Company [n.d.]. Call Number: HE8840 M7 B7.
William F. Buckley. The Southern Imagination: A Transcript of the Firing Line Program Originally Telecast on PBC Dec. 24, 1972; Host, William F. Buckley, Jr.; Guests, Eudora Welty and Walker Percy; Panel: Gordon Weaver, Jerry Ward, Dan Hise (Columbia, SC: Southern Educational Communications Association, 1972). Program taped at WMAA in Jackson, Mississippi. Call Number: PS3545 E537 Z7874.
Raymond Leslie Buell. Agriculture in the Post-War Economy; Abstract of Address by Raymond Leslie Buell, Round Table Editor of Fortune Magazine, at the Sixth Annual Meeting of the Delta Council, Cleveland, Mississippi, May 30, 1941. Call Number: HC106 B8 A3.
Nash K. Burger with Pearl A. McHaney. The Road to West 43rd Street (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1995. Memoir of a Mississippi native who served on the editorial staff of the New York Times Review of Books for thirty years. Forward by Eudora Welty. Call Number: PN4874 B834 A3.
Can America's Armies of Occupation Secure the Peace? (Washington, DC: Ransdell, 1946). Transcript of radio program The American Forum of the Air on 30 April 1946 with U.S. Senator James O. Eastland of Mississippi among the panelists. Call Number: JZ6377 U6 C36 1946.
Capitol Cloakroom: The Honorable Jamie L. Whitten, Member of Congress (CBS Radio, [1960]). LP recording of radio interview with U.S. Representative Jamie L. Whitten of Mississippi on February 1960. Call Number: UA11 W45 C36 1960.
Hodding Carter. First Person Rural (Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1963). Memoir of publisher of the Greenville Delta Democrat-Times. Call Number: PN4874 C27 A32.
Hodding Carter. Our Town Is Different: As Described During Three Decades by Hodding Carter in Magazine Articles and Books (Greenville, MS: Greenville Area Chamber of Commerce, 197-). Call Number: F349 G732 C378.
Hodding Carter. Pulitzer Prize Editorials [194-]. Hodding Carter published the Greenville Delta Democrat-Times during the civil rights movement in Mississippi and won a Pulitzer Prize for editorials. Call Number: PS3505 A79 P8.
Hodding Carter. Where Main Street Meets the River (New York: Rinehart, 1953). Memoir of publisher of the Greenville Delta Democrat-Times. Call Number: PN4874 C27 A3 1953.
Turner Catledge. My Life and The Times (New York: Harper and Row, 1971). Memoir of the chief news executive of the New York Times. Call Number: PN4874 C32 A3 1971.
Clarion-Ledger Index (Jackson, MS: Jackson Metropolitan Library System, c.1980-2002). Index to Jackson, Mississippi newspaper. Available online at http://www.jhlibrary.com/reference/cl_index.htm; other issues available in microforms, Special Collections and Main-Reference at call number: AI21 C48.
Clark Gable as the Man Who Took the Strange Name of Hamish Bond, Yvonne De Carlo as Manty, the Girl Who Thought She Was a Louisiana Belle -- Band of Angels: a Warner Bros. Campaign (1957). Pressbook for movie based upon Robert Penn Warren's Band of Angels. Call Number: PS3545 A748 B32 1957 (OVRS).
George Powell Clarke. Reminiscence and Anecdotes of the War for Southern Independence ([Decatur, MS]: George A. Smith, [199-]. Originally written and published for a local newspaper as a series of articles. Call Number: E569 C43 1990.
Coffee in Washington (New York: NBC, [1952]). 78 rpm records of recording of Bill Hearson interview with U.S. Representative Jamie L. Whitten of Mississippi. Call Numbers: JK1319 C64 1952.
Gordon A. Cotton. News from Rodney, 1834-1840: Notices of Historican and Genealogical Interest from the Newspaper at Rodney, Miss.: Also, Twenty-One Rare Photographs of the Old River Town (Raymond, MS: Keith Printing Co., 1987). Call Number: F349 R6 C68 1987.
The Courier. EXTRA. Enterprise, Tuesday, March 21st, 1876. Indignation Meeting. Hon. Mr. Massingale Handled Without Gloves (Enterprise, MS: The Courier, 1876). Newspaper extra issue. Call Number: PN4888 C7 E5.
Covering the South: A National Symposium on the Media and the Civil Rights Movement, April 3-5, 1987 (University of Mississippi, Center for the Study of Southern Culture, [1987]). Six DVD recordings of symposium. Call Number: E185.6 N3 C6 2004.
Wallce D. Dabbs. Stories from the South Country: A Reporter's Journey (Baltimore: PublishAmerica, 2006). Memoir of a Jackson Clarion-Ledger reporter. Call Number: PN4874 D22 D33 2006.
Dateline Freedom: Civil Rights and the Press (Washington, DC: Greater Washington Educational Telecommunications Association, 1988). VHS recording. Call Number: PN4882.5 D38 1988.
Eva Whitaker Davis. Eva Davis' Mississippi Mixin's: A "Gone with the Wind" Cook Book by the Author of Court Square Recipes ([Vicksburg, MS: 196-]). Recipes used are collected on Davis's daily radio show "Court Square" on WQBC in Vicksburg. Call Number: TX715 D2645 1960.
W.E. Debnam. Weep No More My Lady (Raleigh, NC: W.E. Debnam, 1950). Enlargement on two Smith-Douglas radio network commentaries broadcast in 1950 in answer to comments about the South by Eleanor Roosevelt in her newspaper column. Call Number: F215 D32.
Gale S. Denley. Newspaper Supplements: A Study Conducted by the University of Mississippi Department of Journalism (University, MS: 1972). Call Number: PN4775 D45.
Judy Moon Denson. Judy's Sampler (Clinton, MS: Spittin' Images, 1973). Collection of writings by the regulars from the television program "Coffee with Judy." Call Number: PN1992.77 J83 D4.
P.D. East. Editorial Reprints from The Petal Paper, Petal, Mississippi and Personal Comments by P.D. East, Editor. Special Collections has 1957 and 1959 editions. Call Number: PN4874 E3 E3 1957 and PN4874 E3 E3 1959.
P.D. East. The Magnolia Jungle: The Life, Times and Education of a Southern Editor (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1960). Memoir of the editor of The Petal Paper which frequently parodied segregationists. Call Number: PN4874 E3 A3.
Edward O. Eaton. Editorial Schottische. Composed & Inscribed to His Friends Col. Isaac M. Partrige & Robert H. Pordom, Esq. of the Mississippi Press (Vicksburg: Blackmar & Patten, 1858). Piano sheet music. Call Number: M25 E3 E3 (OVRS).
Regina Hines Ellison. Looking Back: Genealogical Abstracts from "The Carthaginian," Leake County, Mississippi, 1872-1900 (Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1993). Abstracts from a weekly newspaper. Call Number: F347 L4 E45 1993.
Pauline Entrekin. Surnames from Biloxi, Mississippi Newspapers, 1920-1966 (Ocean Springs, MS: Ocean Springs Genealogical Society, 1994). Abstracts from Biloxi newspapers. Call Number: F349 B5 E5 1994.
Farm Radio Service. American Petroleum Institute Committee on Agriculture, [196-]. LP recording of radio interviews about agriculture, including one with U.S. Representative Jamie L. Whitten of Mississippi. Call Number: S494.5 P75 F37.
Charles Faulk. Neighborly Yours: A Selection of Sunday Newspaper Columns from the Vicksburg Sunday Post (Vicksburg, MS: Pickett, F. Faulk, C. Faulk, 1991). Call Number: PN4838 F3955 1991.
The Fleuron: A Journal of Typography (Cambridge: Doubleday, Doran, 1923-1930). Call Number: Z119 F62.
Harry Pollard Gamble. Federal Suffrage, A Racial Question in the South: Address Delivered before the New Orleans Press Club, March 11th, 1918 [New Orleans, 1918]. Call Number: PS664 L8 L68 1918.
Hugh L. Gary. The Answer Is Not Unionization: Address of Hugh L. Gary, President Delta Council, Stoneville, Miss. Delivered over Radio Station WMC, Memphis, Tenn., July 18, 1941 (1941). Call Number: S523 G3.
Get Off (Los Angeles: National Association of Progressive Radio Announcers, [197-]). LP record with various performers giving public awareness announcements and songs on radio programs. Call Number: HV5801 G48.
Anne Razey Gowdy. "The Uncollected Works of Sherwood Bonner (Katherine Sherwood Bonner McDowell, 1849-1883): An Annotated Edition" (Ph.D. Dissertation; University of Mississippi; 1996). Includes the Mississippi author's journalistic nonfiction.
[William Haley]. History of Copiah County: Recollections of an Old Citizen (Hazlehurst, MS: 2000). Reprint of newspaper articles circa 1878 from the Mississippi Democrat. Call Number: F347 C75 2000.
[Hannibal Pressbook] (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, 2000). Call Number: PS3558 A6558 H36122 2000.
Ira Harkey. Dedicated to the Proposition...Editorials from The Chronicle, Pascagoula, Mississippi, by Ira Harkey, Editor and Publisher. [Pascagoula, MS]: 1963. Race relations. Call Number: E185.61 H3.
Ira Harkey. The Smell of Burning Crosses: An Autobiography of a Mississippi Newspaperman. Jacksonville, IN: Harris-Wolfe, [1967]. Race relations. Call Number: E185.61 H248 1967.
George W. Healy Jr. A Lifetime on Deadline: Self-Portrait of a Southern Journalist (Gretna, LA: Pelican Publishing Co., 1976). A Mississippi native, George W. Healy served as the director of the domestic branch of the Office of War Information during World War II and held the post as editor of the New Orleans Times-Picayune for thirty-six years. Call Number: PN4874 H36 A33.
Robert M. Hederman, Jr. The Hederman Story: A Saga of the Printed Word in Mississippi (New York: Newcomen Society in North America, 1966). Delivered at the 1966 Mississippi Dinner at Jackson, Mississippi on 5 May 1966). Call Number: PN4897 M596 H4 1966.
R.H. Henry. Letters from Europe (Jackson, MS: Clarion-Ledger, [1908]). Letters written by an editor of the Jackson Clarion-Ledger while abroad and printed his newspaper. Call Number: PN4888 T7 H4.
Robert Hiram Henry. Editors I Have Known Since the Civil War (Rewritten and Reprinted from Letters in the Clarion-Ledger (Jackson, MS: [1922]). Memoir of editor and owner of the Jackson Clarion-Ledger. Call Number: PN4871 H4.
Jere R. Hoar. Mississippi Newspapers and the Law: A Handbook of Mississippi Statutes, Case Law, and Other Material Related to Editing and Writing (University, MS: Department of Journalism, University of Mississippi, 1968). Call Number: KF2750 Z9 H6.
Jere R. Hoar and Pat Flynn. Media Law Handbook (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Press Association, [1981]). Call Number: KFM6916 H6.
How Mississippi's Greatest Newspaper Is Made: A Trip through the Jackson Daily News (Jackson, MS: Jackson Daily News, n.d.). Call Number: PN4828 M7 J3.
Jackson: My Hometown ([Jackson, MS: WJXN, 19--]). 45 rpm record with song and label "Not for play on any radio station except WJXN." Call Number: M1658.5 J3 J32.
Katrina: Devastation, Survival, Restoration: A Unique Look Through the Eyes of 40 Photojournalists ([Vancouver, WA]: Pediment Pub., 2006). Contains the collective efforts of photojournalists from the Gannett newspapers in Mississippi and Louisiana and nine other Gannett newsrooms. Call Number: HV636 2005 G85 K369 2006.
Scott Kent, ed. Spring Sports Guide, Golf, Tennis, Track, University of Mississippi (University of Mississippi, Sports Information Department, [1980]). 1981 media guide. Call Number: GV691 U5 S66 1980.
Paul E. La Violette. Waiting for the White Pelicans: And Other Tales from the Mississippi Gulf Coast (Waveland, MS: Annabelle Publishing, c. 2000). Some of the chapters previously appeared as columns in the local newspaper. Call Number: F347 G9 V657 2000.
Richard S. Lackey, comp. The True Democrat, Newspaper Abstracts: Paulding, Jasper County, Mississippi, 1845-1847 (Forest, MS: Lackey, 1968). Call Number: F347 E3 L3.
[Larry Brown: Reprints of Newspaper Clippings to Promote His New Book Entitled Joe] [1991]. Call Number: PS3552 R6927 Z72 1991.
The Leading Question (CBS Radio Network, [1957]). LP record of radio roundtable discussion with U.S. Representative Jamie L. Whitten of Mississippi on the 1957 budget. Call Number: HJ2051 W455 1957.
League of Women Voters of Oxford (Miss.). Press Book v. 1-2, Aug. 1962-Apr. 1967. Call Number: JS1252 O9 L45 (OVRS).
Rayford Whittingham Logan. The Attitude of the Southern White Press Toward Negro Suffrage (Washington, DC: Foundation Publishers, 1940). Call Number: JK1929 A2 L6.
Ernest H. Lyons. [The Micro Mesmerizer] (1904). Reprints of columns in The Laurel Ledger newspaper. Call Number: PN4839 L9.
Beverly Bell Maddox. Along the RFD with Rose Budd Stevens (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1987). Reprint of columns in Mississippi newspapers from 1947 to 1987. Call Number: F345 S73 1987.
Major Activities of Southern States Industrial Council 1935: Messages of Approval from Leading Southern Industrialists: Editorial Comment from Southern Newspapers (Nashville, TN: Southern States Industrial Council, 1935). Call Number: HC107 A13 M35 1935.
The March in Mississippi (New York: CBS Video, 1994). CBS television coverage of the 1966 Meredith March to encourage voter registration. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M25 1994.
O.C. McDavid. My Name Is O.C. (The Author, 2003). Memoir by the former managing editor of the Jackson State Times. Call Number: PN4874 M364 A3 2003.
Member Directory: Mississippi Cable Telecommunications Association: 1998-1999 Directory (1998). Call Number: HE7621 M57 1998.
A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Press Book [for] Tennessee Williams' Great First Comedy...Period of Adjustment (1962). Call Number: PS3545 I5365 P45.
A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Press Book: "Home from the Hill" Is One of the Great Motion Pictures! (Loew's Inc., 1960). Call Number: PS3558 U464 H552 1960 (OVRS).
William W. Miller. The Bible and Segregation: A Sermon (1956). Preached on "The Faith of Our Fathers Bible Broadcast" over Radio Station WTOK on March 4, 1956. Call Number: E185.61 M639 1956.
Mississippi Almanac: The Ultimate Reference on the State of Mississippi (Yazoo City, MS: Computer Search & Research, 1995- ). Includes list of newspapers and broadcasting stations. Call Number: F339 M57.
Mississippi Authority for Educational Television. Progress: The Mississippi ETV Story (Jackson: 1977). Call Number: LB1044.7 M548.
Mississippi Broadcasters Association. Broadcaster. ([West Point, MS]). Special Collections has four issues from 1971 to 1974. Call Number: HE8689.8 B74.
Mississippi Broadcasters Association. Newsletter. Special Collections has five issues dating from 1978 to 1987. Call Number: HE8689.8 B74.
Mississippi Genealogical Society. Newspaper Notices of Mississippians 1820-1860 ([Jackson, MS]: 1960). Call Number: F340 M5 N4.
Mississippi Library Commission. Mississippiana (1971). Volume 1 contains a union list of Mississippi newspapers. Call Number: Z1301 M54.
Mississippi Media (South Central Bell). Directory of mass media in Mississippi. Special Collections has 1994/1995 edition. Call Number: P88.8 M57.
Mississippi Newspaper, 1805-1940: A Preliminary checklist of Mississippi Newspaper Files Available in the Mississippi Department of Archives & History (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Historical Records, 1942). Prepared by the Mississippi Historical Records Survey, Division of Community Service Programs, Works Progress Administration. Call Number: Z6952 M55 H5.
Mississippi Newspapers, 1805-1940: A Preliminary Union List of Mississippi Newspaper Files Available in County Archives, Offices of Publishers, Libraries, and Private Collection on Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Historical Records Survey, 1942). Prepared by the Mississippi Historical Records Survey, Service Division, Works Project Administration. Call Number: Z6952 M55 H52.
Mississippi Press. (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has issues of this newsletter for the press of Mississippi from 1935-1936, 1938, 1971. Call Number: PN4844 M7 M5.
Mississippi Press Association. Facts and Figures about the Proposed State Printing Plant: Authentic Information for the Benefit of Members of the Legislature and the People of Mississippi Prepared and Circulated by the Mississippi Press Association (Jackson, MS: [1928]). Call Number: Z209 M7.
Mississippi Scholastic Press Association. Bulletin. Special Collections has volumes 5 through 15. Call Number: PN4717 M5.
Mississippi. State Committee on Educational Television. Educational Television for Mississippi; Report ([Jackson, MS]: 1963). Second edition. Call Number: LB1044.7 M57 1963.
Mississippi's Fastest Growing Station WJXN, Ewing Broadcasting Co. and Affiliated Stations WMIS, Natchez, WGRM, Greenwood, Present You with This Handy and Useful Classified Business and Professional Directory ([Jackson, MS: County Directory Service, circa 1947]). Call Number: F347 H5 C53 1947.
Willie Morris. New York Days (Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 1993). Autobiography of Harper's Magazine editor-in-chief and Mississippi native. Call Number: PS3563 O75 N4 1993.
Willie Morris. North Toward Home (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1967). Autobiography of Harper's Magazine editor-in-chief and Mississippi native. Call Number: PS3563 O75 N6.
John Taylor Moses. The Last Stand of Innocence: The Collected Reflections of John Taylor Moses (Student Media Center, University of Mississippi, [1999]). Stories first published in the Daily Mississippian between May 1998 and February of 1999. Call Number: PS683 C6 M67 1999.
The National Broadcasting Company Presents Meet the Press, America's Press Conference of the Air; Produced by Lawrence E. Spivak; Guests: Martin Luther King, Jr., Roy Wilkins, Whitney M. Young, Jr., Floyd B. McKissick, Stokely Carmichael, James H. Meredith; Special Edition, Sunday, August 21, 1966 (Washington, DC: Merkle Press, 1966). Transcript of broadcast. Call Number: JC599 U5 N32 1966.
NBC Short Story (Radio Revisisted, [200-]. Digital recordings of older radio shows featurng William Faulkner's "Honor" and Ben Ames Williams' "The Piano." Call Number: PS648 S5 N22.
Elizabeth Nichols and Martin Miazza. Your High School Newspaper (University, MS: Department of Journalism, 1952). Call Number: LB3621 N5 Y6.
Official Media Press Kit: 08 Presidential Debate, The University of Mississippi, September 26, 2008 (University of Mississippi, 2008). Call Number: JF2122 D43 O445 2008.
Ole Miss 2010 AT&T Cotton Bowl Media Guide [University of Mississippi Athletics Media Relations Office, 2009]. Call Number: GV958 M5 O53 2009.
Ole Miss Baseball Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office. Special Collections has scattered issues dating from 1978 to 2007. Call Number: GV862 O4.
Ole Miss Basketball Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office). Special Collections has scattered issues from 1957 to 2010. Call Number: GV885.43 U5 O42.
Ole Miss Golf Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office). Special Collections has scattered issues from 1983 to 2007. Call Number: GV983 U5 O4.
Ole Miss Lady Rebel Tennis (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office). Special Collections has scattered issues from 1997 to 2006. Call Number: GV991 O438.
Ole Miss Lady Rebels Basketball Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office). Special Collections has scattered issues dating from 1983 to 2009. Call Number: GV886 O4.
Ole Miss Lady Rebels Volleyball Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office). Special Collections has scattered issues dating from 1982 to 2008. Call Number: GV1017.6 V6 O43.
Ole Miss News Letter (University of Mississippi Department of Public Relations). Special Collections has issues from 1947 to 1952. Call Number: LD3411.8 M5 U5.
Ole Miss Softball Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office). Special Collections has scattered issues from 1997 to 2007. Call Number: GV881.3 O44.
Ole Miss Tennis Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Office). Special Collections has scattered issues dating from 1979 to 2006. Call Number: GV991 O44.
Ole Miss Today (University of Mississippi, 1950). DVD recording of a promotional film for the University of Mississippi produced in 1949-1950. Call Number: LD3411.8 O546 2008.
Ole Miss Track & Field Media Guide (University of Mississippi Sports Information Department). Special Collections has scattered issues dating from 1983 to 2007. Call Number: GV1060.5 O5.
On Camera (Jackson: Mississippi Educational Television). Special Collection has the 1981 edition of this annual. Call Number: HE8700.8 O5 1981.
Oral History Interview with Bill Minor, 2002 Oct. University, MS: 2002. DVD recording of a interview during the 40th annivesary of the 1962 integration of the University of Mississippi; Bill Minor was a reporter at the time for the New Orleans Times-Picayune. Call Number: LD3413 O735 M56 2002.
Our Finest Hour: Mississippi Power's Story of Hurricane Katrina [circa 2006]. Entered into 2007 Better Communication Competition. Call Number: HD9685 U7 M556 2006.
Patsy Clark Pace. Index of the Commercial Appeal Mid-South Magazine: March 7, 1965 -- July 1965 (Library Science Essay; University of Mississippi; 1967). Call Number: Lib. Sci. Essay P334.
Paramount Merchandising Manual and Press Book...[for] Tennessee Williams'...Summer and Smoke (1961). Call Number: PS3545 I5365 S856.
Phil Pearman, ed. Dear Editor: Letters to Time Magazine, 1923-1984 (Salem, NH: Salem House, 1985). Includes letters written by William Faulkner and Tennessee Williams. Call Number: PN4900 T5 D42 1985.
Period of Adjustment: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Press Book (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, 1962). Call Number: PS3545 I5365 P42 1962 (OVRS).
Robert L. Philips. Transcripts for a Climate for Genius, a Television Series (Jackson: Mississippi Library Commission, 1976). Television program on Mississippi authors. Call Number: PS266 M7 P45.
Armistead S. Pride, et al. The Black American and the Press (Los Angeles: W. Ritchie Press, [1968]). Report of a symposium by the University of California at Los Angeles. Call Number: E185.61 B53.
Proceedings of the Annual Session of the Mississippi Press Association ([West Point, MS]). Special Collections has scattered issues dating from 1866 to 1925. Call Number: PN4844 M5 M5.
A Public Service for Farm Radio (Chicago: Board of Trade Radio Service, [196-]. LP record of radio interviews including one with U.S. Representative Jamie L. Whitten of Mississippi. Call Number: S484 U5 P8.
Clayton Rand. At Forty-Two I Confess!: An Autobiographical Sketch by One in His Dangerous Forties (Gulfport, MS: 1934). Author owned the Neshoba Democrat, DeKalb Democrat, and Tunica Times, and wrote a nationally syndiated column. On the benefits of life insurance. Call Number: PN4874 R27 A8.
Clayton Rand. Ink on My Hands (Gulfport, MS: The Dixie Press, 1940). Memoir by owner of the Neshoba Democrat, DeKalb Democrat, and Tunica Times, and author of a nationally syndiated column. Call Number: PN4874 R27 A3 1940.
Joyce Sanders. Early Attala Records (1972). Abstracted from early Attala County newspapers and Jeffersonian Democrat in Macon, Mississippi. Call Number: F347 A7 S36 1972.
John C. Sheffield. Let All Keep the Faith!: An Editorial (Jackson, MS: Orrel Pr., [1942]). Reprinted from the Memphis Commercial Appeal, 28 February 1942). Labor unions. Call Number: HD6508 S5144 1942.
Starr Smith. Only the Days Are Long: Reports of a Journalist and World Traveler (Oxford, MS: Yoknapatawpha Press, 1986). A Mississippian, Starr Smith served on General Dwight Eisenhower's press staff in London and Paris and became a reporter for the Mobile Press Register, NBC and ABC radio networks, Newsweek, and other regional and national media outlets. Call Number: PN4874 S567 A3 1986.
Southern Leadership Institute (Meridian, Miss). Echoes (Meridian, MS: [c. 1951]). Collection of pictures and radio lectures delivered by Brother Lewis on the "Southern Goodwill Hour." Call Number: E185.61 E225 1951.
The Southerner, a Biographical Encyclopedia of Southern People: Featuring Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Louisiana: A Compilation of the Personnel and the Works of Many Who Have Contributed and Are Still Contributing to the Industrial, Financial and Cultural Greatness of the South (New Orleans: Southern Editors Association). Newspaper reference source. Special Collections has 1944 and 1945 addenda. Call Number: F208 S6.
John Marshall Stone. The Pocket Veto of the Barry Railroad Bill. A Review of the Arguments of the Friends of the Measure, and the Strictures of the Press, Particularly of the Elaborated Legal Argument of the "Clarion" (Jackson, MS: "The Comet" Book Printing Establishment, 1879). Call Number: HE2771 M7 M515.
Storm over the Supreme Court (CBS News, 1963). Transcript of CBS News broadcast on 20 February 1963. Call Number: KF8720 S86 1963.
Samuel Stubbs Talbert. Classified Advertising in the Weekly Newspaper (University, MS: School of Commerce and Business Administration, Department of Journalism, 1948). Call Number: HF6125 T3.
Lois Swaney. My Hometown: Growing Up in Holly Springs, Mississippi (BixMedia, c.2005). Most of the stories appeared previously in a series of articles in the South Reporter. Call Number: F349 H79 S93 2005.
Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway: Facts for Press, Radio and Television (Columbus, MS: Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority). Special Collections has issues from 1962, 1963, and 1977. Call Number: TC625 T43 A25.
Thacker Mountain Radio: An Anthology of Words and Music (Oxford, MS: Thacker Mountain Records, 2002). Selections of live radio broadcasts from 1999 to 2002. Call Number: M1629 T423 2002.
Telephone Directory: Mississippi News Media (South Central Bell). Special Collections has editions for 1976/77, 1977/78, and 1984/85. Call Number: P88.8 T4.
Samuel Grady Thigpen. Pearl River: Highway to Glory Land ([Kingsport, TN: Kingsport Press, 1965]). Short stories selected from the author's Mississippi radio program. Call Number: F347 P3 T5.
Allen C. Thompson. Impromptu Remarks Relative to TV Program "Bonanza" by Major Allen Thompson ([Jackson, MS: 1964]). Jackson, Mississippi mayor on the subject of segregation and television. Call Number: F349 J13 T46 1964.
Transcription of Proceedings of the...Annual Meeting of the Southern Law Review Conference... ([Knoxville, TN]). Special Collections has 1949 edition of this meeting on legal journalism. Call Number: KF264 S6.
Shirley Tucker. Mississippi from Within (New York: Arco Pub. Co., [1965]). Chiefly extracts of civil rights coverage from Mississippi newspapers between July 1964 and May 1965. Call Number: E185.61 T86.
UFO's Over Mississippi: A 7-Day Space Odyssey (Pascagoula, MS: Mississippi Press, [1973]. Collection of stories, pictures and drawings as compiled by the reporters and editors of the Mississippi Press. Call Number: TL789.5 M7 U37 1973.
University of Mississippi...Football Brochure (Department of Intercollegiate Athletics). Media guide programs. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1946 to 2011. Call Number: GV958 M5 M5.
University of Mississippi...Media Guide (Sports Information Offie, 1978-). Football media guides beginning in 1978. Call Number: GV958 M5 M5.
University of Mississippi. Department of Journalism. Photography...for the Small Town Newspaper [n.d.]. Call Number: TR820 M7 P3.
University of Mississippi. Press Institute. Bulletin. Special Collections has volumes 1 through 4; ceased 1955. Call Number: PN4717 M5.
Mike Wallace. Mike Wallace Asks: Highlights from 46 Controversial Interviews (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1958). Includes interviews with U.S. Senator James O. Eastland of Mississippi and Tennessee Williams. Call Number: CB427 W32 1958.
A Warner Bros. Pressbook: James Coburn, Lynn Redgrave, Robert Hooks: Last of the Mobile Hot-Shots (1970). Press book for movie based upon Tennessee Williams' play "The Seven Descents of Myrtle." Call Number: PS3545 I5365 S4212 1970.
What Should We Do about Race Segregation? Moderator, George V. Denny, Jr.; Speakers: Raymond Sprigle, Walter White, Hodding Carter, Harry Ashmore (New York: Town Hall, Inc., 1948). From radio program America's Town Meeting of the Air. Among panelists is Mississippi newspaper publisher Hodding Carter. Call Number: E185.61 A54 1948.
Where's the Best Place for Viewers to Be?: The Place on the Dial that Brings Them to the "E" ([Jackson, MS]: Mississippi ETV, [1981]). Call Number: LB1044.7 W54 1981.
Hugh L. White. Balancing Agriculture with Industry: The Address of Hugh L. White (1936). Governor's address before the annual convention of the Mississippi Press Association. Call Number: HC107 M7 W46 1936.
O'Levia Neil Wilson Wiese. The Woodville Republican: Mississippi's Oldest Existing Newspaper (Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1990. Five volumes of indexes and abstracts beginning in 1823. Call Number: F347 W65 W54 1990.
Donald E. Wildmon with Randall Nulton. Don Wildmon: The Man the Networks Love to Hate (Wilmore, KY: Bristol Books, 1990). A Mississippi resident, Donald Wildmon left the ministry to campaign against pornography and violence in the media, founding the American Family Association, the Coalition for Better Television, and Christian Leaders for Responsible Television. Call Number: PN1992.6 W477 1990.
Glover Wilkins. Area Newspapers Support Construction of Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway (Columbus, MS: Tennessee Tombigbee Waterway Development Authority, [1967]). Call Number: TC625 T43 W56 1967.
Clyde V. Williams, ed. From Behind the Magnolia Curtain: Voices of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Press Association, Mississippi Humanities Council, 1988). Call Number: F336 F76.
Henry Cuthbert Williamson. Memoirs of a Statesman, Being an Account of the Events in the Career of a Mississippi Journalist-Legislator (Rochester, NY: Press of the Good Mountain, [1964]). Limited edition of 50 copies. Williamson lived from 1851 to 1919. Call Number: F341 W5 1964.
Betty C. Wiltshire, comp. Mississippi Newspaper Obituaries, 1862-1875 (Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Publishing Co., 1994). Call Number: F340 W57 1994.
Betty C. Wiltshire, comp. Mississippi Newspaper Obituaries, 1876-1885 (Carrollton, MS: Pioneer Publishing Co., 1998). Call Number: F340 W575 1998.
Betty Couch Wiltshire, comp. Marriages and Deaths from Mississippi Newspapers (Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1987- ). Three volumes covering the period 1801-1863. Call Number: F340 W54 1987.
John W. Windhauser. How Mississippians Use Their Newspapers and Other Media (Department of Journalism, University of Mississippi, 1981). Prepared for the Mississippi Press Association Annual Convention. Call Number: PN4731 W55.
