Thomas G. Abernethy Collection. 1924-1975. Thomas G. Abernethy represented north Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives between 1943 and 1973. Includes newsletters, press releases, speeches, and scrapbooks (454 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs and a recording are available online as a digital collection.
Academic Program Reviews Collection. 1981-1983. Box 10 contains reviews of bachelor and master degree programs in Journalism and Radio/Television at the University of Mississippi (15 boxes).
American Family Association Collection. 1990-2005. Material from the conservative Christian American Family Association, which campaigns against violence and homosexuality in the media (2 boxes).
Woodie Assaf Collection. 1950-1993. Woodie Assaf served as television weatherman at WLBT in Jackson, Mississippi for almost 48 years and named most popular state TV personality of the millennium by the Clarion Ledger. Collection contains photographs (3 boxes).
James E. (Jack) Bales Collection. 1950s-2004. Research material amassed by Jack Bales while writing about Mississippi author and Harper's editor Willie Morris (7 boxes).
Marge Baroni Collection. 1955-1985. A native of Natchez, Mississippi, Marge Baroni was active in the civil rights movement in the 1960s. For a period of time in the late 1950s and early 1960s, she served as the first editor of the women's page at the Natchez Democrat, contributing reviews of books, local concerts, and theatre. In 1962, she quit because she could not resolve working at a paper committed to segregation (21 boxes).
Russell H. Barrett Collection. A political science professor at UM from 1954 to 1976, Barrett was the author of Integration at Ole Miss (1965). Includes 1962-1965 letters from Barrett to reporters describing the situation on campus. (21 boxes).
Marvin Black PR Collection. 1955-1961. Marvin Black was Director of Public Relations at the University of Mississippi (3 boxes).
Blues Newsletter Collection. Circa 1960-present. Newsletters of blues organizations from across the glove. Finding aid available in Special Collections.
Bouchard Collection. 1937-2000. Consists of posters, lobby cards, press books, and other memorabilia of movies related to Mississippi (2 boxes & 3 drawers in flat case).
Louis E. Bourgeois Collection. 2011. Papers of Mississippi author and poet Louis E. Bourgeois, who co-founded VOX Press, an independent literary magazine in 2004 (1 box).
Hershel Brickell Collection. Circa 1920-1950. A Mississippi native, Hershel Brickell served as book columnist and literary editor for the New York Evening Post; general editor of Henry Holt and Company publishing house; and editor of the annual O. Henry Memorial Prize Short Stories anthology. Finding aid available in Special Collections (61 boxes).
Allen Cabaniss Collection. 1865-1969. A historian of the University of Mississippi, Allen Cabaniss's papers include correspondence on university radio broadcasts (Folder 1-19) and a WSM Radio College Program Broadcast Tour (Folder 1-31) (7 boxes).
Camp Chase Gazette Collection. 1973-1982. Contains issues of the Camp Chase Gazette published in Morristown, Tennessee. "The only magazine devoted exclusively to Civil War reenacting" (1 box).
Hodding Carter Periodicals. 1948-1969. Assortment of periodicals containing articles by Greenville Delta Democrat-Times editor Hodding Carter (1 box).
Grover H. Catt Collection. 1939-1987. Collection chiefly composed of letters between Grover H. Catt and Winnie Bethea Catt between 1940 and 1945. Correspondence includes references to movies, music, and radio programs (16 boxes). Photographs are available as a digital collection.
Chilton Collection. 1837-1882. Includes an 1875 agreement to select the editor of the Oxford Falcon and pay his salary (1 box).
Citizens Council Collection. 1947-1979. Includes scattered issues of the journal The Citizen produced by the southern segregationist organization as well as press releases. Available as a digital collection.
Civil Rights Commemoration Initiative Collection. 1982-2006. Includes material related to memorial to Paul Guilhard, killed during the 1962 integration riot at the University of Mississippi (5 boxes).
Civil War Centennial Collection. 1961-1963. Contains press releases related to the federal and Mississippi commemoration (1 box).
David Cohn Periodicals. 1937-1959. Assorted issues of The Saturday Review containing articles by Mississippi author David Cohn (1 box).
Dick "Cane" Cole Photographs. 1955-1977. Photographs of radio disc jockey Dick "Cane" Cole and other WLOK (Memphis, Tennessee) radio staff (1 box).
Conferences Collection. 1908-2001. Includes conferences on journalism and newspapers held at the University of Mississippi (2 boxes).
Miriam Adair Dabbs Collection. 1948-1955. Includes a 1948 letter from Hodding Carter (1 box).
Martin J. Dain Collection. 1961-1963. Photographs of William Faulkner, Faulkner's funeral, Rowan Oak, and Lafayette County by Life photographer Martin J. Dain (7 boxes).
Borden Deal Periodicals. 1950-1962. Assorted periodicals containing works by Mississippi author Borden Deal (1 box).
Ann Rogers Dillard Collection. 1951-1963. Contains press coverage of civil rights in Mississippi, particularly the 1962 integration of the University of Mississippi (1 box).
James O. Eastland Collection. 1930-1978. James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate for a few months in 1941 and then from 1943 until his retirement in 1978. Includes publicity and press photographs, recordings of media appearances, clippings, speeches, scrapbooks, original political cartoon drawings, press releases, newsletters, published writings and interviews, and public relations correspondence. Also includes recordings of Radio Ree Dixie broadcasts from Cuba circa 1961-1965 by Robert F. Walker (1,800 linear feet). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A small portion is available as a digital collection.
James E. Edmonds Collection. 1886-1934. While a student at the University of Mississippi, James E. Edmonds was the illustrator of the first Ole Miss yearbook in 1897. He worked as a newspaper correspondent and artist in New Orleans, Louisiana and his correspondence from this era describes his efforts to cover the Yellow Fever outbreak of 1905 (3 boxes). A selection of materials is available as a digital collection.
John Egerton Collection. 1911-2005. Papers of southern food journalist and author John Egerton (6 boxes).
Thomas Etheridge Collection. 1940-1976. Thomas Etheridge was a journalist for several Mississippi newspapers from the 1940s through the 1960s and wrote a popular syndicated column "Mississippi Notebook" (7 boxes).
Faulkner Periodicals. 1930-1997. Assorted periodicals containing works by Mississippi author William Faulkner or articles about him (56 boxes).
Faulkner Small Manuscripts. Includes material related to films adapted from the author William Faulkner's works as well as other movies for whom he served as a screenwriter. Contains advertisements, lobby cards, press books, and other promotional items. (31 boxes).
Jimmy Faulkner Periodicals. 1970-1971. Assorted periodicals containing articles on Jimmy Faulkner, author William Faulkner's nephew and author John Faulkner's son (1 box).
John Faulkner Periodicals. 1941-1963. Assorted periodicals containing works by or about Mississippi author John Faulkner (1 box).
Field School for Cultural Documentation -- North Mississippi Music Project. 2007-2010. Among the oral histories are an interview conducted on air with Reverend Eric Kerney, owner and disc jockey at KBUD in Sardis, Mississippi on contemporary gospel music and an interview with James Figg discussing his Sunday morning gospel broadcasts on WQMA in Marks, Mississippi (2 boxes). Recordings are available as a digital collection.
Paul Flowers Collection. 1948-1962. Paul Flowers was a columnist at the Memphis Commercial Appeal. Contains correspondence with author William Faulkner and other material related to Faulkner (2 boxes).
Framed Items. 1691-1997. Includes movie posters and 1987 University of Mississippi poster for Media and Civil Rights Movement exhibition (Framed Item #51); 1930 High School Editor newspaper from Oxford, Mississippi (Item #92). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Carroll Gartin Collection. 1941-1966. Carroll Gartin served three terms as Mississippi's Lieutenant Governor: 1952-1956, 1956-1960, and 1964-1966. Includes campaign radio broadcasts (31 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs and recordings available in a digital collection.
Kenneth S. Goldstein Collection. Circa 1770s-1990s. Includes a large number of song broadsides published in Britain and Ireland in during the late eighteenth century through the early twentieth century. Broadsides available as a digital collection.
Dr. Anne Gowdy/Sherwood Bonner Collection. 1880s-1990s. Born in 1849, Mississippi author Sherwood Bonner (Katharine Sherwood Bonner McDowell) moved to Boston to pursue a writing career where she placed several of her stories and letters in newspapers and periodicals before dying in 1883 (3 boxes).
Roy Greenberg Collection. 1978-1981. Interviews and their transcripts with seven blues musicians used for articles in The Aquarian (1 box).
Carolyn Haines Collection. Includes 6 binders of 35mm negatives Carolyn Haines took in the 1970s as a photographer for Mobile Press Register, Mississippi Press, Hattiesburg American, and George County Times (9 boxes and 6 binders).
Sheldon Harris Collection. Circa 1834-1998. Includes 589 pieces of sheet music of minstrel songs, coon songs, blues, jazz, ragtime, and general popular music dating from 1834 to 1954 (71 boxes). The sheet music is available as a digital collection.
Pat Harrison Collection. 1883-1943. Pat Harrison represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1911 to 1919 and in the U.S. Senate from 1919 to 1941. A popular orator, Harrison went on several speaking tours across the nation and on the radio, and his collection contains correspondence about these engagements as well as copies of speeches and clippings. Also includes scrapbooks, press releases, and campaign material (116 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A selection of original political cartoon drawings is available in the C.K. Berryman Digital Collection.
George W. Healy Jr. Collection. 1921-1976. Correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, clippings, and other material of George W. Healy Jr., longtime editor of the New Orleans Times-Picayune and an active participant on the national political and cultural scene (8 boxes).
Hermaen/Phi Sigma Societies Collection. 1857-1934. The Hermean Society and the Phi Sigma Societies were responsible for publishing early literary magazines at the University of Mississippi (5 boxes).
Jiggits Collection. 1917-1925. Correspondence and printed materials related to Louis M. Jiggits, particularly of his tenure as a University of Mississippi student and staff member of the campus newspaper The Mississippian (2 boxes).
Katallagete/James Y. Holloway Collection. 1945-1992. Manuscripts and correspondence related to Katallagete, the journal of the Committee of Southern Churchmen published between 1960s and 1991 and edited by James Y. Holloway. Contributors included Thomas Merton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Billy Graham, and Will Campbell among others (37 boxes).
Lagniappe Collection. 1974-1975. Correspondence, financial records, manuscripts, and other material related to publication of the literary journal Lagniappe: A Journal of the Old South in Oxford, Mississippi (1 box).
L.Q.C. Lamar Collection. 1860-1885. Includes correspondence from the 1870s with remarks on Mississippi and national newspapers and their editors. Location: Small Manuscripts 1976-6.
Seymour Lawrence Collection. 1952-1992. Includes promotional material for the authors of book publisher Seymour Lawrence (108 boxes).
League of Women Voters of Mississippi Collection. Includes a Lifetime television comp reel "Women in Politics" with various campaign spots. digital collection (33 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Recordings and photographs are available in a digital collection.
Alan Lomax Recordings. Includes a 1959 recording of WEUP (Huntsville, Alabama) radio broadcast by Daddy Cool and a 1959 recording of WROS Old Time Religious Hour radio broadcast. Available as a digital collection.
Trent Lott Collection. Trent Lott represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1973 to 1989 and in the U.S. Senate from 1989 to 2007. Although most of the collection remains closed to researchers at this time, a selection of recordings is open. Recordings include media appearances by Lott and campaign commercials and a portion are available in a digital collection.
Beverly Lowry Periodicals. 1974-1995. Assorted periodicals containing works by or articles about Mississippi author Beverly Lowry (1 box).
E. Wilson Lyon Collection. 1923-1974. Papers of the 1923-1924 editor of The Mississippian, student newspaper at the University of Mississippi (3 boxes & 1 bound volume).
Lealon E. Martin Collection. 1914-1980. Lealon E. Martin worked as a journalist and assistant editor at the Jackson, Mississippi State Tribune in the 1930s and early 1940s (2 boxes).
McAlexander/Marshall County Collection. 1838-2009 Includes research notes and copies of nineteenth and twentieth century newspapers of Holly Springs and Marshall County, Mississippi (23 boxes).
Jim McGrath Collection. 1987-1990. Jim McGrath produced City Sounds radio program on WXXI AM Rochester, New York. Collection consists of permission forms signed by various musicians who performed on the program (1 box).
George McLean Collection. 1947-1982. In 1934, George McLean bought the Tupelo Journal (later renamed the Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal) which he continued to publish until his death in 1983 (16 boxes).
James Howard Meredith Collection. In 1962, James Meredith integrated the University of Mississippi. Collection includes the records of Outlook magazine, a publication by Meredith Enterprises. Series 6 of the collection contains copies of the magazine, drafts, financial documents, subscription records, layouts, research, and general correspondence (146 boxes). A small portion of correspondence is available in a digital collection.
James Meredith Small Manuscripts. 1962-1998. Includes NBC correspondent Richard Valeriani's notes for reporting on the integration riot at the University of Mississippi in 1962; the university's official register for news representatives on campus; and assorted periodicals reporting on the 1962 event (12 boxes).
Bill Miles Collection. 1962-2011. After working briefly as a journalist (including coverage of the 1962 integration of the University of Mississippi), Bill Miles formed an advertising/public relations firm in Tupelo, Mississippi which often represented local political candidates. Miles also operated a magazine specialty company called Mid-South publications, served as editor of Mississippi Law Enforcement Officers Association Journal for 22 years, and helped to establish the magazines See Tupelo and Today in the New South (7 boxes).
Mississippi Education Collection. 1924-2000. Folder 1-19 contains 1962 publication Mississippi Scholastic Press Association Journal issued by the University of Mississippi Department of Journalism (1 box). Available as a digital collection.
Mississippi Organizations Collection. 1920-2003. Includes 1982-1984 issues of the Mississippi Broadcaster Association's Newsline and 1971-1972 newsletters for Mississippians for Educational Television (2 boxes).
Mississippi Periodicals Collection. 1921-1982. Assortment of periodicals published in Mississippi or with articles about Mississippi. Also includes "A Crusading Editor Gets Results" on Oliver Emmerich of McComb, Mississippi in Reader's Digest (January 1951); and "Southerner Wins Pulitzer Prize" on Hodding Carter in South: The Magazine of Travel (July 1946) (6 boxes).
Sidna Brower Mitchell Collection. 1959-2003. Sidna Brower served as the editor of the campus newspaper The Mississippian in 1962 during the integration of the University of Mississippi. She received a nomination for the Pulitzer Prize for her editorials during this period (10 boxes). Photographs and a scrapbook are available in a digital collection.
Willie Morris Collection. 1954-1993. Mississippi native Willie Morris became editor of The Daily Texan at the University of Texas, the Texas Observer (1960-1962), associate editor at Harper's Magazine (1963-1967) and then editor-in-chief (1967-1971) (173 boxes).
Willie Morris Periodicals. 1965-1981. Contains magazines with articles by or about journalist and author Willie Morris (1 box).
Ed Movitz Integration Collection. September-October 1962. Photographs taken for use by various newspapers documenting the 1962 integration of the University of Mississippi (1 box). Available as a digital collection.
William Murphy Collection. 1954-1978. Contains correspondence and clippings related to this University of Mississippi law professor's controversial support for civil rights. Includes letter from Summit Sun editor Mary Cain (1 box).
Ellis and Mamie Nassour Arts & Entertainment Collection. Circa 1920-2012. Collection of theatre and film memorabilia, including posters, playbills, pressbooks, and other promotional material (32 boxes).
Nash & Taggart Collection. Oral histories conducted by Jere Nash and Andy Taggart while writing Mississippi Politics. Includes an interview with Hodding Carter III discussing his conversion as an activist newspaper editorialist in Greenville, Mississippi. Recordings available as a digital collection.
News Scimitar (Memphis, Tennessee) Subscription Ledger for Oxford, Mississippi. Circa 1910 (1 ledger).
Newspapers (Bound). 1823-1990. An assortment of bound volumes of newspapers, chiefly from Mississippi: The People's Press (Hernando), The Hernando Press, The Phenix (Hernando), The Comet (Jackson), The Daily Mississippi Pilot (Jackson), The Daily Times (Jackson), Jackson Daily News, Mississippi Daily Pilot (Jackson), Weekly Clarion (Jackson), Weekly Mississippi Pilot (Jackson), Mississippi Free Trader (Natchez), Natchez Daily Free Trader, Lafayette County News, The World (New York, New York), Oxford Eagle, Southern Reporter (Sardis), Southern Reporter (Sardis), Deer Creek Pilot (Rolling Fork), Woodville Republican, Southern Planter (Woodville), Oil Review (Jackson), Democratic Herald (Charleston), Coffeeville Courier , Aberdeen Examiner, Brandon Republican, Charleston News/Tallahatchie News, Daily Register (Clarksdale), Democratic Herald (Charleston), Mississippi Sun (Charleston), Sun Sentinel (Charleston), Tallahatchie Herald (Charleston), Tallahatchie News (Charleston), and Tallahatchie News Messenger (Charleston) (178 bound volumes).
Newspapers (Boxed). 1841-2008. Partial and individual issues of newspapers published in various locations, chiefly in Mississippi (72 boxes and 1 bound volume).
James D. Nunnally Collection. 1976-1982. James D. Nunnally was a freelance journalist who wrote primarily about politics and outdoor activities like hunting (7 boxes).
Jas Obrecht Collection. 1978-1994. Print and audio interviews by music journalist and editor Jas Obrecht with various blues musicians (9 boxes).
Oxford American Collection. 1988-2000. Manuscripts, correspondence, production material, and ephemera related to The Oxford American magazine, a regional literary magazine (85 boxes).
Presidential Debate Collection. 2007-2009. Collection regarding the 2008 presidential debate between Barack Obama and John McCain on the University of Mississippi campus. Includes university press releases, clippings, media gift bag items, photographs of media, and other material related to publicity and coverage of the event (6 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Photographs and recordings from the collection are available in a digital collection.
The Progressive Farmer Collection. 1950-1973. Chiefly contains works of fiction and nonfiction that appeared in The Progressive Farmer, as well as story logs, correspondence, clippings and other items related to this magazine about farming and agricultural issues. (3 boxes).
Ann Rayburn Collection. 1861-1997. A large paper Americana collection of vintage postcards, sheet music, and movie memorabilia. Finding aid available in Special Collections.
The Rebel Standard Collection. 2001. Bi-monthly conservative campus newspaper at the University of Mississippi (1 box).
John Richbourg Collection. 1942-1986. John Richbourg was a broadcaster, record producer, and an educator who founded a school of broadcasting for black students in the 1950s. He attained fame playing as "John R." playing rhythm and blues on Nashville radio station WLAC. Includes tapes of airchecks of his radio programs, commercials used in broadcasts, and other material related to his career (5 boxes).
James W. Silver Collection. 1928-1986. A University of Mississippi history professor, James W. Silver wrote Mississippi: The Closed Society about the oppressive nature of white segregation in the state. Includes material and correspondence discussing journalism in Mississippi and correspondence with journalists Hodding Carter, Harrison Salisbury, Eric Sevareid, and Howard K. Smith (50 boxes). A selection of news clippings, pamphlets, and Silver's correspondence are available in a digital collection.
James W. Silver/Martin J. Dain Collection. 1962-1986. Correspondence between University of Mississippi professor James W. Silver and Martin J. Dain, a Life photographer who captured images of Silver and William Faulkner (1 box).
Small Manuscripts 1977-1. Includes typescript of New York Times's editor Turner Catledge's 1967 speech at the University of Arizona (Folder 21).
Small Manuscripts 1977-3. Autograph of Frederick Sullens, editor of Jackson Daily News (Folder 17).
Small Manuscripts 1978-2. Photocopies of "Orphan Boy" and "Galley Slave" published by Andrew Marschalk, the first printer in the Mississippi Territory in the 1790s (Folder 5) and original teletape from Lexington, Mississippi radio station reporting on John F. Kennedy's assassination (Folder 15). Location: Small Manuscripts 1978-2.
Small Manuscripts 1979-4. Volume 1, Number 1 of Oxford, Mississippi comedic newspaper Ridicule dated 27 July 1878 (Folder 13).
Small Manuscripts 1979-5. Contains World War I era (1918-1919) editions of the newspapers The Stars and Stripes, New York Herald (Paris edition), Excelsior, Chicago Tribune (Paris edition), and Natchez Democrat; also New Year's Day 1862 "Carrier's Address to the Patrons of the Vicksburg Carrier" printed on silk (Folder 1).
Small Manuscripts 1979-6. Catholic Action of the South dated October 14, 1937 (Folder 8); also a series of illustrations about Mississippi during the Civil War published in various newspapers and journals of the period (Folders 1 through 8).
Small Manuscripts 1982-1. Volume 1, Number 1 issue of comedic newspaper The Southern Reposure (Summer 1956) lampooning segregationists. Includes copies of works discussing author William Faulkner's efforts in the publication of this single issue (Folder 16).
Small Manuscripts 1988-1. Letter dated 1878 from Mississippi poet Irwin Russell to publisher Roswell Smith concerning a newspaper article and illustration (Folder 7).
Small Manuscripts 1991-1. Photocopy of "Ho! The Scuppernong," a letter written by James Marcus Taylor of Corinth, Mississippi and published in October 1868 issue of Southern Cultivator along with historical examinations of the letter and Taylor (Folder 20); papers by Edgar Wiggins Waugh regarding his experiences as editor of the University of Mississippi newspaper Mississippian in 1922-23 (Folder 21); premiere reissue of The Southern magazine from March 1991 (Folder 30).
Small Manuscripts 1992-1. The Oxford Chick published in Oxford, Mississippi in January 1992 regarding conservative viewpoints on television for the elderly and censorship (Folder 8); scrapbook of a "Know Your State" series in the Jackson Daily News that ran from January 1963 through May 1963 with each article providing a brief overview of information on an individual county (Folder 12).
Small Manuscripts 1992-2. Ledger containing newspaper clippings of the series "Know Your State" (Folder 7); collection of newspaper clippings of the series "Meeting Our Mississippi Neighbors" from 1955-1975 (Folder 8); illustration "Cotton Blockade at Meridian, Mississippi" used in January 17, 1880 edition of Harper's Weekly (Folder 1); handwritten prospectus for a Know-Nothing political party newspaper in Vicksburg Mississippi entitled Young America (Folder 4).
Small Manuscripts 1993-4. Reproduction of 1818 The Religious Remembrancer, first weekly religious newspaper in the United States (Folder 2); excerpt of Paul Harvey radio broadcast transcript on 26 January 1961 regarding Greenwood, Mississippi (Folder 4).
Small Manuscripts 1994-1. "An Informal Call on Hodding Carter in Greenville, Mississippi" in Summer 1965 issue of University: A Princeton Quarterly (Folder 23); "An Independent Editor" on Hazel Brannon Smith of Lexington in April 1957 issue of The Fund for the Public Bulletin (Folder 25).
Small Manuscripts 1995-1. Manuscript of Tupelo newspaper publisher Georg McLean's speech "The Next 100 Years" before the 1970 meeting of the Community Development Foundation in Tupelo (Folder 15); transcript of Professor M. Lagrone's radio broadcast on Reconstruction (Folder 23).
Small Manuscripts 1995-2. Photocopy of Memphis Daily Appeal article on General Grant's Army and the University of Mississippi dated 26 December 1862 (Folder 10).
Small Manuscripts 1995-3. Handbill advertising new 1850 southern literary publication The Family Friend (Folder 2); scrapbook with clippings from southern newspapers dating from as early as 1856 and concerning sectional political divisions (Folder 11).
Small Manuscripts 1995-7. This Is Newton County supplement to Meridian Star and Newton Star dated 27 February 1975 (Folder 5).
Small Manuscripts 1998-1. Photocopy of Oxford Mercury newspaper dated 14 March 1861 in Oxford, Mississippi (Folder 2).
Small Manuscripts Broadsheets & Broadsides. Newspaper supplement "Mississippian Extra" concerning Mexican War enlistment in 1846 (Folder 20).
Patrick D. Smith Collection. 1948-1986. Contains manuscripts, periodicals, correspondence and an oral history of Pulitzer Prize-nominated novelist Patrick D. Smith. Smith served as Director of Public Information at the University of Mississippi from 1962 to 1966 and then as Director of Public Relations at Brevard Community College in Florida until 1988 (2 boxes).
Southern Humor Collection. Includes research material related to William T. Porter and his weekly newspaper Spirt of the Times, first published in 1831. (3 boxes).
Southern Women Legislators Collection. 1980-1998. Includes an oral interview with former South Carolina legislator and South Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Jean Tool discussing journalism. (16 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. Oral history recordings are available in a digital collection.
Elizabeth Spencer Periodicals. 1957-1979. Assorted periodicals with works by or articles about Mississippi author Elizabeth Spencer (1 box).
S.G. Thigpen Collection. 1890-1970. Includes weekly recorded radio broadcasts by S.G. Thigpen on local history in Pearl River County, Mississippi (3 boxes and 2 scrapbooks).
University of Mississippi Publications. 1897-1907. A small selection of early University of Mississippi publications. Available as a digital collection at https://egrove.olemiss.edu/um_pub/.
University Small Manuscripts. 1846-2012. Includes material related to student publications and the Journalism Department (49 boxes).
Vertical Files. Includes a file of newspaper clippings on "Newspaper"; "Radio History"; and "University of Mississippi -- Journalism."
Vice Chancellors Collection. 1946-1976. Records of vice chancellors at the University of Mississippi. Includes files on Journalism Department (46 boxes).
VOX Press Collection. 2005-2007. Founded as an independent literary journal in Oxford, Mississippi in 2004 by Louis E. Bourgeois, Max Bishop Hipp, and J.E. Pitts. Has published an assortment of books and journals and instituted the VOX Artist's Series (2 boxes).
Eudora Welty Periodicals. 1937-1998. Assorted periodicals with works by or articles about Mississippi author Eudora Welty (3 boxes).
Jamie L. Whitten Collection. Jamie L. Whitten represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1941 to 1995. Only the collection's recordings are currently open to researchers; they include media appearances by Whitten and campaign commercials. Recordings are available as a digital collection.
William M. Whittington Collection. 1897-1962. William M. Whittington represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1925 to 1951. Collection includes files on his speeches (316 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
John Sharp Williams Collection. Research material accumulated by historian George Coleman Osborn who wrote biographies of two U.S. Senators from Mississippi: John Sharp Williams and James K. Vardaman. Includes correspondence of Robert W. Banks (1843-1919) who owned and edited the Columbus Index and later the Meridian Standard (Box 4 & 5); newspaper coverage of Williams and Vardaman (Box 6 through 8 and Box 11); and transcripts of Williams' speeches (Box 9) (11 boxes).
Tennessee Williams Small Manuscripts. 1932-2005. Includes press books and other promotional material for movies and plays by the author Tennessee Williams (6 boxes).
Richard Wright Small Manuscripts. 1938-1970. Includes a press book for the movie "Native Son" and other promotional material for works by the author Richard Wright (3 boxes).
