Africa material held in the Archives & Special Collections appears in lists for three categories:
Contact Information: Archives & Special Collections
Located on the third floor of the J.D. Williams Library and open Monday through Friday from 9am to 4pm (except during holidays).
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu
Phone: (662) 915-1595
Thomas G. Abernethy. 1924-1972. Thomas G. Abernethy of Mississippi served in the U.S. House of Representatives between 1943 and 1973. Boxes 237, 238, and 239 contains files related to Abernethy’s congressional tour of Africa and Suriname in 1970. Box 287 contains Folder “Sugar Quotas, South Africa” circa 1960s. Box 295 includes a folder on Rhodesia circa 1966. 454 boxes. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must request boxes at least two business days in advance of their intended visit.
American Association of University Women (AAUW) Collection. 1906-1992. AAUW is a non-profit organization that advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, and research. Box 7 contains two Folders “Jackson [Chapter], Role of Women in Sub-Saharan African Cultures, 1986.” Box 41 holds the file “President’s Notes on African Educators Program, 1976.” 129 boxes.
Marge Baroni Collection. 1955-1985. Marge Baroni was a white, Catholic woman in Natchez, Mississippi who supported the civil rights movement. Box 1, Folder 2 includes an 18 April 1958 letter to Baroni from “Pat” in New Orleans, regarding Bishop Fulton J. Sheen and African converts.
Blues Archive Poster Collection. 1926-2012. Drawer 16, Folder 2 contains the poster “Blues IM Dalbeloch-Basel, Blues Against Blindness in Africa, Othella Dallas, August 1995.”
Cleveland/Wilson Collection. 1962-1964. Correspondence received by two University of Mississippi Associated Study Body presidents in response to the violence and incidents surrounding the integration of campus by James Meredith in 1962. Box 3, Folder 14 includes a typed letter dated 17 November 1962 from Richard P. Stevens of Pius XII College, South Africa. 4 boxes.
James J. Cooke Collection. 1968-2001. Collection contains the correspondence and drafts of essays and publications by University of Mississippi History professor James J. Cooke who wrote extensively about military history. Manuscripts within the collection include: The Army Archives at Vincennes: Archives for the Study of North African History in the Colonial Period (Box 1, Folder 2); Anglo-French Diplomacy and the Contraband Arms Trade in Colonial Africa, 1894-1897 (Box 1, Folder 5); Madagascar and Zanzibar: A Case Study in African Colonial Friction, 1894-1897 (Box 1, Folder 6); God, Glory, and Expansion: The English Missionary in East Africa (Box 1, Folder 7); draft of a book review for The Tunisia of Ahmad Bey 1837-1855 (Box 2, Folder 1); France and Morocco: the 1894 Origins of the Colonial Protectorate (Box 2, Folder 2); several manuscripts on Eugene Etienne, Algeria, and Morocco (Box 2, Folders 5 through 8); and a copy of Dr. Thomas Verich’s 1980 dissertation “The European Powers and the Italo-Ethiopian War 1935-1936: A Diplomatic Study.” 10 boxes. See the “Non-Fiction Publications” section below for Africa-related volumes from the James J. Cooke Collection.
Ross A. Collins Collection. 1913-1940s. Ross A. Collins served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1921 to 1935 and from 1937 to 1943. Page 44 in the scrapbook in Box 2 holds a photograph of American troops marching over hills in North Africa [1940s]. 2 boxes.
Dantzler Lumber Company/Lumber Archives. 1850-1954. The Dantzler Lumber Company worked in partnership with the international timber merchants Price and Pierce and their export lumber shipped to South America, the Caribbean, Europe, and Africa. Collection consists of correspondence and other financial records in files as well as bound volumes of journals, ledgers, cashbooks, order books, tally books, and payroll records for the years 1894 to 1948. 60 boxes and 335 ledgers. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must request boxes at least two business days in advance of their intended visit.
James O. Eastland Collection. 1930-1978. James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate by appointment for a few months in 1941 and then by election from 1943 to 1978. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must request boxes (File Series #, Subseries #, and Box #) at least two business days in advance of their intended visit.
See the “Non-Fiction Publications” section below for Africa-related volumes from the James O. Eastland Collection.
Bishop Duncan Montgomery Gray Jr. Collection. 1954-2000. An Episcopal priest, Duncan Montgomery Gray Jr. served several parishes in Mississippi before his election as Bishop of Mississippi (1974-1993). Gray was known for his work as a civil rights activist. Box 11, Folder 11. 1-11.5 “Lambeth Conference – 1978, 1977-1978, 1987-1988” includes material on South Africa. 21 boxes.
Sheldon Harris Collection. 1834-1998. Collection of recordings, sheet music, photographs, and research materials by blues author Sheldon Harris. Box 35 includes the 78rpm record “Music of Equatorial Africa” (Ethnic Folkways Library 15) with “Babinga Pygmy Chorus,” “Babinga Dance,” “Kouyou Medicine Song,” and “Kouyou Women's Dance.” Box 55 contains the 1910 sheet music for “The Zinga Zula Man" by Edward Madden (lyrics) and Ben M. Jerome and Louis A. Hirsch (music) with a caricature on the cover of an African male clothed as a fusion of European servant and Zulu warrior. Box 61 contains a research file “Africa.” 71 boxes.
Felton M. Johnston Collection. 1925-1972. Felton M. Johnston served as Secretary of the Senate from 1955 to 1964, the highest administrative post in the U.S. Congress. As Secretary of the Senate, he would have been involved in coordinating the visit of foreign leaders to the Capitol and to Joint Meetings of Congress. It is possible that material related to African leader visits will appear in Senate Administration folders in Boxes 5 & 6. From 1965 to 1969, Johnston served on the American Battlefield Monuments Commission (an independent agency of the US government which administers U.S. military cemeteries, memorials, and monuments outside the United States (which includes Western Naval Task Force Marker in Morocco). Files and other material related to the American Battlefield Monuments Commission are in Boxes 7 & 8 as well as a scrapbook in Box 16. 27 boxes. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must request boxes at least two business days in advance of their intended visit.
Katallagete/James Y. Holloway Collection. 1945-1980. Manuscripts and correspondence related to Katallagete, the journal of the Committee of Southern Churchmen. Published from the 1960s to 1991, the journal was edited by James Y. Holloway, and boasted contributions by notable people such as Thomas Merton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Billy Graham, and Will Campbell, among many others. The collection contains correspondence, meeting minutes, loose journal issues, and other materials relating to the creation and publication of Katallagete. Africa related material within the collection:
Bern and Frankie Keating Collection. 1940-1986. Bern Keating was a journalist and photographer whose work often appeared in national magazines. He often collaborated with his photographer wife Franke Keating. They lived in Greenville, Mississippi. Box 7, Folders 21 through 24 contains an article “Bulldozers and Tea Leaves” for International Harvester with images of farming practices on the Mauritius Islands and another article and images on teenage life on the island. Box 10, Folders 20 & 21 contains images of teenage life in Rhodesia. Box 12, Folders 9 & 10 contains drafts of “Tangiers Teenager” article and images of teenagers in Morocco. Box 12, Folder 17 through 19 contain correspondence and images related to the United Christian Missionary Society’s activities in Johannesburg, South Africa. 32 boxes. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility in Cold Storage. Researchers must request boxes at least two business days in advance of their intended visit in order that the material may acclimate to room temperature before transfer to Special Collections.
Knox Collection of Extremist Literature. 1942-1982. Collection of various publications by right-wing political and religious organizations. Box 3, Folder 14 holds a June 1976 issue of The Covenant Message by the Federation of the Covenant People in Johannesburg, South Africa. Box 8, Folder 14 contains a reprint of an article on Africa from the London Sunday Telegraph (20 February 1977) and Focus on Rhodesia (undated). 12 boxes.
W.T. Marshall Collection. 1833-1985. William Thomas Marshall was the White House librarian and file keeper for eight presidents from William McKinley to Franklin D. Roosevelt. Box 2, Folder 12 contains African Reminiscences (undated) a carbon copy of a typed manuscript (14 pages) signed Don [Moody?] recounting a visit to South Africa in 1881. 9 boxes. See the “Non-Fiction Publications” section below for African-related volumes from the W.T. Marshall Collection.
James Meredith Collection. James Meredith integrated the University of Mississippi in 1962 and initiated the 1966 March Against Fear to encourage voter registration in the state. Series 7 (Boxes 35 through 45) documents Meredith's interests in Africa and Pan-African affairs from 1965 to 1989, including extensive correspondence with business people, diplomats, and activists in several countries, particularly Nigeria. These Series 7 files date from 1965 through the early 1990s. 146 boxes. See the “Non-Fiction Publications” and "Fiction & Literary Criticism" sections below for African-related volumes from the James Meredith Collection.
William “Fishbait” Miller Collection. 1935-1975. Miller served as the Doorkeeper of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1949 to 1953 and from 1955 to 1974. In this administrative post, he participated in the planning and ceremonies related to VIP visit of foreign leaders to the Capitol including addresses to Joint Meetings of Congress. 141 boxes. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must request boxes at least two business days in advance of their intended visit.
Willie Morris Collection. 1941-1993. Willie Morris served as editor-in-chief of the Harper’s Magazine from 1967 to 1971, he became writer-in-residence at the University of Mississippi in 1980; and he wrote many works of fiction and non-fiction. Correspondence with this Mississippi author includes a handwritten card from author William Styron in East Africa dated 6 March 1969 (Box 4, Folder 3); four letters or cards from Kitty Winter Hicks Hookins in Durban, South Africa dated between July 1971 and December 1972 (Box 9, Folders 6 & 19; Box 10, Folders 10 & 22); handwritten letter from Clive Leeuw in Botswana, South Africa dated 11 February 1987 (Box 28, Folder 13); two handwritten letters from Clyde Johnson in Cape Town, South Africa dated 4 September 1988 (Box 30, Folder 9) and 3 July [no year] (Box 43, Folder 27); and a typed letter from Daniel M. Bloomfield (American-South African Scholarship Association of New York City) dated 29 November 1991 with attached material (Box 37, Folder 18). 173 boxes.
Sterling Plumpp Collection. An African-American born in Clinton, Mississippi in 1940, Sterling Plumpp moved to Chicago in 1962 and became known as a blues poet, winning the Carl Sandburg Literary Prize for poetry in 1983 for his book The Mojo Hands Call, I Must Go. His literary papers include correspondence and other material on Africa, particularly South Africa. Plump edited the 1981 volume Somehow We Survive: An Anthology of South African Writing as well as his 1993 poetry volume Johannesburg & Other Poems. 12 boxes. See the “Non-Fiction Publications” & "Fiction" sections below for African-related volumes from the Sterling Plumpp Collection.
John C. Satterfield/American Bar Association Collection. 1928-1970. The John C. Satterfield Collection contains files related to Satterfield's involvement in the American Bar Association which he presided over from 1961-1962. The papers also include speeches and case files associated with his representation of Mississippi Governor Ross Barnett during the 1962 University of Mississippi integration crisis as well as consolidated cases of public school boards across Mississippi and the South seeking to delay desegregation. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must request boxes at least two business days in advance of their intended visit.
Alfred H. Stone Collection. 1786-1956. Materials collected by Alfred Holt Stone (1870-1955), a lawyer and cotton planter in Mississippi, pertaining to the issues of race and slavery from the late eighteenth century to the early twentieth century. Box 1, Folder 5 includes "Northwestern University Library Program of African Studies Collection" (1955). Box 2 holds Demetrius C. Boulger’s "The Congo State and Central-African Problems," in Harper's Magazine (February 1900) and E. W. Gilliam’s "The African Problem" in North American Review 139 (November 1884). Box 3 contains the loose, oversized item “The Negro: Slavery, Africa, Egypt – A Bibliography” by Stone (undated). Box 3, Folder 11 holds the clipping "African Negroes Had High Culture," New York The Evening Post (27 November 1915). See the “Non-Fiction Publications” section below for African-related volumes from the Alfred H. Stone Collection.
Kenneth H. Towsey Collection. 1952-1986. Towsey ran the Information Office of Rhodesia in Washington, DC after the United States denied diplomatic recognition to the white minority regime following its 1965 declaration of independence from the United Kingdom. The “Correspondence with Rhodesia” files are dominated by communications with the office of the Secretary for External Affairs and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs discussing Towsey’s meetings and speeches, events in Rhodesia, background on and opinions of U.S. officials, African activity in the U.S., and U.S. reaction to Rhodesian policies. Many of the letters are stamped “Confidential” or “Secret.” The collection also includes Towsey’s letters with members of Congress, material related to his speaking engagements, subject files, and newspaper clippings. 7 boxes. Note: This collection is stored at an off-site facility. Researchers must request boxes at least two business days in advance of their intended visit.
Robert Penn Warren/Bill Ferris Correspondence. 1979-1987. Robert Penn Warren (1905-1989) was a poet, novelist, and literary critic. He received the 1947 Pulitzer Prize for his novel All the King’s Men as well as the Pulitzer Prize for poetry in 1958 and 1979. Collection includes a handwritten letter dated 11 September 1981 from Eleanor Warren to Bill Ferris regarding a North African reading list, Bio Serive, and photographs by Ferris (Box 1, Folder 5).
Richard Wright Small Manuscripts. 1938-1970. Miscellaneous material related to the life and work of Richard Wright (1908-1960), who was born in Natchez, Mississippi and became a noted African American author of novels, short stories, poems, and non-fiction. Box 4 includes Les Lettres Nouvelles (December 1954) with "Suise-je un African?" by Richard Wright. 4 boxes.
1st International Conference of Negro Writers and Artists: Paris, Sorbonne, 19th-22nd September 1956: Full Account (Paris: [Society of African Culture]: 1956). Published as a special issue of Presence Africaine No. 8-10 (1956). Includes remarks to the Congress by Mississippi-born author Richard Wright as well as a significant number of African speakers. Call Number: PS3545 R815 T73 1956.
The African Mission of the White Fathers. Special Collections has edition 9:12 (1962). Catholic missions in Africa. From the Cleveland/Wilson Collection. Call Number: BV3500 A1.
William T. Alexander. History of the Colored Race in America: Containing also Their Ancient and Modern Life in Africa, Modes of Living, Employments, Customs, Habits, Social Life, Etc., the Origin and Development of Slavery in the Old World, and Its Introduction on the American Continent; the Slave Trade, Slavery, And Its Abolition in Europe and America, the Civil War, Emancipation, Education and Advancement of the Colored Race, Their Civil and Political Rights (New Orleans, LA: Palmetto Publishing Co., 1887). Call Number: E185 A4 1887.
American Colonization Society. Annual Report of the American Society for Colonizing the Free People of Colour of the United States (Washington, DC: Davis and Force, 1824). Special Collections has vol. 7, the seventh annual report from 1824. The American Colonization Society encouraged emigration between 1821 and 1847 to a section of Africa that would become Liberia. Call Number: E448 A51.
Augustine, of Hippo, Saint. Confessions of St. Augustine, Book VIII (Oxford, England: Blackwell, 1953). Biography of Christian saint (354-430) from Hippo, Algeria. Latin with English translation. Call Number: BR65 A83 E6 1953.
Don Barnett. Liberation Support Movement Interview on Angola [with] Spartacus Monimambu (Seattle, WA: LSM Information Center, 1970). Based on taped interview from 21 March 1968. Call Number: DT611.75 B363 1970.
Don Barnett. With the Guerillas in Angola (Seattle, WA: LSM Information Center, 1970). From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: DT611.7 B283.
Giovanni Battista Belzoni. Narrative of the Operations and Recent Discoveries within the Pyramids, Temples, Tombs, and Excavations, in Egypt and Nubia; and of a Journey to the Coast of the Red Sea, in Search of the Ancient Berenice; and Another to the Oasis of Jupiter Ammon (London: John Murray, 1820). Author was a pioneer archaeologist of Egypt. Belzoni, Mississippi was named for the author/explorer. Call Number: DT60 B45 1820.
Thomas Bingley. Tales about Travellers [sic]: Their Perils, Adventures, and Discoveries (New York: Wiley and Putnam, 1845). Juvenile literature which includes descriptions of travel by Mungo Park of Scotland in West Africa, Johann Ludwig Burckhardt of Switzerland in Arabia, Hugh Clapperton of Scotland in West and Central Africa, Dixon Denham of England in West Central Africa (and Governor of Sierra Leone), and John Davidson in North Africa. Call Number: G490 B56 1845.
Black Concern. Black Americans Stay Out of South Africa (Bronx, NY: Black Concern, [1971]). Apartheid protest. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: DT1757 B53 1971.
Hector Bolitho. Thistledown & Thunder: A Higgledy-Piggledy Diary of New Zealand, the South Seas, Australia, Port Said, Italy, Paris, England, Madeira, Africa, Canada, and New York (London: Jonathan Cape, 1928). Chapter contains travel descriptions of South Africa in the early twentieth century. Call Number: G463 B6.
Joseph Oliver Bowers. Ceremony of Consecration of His Excellency, the Most Reverend Joseph Oliver Bowers, S.V.D., J.C.L., D.D., Bishop of Accra, West Africa, an Alumnus of St. Augustine’s Seminary, Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi in The Church of Our Lady of the Gulf, Bay Saint Louis, Miss., Wednesday, April Twenty-Second Nineteen Hundred and Fifty-Three ([1953]). Call Number: BX2304 C4.
Daniel T. Brigham. Blueprint for Conflict (New York: American-African Affairs Association, 1969). Terrorism in Southern Africa. From the collection of U.S. Senator James O. Eastland. Call Number: DT733 B75 1969.
James Bruce. Travels to Discover the Source of the Nile: In the Years 1768, 1769, 1770, 1771, 1772, and 1773 (Dublin: William Sleater, 1790-1791). Six volumes. Travel description, history, and natural history of Egypt and Ethiopia. Call Number: DT377 B88 1790.
Charles S. Bryan. A Most Satisfactory Man: The Story of Theodore Brevard Hayne, Last Martyr of Yellow Fever (Spartanburg, SC: Reprint Company, 1996). History of doctor’s work with the International Health Division of the Rockefeller Institute in Nigeria. Inscribed by author. From the D.J. Canale Collection. Call Number: RA644 Y4 B79 1996.
David Bunn and Jane Taylor, with Reginald Gibbons and Sterling Plumpp, eds. From South Africa: New Writing, Photographs and Art (Evanston, IL: Northwestern University, 1987). Call Number: PR9367.25 F76.
Theodore Canot. Adventures of an African Slaver: Being a True Account of the Life of Captain Theodore Canot, Trader in Gold, Ivory, & Slaves on the Coast of Guinea: His Own Story as Told in the Year 1854 to Brantz Mayer & Now Edited with an Introduction by Malcolm Cowley (New York: A & C. Boni, 1928). Canot (1804-1860) was one of the most important slave traders active between Cuba and the coasts of Guinea, Liberia, and Sierra Leone. First edition published in 1854 under the title Captain Canot. Call Number: HT1322 C58 1928.
Henry Rose Carter. Yellow Fever: An Epidemiological and Historical Study of Its Place of Origin (Baltimore: William & Wilkins Co., 1931). Includes sections on Africa, West Africa, Sao Thome Island, and the Cape Verde Islands. From the D.J. Canale Collection. Call Number: RC207 C378 1931.
Francois-René, vicomte de Chateaubriand. Travels in Greece, Palestine, Egypt, and Barbary During the Years 1806 and 1807 (London, England: H. Colburn, 1812). Translated from French. Second edition. Two volumes. Call Number: DS48 C496 1812.
Nell Robertson Chinchen. The Yankee Officer and the Southern Belle: A Journey of Love across Africa (Fearn, Great Britain: Christian Focus, 2012). The biography of a missionary couple in Liberia during the mid-twentieth century. Call Number: BV3505 C456 C4 2012.
James J. Chisolm. Mutoto, or, The Perfume of the Alabaster Box: A Brief Sketch of the Life and Labors of Bertha Stebbins Morrison, Our Martyr Missionary to Luebo, Africa (Richmond, VA: Presbyterian Committee of Publication, 1914). Female missionary from Mississippi to Luebo in the Congo Free State. Inscribed by author. Call Number: BV3625 L8 M6.
John Henrik Clarke with Amy Jacques Garvey, eds. Marcus Garvey and the Vision of Africa (New York: Vintage Books, 1974. Call Number: E185.97 G3 C55 1974.
Thomas Clarkson. An Essay on the Slavery and Commerce of the Human Species, Particularly the African, Translated from a Latin Dissertation, Which Was Honored with the First Prize in the University of Cambridge, for the Year 1785, with Additions (Dublin, Ireland: P. Byrne and W. Porter, 1786). From the Alfred H. Stone Collection. Call Number: HT975 C6 1786.
Charles E. Cobb Jr. African Notebook: Views on Returning “Home” (Chicago: Institute of Positive Education, 1972). Consideration of Black Nationalism and African Americans traveling to Africa. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: E185.61 C636 1972.
John P. Culpepper. A Visit to the Old Countries (Bay St. Louis, MS: Sea Coast Echo, 1923). Author lived in Poplarville, Mississippi; description of travel cruise under Thomas Cook & Son visiting sites of ancient civilizations around the Mediterranean; includes visits to Morocco, Egypt, and Palestine. Call Number: G463 C8.
Constance Curry, et al. Deep in Our Hearts: Nine White Women in the Freedom Movement (Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2000). Includes the chapter “From Africa to Mississippi” by Emmie Schrader Adams who participated in Operation Crossroads Africa’s first trip to Kenya in 1961. Call Number: E185.98 A1 D44 2000.
Vanessa Cook and Carlien Jooste, eds. Student Reflections: Race, Religion, and Reconciliation Programs 2006-2009 (University, MS: University of Mississippi, Division of Outreach, 2010). Trent Lott Leadership Institute Exchange Program initiated in summer 2006 with the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in South Africa. Call Number: LB2376 S78 2010.
James J. Cooke. New French Imperialism 1880-1910: The Third Republic and Colonial Expansion (Newton Abbot, England: David & Charles, 1973). Discuses European scramble for African colonies, specifically France in Morocco. From the James J. Cooke Collection. Call Number: DT33 C66 1973.
James J. Cooke, ed. Proceedings of the Fifth Meeting of the French Colonial Historical Society, March 29 – April 1, 1979, Atlantic Beach, Florida (Washington, DC: University Press of America, 1980). Includes papers on West Africa, Algeria, and Tunisia. From the James J. Cooke Collection. Call Number: JV1803 F74a 1979.
James J. Cooke, ed. Proceedings of the Sixth and Seventh Annual Meetings of the French Colonial Historical Society, 1980-1981 (Washington, DC: University Press of America, 1982). Includes papers on Guiana, Africa, Gabon, Algeria, and the Central African Republic. From the James J. Cooke Collection. Call Number: JV1803 F74a 1980-81.
Earnest Sevier Cox. Lincoln’s Negro Policy (Los Angeles: Noontide Press, 1968). Originally published in 1938 as a pamphlet, the author discusses President Abraham Lincoln’s plans to repatriate African Americans to a colony in Africa. From the James O. Eastland Collection. Call Number: E448 C83 1968.
Basil Davidson. Black Mother: The Years of the African Slave Trade (Boston: Little, Brown, 1961). Inscribed by the author to the publisher Seymour Lawrence. From the Seymour Lawrence Collection. Call Number: DT352 D33 1961a.
Basil Davidson. The Lost Cities of Africa (Boston: Little, Brown, 1959). Inscribed by author to publisher Sam Lawrence. From the Seymour Lawrence Collection. Call Number: DT25 D3 1959a.
André Demaison, ed. À Paris en 1931. Exposition coloniale, international. Guide official (Paris: Éditions Mayeux, 1931). French language guide (2nd edition) to the Paris Colonial Exposition in 1931 displaying the diverse cultures and resources of France’s colonial possessions (including those in Africa). From the Herschel Brickell Collection. Call Number: JV1827 E96 1931.
Léon-Gontran Damas. African Songs of Love, War, Grief, & Abuse (Ibadan, Nigeria: Mbari Publication, 1961. Lyrics translated into English. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PQ2607 A425 A65.
Harris Dickson. Old Reliable in Africa (New York: F.A. Stokes Co., 1920). Novel by Mississippi author about a white southerner’s adventures in Africa with a Reconstruction-era African American character named “Old Reliable,” later adapted for the stage. Call Number: PS3507 I2 O4 1920.
Nettie Fowler Dietz. A White Woman in a Black Man’s Country: Three Thousand Miles up the Nile to Rejaf (Omaha, NE: 1914). Inscribed by author; Number 248 of 300 copies with author’s signed, inscription. Travel journal from 1912-1913 through Egypt to southern Sudan. Call Number: DT55 D5.
St. Clair Drake. The Redemption of Africa and Black Religion (Chicago: Third World Press, 1977). Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: BR563 N4 D7 1977.
John Fletcher. Studies on Slavery: In Easy Lessons, Compiled into Eight Studies, and Subdivided into Short Lessons for the Convenience of Readers (Natchez, MS: J. Warner, 1852). Includes section on slavery in Africa. Call Number: E449 F61.
Joseph Franklin. African: A Photographic Essay on Black Women of Ghana and Nigeria (Sebastopol, CA: Wallingford Books, 1977). Limited first edition. One copy is number 725 and is from the James Meredith Collection. Another copy is from the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: HQ1816 F7.
Hoyt Fuller. Journey to Africa (Chicago: Third World Press, 1971). Fuller was editor of Black World. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: DT543.2 F84.
Charles Betts Galloway. A Circuit of the Globe (Nashville, TN: Publishing House Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 1895). The author was a University of Mississippi alumnus, a Methodist minister in Vicksburg and Jackson churches, and later a bishop. The book documents his missionary travels around the globe (including Egypt) in 1894-1895. From the Judge Stone Deavours Collection. Call Number: BV2070 G3.
Charles Betts Galloway. Modern Missions: Their Evidential Value (Cole Lectures for 1896) (Nashville, TN: Publishing House Methodist Episcopal Church South, 1896). The author was a University of Mississippi alumnus, a Methodist minister in Vicksburg and Jackson churches, and later a bishop. Discusses examples of missionary work in Africa. From the Judge Stone Deavours Collection. Call Number: BV2070 G34.
Mahatma Gandhi. Satyagrapha in South Africa (Ahmedabad, India: Navajivan, 1950). Revised edition of 1928 edition. East Indians in South Africa and passive resistance. Call Number: DT764 E3 G3 1950.
Geoffrey Gorer. Africa Dances: A Book about West African Negroes (London: Faber & Faber, 1938). Call Number: DT15.6 G6 1935.
Richard Grant. Crazy River (New York: Free Press, 2011). Special Collections has the advanced uncorrected proof. Travel across Tanzania and East Africa. From the Richard Grant Collection. Call Number: DT427 G72 2011b. Special Collections also has a German edition DT427 G7215 2011.
J.W. Gregory. The Menace of Colour: A Study of the Difficulties Due to the Association of White & Colored Races, with an Account of Measures Proposed for Their Solution, & Special Reference to White Colonization in the Tropics (Philadelphia, PA: J.B. Lippincott, 1925). Chapter 5 “Race Problems in Africa.” From the Herschel Brickell Collection. Call Number: HT1521 G7.
Jessie Parkhurst Guzman, ed. Negro Year Book: A Review of Events Affecting Negro Life 1941-1946 (Tuskegee, AL: Dept. of Records and Research, Tuskegee Institute, 1947). Part Two is “The Negro in Africa” pages 485-573. From the William Ferris Collection. Call Number: HT1581 N4 1947.
Boubou Hama. Enquête sur les fondements et la genèse de l’unité africaine (Paris, France: Présence Africaine, 1966). Engraved card enclosed: “Avec Les Compliments De L’Ambassade De La Republique Du Niger Washington D.C.” Hama was the president of the National Assembly of Nigeria from 1961 to 1964. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT14 H36 1966.
Boubou Hama. Histoire du Gobir et de Sokoto (Paris, France: Présence africaine, 1967). History of Gobir, one of the seven original kingdoms of Hausaland in modern day Nigeria. Hama was the president of the National Assembly of Nigeria from 1961 to 1964. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT518 H3 H36 1967.
Jessica B. Harris. High on the Hog: A Culinary Journey from Africa to America (New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2012). Signed by author. From the Jay Wiener Collection. Call Number: TX715 H29972 2012.
Juanita Harrison. My Great, Wide, Beautiful World (New York: MacMillan Company, 1936). Born in Mississippi in 1891, the author was an African American woman who began travelling around the world by working various jobs. Her travel memoir includes trips to Egypt in 1928-1929. Call Number: G463 H33.
Ahmad Muhammad Hasanayn. The Lost Oases: Being a Narrative Account of the Author’s Explorations into the More Remote Parts of the Libyan Desert and His Rediscovery of Two Lost Oases (New York: Century Co., 1925. From the Hershel Brickell Collection. Call Number: DT55 H35.
Alf Andrew Heggoy with Aurie H. Miller, James J. Cooke, and Paul J. Zingg. Through Foreign Eyes: Western Attitudes toward North Africa (Washington, DC: University Press of America, 1982). From the James J. Cooke Collection. Call Number: DT197 T47.
Alf Andrew Heggoy and James J. Cooke, eds. Proceedings of the Fourth Meeting of the French Colonial Historical Society, April 6-8, 1978, University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi (Washington, DC: University Press of America, 1979). Includes papers on Algeria, North Africa, and French Equatorial Africa. From the James J. Cooke Collection. Call Number: JV1803 F74a 1978.
William Stanley Hoole, ed. And Still We Conquer!: The Diary of a Nazi Unteroffizier in the German Africa Corps Who Was Captured by the United States Army May 9, 1943 and Imprisoned at Camp Shelby, Mississippi (University, AL: Confederate Pub. Co., 1968). Translation into English by T/4 Irving Shater; translation found in the Modern Military Records Division, U.S. National Archives and Records. Diary of an unnamed radio car operator which describes his wanderings in the desert following the battle in Tunisia, his capture and imprisonment at Camp Mateur, and his transfers from Bizerte to La Calle, Bone, Philippeville, Algiers, and Oran before removal to the United States. Call Number: D805 U5 H6.
Alan Huffman. Mississippi in Africa (New York: Gotham Books, 2004). History of a contested will directing the sale of owner’s Mississippi plantation and using proceeds to transport the slaves to the abolitionist colony in Liberia. Inscribed by author. Call Number: F332 J4 H835 2004.
Langston Hughes. An African Treasury: Articles, Essays, Stories, Poems by Black Africans (New York: Crown Publishers, 1960). Call Number: PR9799 H8.
Gilbert J. Hunt. The Historical Reader: Containing "The Late War Between the United States and Great Britain" (New York: B. Crane, 1819). Third edition. War of 1812 and War with Algeria 1815. Call Number: E354 H94 1819.
Sarah Ethridge Hunt. Games and Sports the World Around (New York: Ronald Press Co., 1964). Third revised edition with chapter on Africa. Author was from Long Beach, Mississippi. Call Number: GV1201 H9 1964.
Sarah Ethridge Hunt and Ethel Cain. Games the World Around: Four Hundred Folk Games for an Integrated Program in the Elementary School (New York: A.S. Barnes, 1941). The authors were Physical Education faculty at the Delta State Teachers College in Cleveland, Mississippi. Includes games from Africa. Call Number: GV1201 H9. Special Collections also has a 1950 edition. Call Number: GV1201 H9 1950.
James Weldon Johnson. Native African Races and Cultures (Charlottesville, VA: Trustees of the John F. Slater Fund). Occasional Papers No. 25. Author was the Secretary of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: E185.5 J65 no. 25.
Edna Mason Kaula. The Land and People of Tanzania (Philadelphia, PA: J.B. Lippincott Co., 1972). Special Collections copy inscribed by Ambassador Paul Bomani. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT438 K33 1972.
Bern Keating. Chaka, King of the Zulu (New York: Putnam, [1968]). Biography written by Mississippi photographer and travel writer; signed by author. Call Number: DT878 Z9 K4 1968.
Etienne Francois de Lantier. Voyages d'Antenor en Grèce et en Asie : avec des notions sur l'Égypte : manuscrit grec trouvé à Herculanum (Paris, France: Arthus-Bertrand, 1818). Revised 13th edition. Three volumes. Description of travel during the nineteenth century in Greece, Asia, and Egypt. From the John C. Latham Collection. Call Number: PQ1993 L6 V7 1818.
Thomas Leigh. Narrative of a Journey in Egypt and the Country beyond the Cataracts (Philadelphia: M. Thomas, 1817). Expedition extended into “Nubia,” or central Sudan. Call Number: DT53 L51.
Howard M. Lenhoff. Black Jews, Jews, and Other Heroes: How Grassroots Activism Led to the Rescue of the Ethiopian Jews (Jerusalem, Israel: Gefen Pub. House, 2007). Call Number: DS135 E75 L39 2007.
The Liberian Yearbook (London: Diplomatic Press and Publishing Co.). Special Collections has 1962 edition. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT621 L53.
William Lithgow. The Totall Discourse of the Rare Adventures, and Painfull Peregrinations of Long Nineteene Yeares Travailes from Scotland, to the Most Famous Kingdomes in Europe, Asia, and Affrica. Perfited by Three Deare Bought Voyages, in Surveying of Forty-eight Kingdomes Ancient and Modern; Twenty One Rei-publiks, Ten Absolute Principalities, with Two Hundred Islands… (London: I. Okes, 1640). First edition published in 1614 and later revised. Lithgow’s travels included Palestine, Egypt, Tunisia, and Morocco. Call Number: G460 L7 1640.
Thaddeus Constantine Lockard, Sr. Eight Months in the African Wilds (New York: Vantage Press, 1960). Based on an account of the 1875 trapping expedition in Africa for Barnum’s Museum and Menagerie as told to the author by Peter De Jean, a member of the expedition from Pascagoula, Mississippi. Call Number: QL62 L65.
Albert Luthuli. Let My People Go (New York: McCraw-Hill, [1962]). Autobiography of the South African president of the African National Congress from 1952 to 1967 and winner of the 1960 Nobel Peace Prize. Call Number: DT779.8 L8 A3.
Hollis Ralph Lynch. Edward Wilmot Blyden: Pan-Negro Patriot 1832-1912 (London: Oxford University Press, 1967). Subject of this biography was a Liberian educator, writer, diplomat, and politician. Inscribed to Sterling Plumpp by author. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: CT2750 B L9.
Peter Magubene and Walter Rosenblum. South Africa – South Bronx (Old Westbury, NY: Amelie A. Wallace Gallery, 1981). Joint photograph exhibition. Call Number: DT763 M33 1981.
Daniel P. Mannix with Malcolm Cowley. Black Cargoes: A History of the Atlantic Slave Trade, 1518-1865 (London: Longmans, 1963). Inscribed to Evans Harrington by Malcolm Cowley. From the Evans Harrington Collection. Call Number: HT1049 M36 1963.
Luis V. Manrara. Communist Methodology of Conquest: Delivered at the International Symposium on Communism, Held in Pretoria, Rep. of South Africa, Sept. 27-30, 1966. Sponsored by the National Council to Combat Communism (Miami, FL: Truth About Cuba Committee, 1966). From the Edwin Bennett Ogden Jr. Collection. Call Number: HX44 M35 1966.
Joseph J. Matthews. Egypt and the Formation of the Anglo-French Entente of 1904 (Philadelphia: University of Philadelphia Press, 1939). Author was an associate professor of History at the University of Mississippi. Call Number: DT107.6 M3 1935.
Peter Matthiessen. The Tree Where Man Was Born (New York: E.P. Dutton, 1983). Natural history of southern Africa. Inscribed by author. From the Chris M. Elmore Collection. Call Number: QL337 S65 M37 1983.
Hazel M. McFerson, ed. Blacks and Asians in America: Crossings, Conflict and Commonality (Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press, 2006). Includes “Color Lines: Africa and Asia in the Twenty-First Century” by Michael Chege. Call Number: E185.61 B55325 2006.
Nina Millen, ed. Missionary Hero Stories: True Stories of Missionaries and National Christian Leaders from All Parts of the World (New York: Friendship Press, 1948). Includes sections on Angola, Egypt, and Nigeria. Call Number: BV3700 M5.
Millsaps College. Faith and Work Initiative. The Long Journey: Sudanese Refugees in Mississippi Tell Their Stories (Jackson, MS: [2004]). Call Number: DT157.673 L66 2004.
Bloke Modisane. Blame Me on History (New York: Dutton, 1963). Autobiography of South African writer, actor, and journalist. Call Number: PR9369.3 M59 Z462 1963.
Hernando De Soto Money. Moroccan Conference and Relations with Santo Domingo: Speech of Hon. Hernando D. Money, of Mississippi, in the Senate of the United States, Thursday, January 25, 1906. French colonial interest in Morocco. Call Number: DT317 M6.
Es’kia Mphalele. Down Second Avenue (Garden City, NY: Anchor Books, 1971). Autobiography of a black man growing up in apartheid South Africa, originally published in 1959. Call Number: CT1929 M66 A3 1971.
John P. Murtha. From Vietnam to 9/11: On the Front Lines of National Security, with a New Epilogue on the Iraq War, Update 2006 (University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2006). Includes chapter “Humanitarian Mission Turns to Manhunt in Somalia.” Inscribed to U.S. Secretary of the Navy Ray Mabus by author. From the Ray Mabus Collection. Call Number: E840.8 M83 A3 2006.
Robert Hamill Nassau. Fetichism in West Africa: Forty Years’ Observation of Native Customs and Superstitions (New York: C. Scribner’s Sons, 1904). Author was a missionary for forty years on Corisco, a small island of Equatorial Guinea. From the Walter and Florence Lewisohn Collection. Call Number: BL2465 N3 1904.
Joseph Okpaku, ed. Nigeria: Dilemma of Nationhood: An African Analysis of the Biafran Conflict (New York: Third Press, 1972. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: DT515.62 N49 1972.
Sam Olden. Getting to Know Africa’s French Community (New York: Coward-McCann, 1961). Children’s literature. Author is a Mississippian, graduate of the University of Mississippi, and on the staff of Mobil International Oil Company’s Office of Intergovernmental Affairs. Call Number: DT528 O4.
Sam Olden. Getting to Know Nigeria (New York: Coward-McCann, 1960). Children’s literature. Author is a Mississippian, graduate of the University of Mississippi, and on the staff of Mobil International Oil Company’s Office of Intergovernmental Affairs. Call Number: DT515 O43.
Sam Olden: Interviewed at Home in Yazoo City, Miss. (University of Mississippi Library, [2012]). Oral history conducted by Collins Wohner in 2011-2012 with Sam Golden who was born in Yazoo County, Mississippi, graduated from the University of Mississippi, and traveled extensively through Africa with the U.S. Foreign Service and on the staff of the Government Relations Department of Mobile Oil Co.. Fifteen DVD recordings. Disc 5 includes “Nigeria 1952-1955 (first and second Mobil tours in Africa)”; Disc 6: “French colonies 1955-57 (3rd Mobil tour of Africa)”; Disc 7: “Yoruba Xmas story, Tunisia (1961-63), begin Algeria (1963-66) (Nasser, Che)”; Disc 8: “Algeria continued”; Disc 9: “writing of Africa’s French Community”; Disc 10: “DeCell African mask collection.” Call Number: E169 Z8 O53 2012.
Aida Parker. Secret War against South Africa (Johannesburg, South Africa: S.A. Today, 1977). Articles reprinted from the Johannesburg newspaper The Citizen. Call Number: DT771 U6 P37 1977.
Joan M. Pilot. 21 Days in Africa [1977]. Diary of an African American woman’s 1977 travel through Senegal, Liberia, Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, and Egypt. Inscribed to Sterling Plumpp by the author. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: DT12.25 P54 1977.
Ruth Talbot Plimpton. Operation Crossroads Africa (New York: Viking Press, 1962). Operation Crossroads Africa took American and Canadian undergraduates to Africa to perform manual labor service with African counterparts. Inscribed to James Meredith by the author. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT15 P55 1962.
Carlos W. Porter. The Truth about Rhodesia (Los Angeles, CA: Christian Nationalist Crusade, [197-]). From the collection of U.S. Senator James O. Eastland. Call Number: DT2981 P67 1970z.
Charles Prentiss. The Life of the Late Gen. William Eaton: Several Years an Officer in the United States’ Army, Consul at the Regency of Tunis on the Coast of Barbary, and Commander of the Christian and Other Forces that Marched from Egypt through the Desert of Barca, in 1805, and Conquered the City of Derne, Which Led to the Treaty of Peace between the United States and the Regency of Tripoli. Principally Collected from His Correspondence and Other Manuscripts (Brookfield: E. Merriam & Co., 1813). First Barbary War between the United States and Tripoli (Libya) from 1801 to 1805. Call Number: DT264.3 E3 P7.
Lelia G. Rhodes, et al., comp. A Classified Bibliography of the Afro-American Collection and Selected Works on Africa in the Henry Thomas Sampson Library (Jackson, MS: Jackson State College, 1971). Call Number: Z1361 N39 J3.
Eschel M. Rhoodie. The Third Africa (Cape Town, Africa: Nasional Boekhandel, 1968). Author was a South African civil servant who became Secretary of Information in 1972. First edition inscribed by the author to U.S. Senator James O. Eastland of Mississippi. From the James O. Eastland Collection. Call Number: DT733 R47 1968a.
Rixaka: Cultural Journal of the African National Congress. Special Collections has the March 1986 issue. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT761 R592.
Eslanda Goode Robeson. African Journey (New York: John Day Company, 1945). Author was the wife of African American opera singer Paul Robeson; description of her travels in South Africa, Kenya, Uganda, and the Congo. Inscribed by the author to Betty Graves Reyneau. From the Betty Graves Reyneau Collection. Reyneau was a portrait painter, known for painting distinguished African Americans (including Paul Robeson) that were displayed at the Smithsonian in the 1960s. Call Number: DT12 R54.
Anwar Sadat. In Search of Identity (London, United Kingdom: Collins, 1978). Autobiography of president of Egypt (1970-1981). Inscribed by Rod Taylor with laid in note by Taylor referencing U.S. Ambassador Ray Mabus's mission to Saudi Arabia. From the Ray Mabus Collection. Call Number: CT2718 S33 A3 1978.
Elaine Sanceau. The Land of Prester John: A Chronicle of Portuguese Exploration (New York: Knopf, 1944). History of Portugal and Ethiopia. With dust jacket blurb on inside flap quoting from book review by Mississippi author Eudora Welty that appeared in the New York Times Book Review. Call Number: DT384 S3 1944.
Sechaba: Official Organ of the African National Congress of South Africa. Special Collections ha the July 1980 issue. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT763 S36.
Er Myron Shelley. Hunting Big Game with Dogs in Africa (Columbus, MS: 1924). Mississippi author and hunter. From the Judge Stone Deavours Collection. Call Number: SK251 S3.
Muhammad Shukri. Tennessee Williams in Tangier (Santa Barbara, CA: Cadmus Editions, 1979). Biography of the American playwright translated from the Arabic. Special Collections is number 102 of signed copies by the author and translator. Call Number: PS3545 I5365 Z613 1979.
Thomas E. Simmons. The Brown Condor: The True Adventures of John C. Robinson (Silver Spring, MD: Bartleby Press, 1988). Biography of African American pilot who grew up in Gulfport, Mississippi and served in the Imperial Ethiopian Air Force against fascist Italy in 1935-1936. Signed by author. Call Number: TL540 R57 S56 1988.
Caroline Singer and Cyrus Le Roy Baldridge. White Africans and Black (New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 1929). Sketches and written impressions of a fourteen-month journey across Africa along the west coast to the Congo, cross country to Tanzania and sailing along the west coast to Ethiopia. From the William R. Ferris Collection. Call Number: DT471 S56 1929 OVERSIZED.
C.C. Smith. The Life and Work of Jacob Kenoly (Cincinnati, OH: Methodist Book Concern, 1912). Biography of an African American Disciple of Christ minister from Kentucky, Jacob Kenoly, who attended the Southern Christian Institute in Edwards, Mississippi before becoming a foreign missionary in Liberia in 1905 until his death in 1911. Call Number: DT636 K4 S5 1912.
Special Report of the Anti-Slavery Conference, Held in Paris in the Salle Herz, on the Twenty-sixth and Twenty-seventh August, 1867, under the Presidency of Mons. Edouard Laboulaye (London, England: Committee of the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society, 1867). Includes papers on East African slave trade, French and Dutch colonies, Liberia. From the Alfred H. Stone Collection. Call Number: HT855 A6.
Gardiner Spring. Memoirs of the Rev. Samuel J. Mills, Late Missionary to the South Western Section of the United States, and Agent of the American Colonization Society, Deputed to Explore the Coast of Africa (New York: New-York Evangelical Missionary Society, 1820). Originally known as the Society for the Colonization of Free People of Color of America, the American Colonization Society encouraged emigration between 1821 and 1847 to a section of Africa that would become Liberia. From the Judge Stone Deavours Collection. Call Number: BV3705 M5 S7 1820.
Southern Rhodesia. Ministry of Information, Immigration and Tourism. Statement by the Executive Council: May 2nd, 1978: Issued by the Ministry of Information on Behalf of the Transitional Government. From the James O. Eastland Collection. Call Number: DT2981 S83 1978.
Stuart Stevens. Malaria Dreams: An African Adventure (New York: Atlantic Monthly Press, 1989). Memoir of trip across from the Central African Republic to Algiers in a Land Rover. Part of the Chris M. Elmore Collection. Call Number: DT472 S74 1989.
T. McCants Stewart. Liberia: The American-African Republic. Being Some Impressions of the Climate, Resources, and People, Resulting from Personal Observations and Experiences in West Africa (New York: E.O. Jenkins’ Sons, 1886). Call Number: DT625 S85.
William Grant Still. Africa: A Suite for Piano (Flagstaff, AZ: William Grant Still Music, [2001]). Musical arrangement for piano (originally composed in 1930 for orchestra); CD recording enclosed; with an introduction and forward text. Born in Woodville, Mississippi, Still (1895-1978) became a noted classical composer and conductor, known as the “Dean of Afro-American Composers.” Call Number: M35 S85 A3 2001.
Substance of the Report Delivered by the Court of Directors of the Sierra Leone Company, to the General Court of Proprietors on Thursday, March 27th, 1794 (Philadelphia, PA: Thomas Dobson, 1795). With this is bound Substance of the Report…Delivered…on Thursday, the 26th Day of February, 1795. The Sierra Leone Company of Great Britain resettled Black Loyalists in Sierra Leone who had initially been placed in Nova Scotia after the American Revolution. From the Alfred H. Stone Collection. Call Number: DT516 S6 1795.
Truth Crying in the Wilderness of North America and Africa (Chicago: The Camp of the Lost and Found Sheep of the House of Israel, [197-]). Race and religion of Africans and African Americans. Call Number: E185.625 T78 1970.
University of Mississippi. Meek School of Journalism and New Media. Adventures in Africa (University, MS: 2018). Each chapter by a student journalist taking part in a reporting expedition. Call Number: DT12.25 A38 2018.
University of Mississippi. Meek School of Journalism and New Media. Ole Miss in Africa: Ethiopia on the Rise (University, MS: 2016). Each chapter by a student journalist taking part in a reporting expedition. Call Number: DT378.3 O44 2016.
University of Mississippi. Office of International Programs. Politics around the World (University, MS: University of Mississippi Media and Documentary Projects, 2008). University program held prior to the 2008 presidential debate on campus in which six international students, including one from Kenya, discuss the political process in their individual countries. Call Number: JF1001 P655 2008.
Thomas M. Verich. The European Powers and the Italo-Ethiopian War, 1935-1936: A Diplomatic Study (Salisbury, NC: Documentary Publications, 1980). Call Number: DT387.8 V4.
Thomas E. Watson. The African (Clarksdale, MS: Paul Clark, [1956]). Author served in the U.S. Congress for Georgia and was the Populist Party’s candidate for Vice President and President. Pamphlet discussing Africans and African Americans. Call Number: E185.61 W3.
Cassandra Hughes Webster, comp. Mother Africa’s Table: A Collection of West African and African American Recipes and Cultural Traditions (New York: Main Street/Doubleday, 1998). National Council of Negro Women. From the Southern Foodways Alliance Collection. Call Number: TX725 A3 M68 1998.
Wildred Howell Whiteley, comp. A Selection of African Prose (Oxford, Great Britain: Clarendon Press, 1964). Volume 2: Written Prose. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: PL8013 E5 W4.
Chancellor Williams. The Rebirth of African Civilization (Washington, DC: Public Affairs Press, 1961). Author explains why Western values, Christianity, and communism are unsuited to Africa; based on field studies. Call Number: DT352 W5.
Gardner Fred Williams. The Diamond Mines of South Africa (New York: B.F. Buck, 1905). Two volumes. Inscribed by author. Two book plates: "Theodore Roosevelt" and "William T. Marshall." Inscribed: "From Mrs. Roosevelt to William T. Marshall with all good wishes November 2nd, 1907." Marshall was the White House librarian and file keeper for eight presidents from William McKinley to Franklin D. Roosevelt. From the William T. Marshall Collection. Call Number: TN991 W5 1905.
John A. Williams. Africa: Her History, Lands, and People (New York: Cooper Square Publishers, 1969). Born in Jackson, Mississippi, the author became a journalist for Ebony, a novelist, a poet, and an academic scholar. Call Number: DT21 W5 1969.
W.C. Willoughby. The Soul of the Bantu: A Sympathetic Study of the Magico-Religious Practices and Beliefs of the Bantu Tribes of Africa (Garden City, NY: Doubleday, Doran & Co., 1928). Author was a missionary among the Bamangwato. From the Walter and Florence Lewisohn Collection. Call Number: BL2480 B3 W5.
Henry Winston. Strategy for a Black Agenda (New York: New Outlook Publishers, 1972). Author was born in Mississippi and became national chair of the Communist Party, U.S.A. Pamphlet considers black nationalists in the United States and Africa. Call Number: E185.615 W55 1972.
World Media Association. Crossing the Rubicon: Reflections from a Fact-Finding Delegation to Southern Africa, 1987 (Washington, DC: 1987). South Africa and apartheid. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: DT763 C86 1987.
Richard Wright. Black Power (New York: Harper, 1954). Mississippi born, African American author of Native Son and Black Boy describes his travels along the Gold Coast of Africa. Call Number: DT511 W7 1954.
Richard Wright. White Man, Listen! (Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1957). Noted African American author born in Mississippi analyzes the psychology of oppressed non-white people in the world; includes the chapter “The Miracle of Nationalism in the African Gold Coast.” Call Number: HT1581 W7.
António Agostinho Neto. Sacred Hope (Dar es Salaam, Tanzania: Tanzania Pub. House, 1974). The author was a poet who served as the first president of Angola (1975-1979) having led the Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola during the war for independence. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PQ9909 A4 S213.
Ayi Kwei Armah. Fragments (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1970). Novel by Ghana author. Call Number: PR6051 R55 F7.
Ayi Kwei Armah. The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1968). Novel by Ghana author. Call Number: PR6051 R55 B4 1968.
Ayi Kwei Armah. Why Are We So Blest? (New York: Doubleday, 1972). Novel by Ghana author. From the William Ferris Collection. Call Number: PR6051 R55 A75.
Kofi Awoonor. This Earth, My Brother: An Allegorical Tale of Africa (Garden City, NY: Anchor Books, 1972). Novel by Ghana author. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9379.9 A9 T48 1972.
Kofi Awoonor. Night of My Blood (Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1971). Poems by Ghana author advocating a return to African traditions. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9379.9 A9 N5 1971.
Black Orpheus: A Journal of African and Afro-American Literature 11 (1961?). From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Additional volumes in Main Library. Call Number: PL8000 B6.
Paul Breman, ed. You Better Believe It: Black Verse in English from Africa, the West Indies and the United States (Harmondsworth, England: Penguin, 1973). Call Number: PS591 N4 B63 1973.
Dennis Brutus. Poems from Algiers (Austin, TX: African and Afro-American Research Institute, University of Texas at Austin, 1970). Born in Southern Rhodesia, the author participated in anti-apartheid protests in South Africa, exiled in London, and wrote these poems while attending the first Pan-African Cultural Festival. Inscribed by author. From the Kenneth S. Goldstein Collection. Call Number: PR9390.9 B7 P64 1970.
David Bunn and Jane Taylor, with Reginald Gibbons and Sterling Plumpp, eds. From South Africa: New Writing, Photographs and Art (Evanston, IL: Northwestern University, 1987). Call Number: PR9367.25 F76.
David Bunn and Jane Taylor, with Reginald Gibbons and Sterling Plumpp, eds. From South Africa: New Writing, Photographs and Art (Evanston, IL: Northwestern University, 1987). Call Number: PR9367.25 F76.
Mbella Sonne Dipoko. Because of Women (London: Heinemann Educational, 1969). The author of the novel was born in Cameroon. He also worked as a reporter for the Nigerian Broadcasting Company. From the William Ferris Collection. Call Number: PR6054 I58 D56 1969.
Harris Dickson. Old Reliable in Africa (New York: F.A. Stokes Co., 1920). Novel by Mississippi author about a white southerner’s adventures in Africa with a Reconstruction-era African American character named “Old Reliable,” later adapted for the stage. Call Number: PS3507 I2 O4 1920.
T. Obinkaram Echewa. The Land’s Lord (Westport, CT: L. Hill, 1976). Nigerian author’s first novel about a priest arriving at an Ibo village. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9387.9 E27 L35 1976.
Pierre Gascar. The Coral Barrier (Boston: Little Brown, 1961). English translation of the French novel about Italian Somaliland. Inscribed to publisher Seymour Lawrence by the author. From the Seymour Lawrence Collection. Call Number: PQ2613 A59 C613 1961.
Nadine Gordimer. Burger’s Daughter (London: Jonathan Cape, 1979). Novel by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa whose work often dealt with the morality of apartheid in South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G6 B8 1979.
Nadine Gordimer. The Essential Gesture: Writing, Politics, and Places (London: Jonathan Cape, 1988). Essays by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G6 Z467 1988.
Nadine Gordimer. A Guest of Honor (London: Jonathan Cape, 1971). Novel by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa whose work often dealt with the morality of apartheid in South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G67 G8418 1971.
Nadine Gordimer. July’s People (Braamfontein, South Africa: Ravan Press, 1981). Novel by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa whose work often dealt with the morality of apartheid in South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G6 J8 1981c.
Nadine Gordimer. None to Accompany Me (New York: Farrar, Staus, and Giroux, 1994). Novel by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa whose work often dealt with the morality of apartheid in South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G6 N6 1994.
Nadine Gordimer. A World of Strangers (London: Jonathan Cape, 1976). Short stories by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa whose work often dealt with the morality of apartheid in South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G6 W67 1976.
Nadine Gordimer. Something Out There (Braamfontein, South Africa: Ravan Press, 1984). Short stories by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa whose work often dealt with the morality of apartheid in South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G67 S66 1984.
Nadine Gordimer. A World of Strangers (London: Jonathan Cape, 1976). Novel by the Nobel Prize author from South Africa whose work often dealt with the morality of apartheid in South Africa. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G6 W67 1976.
Langston Hughes. An African Treasury: Articles, Essays, Stories, Poems by Black Africans (New York: Crown Publishers, 1960). Call Number: PR9799 H8.
Langston Hughes. Poems from Black Africa: Ethiopia, South Rhodesia, Sierra Leone, Madagascar, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Kenya, Gabon, Senegal, Nyasaland, Mozambique, South Africa, Congo, Ghana, Liberia (Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1963). Call Number: PL8013 E5 H8.
Janheinz Jahn. Neo-African Literature: A History of Black Writing (New York: Grove Press, 1968). Translation from original German book. Call Number: PL8010 J313 1969.
Eldred D. Jones, ed. African Literature Today: A Journal of Explanatory Criticism (London: Heinemann Educational Books, 1972). “Numbers 1, 2, 3, 4 with Index.” From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PL8010 A42 1972.
Eldred Durosimi Jones, ed. Africa Literature Today (London: Heinemann, [1975]). From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PL8010 A4 no. 7.
Keorapetse Kgositsile. Herzspuren: Gedichte = Heartprints: Poems (Schwftinger Galerie-Verlag, 1980). English and German language. Author was a South African Tswana poet, journalist, and political activist; inaugurated as South Africa’s National Poet Laureate in 2006. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 K4 H4 1980.
Keorapetse Kgositsile. The Present Is a Dangerous Place to Live (Chicago: Third World Press, 1974). Author was a South African Tswana poet, journalist, and political activist; inaugurated as South Africa’s National Poet Laureate in 2006. Inscribed by author to Sterling Plumpp. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9639.3 K4 P74 1974.
Mazisi Kunene. Anthem of the Decades: A Zulu Epic (London: Heinemann, 1981). Epic poem by South African who protested apartheid and later became South Africa’s first poet laureate in 2005. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PL8844 K79 I513 1981.
Alex La Guma. A Walk in the Night, and Other Stories (Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 1972). South African writer, imprisoned during the Treason Trials in 1956, and exiled to London; he inspired the Black Consciousness Movement against South African apartheid. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PN9369.3 L3 W3 1968.
James Matthews, ed. Black Voices Shout!: An Anthology of Poetry (Austin, TX: Troubadour Press, 1976). Black South African authors. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9365.35 N4 M3 1976.
Micere Githae Mugo. Daughter of My People, Sing! (Kampala, Uganda: East African Literature Bureau, 1976). Kenyan playwright, author, poet, and activist. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9381.9 M775 D3.
Oswald Mbuyiseni Mtshali. Sounds of a Cowhide Drum: Poems (New York: Third Press, 1972). One of the first books of poems by a black South African to be widely distributed. Preface by Nadine Gordimer. Inscribed by author. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR6063 T8 S6 1972.
New Black Writing: Africa, West Indies, the Americas (Tulsa, OK: University of Tulsa, 1977). Nimrod series vol. 21, no. 2. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PN6068 N49 1977.
Judie Newman. Nadine Gordimer (London: Routledge, 1988). Literary criticism of South African, Nobel Prize author. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9369.3 G6 Z79 1988.
Jordan K. Ngubane. Ushaba (Washington, DC: Three Continents Press, 1974). South African novelist whose works were primarily in Zulu language; Ushaba is his only English-language novel. Call Number: PR9369.3 N5 U8 1974.
Peter K. Palangyo. Dying in the Sun (London: Heinemann Educational, 1969). Novel by Tanzanian author. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: PR6066 A436 D9 1969.
Alan Paton. Cry, the Beloved Country: A Story of Comfort in Desolation (New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1948). First edition. Novel on South African apartheid. From the Betsy Graves Reyneau Collection. Reyneau was a portrait painter, known for painting distinguished African Americans that were displayed at the Smithsonian in the 1960s. Call Number: PR6031 A78 C7 1948b.
Alan Paton. Cry, the Beloved Country (New York: C. Scribner’s Sons, 1948). Inscribed to James Meredith by Ramsey Clark (Assistant Attorney General in 1962 when Meredith integrated the University of Mississippi). From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: PR6031 A78 C7 1948.
Iris Lucille Patterson. Look for Me in the Whirlwind (Quebec, Canada: Bilongo Publishers, 1981). Poems include “Bewailing the Fate of Zimbabwe,” “Tribute to Mozambique Independence,” “Forward to Africa,” “Rule Ethiopia,” and “Laurels for Angola.” Inscribed to James Meredith by Oduno Tarik. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: PR9265.0 P36 L6 1981.
Sterling Plumpp. Johannesburg & Other Poems (Chicago: Another Chicago Press, 1993). From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PS3566 L79 J6 1993.
Sterling Plumpp, ed. Somehow We Survive: An Anthology of South African Writing (New York: Thunder’s Mouth Press, 1982). From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9364.9 S6 1982.
Arnold Rampersad, ed. The Oxford Anthology of African-American Poetry (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006). Includes section “What Is Africa to Me?” From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PS591 N4 O97 2006.
Peggy Rutherfoord, comp. Darkness and Light: An Anthology of African Writing (Johannesburg, South Africa: Drum Publications, 1963). Reprint of 1958 edition. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: PL8013 E5 D37 1963.
Simphiwe Sesanti. Carry On, African Child (Durban, South Africa: Vul’lndlela, 2005). Poetry by the first indigenous African editor of Al Qalam, South Africa’s Muslim newspaper. Inscribed by the author to Mississippi journalist Curtis Wilkie. From the Curtis Wilkie Collection. Call Number: DT1949 S47 A3 2005.
Wole Soyinka. Death and the King’s Horseman (New York: Norton, 1975). Historical play by a Nigerian playwright, novelist, and poet based on events in Oyo, Nigeria in 1946. Inscribed by author. From the Sterling Plumpp Collection. Call Number: PR9387.9 S6 D4 1975.
Ngugi wa Thiong’o. Secret Lives and Other Stories (New York: L. Hill, 1975). Short stories by the Kenyan author and advocate of the pan-African, anti-imperialist movement. Call Number: PR9381.9 N42 S4.
Amos Tutuola. Ajaiyi and His Inherited Poverty (London: Faber and Faber, 1967). Nigerian author’s novel based in part on Yoruba folk stories. From the William Ferris Collection. Call Number: PR9387.9 T8 A4 1967.
Wildred Howell Whiteley, comp. A Selection of African Prose (Oxford, Great Britain: Clarendon Press, 1964). Volume 2: Written Prose. From the James Meredith Collection. Call Number: PL8013 E5 W4.
