Library Guides: AAS 326 / HIS 308: African American History Since 1865: Home

Library Catalog

The library has many primary sources and primary source collections. To find primary sources, try searching for your topic plus possible types of sources, such as "documents", "diary", "speeches", "sermons", "letters", "papers", and more.

For example, you could search for "'civil rights' AND mississippi AND papers" (make sure to separate your keywords with operators like AND or OR).

Primary Sources

University Archives & Special Collections
- Special Collections contains many documents relating to civil rights in Mississippi, some of which are available online.

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century. This link opens in a new window
The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century includes primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries relating to the Civil Rights movement in the latter half of the twentieth century.

Umbra Search
Brings together 519,516 items relating to African American history from more than 1000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.
Digital Public Library of America
- DPLA brings together the collections of libraries, archives, and museums from across the country into one searchable portal.
Library of Congress African American History Digital Collections
- Digitzed collections of papers held by the Library of Congress. Includes the Frederick Douglass Papers, Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860, and Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories, and more.

Newspapers

20th-Century American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Offers searchable digital editions of three U.S. newspapers from 1923-1993. Includes: Press-Register (Mobile, Alabama; 1970-1992), The Seattle Times (Seattle, Washington; 1923-1984), The Times (Trenton, New Jersey; 1923-1993).
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
- Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

Secondary Sources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
With a singular focus on relationship between and among races, this resource includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.

Librarian

Adam Clemons

Email Me

Contact:

662-915-7933

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

Chat

WorldCat

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books or journal articles that the UM Libraries does not have access to.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>