Library Guides: Geology (Archives): Primary Sources

Primary Source Publications A-L

Annual Report of the Chancellor of the University of Mississippi to the Board of Trustees. 1931-1994. Contains reports from the departments which include the study of Geology. Call Number: LD3402.

James Samuel Attaya. “The Geology and Mineral Resources of Lafayette County” (M.S. thesis; University of Mississippi; 1951).

_________________. Lafayette County Geology (University, MS: 1951). Mississippi State Geological Survey Bulletin. Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 67-75.

Calvin Lee Badon. "Petrology of the Norphlet and Smackover Formations (Jurassic) Clarke County, Mississippi" (Thesis; Louisiana State University; 1973). Call Number: QE445 M7 B3.

William Bartram. Travels through North and South Carolina, Georgia, East and West Florida, the Cherokee Country, the Extensive Territories of the Muscogulges, or Creek Confederacy, and the Country of the Chactaws; Containing an Account of the Soil and Natural Productions of Those Regions; Together with Observations on the Manners of the Indians. London: 1792. Includes description of travel in Mississippi. Call Number: F213 B282.

Rick Bass. Oil Notes (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1989). Memoir of a Mississippi petroleum geologist. Call Number: PS3552 A769 O5 1989.

Alvin R. Bicker Jr. Claiborne County Geology and Mineral Resources (Jackson: Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey, 1966). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 106-108.

Alvin R. Bicker Jr. Identification of Coal Seams in the Subsurface of Itawamba and Monroe Counties (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: TN805 M7 B52.

Biennial Report of the Chancellor of the University of Mississippi to the Board of Trustees. 1867-1931. Contains reports from the departments which include the study of Geology. Call Number: LD3402 A3.

Horace Bledsoe. Technical Support Document, Geology and Geohydrology, Inland Domes, South Central Mississippi and Southern Alabama (Washington, DC: Dames & Moore, 1978). Call Number: QE471.15 S2 B44.

David C. Booth, et al. Economic Minerals Map of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Mercury Maps, 1983). Call Number: G3981 H1 1983 B66.

Richard L. Bowen. Report on the Stratigraphy and Economic Geology of the Eastabuchie Quadrangle, Forrest and Jones Counties, Mississippi: Accompanied by Geologic Map with 2 Stratigraphic Cross-Sections of the Eastabuchie Quadrangle (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: TN24 M7 B69.

Jules Braunstein, ed. Bibliography of Gulf Coast Geology, 1969-1976 (New Orleans: Gulf Coast Association of Geological Studies, 1976). Call Number: Z6034 U5 G7 1976.

Calvin S. Brown. The Lignite of Mississippi (Nashville: Brandon, 1907). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 1-3.

Calvin S. Brown. The Lignite of Mississippi. Reprint from Economic Geology (April-May 1908). Call Number: TN834 U5 M7 1908.

J.L. Campbell. A Physical Survey Extending from Atlanta, Ga., across Alabama and Mississippi to the Mississippi River, along the Line of the Georgia Pacific Railway, Embracing the Geology, Topography, Minerals, Soils, Climate, Forests, and Agricultural and Manufacturing Resources of the Country (New York: E.F. Weeks, 1883). Call Number: QE78.5 C3.

Arthur W. Cleaves. Resource Evaluation of Lower Pennsylvania (Pottsville) Depositional Systems of the Western Warrior Coal Field, Alabama and Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institue, 1981). Call Number: QE673 C44.

B.C. Craft. Oil and Gas Development in Mississippi. Reprint from Transactions of the American Institute of Mining and Mettalurgical Engineers 107 (February 1934). Call Number: HD9567 M7 C73 1934.

Albert F. Crider. Cement and Portland Cement Materials of Mississippi (Nashville Brandon Print. Co., 1907). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 1.

Albert F. Crider and L.C. Johnson. Summary of the Underground-Water Resources of Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1906). Call Number: TD403 C75 1906.

Cross Sections of Opportunity: Being an Agricultural and Industrial Survey of the Territory Served by the Gulf, Mobile, and Northern Railroad Company (Mobile, AL: 1927). Mine and mineral resources in Mississippi. Call Number: HC107 M7 C76 1927.

Dames & Moore. Proposed Outline for EIR Inland Domes, South Central Mississippi and Southern Alabama Submitted to U.S. Department of Energy, Strategic Petroleum Reserve Office (Washington, DC: 1978). Call Number: TP92.5 D355.

Helen Darwin. “The Geochemistry of the Banded Sands in the Vicinity of the University of Mississippi” (M.A. thesis; University of Mississippi; 1948).

William J. Demoran. A Survey and Assessment of Reef Shell Resources in Mississippi Sound: Final Report (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: QE565 D45 1981.

Kendell A. Dickinson. "The Upper Jurassic Stratigraphy of Mississippi and Southwestern Alabama" (Thesis; University of Minnesota; 1962). Call Number: QE681 D5.

B.E. Ellison. Water in Mississippi (Jackson: Mississippi Board of Water Commissioners, 1971). Prepared by the U.S. Geological Survey, Water Division. Call Number: TD224 M7 E4 1971.

Environmental News (Jackson, MS). News articles from the Mississippi Bureau of Geology, Land and Water Resources, and Polllution Control. Special Collections has scattered issues. Call Number: HC79 E5 D5783.

George William Featherstonhaugh. Excursion through the Slave States, from Washington on the Potomac, to the Frontier of Mexica; with Sketches of Popular Manners and Geological Notices. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1844. Includes travel in Mississippi. Call Number: F210 F28.

James Alfred Ford. Analysis of Indian Village Site Collections from Louisiana and Mississippi (New Orleans: Louisiana Geological Suvey, 1937). Call Number: GN2 L6 no.2.

Samuel Wood Geiser. William D. Moore (1824-1896), Amateur Geologist of Mississippi. Reprint from Field & Laboratory 17:3 (June 1949). Call Number: CT275 M5943 G3.

Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories (U.S.). Report of the United State Geological Survey of the Territories (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1873-1890). Call Number: QE936 A48.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Environmental Conditions and Resources of Southwestern Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1970). Call Number: HT393 M7 A5 1970.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Flood Frequency of Mississippi Streams (Washington, DC: 1976). Call Number: GB1399.4 M7 C64.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Geology and Ground-Water Supply at Camp Van Dorn (University, MS: 1943). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.56-60.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Bay St. Louis Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-400.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Biloxi Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-404.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, English Lookout Quadrangle, Louisiana-Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-396.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Gulfport North-South Quadrangles, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-403.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Gulfport NW Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-401.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Kiln Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-397.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Kreole-Grand Bay SW Quadrangle, Mississippi-Alabama (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-407.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Logtown Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-395.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Ocean Springs-Deer Island Quadrangles, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-405.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Pascagoula Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-406.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Pass Christian Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-402.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Vidalia Quadrangle, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-399.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Hurricane Camille Tidal Floods of August 1969 along the Gulf Coast, Waveland-Grand Island Pass Quadrangles, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3700 C3 svar U5 HA-398.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Index to Topographical Maps of Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1969). Call Number: G3981 A2 1969 G4.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Index to Topographical Maps of Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1977). Call Number: G3981 A2 1977 G4.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Interim Report on Water for Industrial Development in South-Central Mississippi (Jackson, MS: 1966). Call Number: TD224 M7 U548.

Geological Survey (U.S.). North Mississippi Floods of February 1948 (University, MS: 1948). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.66.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Ocean Springs, Quadrangle, Mississippi: 7.5 Minute Series (Topographic) (Washington, DC: 1954). Call Number: G3984 O3 O33 1954.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Proposed Reservoir for Old Fort Bayou at Ocean Springs, Mississippi: A Preliminary Study (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Board of Water Commissioners, 1966). Call Number: QB705 M7 A3 1966 no.1.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Rainfall-Runoff Relations for Southeastern Louisiana and Southwestern Mississippi (Baton Rouge: Louisiana Department of Public Works, 1967). Prepared with U.S. Geological Survey. Call Number: QC925.1 U8 M72.

Geological Survey (U.S.). Surface Waters of Mississippi (University, MS: 1950). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 67-75.

James Bedford Gibson. "The Geology of the Yellow Creek Oil Field, Wayne County, Mississippi" (M.S. thesis; Mississippi State University; 1953). Call Number: QE130 W39 G53 1953.

Tom L. Gibson. The Yesterdays of a Mining Engineer (Friars Point, MS: 1958). Editorials by a Mississippian. Call Number: PS3513 I26 Y47 1958.

Serge Gonzales. Geohydrologic-Engineering Survey Evaluation of the Selma Group in Western Alabama and Northeast Mississippi for Possible Radioactive Waste Disposal: Final Report (Oak Ridge, TN: Union Carbide Corporation, Nuclear Division, 1975). Call Number: TD812 G65x.

A.L. Goodman and E.M. Jones. Soil Survey of Lafayette County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1914). Call Number: S599 M7 U45.

Ralph E. Grim. Petroleum Developments in Mississippi during 1929. Reprint from Preprint: Petroleum Production (1929). Call Number: TN872 M7 G8.

William B. Hall. Engineering Properties of Mississippi Clays (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: TP811 H34.

Robert Louis Hannon. "A Study of Some of the Obstacles to the Implementation of Recommended Soil Conservation Service Practices in the Loessal Area of Mississippi" (Thesis; University of Michigan; 1969). Call Number: S623 H35.

L. Harper. Preliminary Report on the Geology and Agriculture of the State of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: E. Barksdale, 1857). Call Number: QE73 M56.

Henry W. Haynes. Identification of Current Lignite Research Projects in the United States and Applicability to Future Research in Mississippi: Final Technical Report (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: TP329 H34.

Sterling John Helwick. "Prediction of the Geotechnical Properties of Late Quaternary Mississippi Delta Deposits" (Thesis; Texas A & M University; 1979). Call Number: QE471.2 H44.

B.H. Hendrickson and J.E. McKeen. Soil Survey of Claiborne County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1930). Call Number: S599 M5 L45.

Eugene W. Hilgard. “The Age and Origin of the Lafayette Formation” in American Journal of Science (May 1892). Call Number: S599 M7 H5.

Eugene W. Hilgard. On the Geology of the Delta, and the Mudlumps of the Passes of the Mississippi. Reprint from American Journal of Science and Arts 1 (1871). Call Number: QE129 H54.

Eugene W. Hilgard. Report on the Geological Age of the Mississippi Delta (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1870). Call Number: QE117 H6 1870.

Eugene W. Hilgard. Report on the Geological and Agriculture Survey of the State of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Mississippian Steam Power Press Print, 1858). Call Number: QE73 M57 1858.

Eugene W. Hilgard. Report on the Geology and Agriculture of the State of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: E. Barksdale, 1860). Call Number: QE73 M57 1860.

Eugene W. Hilgard. Silt Analysis of Mississippi Soils and Subsoils. Salem: Salem Press, 1874. Call Number: S593 H5 S5.

Kenneth W. Hollman. The Estimated Economic Impact of the Proposed Delta Star Mine at Sledge, Mississippi, on the Surrounding Area (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1980). Call Number: HC107 M7 H614.

William J. Huff. The Jackson Eocene Ostracoda of Mississippi (Jackson: Mississippi Geological, Economic and Topographical Survey, 1970). Fossils. Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 114-115.

Dudley J. Hughes. Oil in the Deep South: A History of the Oil Business in Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida, 1859-1945 (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1993). Call Number: HD9567 M7 H84 1993.

Alden Bailey Hurt. Mississippi: Its Climate, Soil, Productions, and Agricultural Capabilities (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1883). Call Number: S451 M7 H8 1883.

Jackson Daily News. Oil and Industry of Mississippi Featuring...Also Biographical Sketches and Articles of Men and Institutions Whose Endeavors Are Helping to Develop This Great State (Jackson, MS: 1946). Call Number: HD9567 M7 O5.

Hans Jenny. "E.W. Hilgard and the Birth of Modern Soil Science" Pisa (1961). Hilgard was Mississippi State Geologist before the Civil War. Call Number: S417 H6 J4.

Walter E. Kennan. Leflore County Soils (State College, MS: 1957). Call Number: S79 E3 no.553.

Walter E. Kennan. Soil Survey: Covington County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1965). Call Number: S599 M5 K35.

James Beauregard Kennedy. "The Oil and Gas Industry in Mississippi" (M.A. thesis; Mississippi State University; 1993). Call Number: HD9567 M7 K45 1993a.

Marshall K. Kern. An Investigation of Mississippi Iron Ores (Jackson, MS: 1963). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 98-102.

Law Engineering Testing Company. Draft, National Waste Terminal Storage Program: Geologic Evalution of Gulf Coast Salt Domes, Site Selection Program Plan (Marietta, GA: 1978). Call Number: TN872 M7 D73 1978.

Oscar Montgomery Lieber. “A Sketch of the Geology of the State of Mississippi” in The Mining Magazine (July 1854). Call Number: QE73 M58.

Bruce Graeme Lockaby. "Nutrient Cycling in Eastern Cottonwood Plantations on Alluvial Soils of the Southern Mississippi Floodplain" (Ph.D. dissertation; Mississippi State University, 1981). Call Number: SD397 C8 L6.

William Newton Logan. Clays of Mississippi (Nashville: Brandon Printing Co., 1907-1908). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 1-7.

E.N. Lowe. A Brief Note on the Floral Regions of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Mississippi State Geological Survey, 1913). Call Number: QK169 L69 1913.

E.N. Lowe. Geology and Mineral Resources of Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi State Geological Survey, 1933). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 20a.

E.N. Lowe. Oil and Gas Prospecting in Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Hederman Bros., 1919). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 15-21.

E.N. Lowe. Preliminary Report on Iron Ores of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Tucker Printing House, 1914). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 10.

E.N. Lowe. A Questionnaire on the Mineral Resources of Mississippi and the Work of the State Geological Survey (Jackson, MS: Tucker Printing House, 1923). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 18.

E.N. Lowe. Shall Mississippi Have Development of These: Oils and Minerals, Drainage, Highways, Water Powers, Health Surveys? Then Give Us a Topographic Survey (Jackson, MS: 1919). Call Number: QE129 L68 1919.

Edwin E. Luper, et al. Smith County Geology and Mineral Resources (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Geological, Economic and Topographical Survey, 1972). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 116-118.

Tracy Wallace Lusk. Mineral Resources (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Economic Council, 1962). Call Number: HC107 M7 L87 1962.

Sir Charles Lyell. A Second Visit to the United States of North America. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1849. Two volumes; includes observations on geology and travels through Mississippi. Call Number: E165 L982.

Primary Source Publications M-Z

T.O. Mabry. The Brown or Yellow Foam of North Mississippi: And Its Relations to the Northern Drift. Reprint from The Journal of Geology (April-May 1898). Call Number: S592.357 M33 1898.

Marathon LeTourneau Pier Island: Completely Self-Contained (Vicksburg, MS: 19--). Offshore oil well drilling. Call Number: F349 V6 M37 1900z.

The Marshall Oil and Gas Company (Crystal Springs, MS: 1922). Call Number: HD9567 M7 M37 1922.

Tom McGlothin. General Geology of Mississippi. Reprint from American Association of Petroleum Geologists Bulletin (January 1944). Call Number: QE129 M3.

Norris Cochran McGowen. Natural Gas in Mississippi: An Address by N.C. McGowen, President United Gas Corporation at the Invitation of Governor Hugh L. White, to the Mississippi Agricultural & Industrial Board, Jackson, Miss., Dec. 16, 1952 (Jackson, MS: 1952). Call Number: TN872 M7 M3.

Frederick F. Mellen. Extractive Industries (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Economic Council, 1963). Call Number: HC107 M7 M387 1963.

Frederick Francis Mellen. Mississippi Agricultural Limestone (University, MS: 1942). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 46-50.

Frederic Francis Mellen and William Halsell Moore. The Tula Prospect, Lafayette County, Mississippi (Jackson: Mississippi Geological and Topographical Survey, 1962). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 91-97.

George P. Merrill. A New Meteoric Stone from Baldwyn, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1925. Call Number: QB755.5 U5 M47 1925.

Robert K. Merrill. Genesis of Bentonite in the Upper Cretaceous Strata of Monroe County, Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: QE130 M6 M4.

Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association. Mississippi-Alabama Division. The Discovery and Development of Oil and Gas in Mississippi: A Presentation to the Mississippi Agricultural and Industrial Board (Jackson, MS: 1952). Call Number: TP690 M5 D5.

Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association. Mississippi-Alabama Division. Oil and Gas Facts about Mississippi, Alabama (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has 1968 through 1975 editions. Call Number: TN872 M7 M35.

Velon H. Minshew. Utilization of Landsat Imagery for Tectonic Analysis of the Wiggins Arch (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Gulf states. Call Number: QE611.5 A13 M55 1981.

Velon H. Minshew, et al. Environmental Geological Analysis: Jackson County, Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, [1970]). Call Number: QE130 J3 M55x.

Velon H. Minshew. Utilization of Remote Sensing Techniques as a Mapping Tool in the Southern Counties of the Mississippi Black Warrior Basin (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: GB428 M7 M55 1981.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Attala County Mineral Resources (Jackson, MS: 1963). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 98-102.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Itawamba County Mineral Resources: Geology (University, MS: 1947). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.64.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Jasper County Mineral Resources (Jackson, MS: 1963). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 91-97.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Kemper County Geology (University, MS: 1958). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 84.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Lauderdale County Mineral Resources: Geology (University, MS: 1940). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.41-45.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Light-Weight Aggregate: Geology (University, MS; 1945). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 61-66.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Mississippi Geologic Research Papers (Jackson, MS). Nos. 91 through 105. Call Number: QE129 A2.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. The Mississippi Geological Survey; a Centennial (Jackson, MS: 1963). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 98-102.

Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey. Montgomery County Mineral Resources: Geology (University, MS: 1943). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.51-55.

Mississippi. Legislature. Laws Relating to Mineral and Other Non-Animal Resources: Preliminary Draft (University of Mississippi Law Center, 1973). Call Number: KFM7043 A3 1973.

Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute. Discrimination of Active Gravel Operations from Landsat MSS Data (University, MS: 1982). Call Number: TN939 T87.

Mississippi Oil Review (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has a 1943 issue of this newspaper. Call Number: Eastland Newspaper.

Mississippi Soil and Water Conservation Commission. Scott County Mississippi Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioners: Long Range Program and Work Plan (Jackson, MS: 1971). Call Number: S624 M7 S3 1971 OVRS.

Mississippi State Geological Survey. Biennial Report of the Director of the State Geological Survey to the Mississippi Legislature (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has 1921/23; State Docs has 1906/07 through 1934/35. Call Number: QE129 A22.

Mississippi. State Oil and Gas Board. Biennial Report of the State Oil and Gas Board and the Mineral Lease Commission to the Governor and the Legislature of the State of Mississippi (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has 1946 edition; State Docs has other years. Call Number: TN872 M7 A3.

Mississippi. State Oil and Gas Board. Conservation of Crude Oil and Natural Gas: Laws of Mississippi, 1948, Index of Laws of 1948: Rules and Procedure, Statewide Rules and Regulations, Special Field Rules (Jackson, MS: 1948). Call Number: KFM6858 A1 1948.

Mississippi. State Oil and Gas Board. Mississippi State Oil and Gas Bulletin (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has a 1952 issue; State Docs contains 1949-1979 volumes. Call Number: TN872 M7 B8.

J.W. Moon and S. Rankin Bacon. Soil Survey of Greene County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1935). Call Number: S599 M5 D3.

William Halsell Moore. Tinsley Field, 1939-1974: A Commemorative Bulletin (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Geological, Economic, and Topographical Survey, 1974). Oil field. Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 119-120.

Hugh McD. Morse. A Supplementary Report on Bentonite in Mississippi (University, MS: 1934). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 22-22A, 24.

Paul Franklin Morse. The Bauxite Deposits of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Dixie Press, 1923). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 19.

William Clifford Morse. Ephraim Noble Lowe. Reprint from Bulletin of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists 18:3 (March 1943). Call Number: LD3412.8 L6 M6.

William Clifford Morse. The Geologic History of Legion State Park (University, MS: Mississippi State Geological Survey, 1937). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.35.

William Clifford Morse. Mississippi Oil Development. Reprint from Mississippi Oil Review (16 May 1944). Call Number: TN872 M7 M6.

William Clifford Morse. Mississippi Oil Resources: A Paper Read before the Interstate Oil Compact Commission, Jackson, Miss., December 15, 1944. Reprint from Mississippi Oil Review (19 December 1944). Call Number: TN872 M7 M62.

William Clifford Morse. Paleozoic Rocks (University, MS: Mississippi State Geologic Survey, 1930). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 23.

William Clifford Morse. Tishomingo State Park, Geological History (University, MS: Mississippi State Geological Survey, 1936). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.32.

Netherland, Sewell & Associates. Preliminary Study of the Present and Possible Future Oil and Gas Development of Areas Immediately Surrounding the Interior Salt Domes, Upper Gulf Coast Salt Dome Basins of East Texas, North Louisiana, and Mississippi (Dallas: 1975). Call Number: TN870 N48x.

Newton County Soil Conservation District (Miss.). Soil Conservation District Law of Mississippi (Decatur, MS: 1950). Call Number: S624 M7 S65 1950 OVRS.

Oil Directory: Comprised of Oil Men and Concerns Currently Active in Mississippi Oil Corporations (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has 1945, 1949-50, 1955, 1956, and 1957 editions. Call Number: TN867 M57.

Ervin G. Otvos. Geology of the Mississippi-Alabama Coastal Area and Nearshore Zone: Guidebook, New Orleans Geological Society 1973 Spring Field Trip (New Orleans: 1973). Call Number: QE130 E5 O88.

William Scott Parks. Calhoun County Geology and Ground-Water Resources (University, MS: 1961). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.91-97.

William S. Parks. Survey of Lightweight Aggregate Materials of Mississippi (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Geological, Economic and Topographical Survey, 1964). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 103.

Oscar L. Paulson Jr. and Richard Kirk Clem. Biostratigraphic Coorelation of Mississippi Coastal Zone Aquifers for Management Purposes (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: GB1199.3 M7 P38.

Oscar L. Paulson Jr. and Frank T. Pescatore Jr. The Effects of the Phillips Fault Zone on Subsurface Jurassic Sediments and Petroleum Production of Jasper County, Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1979). Call Number: QE606.5 U6 P28.

Oscar L. Paulson Jr. Summary of Mississippi Mineral Resources (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1979). Call Number: TN24 M7 P38.

Freddie John Pellegrin. Late Pleistocene-Holocene Depositional Systems, Hancock County, Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: QE697 P44.

Peppard-Souders & Associates. Integrated Seismic and Geological Evaluation of the Central Black Warrior Basin, Mississippi-Alabama (1975). Call Number: QE129 P46x.

C. Wylie Poag. "Age, Biostratigraphy, and Paleoecology of the Chickasawhay Formation, Alabama and Mississippi, with an Emphasis on Ostracodes and Planktonic Foraminifers" (Thesis; Tulane University; 1971). Call Number: QE130 P63.

Richard Randall Priddy. Geologic Study along Highway 80 from Alabama Line to Jackson, Mississippi (University, MS: 1961). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 91-97.

Wilfred Francois Roux. "Stratigraphy of Upper Midway and Lower Wilcox Groups, West-Central Alabama and East-Central Mississippi" (Thesis; University of Texas; 1978). Call Number: QE129 R68.

Ernest E. Russell. Preliminary Report on the Aggregates in the Tombigbee Drainage Basin North of Amory, Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1979). Call Number: TA403 R875.

John C. Satterfield. A Brief Discussion of Ad Valorem Taxation in Mississippi as Applied to Ownership of Minerals and Especially with Reference to Tax Titles (Tulsa, OK: Mid-Continent Oil & Gas Association, 1946). Call Number: HJ4121 M7 S28 1946.

E.W. Shaw. The Pliocene History of Northern and Central Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1918). Call Number: QE695 S3.

Ramaendra Singh. "Plant Composition and Soil Analysis in the Diagnosis of Mo Status of Mississippi Soils for Soybeans (Glycine max L.)" (Thesis; Mississippi State University; 1971). Call Number: QK753 M6 S5.

Eugene A. Smith et al. The Mississippi Geological Survey: A Centennial (Jackson, MS: 1963). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 98-102.

Southeast Mississippi Resource Conservation and Development Council. Southeast Mississippi Resource Conservation and Development Project Plan (Jackson, MS: 1973). Call Number: S932 M7 S658 1973.

Lloyd Williams Stephenson, et al. Coastal Plain Stratigraphy of Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi State Geological Survey, 1933). Call Number: QE129 A2 no.25.

Minor C. Sumners. Natural Gas Service for Mississippi by a Native Mississippi Company: Address before Governor Hugh L. White and Members of the Mississippi Agricultral and Industrial Board at Jackson, Miss., November 6, 1953 (Jackson, MS: Mississippi Valley Gas Company, 1953). Call Number: HD9581 S85 1953.

Charles Nelson Thompson. Petrology of North Mississippi Bauxite: A Case for Depositional Bauxite and Kaolin (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: QE391 B4 T46.

Drukell Brian Trahan. Ironstone and Associated Strata of Peters Creek Watershed, Panola County, Mississippi (University, MS: Mississippi Mineral Resources Institute, 1981). Call Number: TN403 M7 T73.

United Gas Corporation. Natural Gas in Mississippi (Jackson, MS). Call Number: TN880 U5.

United States. Bureau of Chemistry and Soils. Soil Survey of Jackson County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1927). Call Number: S599 M7 no.23.

United States. Bureau of Land Management. Final Environmental Statement for a Proposed 1973 Outer Continental Shelf OIl and Gas General Lease Sale, Offshore Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida: OCS Sale No. 32, FES 73-60 (Washington, DC: 1973). Five volumes. Call Number: TD195 P4 U54 1973.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Adams County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1911). Call Number: S599 M5 M63.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Alcorn County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1924). Call Number: S599 M5 J63.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Chickasaw County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1917). Call Number: S599 M5 M87.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Choctaw County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1923). Call Number: S597 M57 C48.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Coahoma County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1916). Call Number: S599 M7 no.10.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Covington County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1919). Call Number: S599 M7 no.11.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of George County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1925). Call Number: S599 M5 D3.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Hinds County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1918). Call Number: S599 M5 S64.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Jasper County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1908). Call Number: S599 M7 U44.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Jefferson Davis County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1916). Call Number: S599 M5 M48.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Lee County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1918). Call Number: S599 M5 G37.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Newton County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1918). Call Number: S599 M5 G66.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Perry County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1928). Call Number: S597 M57 P4.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Pike County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1923). Call Number: S597 M57 P5.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Simpson County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1921). Call Number: S597 M57 S5.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Smith County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1923). Call Number: S599 M5 T43.

United States. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of the McNeill Area, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1904). Call Number: S599 M5 S65 1904.

United States. Forest Service. Southern Region. Environmental Impact Statement: Recreational Lake and Complex on Porter Creek, Homochitto National Forest, Bude Ranger District, Franklin County, Mississippi: Draft Document (Jackson, MS: 1993). In cooperation with the USDA Soil Conservation Service. Call Number: TD194.56 M62 H66 1993.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Deer Creek Watershed, Bolivar and Washington Counties, Mississippi: Final Environmental Impact Statement (Washington, DC: 1975). Call Number: GB991 M7 H43 1975.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Deer Creek Watershed, Bolivar and Washington Counties, Mississippi: Watershed Work Plan (Washington, DC: 1975). Call Number: GB991 M7 D44 1975.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Mississippi...Personnel Directory (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has 1978 edition. Call Number: S624 M7 U54 OVRS.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Mississippi Progress through Small Watersheds (Jackson, MS: 1964). Call Number: S624 M7 M557 1964 OVRS.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Mississippi Watershed Projects: Quarterly Status Report (Jackson, MS). Special Collections has two issues from 1993. Call Number: S624 M7 M56.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Okatoma Creek Watershed, Covington, Forrest, Jones, Simpson, and Smith Counties (Jackson, MS: 1975). Call Number: GB991 M7 O43 1975.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Shuqualak Creek Watershed Project, Noxubee and Kemper Counties, Mississippi: Final Environmental Impact Statement (Jackson, MS: 1975). Call Number: GB991 M7 S54 1975.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Alcorn County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1971). Call Number: S599 M5 M55.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Bolivar County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1958). Call Number: S599 M5 R65.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Claiborne County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1963). Call Number: S599 M5 L45.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Coahoma County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1959). Call Number: S599 M5 W96.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Issaquena County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1961). Call Number: S599 M5 W97.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Leflore County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1959). Call Number: S599 M5 K45.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Lincoln County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1963). Call Number: S599 M5 M56.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey, Washington County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1961). Call Number: S599 M5 M64.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Amite County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1976). Call Number: S599 A45 M54.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Benton County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1977). Call Number: S599 M5 W95.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Chickasaw County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1974). Call Number: S599 M7 M87.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Clarke County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1965). Call Number: S599 M5 N43.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Clay County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1976). Call Number: S599 M5 M88.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Hancock County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1981). Call Number: S599 M5 S55.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Harrison County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1975). Call Number: S599 M7 S55.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Jefferson Davis County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1976). Call Number: S599 M5 M48.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Lafayette County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1981). Call Number: S599 M5 M637.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Lamar County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1975). Call Number: S599 M5 D33.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Marshall County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1972). Call Number: S599 M5 T93.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Montgomery County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1975). Call Number: S599 M5 T52.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Pontotoc County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1973). Call Number: S599 M5 S65 1973.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Tallahatchie County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1970). Call Number: S599 M5 A56.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Tippah County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1970). Call Number: S599 M5 B76.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Tishomingo County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1983). Call Number: S599 M7 T6.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Walthall County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1968). Call Number: S599 M5 A57.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Webster County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1978). Call Number: S599 M5 M32.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Yalobusha County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1978). Call Number: S599 M5 H79.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Soil Survey of Yazoo County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1975). Call Number: S599 M7 S26.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Watershed Work Plan Dry Creek Watershed, Covington County, Mississippi (1965). Call Number: TC425 D79 D79 1965.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Yazoo-Little Tallahatchie Flood Prevention Project Information Kit: Ascalmore Drainage District Presents Ascalmore Creek Watershed Dedication, Assisted by Tallahatchie County Soil Conservation District, July 12, 1963 (Washington, DC: 1963). Call Number: GB991 M7 Y39 1963.

United States. Soil Conservation Service. Yazoo-Mississippi River Basin Study Mississippi (Washington, DC: 1975). Call Number: TC526 M7 Y39 1975.

Wutti Uttamo. “Application of Landsat Imagery for Regional Geologic and Geomorphic Mapping, Northern Mississippi” (M.S. thesis; University of Mississippi; 1979). Call Number: QE36 U77.

E.A. Vaughey. Presentation before the Tax Study Committee, Mississippi Legislature (Jackson, MS: 1957). Gas and oil industry. Call Number: TP690 V3.

Franklin E. Vestal. Memorial to William Clifford Morse (1874-1962). Reprint from Geological Society of America Bulletin 74 (July 1963). Call Number: QE22 M6 V4.

Benjamin L.C. Wailes. Report on the Agriculture and Geology of Mississippi. Embracing a Sketch of the Social and Natural History of the State (Jackson: E. Barksdale, 1854). Call Number: QE73 M57 1854.

C.B. Walker. The Mississippi Valley, and Prehistoric Events: Giving an Account of the Original Formation and Early Condition of the Great Valley; of Its Vegetable and Animal Life; of Its First Inhabitants, the Mound Builders, Its Mineral Treasures and Agricultural Developments; All from Authentic Sources (Burlington, IA: R.T. Root, 1880). Call Number: F31 W17 1880.

C.W. Walker. Laboratory Manual: Physical Geology (University of Mississippi). Call Number: QE41 W3.

Watershed Work Plan, Okatoma Creek Watershed: Covington, Forrest, Jones, Simpson, and Smith Counties (1975). Call Number: GB991 M7 W39 1975.

Jamie L. Whitten. Congressman Whitten Calls on President to Restore Soil Conservation, Rural Water, Housing and Other Programs: Address of Honorable Jamie L. Whitten (Washington, DC: National Limestone Institute, 1973). Call Number: S604.6 W45 1973.

Robert Wildermuth, et al. Soil Survey of Rankin County, Mississippi (Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1931). Call Number: S599 M7 R3 1931.

Charles H. Williams Jr., et al. George County Geology and Mineral Resources (Jackson: Mississippi Geological, Economic and Topographical Survey, 1966). Call Number: QE129 A2 no. 106-108.

J. Kelley Williams. First Mississippi Corporation: The First Twenty-Five Years (New York: Newcomen Society in North America, 1982). Petroleum industry. Call Number: HD9569 F5 W54 1982.

Nancy Carpenter Woodman. "The Need for Mining Education Programs in the Gulf States Region" (Ph.D. dissertation; University of Mississippi; 1981).