Library Guides: HST 498: U.S. Gender and Sexuality History: Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBTQ+ Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.

Research Tips for Finding More Secondary Sources

Keyword searching is the most common strategy for finding secondary sources. However, you should not rely on keyword searches alone. There are number of other strategies that you can utilize to cast a wider research net. Incorporating the additional research strategies listed below may help you find sources that traditional keyword searching missed.

Mine the footnotes and bibliography of the secondary sources you already have (backward citation searching).
Use the "cited by" feature on Google Scholar to find new secondary sources you may have missed (forward citation searching).
Use multiple academic databases; DO NOT rely on just one (indexing and discoverability).
Use boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) when searching academic databases.
When searching the library catalog, use the subject heading hyperlinks within each book record to find other books with the same "tag."
When retrieving books from the stacks, browse the books nearby to find additional titles (academic libraries are organized by subject).

HST 498: U.S. Gender and Sexuality History: Secondary Sources

Getting Started

Secondary Sources

Research Tips for Finding More Secondary Sources