European History

A (slightly random) collection of links to digitized collections and repositories. Gives option to limit by time period and/or geography.

Digital collections of cultural artifacts from museums, galleries, and archives across Europe.

Digital collections include newspapers, manuscripts, documents, and much more.

French repository of digitized manuscripts and other cultural artifacts.

Linked index of primary sources relating to modern European history.

A Historical Atlas and Gazetteer of Europe from Year 1 to 2000

Digitized manuscripts, charters, incunabula, local histories of the Palatinate, university documents, etc. from the University's collections.

The Royal Library in Copenhagen publishes selected parts of its collections on the Internet. Since 1997 the Manuscript Department has published complete digital facsimile editions of manuscripts.

Swiss virtual manuscript library.

The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.

Epistolae is a collection of letters to and from women dating from the 4th to the 13th century AD. These letters from the Middle Ages, written in Latin, are presented with English translations and are organized by the women participating.

Linked index of primary sources relating to medieval European history.

Resources for Medieval Studies sponsored by Georgetown University.

Online collection of medieval manuscripts.

Digitized manuscripts from the NYPL.

Portal to scholarly and primary sources on warfare in medieval Europe.

This site gives access to a database (c. 165,000 records) with information about office holders of the Florentine Republic during its 250-year history.

A digitized exhibit presenting Renaissance editions of Dante's Divine Comedy from the John A. Zahm, C.S.C., Dante Collection at the University of Notre Dame, together with selected works from The Newberry Library.

A searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia.

This site contains links to over 1200 digitized photographs and images recorded during the Siege and Commune of Paris cir.1871. In addition to the images in this set, the Library's Siege & Commune Collection contains 1500 caricatures, 68 newspapers in hard-copy and film, hundreds of books and pamphlets and about 1000 posters. Additions are made regularly. The originals are located in the Charles Deering McCormick of Special Collections in the Deering Library at Northwestern University.

18thConnect is an online finding aid and scholarly community in the field of eighteenth-century literary and historical studies. It will be peer-reviewing digital resources and then catalog them in ways that make them interoperable with all peer-reviewed scholarly materials that have been digitized within the field, offering a kind of table of contents to the best Internet resources in eighteenth-century studies.

NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first.

"A collection of more than 5,000 documents including photographs, treaties, newspaper articles, interviews and maps documenting the history and institutions of post-war Europe."

The web-based archive of archival and secondary research presents documents that have previously only been available at the RGASPI archive in Russia. Digital versions of Yale’s Annals of Communism series supplement the RGASPI collection with additional scholarly commentary on selected documents concerning the history of Soviet and international communism from Russian state archives spanning the 75-year history of the USSR.