Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice & Parchman Penitentiary (Archives): Home

Criminal Justice & Parchman Penitentiary

Introduction

The Archives & Special Collections materials identified in this subject guide primarily cover the criminal justice system in Mississippi and date from the eighteenth century through the present.  A significant number of items concentrate even more specifically on the Mississippi State Penitentiary, commonly known as Parchman.  The subject guide is divided into four categories:

Publications offers a bibliographic list of both secondary and primary resources.

Manuscript Collections provides brief descriptions of archival collections with related material.

Visual Collections lists holdings of photographs, recordings, and other visual material on the subject.

Blues Archives draws links between the criminal justice system and the blues.

Related Links:

Digital Collections

 
Other Library Resources

For assistance with non-archival resources, see the main library's Criminal Justice Subject Guide.

The Archives & Special Collections hosts the following online exhibits with content on crime:

"Murder with Southern Hospitality:  An Exhibition of Mississippi Mysteries"

"Civil Rights, Mississippi, and the Novelist's Craft"

The library has created a searchable database on its Mississippi Newspaper holdings.  Search by text, year, city, or county to find newspaper titles, time span in the library's possession, and a link to the catalog record.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 9am - 4pm (except holidays)
 

Librarian Contact

Leigh McWhite
Political Papers Archivist and Associate Professor
slmcwhit@olemiss.edu