Library Guides: SPCH 102, 105: Fundamentals of Public Speaking, Business & Professional Speech: SPCH 102 & 105

ProCon.org
Presents sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled by research staff and editors.

Main Library Chat

One Search

Public Opinion Polls

Harris Polls
Harris provides a searchable 40 year archive called the Harris Vault.
more...less...
The nationally representative polls, conducted both by telephone and online, measure, and trend, the knowledge, opinions, behaviors and motivation of the general public. New survey data on a wide variety of subjects including politics, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, sports and entertainment, and lifestyles are published weekly.
Gallup Polls
Gallup News reports are based on continuous polling in 160 countries. Polls cover topics related to society, politics, and the economy.
more...less...
You do not have to be a subscriber to use the Trends A-Z section, read news, and search topics. The Analytics and Brain sections are restricted.

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals. At the top of the list due to size and coverage.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business journals, industry journals, company information, and market research. Full text and citations/abstracts.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Use the Browse Reports tab to see:
- Reports by date
- Pro/Con Reports
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts. In Google Scholar, when UM Libraries has article access, you will see a link to Full text. If a resource is not free or linked to UM Libraries click on More.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
General and business news. International scope. Excellent source for newspapers and news blogs. Full text. At the top of the list due to size and coverage.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Includes more than forty U.S. and international newspapers. Selective full text for regional U.S. newspapers. Tip: when a New York Times article appears in your results, you may prefer to skip FIND IT and go directly to LexisNexis Academic for the same article.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Be sure to check the source for a statistical table. You may be able to go to the website of that source.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Influential daily business newspaper. Full text.

Specialized Databases

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes social media topics.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Social science article database with an emphasis in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window

Complete List of Databases A-Z & by Subject

Search Guides

SPCH 102, 105: Fundamentals of Public Speaking, Business & Professional Speech

Main Library Chat

One Search

Public Opinion Polls

Databases