HST 424 / AAS 443: The Civil Rights Era: Mississippi

• Citizens' Council Collection.  Regional organization founded in Mississippi to fight against desegregation following the Supreme Court's 1954 Brown v. Board of Education ruling.
• Civil Rights Archive.  Digital compilation of small collections (generally one box or less) related to the struggle for civil rights in Mississippi and the American South.
• Freedom Riders Oral Histories.  Interviews conducted in 2009 with Freedom Riders of 1961 who challenged the system of segregation in interstate travel in the South on buses.  Riders were immediately arrested and jailed when they arrived in Jackson, Mississippi.  Detainees were later transferred to Mississippi State Penitentiary.
• Bern and Franke Keating Collection.  Professional photographs by Bern Keating of Greenwood, Mississippi.  Browsing the American South section will include images of segregation in Mississippi.
• John E. Phay Collection.  Photographs of the segregated school system in Mississippi in the following Mississippi counties in the late 1940s and 1950s:  Benton, Clay, Grenada, Holmes, Jones, Marshall, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Union, and Yalobusha.
• United States v. Mississippi Interrogatory Answers.  In 1962, the US government brought action against the State of Mississippi for the violation of the voting rights of African American citizens.  This digital collection contains one large section provided by the federal government that provides detailed data illuminating the difficulties African Americans faced in Mississippi when they attempted to exercise their right to vote between 1890 and 1963.

The following are the physical holdings of African American Mississippi newspapers or newspapers focused on civil rights issues from the period 1954 to 1970 in the Archives & Special Collections. For help finding additional newspaper on microfilm in the library or in online databases, consult the Mississippi Newspapers Library Guide.

• City Bulletin.  1961-1966. Natchez, Mississippi.    African American newspaper. 
  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 21.  See also, 1963 (April 13 fragment), 1965 (December 18), and undated fragment.   Location:  Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection Box 47.

• Mississippi Free Press.  1961 (December 16).  Jackson, Mississippi.  African American newspaper.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.  See also, 1962 (August 18), 1964 (March 14 & 21, May 9 & 16).  Location:  Race Relations Collection Box 7.  See also, 1964 (May 30, June 6 & 20).  Location:  Marge Baroni Collection Box 21.  See also, 1964 (June-August).  Location:  Lucy Turnbull Collection Box 2. 

• Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party Newsletter.  1968 (April 5).  Civil rights newspaper published in Sunflower, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 74.

• Mississippi Freelance.  1969 (April).  Civil rights newspaper published in Greenville, Mississippi.  Location:  Newspapers (Boxed) Box 75.

Below is a selected list of manuscript collections on segregation and civil rights in Mississippi from 1954 to 1970.  See the University of Mississippi & Oxford page of this course guide for material specifically on those topics.  Consult the Civil Rights & Race Relations Subject Guide if you would like to review a more complete list of manuscript holdings on these topics.

Americans for the Preservation of the White Race Collection. 1964-1966. Contains the minutes for the meetings of the Jackson, MS chapter of the APWR, a white supremacist organization (1 box).

Marjorie Baroni Collection. 1950s-1980s.  A white Catholic resident of Natchez, Mississippi, Baroni's convictions led her to publicly support the Civil Rights Movement. She was a founding member of the Adams-Jefferson Improvement Corporation, a community action group whose initiatives included Head Start, a credit union, and job training, among other programs. Over a period of ten years, Baroni also worked for Charles Evers. The collection consists of correspondence, clippings, oral histories, and autobiographical manuscripts as well as a variety of other material related to the civil rights era.  21 boxes.

Citizens Council Collection. 1954-1979. Contains pamphlets, correspondence, broadsides, clippings, and copies of Citizens' Council publications.  3 boxes.  Available as a digital collection.

Claude F. Clayton Collection.  1934-1969.  Claude F. Clayton served as a judge in the U.S. District Court of Northern Mississippi (1958-67) and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (1967-69).  The collection contains judicial files from his tenure on both courts, many of which dealt with civil rights issues.  44 boxes.  Patrons should provide notice at least three business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.  

J.P. Coleman Collection.  A former governor of Mississippi (1956-60), J.P. Coleman served on the bench of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit from 1965 to 1984.  The collection holds his judicial papers, including files on civil rights cases before the Fifth Circuit.  79 boxes. Patrons should provide notice at least three business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. 

H.V. Cooper Collection.  1931-1966.  H.V. Cooper worked as Superintendent of Schools in Vicksburg, Mississippi from 1932 until his retirement in 1960.  Cooper served in the Mississippi Senate from 1960 to 1963 chaired an education study committee which issued a 1961 comprehensive report on the state's education system from kindergarten through higher education.  Cooper served briefly on the Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission from 1959 to 1960.  Correspondence with and regrading the National Education Association offers insight into tensions between Mississippi educators and the national organization's stance on integration in the early 1960s.  2 boxes.  Patrons should provide notice at least three business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. 

W.J. Cunningham / Galloway Methodist Church Collection. 1960s. Contains correspondence, clippings and other documents related to the Jackson church's reaction to the civil rights movement.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-6 (binder & 4 folders).  A selection of items is available in the Civil Rights Archive digital collection.

James O. Eastland Collection.  1930-1978.  James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate for a few months in 1941 and then from 1943 until his retirement in 1978.  While civil rights material is scattered throughout the collection, a large concentrated amount of 1954-1970 correspondence on the topic from across Mississippi and the nation occurs in Series 3, Subseries 1: Issues Correspondence, Boxes 34-46.  Patrons should provide notice at least three business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. 

Mamie Lee Ratliff Finger. A daughter's memories of her mother's (Cora Rodman Ratliff) civil rights activities in Clarksdale, Mississippi in the 1940s and 50s.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 93-2 (2 folders).

Lela Karen Smith Hale Collection.  2008-2009.  Oral histories of teachers, parents, and students involved in the desegregation of Mary Reid Elementary and Potts Camp Attendance Center in Marshall County, Mississippi.  Original recordings and transcripts.  7 microcassettes and bound transcription.

Fannie Lou Hamer Collection. 1966-1978. A major figure in Mississippi's civil rights movement, Fannie Lou Hamer was a founding member of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party created in 1966. One of her most ambitious projects was the Freedom Farm Cooperative, in existence between 1969-1974. The collection consists mainly of business records from the various organizations with which she was involved.  4 boxes.

Ed King Collection. A native, white Mississippian, Ed King became the Chaplain at Tougaloo College in the 1960s. Heavily involved in the state's civil rights movement, he played an especially significant role in the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. Contains clippings, correspondence, and publications of various key individuals and organizations.  7 boxes.

Ed King Manuscript.  An unpublished draft of an autobiography by Ed King (see above).  Location:  Small Manuscripts 78-3.

Ku Klux Klan Collection. 1950s-1970s. Contains broadsides, newsletters, and other KKK literature from Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Maryland, Tennessee, and elsewhere.  2 boxes.

League of Women Voters of Mississippi Collection. 1947-1992. This collection contains correspondence, minutes, and literature from the national organization, the Mississippi Division, and individual branches within the state, including reports on busing and desegregation.  33 boxes.  Patrons should provide notice at least three business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. 

Gordon A. Martin Jr. Collection.  A U.S. Department of Justice attorney during the 1960s, Gordon A. Martin Jr. participated in civil rights and voter registration litigation in Mississippi.  Contains court documents as well as oral history with African American witnesses in the case Theron v. Lynd.  3 boxes.  Patrons should provide notice at least three business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

George McLean Collection.  1947-1982.   George McLean purchased the Tupelo Journal (later renamed the Northeast Mississippi Daily News) in 1934 and ran the newspaper until his death in 1983. He is credited as a voice of reason and progress during the civil rights era, helping to integrate local public schools peaceably.  16 boxes.

Race Relations Collection. 1948-1982. This collection contains publications, broadsides and ephemera relating to race relations in the South. It is organized by locale: Oxford/University, Mississippi, and non-Mississippi.  8 boxes.

John C. Satterfield / American Bar Association Collection.  1928-1974.  John C. Satterfield was the first Mississippian to serve as president of the American Bar Association (1961-1962).  He represented Governor Ross Barnett during the University of Mississippi integration crisis in 1962 and later served as legal counsel for several public-school integration cases in Mississippi and across the South (Boxes 47-51).  51 boxes.   Patrons should provide notice at least three business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. 

The following are a small selection of primary source publications segregation and Civil Rights in Mississippi dating from 1954 to 1970.  These volumes are catalogued and part of the holdings of the Archives & Special Collections.

Olive Arnold Adams.  Time Bomb:  Mississippi Exposed and the Full Story of Emmett Till.  [Mound Bayou, MS]:  Mississippi Regional Council of Negro Leadership, 1956.  Call Number:  HV6248 T54 A32 1956.

All-African People's Revolutionary Party.  No Matter Where We Are Born or Live -- :  If We Are Black, We Are African.  Malcolm X on African Identity.  Tougaloo, MS: [196-].  Call Number:  E185.625 X63 1960z.

Americans for the Preservation of the White Race.  The White Patriot:  Americans for the Preservation of the White Race If It Is Not Preserved, It Will Be Destroyed...  Jackson, MS:  [1968].  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 W55 1968.

Andrew Goodman, 1943-1964:  Eulogies Delivered at the Funeral Services of Andrew Goodman, August 9, 1964, at the Meeting House of the Society for Ethical Culture.  [1964].  Civil rights activist murdered in Neshoba County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  F347 N4 A51 1964.

Associated Press.  "Mississippi Walks Out of Convention:  Refuse to Give Support to LBJ:  Only Three Stay" in Atlantic City Press Vol. 133, No. 18 (26 August 1964).  Civil rights.  Call Number:  JK2391 M5 M58 1964.

Association of Citizens' Councils of Mississippi.  Annual Report.  Greenwood, MS.  Special Collections has 1955, 1956 and 1958.  Call Number:  E185.61 A82.

Association of Citizens' Councils of Mississippi.  The Citizens' Council.  Greenwood, MS:  [1954].  Call Number:  HT1521 A8 1954.

Association of Citizens' Councils of Mississippi.  What Is the Citizens' Council Doing?  [Greenwood, MS:  196-].  Call Number:  E185.61 W43.

Ross R. Barnett.  Strength through Unity:  Address by Governor Ross R. Barnett of Mississippi to Citizens' Council Rally, New Orleans, March 7, 1960.  Greenwood, MS:  Citizens' Councils, [1960].  Call Number:  E185.61 B28.

Julian Bond.  Black Candidates:  Southern Campaign Experiences.  Atlanta:  Voter Education Project, Southern Regional Council, 1969.  Includes Mississippi politicians Geneva Collins, Charles Evers, and James Joliff Jr.  Call Number:  E185.61 B582 1969.

Tom P. Brady.  Black Monday.  Winona, MS:  Association of Citizens' Councils, 1955.  Segregation. Call Number:  E185.61 B7 B4.

Sidney Campbell.  The School Bussin' Blues.  Picayune, MS:  Mississippi Sound Pub., [196-].  45 rpm record.  Call Number:  M1978 C47 C35.

Will D. Campbell.  Race and the Renewal of the Church.  Philadelphia:  Westminster Press, [1962].  Mississippi author.  Call Number:  BT734 C3.

Center Light.  Greenwood, MS:  St. Francis Center.  Special Collections has one 1966 issue of the periodical on social conditions of African Americans in Mississippi.  Call Number:  PN4882.5 C46.

The Citizen:  Official Journal of the Citizens' Councils of America.  [Jackson, MS:  1961-1989].  Call Number:  HS1 C5.  Serial preceded by title The Citizens' Council.

Citizens' Council of America.  Community Plan to Counteract Racial Agitators.  Greenwood, MS:  [1965].  Call Number:  E185.61 C73 1965.

Citizens' Council of America.  How to Save Our Public Schools.  [Greenwood, MS:  1958].  Segregation.  Call Number:  LC214.2 H69 1958.

Citizens' Council of America.  Migration, the Only Reasonable Answer.  [Greenwood, MS:  1962].  Call Number:  E185.61 M59 1962.

Citizens' Council of America.  Project:  Understanding:  Introducing -- Important New Public Affairs Films Now Available for Your Use.  [Jackson, MS:  1961].  Call Number:  HS2330 C483 P76 1961.

Citizens' Council of America.  Racial Facts.  [Jackson, MS:  1963].  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 R33 1963.

Citizens' Council of America.  Statewide Cash Awards:  Essay Contest for Mississippi High School Students, 1961-1962.  [Greenwood, MS:  1961].  Call Number:  E185.61 S79 1961.

Citizens' Council of America.  Statewide Scholarship:  Essay Contest for Mississippi High School Students, 1958-1959.  [Greenwood, MS:  1958].  Call Number:  E185.61 S79 1958.

Citizens' Council of America.  Statewide Scholarship:  Essay Contest for Mississippi High School Students, 1959-1960.  [Greenwood, MS:  1959].  Call Number:  E185.61 S79 1959.

The Citizens' Council:  Official Paper of the Citizens' Councils of America.  Jackson, MS:  1955-1961.  Call Number:  HS1 C5 OVRS.  Serial continued under title Citizen.

The Clennon King Story:  The Shocking Story of Another Incident in Which a Negro Who Dared to Speak out Publicly Against the NAACP Was Intimidated and Threatened with Death.  [1958].  Reprint from the Jackson, MS State Times.  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 C44 1958.

Committee for the Distribution of the Mississippi Story.  Mississippi Violence vs. Human Rights.  Atlanta, GA:  [1963].  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 M59 1963.

Complete Photo Story of Till Murder Case:  First and Only Complete Factual Photo Story of Till Case.  Memphis, TN:  Wither's Photographers, 1955.  Call Number:  F350 N4 C65 1955.

Council School Foundation.  School Tomorrow:  Building Fund Campaign. Jackson, MS:  [1966].  Citizens Council schools.  Call Number:  LC214.22 M7 S24 1966.

Construction of Events Leading to the Closing of Mississippi Valley State College on February 11, 1970.  Itta Bena, MS:  [197-].  Civil rights.  Call Number:  LC2781 C67.

Danger Sign -- Republicanism:  Plan of the Republican Party:  To Divide the White People of Mississippi and Increase Black Power.  [1966].  Call Number:  JK2295 M72 D36 1966.

Delta Ministry.  Delta Ministry Reports.  Greenville, MS.  Civil rights.  Special Collections has scattered issues from 1967 to 1977.  Call Number:  F347 D3 D43.

Delta Ministry.  DOC:  Freedom City, Delta Opportunities Corporation:  A Progress Report.  Greenville, MS:  [1969].  Civil rights.  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 D63 1969.

James Desmond.  New Cross Afire in Dixie.  [New York:  National Labor Service, 1956].  Civil rights in Mississippi.  Call Number:  HS2330 K63 D47 1956.

The Eagle Eye.  Jackson, MS:  A.W. High.  Caption "Bombarding Segregation and Discrimination."  Special Collections has scattered issues from 1955-1956.  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 E24.

P.D. East.  Editorial Reprints from The Petal Paper, Petal, Mississippi:  And Personal Comments.  [Hattiesburg, MS]:  P.D. East, 1959.  Civil rights.  Call Number:  PN4874 E3 E3 1959.

James O. Eastland.  The Supreme Court's "Modern Scientific Authorities" in the Segregation Cases.  Washington, DC:  Government Printing Office, 1955.  Author was U.S. Senator from Mississippi.  Call Number:  KF4151 A55 E38.

James O. Eastland.  "We've Reached Era of Judicial Tyranny":  An Address by Senator James O. Eastland of Miss. Before the Statewide Convention of the Association of Citizens' Councils of Miss., Held in Jackson, Dec. 1, 1955.  [Greenwood, MS:  Association of Citizens' Councils of Miss., 1955].  Call Number:  F209.5 E3.

Episcopal Church.  Diocese of Mississippi.  Dept. of Christian Social Relations.  The Church Considers the Supreme Court Decision.  [Jackson, MS]:  1954.  Segregation.  Cal Number:  LC212.52 C58 1954.

M. Stanton Evans.  Forced Integration Is Communism in Action.  Jackson, MS:  Citizens' Council, 1962.  Call Number:  E185.61 E93 1962.

G.T. Gillespie.  A Christian View on Segregation:  Reprint of an Address by Rev. G.T. Gillespie, Made Before the Synod of Mississippi of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S., Nov. 4, 1954.  [Greenwood, MS:  Educational Fund of the Citizens' Councils, 1954].  Call Number:  BT734.3 G5.

Jessie Gillespie.  Views of a Southern Negro Told.  Walls, MS:  Mid-South Informer, [196-].  Segregation.  Call Number:  E185.61 V54.

Ira Harkey.  The Smell of Burning Crosses:  An Autobiography of a Mississippi Newspaperman.  Jacksonville, IN:  Harris-Wolfe, [1967].  Race relations.  Call Number:  E185.61 H248 1967.

Carter Monroe Harrison.  Sounding Brass and Tinkling Cymbals:  Does God Believe in Segregation.  Amory, MS:  Amory News-Advertiser, [1956].  Call Number:  E185.61 H275 1956.

Tom Hayden.  Revolution in Mississippi.  New York:  Students for a Democratic Society, 1962.  Call Number:  JK1929 M7 H39 1962.

Hinds County Freedom Democratic Party.  Hinds County FDP F.D.P. News.  Hinds County, MS.  Civil rights.  Special Collections has two 1967 issues.  Call Number:  JK2318 M7 H56.

Nicholas Von Hoffman.  Mississippi Notebook.  New York:  D. White, [1964].  Memoir of journalist in Mississippi in 1964.  Call Number:  E185.61 V75.

Louis W. Hollis.  Never!:  An Address.  Jackson, MS:  Citizens' Council, 1966.  Call Number:  HS2330 C483 H65 1966.

Len Holt.  The Summer that Didn't End.  New York:  Morrow, 1965.  Mississippi Freedom Summer.  Call Number:  E185.61 H75.

In the Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, 1969, No. --:  Hinds County School Board et als., Petitioners, vs. United States of America et als., Respondents:  (Including Consolidated Cases):  Petition for Writ of Certioari with Motion to Expedite Hearing:  Petition for Writ of Certioari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.  Kansas City, MO:  E.L. Mendenhall, [1969].  School integration in Hinds County, Mississippi.  Two volumes.  Call Number:  KF4155 H56 1969.

In the Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, 1966, No. 79, Robert L. Pierson, et al., Petitioners, vs. J.L. Ray, et al., Respondents:  No. 94, J.L. Ray, et al., Petitioners, vs. Robert L. Pierson, et al., Respondents:  On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit:  Brief for Respondents in Cause No. 79 and Petitioners in Cause No. 94.  [New Orleans, LA:  1966].  Civil rights in Mississippi.  Call Number:  E185.61 I55 1966.

In the Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, 1969, No. 632:  Beatrice Alexander, et als., Petitioners, vs. Holmes County Board of Education, et als., Respondents:  (Including Consolidated Cases):  On Writ to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit:  Brief for the Respondents, Other than the United States of America.  [1969].  School integration in Holmes County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  KF4155 A75 1969b.

In the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No. 28,030:  Beatrice Alexander, et als., Plaintiffs-Appellants, v. Holmes County Board of Education, et als, Defendants-Appellees:  (Including Consolidated Cases):  Petition for Rehearing in Banc by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.  [1969].  School integration in Holmes County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  KF4155 A75 1969.

In the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No. 28,042:  United States of America, Plaintiff-Appellant, v. Hinds County School Board, et als., Defendants-Appellees:  (Including Consolidated Cases):  Petition for Rehearing in Banc by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.  [1969].  School integration in Hinds County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  KF4155 U558 1969.

Jackson Citizens' Council (Miss.).  Information and Education Committee.  Aspect.  Jackson, MS:  1963-1968.  Call Number:  HS1 A8.

James E. Jackson.  At the Funeral of Medgar Evers in Jackson, Mississippi:   A Tribute in Tears and a Thrust for Freedom.  New York:  Publisher's New Press, 1963.  Call Number:  E185.97 E94 J32.

Ku Klux Klan.  Nightmare!  What Could Happen to White Americans in the Late 1970's.  Liberty, MS:  United Klans of America, Inc., [1970].  Call Number:  HS2330 K63 N4.

The March in Mississippi.  [New York:  CBS Video, 1994].  VHS recording of CBS News special report on 1966 Meredith March against Fear and for Voter Registration.  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 M25 1994.

Elizabeth Sutherland Martinez, ed.  Letters from Mississippi.  New York:  McGraw-Hill, [1965].  Correspondence of Student Nonvoilent Coordinating Committee members and civil rights workers.  Call Number:  E185.61 S95.

Carl McIntire.  Revolution in the Delta.  Collingswood, NJ:  20th Century Reformation Hour, 1962.  Civil rights and religion in the Mississippi Delta.  Call Number:  F347 D38 R48 1962.

Jack Minnis.  A Chronology of Violence and Intimidation in Mississippi Since 1961.  [Atlanta, GA:  Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, 1964].  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 M558 1964.

A Missionary Presence in Mississippi 1964.  New York:  Council for Christian Social Action of the United Church of Christ, 1964.  Civil rights.  Call Number:  E185.61 M57 1964.

Mississippi Black Paper:  Fifty-Seven Negro and White Citizens' Testimony of Police Brutality, the Breakdown of Law and Order and the Corruption of Justice in Mississippi.  New York:  Random House, [1965].  Call Number:  HV8145 M7 M5.

Mississippi Eyewitness:  The Three Civil Rights Workers -- How They Were Murdered.  [New York:  1964].  Special issue of Ramparts Magazine.  Call Number:  E185.61 R25 OVRS.

Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party.  A Primer for Delegates to the Democratic National Convention Who Haven't Heard about the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party.  1964.  Call Number:  JK2391 M5 M5 1964.

Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party.  Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party Newsletter.  Jackson, MS.  Special Collections has two issues from 1965 and 1968.  Call Number:  E185.5 M665.

Mississippi.  State Department of Education.  Public Schools for Negro Children.  Jackson, MS.  Special Collections has scattered issues from 1945/46 to 1956/57.  Call Number:  LC2802 M7 P8.

Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission.  Don't Stone Her Until You Hear Her Side:  All Mississippi Asks Is Fairness and a Chance to Present Its Side on the Case.  [Jackson, MS:  1956].  Call Number:  E185.61 D669 1956.

Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission.  In the Interest of Better Understanding.  [Jackson, MS:  1954].  Segregation in education.  Call Number:  LC212.522 M7 I58 1956.

Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission.  Report to the Members of the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Mississippi.  [Jackson, MS:  1957].  Race relations.  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 A2 1957.

Mississippians United to Elect Negro Candidates.  To Get the Power.  Greenville, MS:  [1967].  Call Number:  JK1929 M7 M58 1967.

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.  M Is for Mississippi and Murder.  [New York:  1955].  Call Number:  E185.65 N3.

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.  Triple Murder:  States' Rights, Mississippi Style.  [New York:  1964].  Call Number:  E185.61 T75 1964.

National Putnam Letters Committee, Washington, D.C.  The Evers Opinion.  [Washington, DC:  1964].  Legal opinions regarding desegregation of schools in Jackson, Mississippi.  Call Number:  LB3062 N388 1964.

Robert B. Patterson.  The Citizens' Council:  A History:  An Address.  [Greenwood, MS:  Association of Citizens' Councils, 1963].  Call Number:  HS2330 C483 P38 1963.

Robert B. Patterson.  The Road Ahead:  An Address.  Greenwood, MS:  Association of Citizens' Council, [1965].  Call Number:  E185.61 P38 1965.

Robert B. Patterson.  The Truth Cries Out:  An Address.  Greenwood, MS:  Association of Citizens Council, [1966].  Call Number:  E185.61 P385 1966.

John E. Phay.  A Proposal for Accommodating the Warren County Negro High School Students in the Vicksburg Schools.  1963.  Call Number:  LC2803 M7 P3.

Carleton Putnam.  Genetic Race Differences:  The Findings of Dr. William Shockley.  [Jackson, MS:  Citizens Council of America, 1969].  Call Number:  HT1523 G46 1969.

Carleton Putnam.  Race and Reason Day in Mississippi.  Jackson, MS:  Citizens' Council, [1961].  LP record of 26 October 1961 banquet in Jackson, Mississippi.  Call Number:  HT1521 P88 R23.

Race.  Jackson, MS:  The New Patriot and Race, 1967.  Special Collections has volume 1, numbers 1 and 2.  Call Number:  HT1501 R3.

D.B. Red.  A Corrupt Tree Bringeth Forth Evil Fruit:  A Plea for Racial Segregation Based on Scripture, History, and World Conditions.  Hattiesburg, MS:  [1956].  Call Number:  E185.61 R293.

Rep. Abernethy Takes Wisconsin Solon to Task on Human Rights in Mississippi:  Text of Reuss Speech and Abernethy's Reply in Congress.  [1965].  Civil rights.  Call Number:  E185.61 R42 1965 OVRS.

Republican National Committee (U.S.).  Original Brief on Behalf of the Mississippi Republican Party in Contest of Delegation with Mississippi Black and Tan Grand Old Party.  [1956].  Call Number:  Jk2358 M706 1956.

Restrictions on Negro Voting in Mississippi History:  Appendix to the Brief of the American Civil Liberties Union, Amicus Curiae.  New York:  Record Press, [1964].  U.S. Supreme Court case.  Call Number:  KFM7011.5 N4 R3.

Malvina Reynolds.  "Rabbi and Two Youth Beaten in Mississippi" in Broadside:  The National Topic Song Magazine No. 48 (20 July 1964).  Civil rights song.  Call Number:  M1977 C47 R49 1964.

Herbert Ravenel Sass.  Mixed Schools and Mixed Blood.  Greenwood, MS:  Citizens' Councils, 1956.  Call Number:  E185.61 S3.

J. Julius Scott.  Race Relations, Social Change and the Church.  [Jackson, MS:  Belhaven College, 1966].  Call Number:  BT734.2 S36 1966.

James W. Silver.  Mississippi:  The Closed Society.  [1963].  Silver's presidential address before the Southern Historical Association.  Race relations.  Call Number:  F345 S488. 

William J. Simmons.  A Comparison of Attitudes during Reconstruction I & and II.  Shreveport, LA:  Citizens' Council of La., Inc., [1962].  Address to the Jefferson Davis Camp No. 635, Sons of Confederate Veterans, Jackson, Mississippi, April 5, 1962.  Call Number:  E185.61 S585 C6 1962.

Frank E. Smith.  Look Away from Dixie.  [Baton Rouge]:  Louisiana State University Press, [1965].  Memoir of U.S. Representative on race relations in Mississippi.  Call Number:  F216.2 S56.

Southern Regional Council.  Law Enforcement in Mississippi.  Atlanta:  1964.  Civil rights.  Call Number:  E185.61 S69.

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (U.S.).  Hattiesburg, Miss., Freedom Day:  January 22, 1964.  Atlanta, GA:  [1964].  Call Number:  JK1929 M7 H38 1964.

Tracy Sugarman.  Stranger at the Gates:  A Summer in Mississippi.  New York:  Hill and Wang, 1966.  Civil rights memoir.  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 S88.

Allen C. Thompson.  Impromptu Remarks Relative to TV Program "Bonanza" by Mayor Allen Thompson.  [Jackson, MS:  1964].  Segregation in Mississippi.  Call Number:  F349 J13 T47 1964.

Shirley Tucker.  Mississippi from Within.  New York:  Arco Pub. Co., [1965].  Chiefly extracts of civil rights articles from Mississippi newspapers in 1964-1965.  Call Number:  E185.61 T86.

United Klans of America. An Introduction to the United Klans of America.  Liberty, MS:  [196-].  Call Number:  HS2230 K63 I57 1960z.

United Klans of America.  K.K.K. Brings Real Facts to the Surface.  Natchez, MS:  [1960].  Call Number:  HS2330 K63 K19 1960.

United Klans of America.  A Message from the Invisible Empire.  Natchez, MS:  [1960].  Call Number:  HS2330 K63 M47 1960.

United States Commission on Civil Rights.  Hearings Held in Jackson, Miss., February 16-20, 1965.  [Washington, DC:  Government Printing Office, 1965].  Call Number:  E185.93 M6 A57.

United States Commission on Civil Rights.  Voting in Mississippi:  A Report.  [Washington, DC:  Government Printing Office], 1965.  Call Number:  JK1929 M7 A57.

United States Commission on Civil Rights.  Mississippi Advisory Committee.  Administration of Justice in Mississippi:  A Report to the United States Commission on Civil Rights.  [Washington, DC]:  1963.  Call Number:  JC599 U5 A336 1963.

United States.  District Court (Mississippi: Southern District:  Jackson Division).  H.D. Darby, on Behalf of Himself and Others Similarly Situated, Plaintiffs, v. James Daniel, Circuit Clerk of Jackson [sic] Davis County, Mississippi, and Joe T. Patterson, Attorney General of the State of Mississippi, Defendants:  Before Cameron, Circuit Judge, and Mize and Clayton, District Judges.  [Jackson, MS:  1958].  Voter registration in Jefferson Davis County, Mississippi.  Call Number:  JK4691 H332 1958.

J.H. White.  A Noted Negro Educator Speaks for Mississippi.  [Mound Bayou, MS:  1956].  Segregation.  Call Number:  LC2802 M7 W45.

John Bell Williams.  Interposition, the Barrier against Tyranny:  Speech of Representative John Bell Williams (D-Miss) in the United States House of Representatives, January 25, 1956.  Montgomery, AL:  Citizens' Councils of Alabama, [1956].  Segregation.  Call Number:  E185.61 W735 1956.

John Bell Williams.  Where Is the "Reign of Terror":  Racial Differences:  Speech of Hon. John Bell Williams of Mississippi.  [Washington, DC:  Government Printing Office, 1956].  Call Number:  E185.61 W634 1956.

Moses Wright.  How I Escaped from Mississippi.  Chicago, IL:  Johnson Pub. Co., 1955. Article in Jet about Emmett Till.  Call Number:  E185.61 W75 1955.