Library Guides: HST 424 / AAS 443: The Civil Rights Era: Library

Scholarly Monographs (Books)

WorldCat
Use WorldCat to search for books and other materials outside of the UM library.

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books, articles, and other materials from other libraries.

Academic Journal Articles

These databases search collections of academic, or scholarly, journal articles, which are considered secondary sources.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use Advanced Search to limit your search to a specific time period.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
With a singular focus on relationship between and among races, this resource includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers in the field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Newspapers

These databases allow you to search historical newspapers. However, you can also find newspaper content in One Search and in the library's physical microfilm collection.

Chicago Defender, 1910 - 1975 This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond Chicago. This database offers downloadable PDFs from each issue in published for the entire run of the newspaper, from 1910 to 1975.
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 This link opens in a new window
The Pittsburgh Courier was an African-American weekly newspaper published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to the New York Times from 1851-2014.
Washington Post, 1877-2007 This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper founded in 1877. It is the largest newspaper published in Washington, D.C., and has a particular emphasis on national politics.
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers published by or for African Americans in 35 states from 1827 to 1998. Funded by the Dr. Gerald W. Walton Endowment.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

Primary Sources

NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
The NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century. This link opens in a new window
The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century includes primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries relating to the Civil Rights movement in the latter half of the twentieth century.

Library of Congress African American History Digital Collections
Digitized collections of papers held by the Library of Congress. Includes the Civil Rights History Project, the Rosa Parks Papers, Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories, and more.
Umbra Search
Use this to search and access thousands of items relating to African American history from more than 1000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.

Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman This link opens in a new window
Contains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items.
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
This collection contains extensive FBI documentation on Meredith?s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Presidential Recordings Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes, many of which address civil rights issues.

Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South
A selection of 100 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

Have Questions? Get Help!

Adam Clemons

Email Me

Contact:

662-915-7933

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

Demonstration in Hattiesburg, MS, on July 29, 1967. Photo from the Moncrief Collection, MDAH.

Government Documents

Government documents databases provide access to resources published by the federal government about civil rights issues.

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>

HST 424 / AAS 443: The Civil Rights Era: Library