POL 251: Introduction to Political Science Research Methods: Finding Sources

Unified discovery service that searches the library catalog, article databases, electronic resources, digital collections and more from one search box.

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.

Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Provides full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals in the field of political science, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.

Provides comprehensive coverage of law and law-related periodicals. Also contains historical trial records, important legal works from the 16th to the 20th centuries, treaties, and select government records, including the Congressional Record and the Federal Register.

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Spanning the late 1600s to the present, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

One of the world's largest repositories of social science data and documentation. Topics covered include sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.
Personal account required to download some datasets

Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.

UNdata provides access to a large amount of United Nations data.

Includes population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Provides access to billions of statistical datasets across 16 topical areas, including Business, Education, Health, Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement, Government and Politics, and more.