Search Guides

Political Science

Library Skills Learning Modules
These modules will help students learn about important library skills like narrowing a topic, developing keyword searches, news literacy and media bias, and information literacy and critical thinking.

Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.

Google Scholar
Searches across disciplines and journals to find academic sources. Includes sources that are available outside of the library.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Academic Journals

Political Science Complete
Provides full text, indexing, and abstracts for journals in the field of political science, including those of the International Political Science Association.
JSTOR

Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR.
HeinOnline
Provides comprehensive coverage of law and law-related periodicals. Also contains historical trial records, important legal works from the 16th to the 20th centuries, treaties, and select government records, including the Congressional Record and the Federal Register.
EconLit
Contains citations to economic literature with more than a million records from 1969-present.
GreenFILE
Index of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, offering a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.

Other Databases

CQ Researcher

Contains original, comprehensive reports and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is part of CQ Collections.
Latin American Intelligence Service
Full text analysis of political and economic developments in Latin America.
Presidential Recordings Digital Edition
Annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.
Nexis Uni
Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.
Washington Post, 1877-2008
The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper. It is the largest newspaper published in Washington, D.C. and has a particular emphasis on national politics.
New York Times, 2008-Present

The New York Times (NYT) is an internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. This database offers full text from each issue published between recent and recent. Current issues can be delayed up to three months.

Congressional Publications

Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.

Mississippi Members of Congress
Provides basic information on everyone who has represented the state in the U.S. Congress from 1801 to the present. The database includes years in office, congressional districts, committee memberships, and leadership positions

Congressional Serial Set

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress.

Creative Commons CC-BY-4.0 license logo

All original content on this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please attribute as: "Content from University of Mississippi Libraries."

Subjects: Political Science