Library Guides: Dietetics and Nutrition: Databases

Use Interlibrary Loan to get articles not available in our databases

Your Librarian

Michael Carelse

Search By Topic to Find Articles: Nutrition & Dietetics Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provides full text for articles from more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and results of the worlds best medical research studies. The Cochrane Reviews are provided in full text.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest repositories of social science data and documentation. Topics covered include sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.
Personal account required to download some datasets
MEDLINE (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's premier database in the life sciences, with a concentration in biomedicine.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Contains informationon dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed database contains more than 34 million citations and abstracts from the biomedical literature. PubMed facilitates searching across three National Library of Medicine resources: MEDLINE (includes Medical Subject Headings: MeSH), PubMed Central, and Bookshelf.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.

Helpful Websites for Nutrition Data

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Position Papers
Position papers produced by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
CDC
CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.
CDC Nutrition Resources for Health Professionals
CDC nutrition efforts support public health strategies and programs that improve dietary quality, support healthy child development, and reduce chronic disease.
USDA
USDA is responsible for providing a safety net for millions of Americans who are food-insecure and for developing and promoting dietary guidance based on scientific evidence. USDA works to increase food security and reduce hunger by providing children and low-income people access to food, a healthful diet and nutrition education in a way that supports American agriculture and inspires public confidence.
USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion
The USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
USDA Food and Nutrition Service
FNS works to end hunger and obesity through the administration of 15 federal nutrition assistance programs including WIC, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), and school meals. In partnership with State and Tribal governments, our programs serve one in four Americans during the course of a year. Working with our public, private and non-profit partners, our mission is to increase food security and reduce hunger by providing children and low-income people access to food, a healthful diet and nutrition education in a way that supports American agriculture and inspires public confidence. No American should have to go hungry.
WHO: Nutrition
This website compiles information produced by the World Health Organization that relates to nutrition.
Stop Googling Your Health Questions
Stop Googling your health questions. Use these sites instead. Article in Vox (2015).

Search Guides

Dietetics and Nutrition

Use Interlibrary Loan to get articles not available in our databases

Interlibrary Loan Logon

Your Librarian

Search By Topic to Find Articles: Nutrition & Dietetics Databases

Helpful Websites for Nutrition Data