Primary Sources

Official Record of the War of the Rebellion : a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Links to an online edition of the Record.
The Record is also available in the print in the J.D. Williams Library in government documents at W 45.4
Confederate Imprints (Microfilm)
143 reels. (Accompanying index entitled: A reel index to the microfilm collection of Confederate imprints, edited by Edward A. Reno, Jr. and Margaret M. Brezicki. Microforms E484.R45).

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 This link opens in a new window
Features works published between 1860 and 1922 addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. Includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.

Civil War Era Collections (more primary sources)

Civil War Archive – University of Mississippi
The University of Mississippi Civil War Archive provides a sampling of the Archives & Special Collections extensive Civil War primary source holdings. Pulling from various physical collections, these materials document troop movements, social conditions, battles, the home front and an extensive variety of topics.
Civil War in the American South
Links to digital content, including diaries, manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, broadsides, and other material held at over 30 major libraries in the South including the University of Mississippi.
Documenting the American South
Digital publishing initiative from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Library of Congress Civil War Collections
Digitized primary sources pertaining to the Civil War housed in the Library of Congress.
Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
Includes incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material from the 1850s through Lincoln's presidential years, 1860-65. Treasures include Lincoln's draft of the Emancipation Proclamation, his March 4, 1865, draft of his second Inaugural Address, and his August 23, 1864, memorandum expressing his expectation of being defeated for re-election in the upcoming presidential contest.
Ulysses S. Grant Papers
The digital collection consists of 31 volumes of The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, political cartoons, and sheet music from the larger collection. Other materials will be added to the digital collection as processing continues.
Letters, diaries, reminiscences, and manuscripts of New York soldiers & nurses
First-person accounts of Civil War participants from New York.
Virginia Military Academy Archives
Extensive digital collections focusing on VMI alumni in the Civil War and in particular on Stonewall Jackson.
Civil War Era Collections at Gettysburg College
Collection of primary sources from Gettysburg College.
The Crisis of the Union: Causes, Conduct and Consequences of the Civil War
Created by the Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image at the University of Pennsylvania, this collection contains pamphlets, books, broadsides, cartoons, clippings, paintings, maps, and other print memorabilia about America from circa 1830 to 1880.

Newspapers

New York Times, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (NYT) is an internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. This historical database offers downloadable PDF's from each issue published between 1851 and 2020.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from around the country from 1789-1943.
Early American Newspapers, Series 6 This link opens in a new window
Searches more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century American newspapers.
Civil War Collection, Part I: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle,1841-1902
Available via the Brooklyn Public Library.

Search Guides

LIBA 102 - Civil War in Virginia - Trott

Primary Sources

Civil War Era Collections (more primary sources)

Newspapers