Purpose
This guide is intended as a starting point for the novice researcher who is seeking high quality information related to Religion in general. Also see the guides for Abrahamic faiths, Biblical studies, and Eastern religions.
If you need more specific or in-depth advice, or if you have some questions about this guide, and you are faculty, staff or a student, contact Ask-A-Librarian.
General Religion Databases and Resources
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowCombines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with the American Theological Library Association's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
-
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to more than 1,200 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.
-
Religion CompassOnline journal covering the entire discipline of religious studies and publishing original, peer-reviewed, state-of-the-art surveys of current research. It helps you to navigate the field by laying out the territory and identifying the major issues.
-
Internet Sacred Text ArchiveFind texts relating to every major world religion, as well as many lesser known topics
-
Encyclopedia of ReligionOnline encyclopedia presenting a cross-cultural approach the emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture
