Library Guides: Digital Scholarship & Digital Humanities: Resources

Digital Scholarship Resources

Data Management is the process of validating, organizing, protecting, maintaining, and processing scientific data to ensure the accessibility, reliability, and quality of the data for its users (NIH).

Data Management LibGuide
The guide provides information related to data management, including DMP checklists, DMP rubric, links to data repositories, and more.
DMPTool
DMPTool is a free platform supported by the University of Mississippi Libraries that provides data management (sharing) plan templates for a wide range of agencies. Guidance via agency-specific questions/language help researchers build their plan.

Digital Humanities can be broadly defined as the application of digital tools to supplement and enhance traditional, analog humanities research.

PM4DH (Project Management for Digital Humanities)
PM4DH, developed by Emory Center for Digital Scholarship provides project management resources for digital projects.
LC Labs
LC Labs seeks to transform the Library of Congress through a variety of digital initiatives. Specifically of interest to digital humanists are the ongoing and previous experiments.

Datasets

The following list of data sources may be helpful as researchers develop digital scholarship projects.

Data.gov
Provides access to open U.S. government data
Dimensions
Via the front-end interface, Dimensions provides access to scholarship (e.g., articles, grants, data sets). UM Libraries can also work with researchers to use the Dimensions API to computationally extract information (e.g., bibliometrics-related projects).
LC Labs Data Sets
Machine-readable access to Library of Congress digital collections
NYC Open Data
Public data published by New York City agencies and partners
Sage Data
Formerly known as Data Planet, Sage Data provides a broad range of data that can be downloaded and integrated into projects.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer specializes in providing access to modern and historical census and demographic data.
Statista
Statista provides access to a broad range of data sets spanning multiple disciplines and industry sectors.

Developing Technical Skills

The Carpentries: Free, online foundational coding and data science instruction.

The Programming Historian: Publishes "novice-friendly, peer-reviewed tutorials that help humanists learn a wide range of digital tools, techniques, and workflows to facilitate research and teaching."

Python for Humanists: Open textbook teaching fundamental Python for humanities projects.

Python Tutorials for Digital Humanities is the accompanying YouTube channel.

R Learning Resources: Open access textbooks by Hadley Wickham.

Sage Campus: Supports the teaching and learning of tricky skills and research methods across all stages of academic study. These self-paced and instructor led courses cover the essential skills needed to thrive in academic study or research pursuits. Course topics include data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.