HST 498: Research Seminar in African History: UM Library Resources

The documents in Confidential Print: Africa begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa.

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.

This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.

The content in the Nineteenth Century Collections Online is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.

This module consists of two major series of records: CIA Research Reports from 1946-1976 and records collected by Raymond Murphy on Communism in China and Eastern Europe from 1917-1958. Beginning in 1946 with reports of the CIA’s predecessor, the Central Intelligence Group, CIA Research Reports reproduces over 1,500 reports on eight areas: Middle East; Soviet Union; Vietnam and Southeast Asia; China; Japan, Korea, and Asian security; Europe; Africa; and Latin America. This series deals with international questions and biographical reports, offering profiles of relatively unknown leaders. The Murphy Collection provides information on war recovery efforts, international aid, and the formation of countries and substantial information on the Chinese Communist Party.

Index of over 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world. [1900 - present]

Unified discovery service that searches the library catalog, article databases, electronic resources, digital collections and more from one search box.

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Full-text articles published in Africa from over 200 journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.

African Journals Online is the world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 266 of which are open access.
Please note: the University of Mississippi does not have a subscription to the content behind a paywall. To view a list of AJOL's Open Access journals click here

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.

Full text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences.