Library Guides: HST 550: Graduate Historical Methods: Library Collections

Contact Info

Assistant Professor, Scholar Support and Data Services

Email Me

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, African American Studies, History, International Studies, Military Science, Political Science, Public Policy Leadership

Books

InterLibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Logon - Use ILL to request material not available from the University of Mississippi Libraries.

JSTOR
Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
America: History & Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Project Muse
Full text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Academic Search Premier
A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text access to more than 1,200 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.

Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.

More Sources

The following resources are intended to serve as a representative sample of the library's collections. I have also included additional research strategies for finding more sources, for both secondary and primary sources.

For a more extensive list of digital resources, see the history research guides for the following areas:

United States History: https://guides.lib.olemiss.edu/USHistory

European History: https://guides.lib.olemiss.edu/european_history

World History: https://guides.lib.olemiss.edu/world_history

Find more topics on the library's Research Guides page: https://guides.lib.olemiss.edu/?b=s

Primary Sources

Digital Collections
Digital Newspapers

Ancestry.com Library Edition
Ancestry.com Library Edition provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos, plus local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century includes primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries relating to the Civil Rights movement in the latter half of the twentieth century.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index ? the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.
Defining Gender
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Contains English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set.
Everyday Life & Women in America, c.1800-1920
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
The content in the Nineteenth Century Collections Online is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Struggle for Women's Rights: Organizational Records, 1880-1990
As the movement for women’s suffrage in America was accelerating, the National Woman’s Party (NWP) brought to the campaign a new militancy and daring. Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the NWP was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA in dissent over strategy and tactics.
Vogue Archive
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Women and Social Movements: International, 1840-Present
This digital archive includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century.

Black Historical Newspaper Collection
This historical newspaper collection, covering 1893-2005, provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. This collection includes: The Baltimore Afro-American, Cleveland Call and Post, Lost Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, and the Philadelphia Tribune.
Guardian, 1791-2003
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries. From Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.
Japan Times Archives
Provides access to searchable English-language articles covering over a century of Japanese history from 1897-2015.
Los Angeles Times
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time and covers 1881-2016.
Newspapers.com Worldwide Library Edition
Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
New York Times, 1851-2020
The New York Times (NYT) is an internationally recognized daily newspaper founded in 1851 and distributed throughout the United States. This historical database offers downloadable PDF's from each issue published between 1851 and 2020.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
Times of India, 1838-2012
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
Washington Post, 1877-2008
The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper founded in 1877. It is the largest newspaper published in Washington, D.C., and has a particular emphasis on national politics.

HST 550: Graduate Historical Methods: Library Collections