Gaye Adegbalola. Gaye Without Shame (Fredericksburg, VA: Hot Toddy Music, 2008). CD recording includes LGBTQ songs such as "Queer Blues" and "Hetero Twinges." Call Number: Hot Toddy HTMCD 2120.
AC/DC Blues (New York: Stash Records, 1977). Part of the "Gay Jazz Reissues series," this LP album includes songs referencing homosexuality such as "Sissy Man Blues" as well as an interview with blues singer Ruby Smith. Call Number: Stash ST 106.
Bad News Barnes & the Brethren of Blues Band. 90 Proof Truth ([Flaming Saddles Records]: [2015]). CD recording includes the song "Post Op Transgender." Call Number: Flaming Saddles 2015.
Flaming Lips. Transmissions from the Satellite Heart (New York: Warner Bros., 1993). LP record with song "Pilot Can at the Queer of God." Call Number: Warner Bros. 9 45-334-1.
Henry Mancini and Leslie Bricusse. Blake Edwards' Victor/Victoria: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (New York: MGM Records, 1982). The film is about a woman playing a man who is hired as a female impersonator at a French nightclub in 1934. Call Number: MGM MG 1 5407.
Fantastic Negrito. Please Don't Be Dead (London: Cooking Vinyl, [2018]). LP recording includes songs "Transgender Bisquits." Call Number: Cooking Vinyl COOKLP705.
Nico Wayne Toussaint. Transgender ([France]: Dixiefrog, 2002). Call Number: Dixiefrog DFGCD 8539.
T. Valentine. Hello Lucille Are You a Lesbian? / Betty Sue (VAL Records, 19--). 45rpm record. Call Number: LBC 05580 Bx. 33.
Douglas Harrison. Then Sings My Soul: The Culture of Southern Gospel Music (Urbana: University of Illiinois Press, 2012). Includes chapter "Southern Gospel in the Key of Queer." Call Number: ML3187 H39 2012.
Eileen M. Hayes. Songs in Black and Lavender: Race, Sexual Politics, and Women's Music ( Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2010). Includes chapter "Redistricting: Gay and Black Outdoors." Call Number: ML82 H42 2010.
Anthony Heilbut. The Fan Who Knew Too Much: Aretha Franklin, the Rise of Soap Opera, Children of the Gospel Church and Other Meditations (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2012). This exploration of American culture covers the subject of outing gay church members. Call Number: E169.12 H435 2012.
Jackie Kay. Bessie Smith (New York: Absolute, 1997). The Outlines series focuses "on leading gay and lesbian writers and creative artists." Call Number: ML420.S667 K39 1997.
Sandra Lieb. Mother of the Blues : a Study of Ma Rainey (Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1981). Partially explores elements of lesbianism and bisexuality in Ma Rainey's life and music. Call Number: ML420.R274 L5.
Portia K. Maultsby and Mellonee V. Burnim, eds. Issues in African American Music: Power, Gender, Race, Representation (New York: Routledge, 2017). Includes the chapter "Are All the Choir Directors Gay?: Black Men's Sexuality and Identity in Gospel Performance." Call Number: ML3556 I87 2017.
Denise Sullivan. Keep on Pushing: Black Power from Blues to Hip-Hop (Chicago: Lawrence Hill Books, 2011). Includes chapter "Move on Over: Women's and Gay Liberation and the Punky Reggae Disco Party." Call Number: ML3556 S94 2011a.
Bayou Maharajah (Cadiz Recording Company, [2016]). DVD recording of documentary on New Orleans gay piano legend James Booker. Call Number: ML417 B66 B39 2016.
T'aint Nobody's Bizness: Queer Blues Divas of the 1920s (2013). DVD documentary. Call Number: in process.
Similarly, the Blues Archives possesses books and recordings by LGBTQ Blues musicians. To locate these materials, researchers should conduct an advanced catalog search of the library catalog using the musicians's name as a keyword and limiting the location to "Special Collections -- Blues."
Examples of LGBTQ Blues musicians include:
