Library Guides: Biology: Biology Databases

Library databases for searching the biology literature

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Includes more than 4.8 million citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical/life, physical and social sciences.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full-text of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Dissertations & Theses: University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy resources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive geosciences database produced by the American Geological Institute containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
JoVE Unlimited: Video Journal This link opens in a new window
JoVE Unlimited Video Journal is the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal which publishes experimental techniques in a visual format.
MarinLit This link opens in a new window
MarinLit is a database of marine natural products literature. MarinLit allows researchers to search over 32,000 compounds across over 34,000 articles.
MEDLINE (via Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's premier database in the life sciences, with a concentration in biomedicine.
MEDLINE (via PubMed) This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's premier database in the life sciences, with a concentration in biomedicine
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Contains free PDF versions of more than 4,000 reports on a variety of topics from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Contains informationon dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier and most expansive database for searching psychological literature. Includes over 4 million records. Provided via the American Psychological Association.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed database contains more than 34 million citations and abstracts from the biomedical literature. PubMed facilitates searching across three National Library of Medicine resources: MEDLINE (includes Medical Subject Headings: MeSH), PubMed Central, and Bookshelf.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
Science.Gov This link opens in a new window
Searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database from Elsevier that provides abstract and full text access to more than 2500 journals from several publishers. It includes more than 9 million full text articles covering a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities. Scopus does not test or support Mac/IoS Devices. Scopus recommends IE 8 or higher, Chrome or Firefox.