ANTH 407/ANTH 609: Seminar in Research Design, Methodology & Ethnography: Home

Archives and Special Collections
J.D. Williams Library
P.O. Box 1848
University MS, 38655

Phone: (662) 915-1595
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu

For This Class, Your Archivist Contact Is

Dr. Leigh McWhite (Political Papers Archivist & Associate Professor)

Email:  slmcwhit@olemiss.edu

If you are looking for primary sources, consider conducting the following searches to locate potentially useful material among the collections of the Archives & Special Collections:

• Go to the Subject Guides page for a list of all subject guides.  Focusing on a specific theme, subject guides provide brief descriptions and links to related collections and other material.
• Go the Archives & Special Collection home page and enter keyword terms into the custom Google search box after selecting "Finding Aids."  This search will provide you with a list of all collection finding aids which include your keyword terms.
• Conduct a library catalog advanced keyword search.  Limit the "Location" to "Special Collections."  Consider using the "Within" box to refine your search by years.
• Check out the Archives & Special Collections:  Digital Collections page on eGROVE.    Use the search bar on the left side of the page to search keywords across all the digital collections, or browse through collections by clicking on their links.
• Ask an Archivist for assistance!!!

• Finding Aids
• Subject Guides
• Digital Collections
• Catalog (for publications)

• Google search (see side bar for tips)
• Archive Grid 
• Worldcat
• Digital Libraries and Archives Listing
• SNAC Social Networks and Archival Context
• ArchiveFinder (a subscription database)
• Regional and state-level databases focused on archives
• Identify archives in a significant locale for your subject and examine their holdings via their website
• Footnotes in secondary sources
• Ask a specialist scholar in field for suggestions
• Ask your local archivist for assistance
• Be aware of the different types of archives:  religious, business, university, and government

• What are the rules?
• What days and hours are the archives open?  Check for holidays during intended visits when the archives might be closed.
• What are the policies on duplication?  What are the costs?
• Do I need to request collections or boxes in advance?
• Where do I park and are there fees?
• Does your institution offer research travel grants?
• What else on my topic is available?  Provide a brief paragraph or two outlining the scope of your research subject.
• Consider the amount of time you have to spend at that archive and prioritize one’s research before arrival.  Examine finding aids carefully.  Make a list of collections, boxes, folders, (even items, if possible).  Bookmark or keep track of links to relevant finding aids and other resources that you intend to use in case there is confusion about your request.

• Photo ID
• Mechanical pencils
• Paper
• Battery chargers and cords if planning to take a laptop or other equipment requiring power -- electrical outlets may be limited or unavailable to researchers
• Coins or one dollar bills for photocopies
• Sweater or sweatshirt as many archives try to maintain a cool environment
• Prioritized list of all collection material you intend to review

Citing collection material requires you to gather a different set of information about your source than what is required for publications.  While researching, keep track of the location of material from which you take notes or make copies.  The following information is essential and should be formatted according to your chosen style manual:

• Title or brief description of item
• Name of collection
• Box number and folder number/name (or unique identifier if consulting a digital collection)
• Name of archival repository
• Name of institution