Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agriculture and Forestry (Archives): Manuscript Collections

Manuscript Collections A-H

Thomas G. Abernethy Collection.  1924-1975. Thomas G. Abernethy served in the U.S. House of Representatives between 1943 and 1973.  When he retired from public office, he had the third highest seniority on the Agriculture Committee, chaired its Cotton Subcommittee, and served on its Department Operations Subcommittee (454 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Jennie and Lucia Adams Collection.  1845-1944. Family papers of the owners of Cedar Mount Plantation near Clarksdale, Mississippi.  Correspondence, financial, and legal documents (13 boxes).

Samuel Agnew Diary.  1851-1902. Photocopies of Samuel Agnew's diary recording daily events in the life of this minister, teacher, and farmer of Tippah and Lee counties of Mississippi (23 boxes).

Aldrich Collection.  1840-1940. Correspondence and business papers of family who settled in northeastern Mississippi around Lamar and Davis Mills.  Topics include raising cotton and cattle (25 boxes).

Andrew Brown & Son / R.F. Learned Lumber Company Collection.  1837-1974. Correspondence, business records, account ledgers, photographs, and other material related to the firm of Andrew Brown & Son Lumber Company in Natchez, Mississippi (later R.F. Learned Company).  Includes related business enterprises including Learned Plantations spanning the years 1875-1957 (117 boxes & 611 ledgers and journals).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Audubon Mississippi/Strawberry Plains Finley Collection 1830-2008. Correspondence, documents, photographs, ledgers, and other material related to the Finely and Davis families associated with Strawberry Plains Plantation in Marshall County, Mississippi (29 boxes).

Jeff Balfour Collection 1949-1999.  Includes a manuscript on Mississippi National Forests; a 1987 Neshoba County Fair program; and typed manuscript on Kossuth Agricultural High School in the 1930s and Lamar County, Mississippi (4 boxes).

Batson & Hatten Lumber Company Collection.  Unprocessed.  (14 boxes + ledgers).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Beckwith/Yerger Collection.  1869-1930. Includes correspondence and records from the Beckwith family associated with some of the first land irrigation projects in California, including the Woodbridge Canal & Irrigation Company and the Sacramento Canal Company.  Also includes papers of the Yerger family from Greenwood, Mississippi (7 boxes).

Blanton-Smith Collection.  1844-1988. Correspondence of the Blanton family who owned plantations in Washington County, Mississippi (2 boxes & 2 binders).

Business Ledger.  1897-1900. Unnamed Mississippi business includes description of cotton sales (1 box).

Roane Fleming Byrnes Collection.  1854-1937. Correspondence and other material related to the Fleming and Byrnes families of Natchez, Mississippi.  Roane Fleming Byrne ran a 1,600 acre plantation in Beverly, Mississippi that she inherited from her father in 1932 (46 boxes). 

S.H. Clark Papers.  1855-1873. Business papers of an Attalaville, Mississippi planter.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1978-7 (Folders 4 through 7).

Cliff Williams Machine Company Envelope.  Business envelope for a Meridian, Mississippi company with letterhead "We Build Best 4-6-8-Wheel Log and Lumber Wagons, Carts, Go-Devils on Earth of Elsewhere.  Will sell you a complete portable saw mill Rig and take pay in lumber."  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1994-1 (Folder 1).

David L. Cohn Collection.  1937-1961. A Mississippian, David L. Cohn wrote a number of books, including memoirs and The Life and Times of King Cotton.  Includes folder on the National Cotton Council (Box 1, Folder 17); Reviews of The Life and Times of King Cotton (Box 5, Folder 6); articles and lectures on cotton (Box 8); article "Farmers of the South, Midwest Urged to Unite..." (Box 9, Folder 7); article "Share-Cropping in the Delta" (Box 11, Folder 23); article "White Shadow over Dixie:  Too Much Cotton" (Box 12, Folder 29); and manuscript drafts of The Life and Times of King Cotton (Boxes 15 & 16) (25 boxes).

J.P. Coleman Collection.  1965-1985. Judicial records of J.P. Coleman from his time on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (1965-1984).  Includes several cases related to the Department of Agriculture (79 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Ross A. Collins Collection 1913-1940s. Ross A. Collins served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1921-1935 and 1937-1943.  Scrapbook album includes an inscribed photograph of U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Claude R. Wickard (Page 7).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Copiah County Field Notes 1881-1882. Journal containing a surveyor's notes on Copiah County, Mississippi (1 box).

Cotton Collection.  1937-1951. Assorted articles and publications about cotton growing, manufacturing, and sales (1 box).

Cotton Record Books.  1959-1965. Six ledgers with crop records for the Bend Plantation in Swan Lake, Mississippi.  Ledgers "compliments of Union Compress & Warehouse Co., Greenwood, Miss."  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2003-1 (Folder 12).

A. Eugene Cox Papers.  1953-1968. Material related to agricultural workers in the South and the Delta Cooperative Farm.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1976-3 (Folders 7 & 8).

Craft/Fort Family Letters. 1840-1878. Transcribed correspondence related to the Craft family of Mississippi.  Includes agricultural content (1 box).

Crosby/Gammill Collection.  1917-1990s.  Correspondence, documents, and images related to the Crosby and Gammill families of South Mississippi involved in the lumber industry and the Crosby Arboretum (40 boxes).

Martin J. Dain Collection 1961-1963. Photographs of Lafayette County, Mississippi and author William Faulkner by noted New York photographer Martin J. Dain (7 boxes).

L.N. Dantzler Lumber Company Collection 1894-1948.   Correspondence, financial and legal papers, and ledgers associated with a Mississippi lumber company in the Moss Point and Pascagoula area which developed into one of the largest lumber manufacturers in the South (62 boxes and 336 ledgers).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Joseph E. Davis Collection.  1865-1869. Papers related to the Mississippi plantations of Joseph E. Davis, brother of Jefferson Davis.  Includes papers documenting relations with Benjamin Montgomery (former slave and overseer) and tenants after the Civil War (3 boxes).

Charles Nunnally Dean Jr. Collection.  1837-1930. Correspondence, legal documents, and other material related to the Dean family of Marshall County, Mississippi.  Boxes 18 and 19 includes ledgers:  a plantation expense ledger from 1956-1958; a 1963 plantation store ledger; an undated plantation crop ledger; a sharecropper ledger from 1906-1917; a store ledger from 1908-1914; and a personal estate valuation ledger for C.N. Dean circa 1930.  Finding aid available in Special Collections (32 boxes).

Deermound Plantation Collection. 1909-1973. Financial and business records of a twentieth-century cotton plantation and Deermound Cooperative Gin in Minter City, Mississippi.  Finding aid available in Special Collections (45 boxes).

"Destroy All Cotton" Broadside.  1862.  Civil War broadside "Destroy All Cotton" by C.G. Dahlgren. Location:  Small Manuscripts Broadsheets & Broadsides (Folder 27).

J.G. Deupree Clippings.  1866-1867. Newspaper clippings of letters written by J.G. Deupree, a University of Mississippi professor.  Includes the topic of agriculture.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1978-1 (Folder 30).

Dillard & Coffin Co. Report.  1908.  Government Ginners Report completed by Dillard & Coffin Co. Cotton Factors in Memphis, Tennessee.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1997-1 (Folder 5).

Dodge's Perfect Plow.  1868.  Advertisement and testimonials.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1978-1 (Folder 26).

I.W. Duggan Speech.  1942.  Speech by I.W. Duggan at the University of Mississippi on "Agriculture and the War."  Location:  University Small Manuscripts Box 44 Folder 6.

James O. Eastland Collection.  1930-1978. James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate briefly in 1941 and then from 1943 to 1978.  At his retirement, he was the second highest ranking Democrat on the Agriculture Committee and chaired its Environment, Soil Conservation, & Forestry Subcommittee.  Eastland also served on the following subcommittees:  Agricultural Production, Marketing, & Stabilization; Agricultural Research & General Legislation; and Rural Development.  His support for agricultural subsidies earned him a reputation as a friend of the farmer.  In addition to congressional files, the collection also includes Eastland's personal records related to his 2,300-acre plantation in the Mississippi Delta (1,800 linear feet).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection.  1834-1987. Correspondence, diaries, ledgers, and documents related to several families of North Mississippi and Tennessee (35 boxes).

Ellisville Lumber Company Postcards.  1946.  Three postcards with images depicting the Ellisville Lumber Co.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2000-1 (Folder 7).

Farm Security Administration Collection 1935-1945. Mississippi images captured by the Farm Security Administration during the Great Depression (2 boxes).

Farmers Almanac.  1864.  Published by A.L. Scovill & Co.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1978-2 (Folder 17).

Fernwood Industries Collection.  1893-1971.  Records, correspondence, and ledgers related to the Fernwood Lumber Company, the Fernwood Columbia & Gulf Railroad Company, and the Bonhomie & Hattiesburg Southern Railroad Company.  Finding aid available in Special Collections (94 boxes & ledgers). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Eugene B. Ferris Collection 1826-1984. Correspondence, memoirs, and other material related to Eugene B. Ferris (1873-1954) who was an early agricultural experiment station superintendent in Mississippi and studied soils (4 boxes).

Tim Ford Collection.  1987-1996. Correspondence of Tim Ford from his tenure as Speaker of the House in the Mississippi Legislature.  Includes correspondence related to the farm credit system in 1990 (4 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Porter L. Fortune Collection.  1935-1989. Papers of Porter L. Fortune, Chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1968 to 1984.  Includes file on Crosby Arboretum (Box 25); U.S. Forestry, 1955- (Box 78); and Soil Sedimentation Testing Laboratory (Box 81) (208 boxes).

Carroll Gartin Collection 1941-1966. Papers of Carroll Gartin, elected three times as Lieutenant Governor of Mississippi (1952-56, 1956-60, 1964-66).  Includes subject files on agriculture and forestry (31 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Roxana Chapin Gerdine Collection.  1858-1892. Letters and papers of Roxana Chapin Gerdine who lived on a cotton plantation with her husband in West Point, Mississippi (3 boxes).

Graduating/Senior Theses Collection.  1858-1937. Theses of seniors and graduates at the University of Mississippi.  Includes agricultural topics (8 boxes).

H. Weston Lumber Company Collection.  1841-1956. The H. Weston Lumber Company originated from operations along the Pearl River in Mississippi and grew to timber holdings in Mexico, Oregon, and British Columbia (116 boxes and 388+ ledgers).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Carolyn Haines Collection 1985-2003. Includes negatives by Carolyn Haines during her years as a photojournalist for Mississippi and Alabama newspapers.  Subjects include watermelon festivals, Tyner cucumber, and Ceres farm (9 boxes).

Fannie Lou Hamer Collection.  1965-1978.  Mainly business records related to various organizations in which former sharecropper and Mississippi civil rights activist Fannie Lou Hamer was involved, including the Freedom Farm Cooperative (4 boxes).

Hardwood Manufacturers Institute / Southern Hardwood Producers, Inc. Collection.  1929-1951. The Hardwood Manufacturers Institute was established in 1922 and eventually became the administrative agency for the hardwood industry under the National Recovery Act in 1933 until it was declared unconstitutional in 1935 and disbanded.  The Southern Hardwood Producers formed in 1935 and provided members with trade promotion, public relations, research, and statistics (23 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Pat Harrison Collection.  1883-1943. Pat Harrison represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives (1911-1919) and in the U.S. Senate (1919-1941).  He served on the Senate Agriculture & Forestry Committee from 1919 to 1925 (116 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Thomas Henderson & Company Ledgers. 1847-1848 & 1861-1862. Cotton factor/merchants from Natchez, Mississippi. 1 box.

Nollie Hickman Collection Circa 1962.  Manuscript and publicity related to Nollie Hickman's book Mississippi Harvest:  Lumbering in the Longleaf Pine Belt, 1840-1915 (1 box).

Nollie Hickman Interview.  1984.  Transcript of interview with Nollie Hickman.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1985-1 (Folder 2).

E.W. Hilgard Collection.  1856-1861. Eugene W. Hilgard was State Geologist of Mississippi from 1858-1873 and a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Mississippi.  He is considered the father of modern soil science.  Transcription of original letters owned by University of California, Berkeley (1 box).

E.W. Hilgard Field Notes.  1859.  Handwritten field notes of geological and agricultural survey of many Mississippi counties.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1997-1 (Folder 23).

Daniel Holland Ledger.  1837-1865. Second portion of this plantation concerns a Madison County, Mississippi plantation store with freedmen's accounts (1 box).

Manuscript Collections I-N

Ichauway Plantation Documentary Project Collection.  Brochures, correspondence, interview transcriptions, photographs, publications, and research items related to the Ichauway Plantation-Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center in Newton, Georgia and the University of Mississippi's Center for the Study of Southern Culture folkways survey that occurred there in the 1990s (3.5 boxes).

J.B. Glen Real Estate Broadsheet. 1886.  "J.B. Glenn, Real Estate Agent for the Sale of Improved and Unimproved Lands, in Clay and Adjoining Counties" with extensive discussion on Clay County real estate.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2003-1 (Folder 8).

J.J. Newman Lumber Company Collection.  Unprocessed (6 boxes).

John F. Johnson Collection.  1849-1911. Journals and accounts of John F. Johnson, a farmer in Greensboro, Mississippi.  Includes minutes of the Ebenezer Agricultural Relief No. 102 (4 boxes).

Jennie Johnson Collection.  1885-1888. Letters from Huntington Station in Bolivar County, Mississippi discussing business and crops.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2008-1 (Folders 1 through 8).

Governor Sam Jones Speech.  1946.  Speech of Louisiana Governor Sam Jones before the National Farm Loan Association in Biloxi, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1995-3 (Folder 16).

King and Anderson Plantation Collection 1882-1982.  Seventeen ledgers detailing operating expenses of the King and Anderson Plantation (17,000 acres near Clarksdale, Mississippi) and one ledger for the Yazoo Delta Mortgage Company (18 ledgers).

L.P. Yerger Lumber Company Collection.  Unprocessed (68 boxes + ledgers).

Lafayette County Grange By-Laws.  1874.  Handwritten by-laws of Lafayette County Grange no. 10 of Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1997-1 (Folder 22).

Lafayette County Records Various county records for Lafayette County, Mississippi including land rolls and real estate assessments (1 box & 135 volumes).

Landry-Hume Collection 1780s-1871. Correspondence, plantations ledgers, and financial records of the Farar, Ellis, Mercer, and Rapalje families of Adams County, Mississippi (12 boxes).

League of Women Voters of Mississippi Collection 1946-2001. Includes a file "Mississippi Agriculture, 1982-1988" (Box 20, Folder 3).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

LeFlore County Ledger.  1889.  Ledger assessing lands in Leflore County, Mississippi "District No. 5."  Includes land boundaries, land owners, and divisions of sections.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1994-3 (Folder 4).

Livestock Show Programs.  1940-1952.  Programs from Central Mississippi Fair, Livestock and State Dairy Show (1952) in Kosciusko; two programs from Attala County Farm and Community Development Program meetings (1953); and a souvenir catalog from "Sixth Annual Northwest Mississippi Fair and Horse Show" in Como, Mississippi (1940).  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1995-4 (Folder 17).

Mary Clay Lloyd Collection 1800s-1980.  Articles, manuscripts, and other material related to the Clay family of Demopolis, Alabama and surrounding areas (including Mathew Clay known as the "Alfalfa King" of Alabama) (1 box).

Locust Grove Plantation Slave Ledger.  1825-1845. Ledger for Locust Grove Plantation in Jefferson County, Mississippi.  Includes cotton harvest data and vital statistics of the slaves (1 box).

Ray and Ellie Lum Collection.  1943-1963. Business records of Ray Lum who owned a horse and mule trading business in Vicksburg, Mississippi and his wife Ellie Lum who ran a real estate business (12 boxes).

"Lumbermen's Excursion" Broadside.  1883.  Broadside advertising "Lumbermen's Excursion to Jackson, Miss. via the Illinois Central Railroad."  Location:  Small Manuscripts Broadsheets and Broadsides (Folder 28).

Map Collection.  1687-1998. Primarily maps of Mississippi (296 items).

McAlexander/Marshall County Collection. 1838-2009. Material related to the history of Holly Springs and Marshall County, Mississippi.  Includes information about surrounding plantations (24 boxes).

Andrew McCrery Ledger. The first portion of the ledger dates from 1813-1814 and includes the accounts for McCrery's two Adams County, Mississippi plantations, a general store, and a medical practice. The second section dates from 1865 and tracks the cotton production of freedmen on a plantation.

George McLean Collection.  1947-1982. Owner-publisher of the Tupelo Journal, George McLean was a proponent of community development in Tupelo and Lee County, Mississippi.  He was named Progressive Farmer's Man of the Year in Mississippi agriculture in 1948.  Includes correspondence and speeches on agriculture (16 boxes).

Memories of Mississippi Essay Collection 1994.  First-person essays about life in Mississippi during the Great Depression.  Includes accounts about farm life (1 box).

Mississippi Agricultural and Industry Board Publications.  Thirty-nine publicity releases by the Mississippi Agricultural and Industry Board in the early to mid-twentieth century.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1995-7 (Folders 1 through 39).

Mississippi Cash Farm Statements.  1946-53. Typed forms from the Research Department of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis reporting monthly incomes of Mississippi cash farms.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1995-1 (Folder 27).

Mississippi Conservation & Recreation Collection.  1938-1984. Assorted material related to conservation and recreation in the state of Mississippi (2 boxes).

Mississippi Forestry Collection.  1920-1976. Miscellaneous material related to forestry in Mississippi (1 box).

Mississippi Periodicals Collection.  1921-1982. Assorted periodicals published in Mississippi or with articles about Mississippi.  Includes agricultural subject matter (6 boxes).

Mississippi Politics Collection 1908-2011. Includes various speeches and publication by Mississippi politicians on the subject of agriculture and forestry (4 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Mississippi State Fair Letter.  1958.  Invitation to state legislators to attend the fair.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1994-1 (Folder 24).

Mississippi State Fair Letter.  1914.  Letter regarding cattle classes at the Mississippi State Fair and on State Fair letterhead.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2005-1 (Folder 20).

Mitchell Family Marshall County Collection.  Includes 7 farm ledgers on crop production for R.L. Mitchell in Marshall County, Mississippi dating from 1942 to 1984.  Also, 1959 certificate for Mitchell's tree farm from the Mississippi Forestry Association (7 boxes).

Nash & Taggart Collection.  2004-2007. Audio recordings of oral histories conducted by Jere Nash and Andy Taggart for their book Mississippi Politics:  The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006.  Includes an interview with Mike Espy, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture 1993-94.  Recordings available as a digital collection.

North Mississippi/North Alabama Fair Fan.  1925.  Fan advertising the North Mississippi/North Alabama Fair in Tupelo, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1998-1 (Folder 10).

Notice of Sale of Land & Negroes.  1837.  Photocopy of notice of sale of land, slaves, and farm stock northeast of Oxford, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1979-4 (Folder 10).

Manuscript Collections O-Z

Edwin Bennett Ogden Jr. Collection.  Material related to the life of Edwin Bennett Ogden Jr. who moved to Cuba in in the 1920s to join the family merchandise firm which specialized in food products from various countries.  In the 1940s, rice became one of the firm's major products.  After the Cuban Revolution, Ogden and his family returned to Natchez, Mississippi where they continued their business and expanded into cattle farming (21 boxes).

Pearl River County Timber Project Collection.  1900-1950. Correspondence, legal and business records of several lumber companies in Pearl River County, Mississippi.  Unprocessed (6 boxes).

Charles J. Pettibone Collection.  1921-1958. Correspondence, manuscript, and various material related to the life of Charles J. Pettibone who worked for a time in the lumber industry (1 box).

Ernest W. Pettis Collection.  1920-1945. Includes legal documents related to the Estes Lumber Company and the Elton Lumber Company (1 box).

Colonel Erasmus Ford Potts Papers.  1850s. Handwritten pages concerning Erasmus Ford Potts' land holdings; Holly Springs, Mississippi; and Hickory Flat Turnpike.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2001-2 (Folder 8).

Zenos Preston Diary.  1844-1847. Typescript of diary of Zenos Preston, a Natchez, Mississippi plantation owner.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 2001-2 (Folder 25).

The Progressive Farmer Collection.  1950-1973. Contains fiction and nonfiction manuscripts that appeared in the magazine The Progressive Farmer.  Also includes correspondence and other items related to the production of the journal (3 boxes).

Prospect Hill Plantation Collection.  1873-1917. Personal and business correspondence as well as tenant contracts of Prospect Hill Plantation in Jefferson County, Mississippi (1 box).

Race Relations Collection.  1885-2004.  Includes a typed mimeographed manuscript "Subsidies for the Wealthy -- July 1968" about farm subsidies for wealthy plantations in Sunflower County, Mississippi and the Poor People's March on Washington (Box 9, Folder 25) (8 boxes).

Ann Rayburn Collection of Paper Americana.  1885-1997. Includes postcards with Mississippi agricultural scenes, advertisement cards for agricultural equipment and products, and two boxes with postcards specifically on logging.  In addition, numerous boxes with popular sheet music, many with references to agricultural subject matter (84 boxes & 35 binders).

D.G.W. Ricketts Collection.  1917-1966. Correspondence, maps, publications, and manuscript of D.G.W. Ricketts, a land surveyor in Mississippi and Louisiana (3 boxes).

Robb Farm Journals.  1839-1840. Photocopies of ledger entries for a Mississippi plantation recording cotton harvest by individual slaves as well as notes on produce, purchases, and activities.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1993-2 (Folders 20 through 23).

Mrs. A.B. Robinson Plantation Ledger.  1871-1876. Albin Place Plantation in Tallahatchie, Mississippi.  1 box.

Lamont Rowland Collection.  1903-1950s. Business correspondence, scrapbooks, and photographs of Lamont Rowlands, an early support of the tung oil industry in Mississippi.  Includes material related to his timber business as well (30 boxes).

Seed Cotton Ledger.  Circa 1909.  1 box.

James W. Silver Collection.  1928-1986. James W. Silver was a University of Mississippi history professor from 1936 to 1964.  Includes a 1965 report on the Delta Farm Strike (Box 1, Folder 3); a file on the Forest History Foundation in 1957 (Box 23, Folder 4).  Boxes 2 and 4 contain Silver's notes on the lumber industry (50 boxes).

Calvin R. Simmons Collection.  Includes invitations and programs related to commencements at the Tippah County Agricultural High School and the DeSoto County Agricultural High School in the early 1930s (Boxes 8 & 11) (24 boxes).

Sketches on My Plantation.  1915.  Book by H.A. McGusty published in Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1978-1 (Folder 31).

Southern Tenant Farmers Union Material.  Partial transcript from film "Our Land Too"; photocopy of letter to H.L. Mitchell, author of Roll the Union On:  A Pictorial History of the Southern Tenant Farmers Union; and a photocopied review of the book.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1995-3 (Folder 12).

St. Michael's Farm for Boys.  1958.  Newsletter issue for St. Michael's Farm for Boys in Picayune, Mississippi.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1995-1 (Folder 1).

State Documents Vertical Files.  1961-2009. Includes publications by the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce (Folder 9); the Mississippi Forestry Commission (Folder 25); the Mississippi State Fair Commission (Folder 33); and Mississippi State University Extension Service (Folder 36) (1 box).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

Martha Alice Stewart:  Time on Parchman Farm Collection.  1926-1939. Documents and photographs related to the Mississippi State Penitentiary (2 boxes).

Alfred H. Stone Collection.  1786-1943. Materials collected by Alfred Holt Stone (1870-1955), a Mississippi lawyer and cotton planter interested in the history of slavery and race.

Alfred H. Stone Papers.  Includes several papers written by Alfred H. Stone (1870-1955) on slavery and one entitled "A South Carolina Rice Plantation.  Also, pamphlets and correspondence regarding the Farm Credit Administration.  Location:  Small Manuscripts 1976-7 (Folders 15 through 27).

S.G. Thigpen Collection.  1890-1970. Includes recordings of S.G. Thigpen's Sunday Radio programs about the local history of Pearl River County, Mississippi which includes agricultural subjects.  Photographs of 1925 Picayune Peach Festival, Tung Tree Groves, and strawberry and potato fields (Box 5) (3 boxes & 2 scrapbooks).

Vertical File Folders.  Newspaper and journal clippings on various Mississippi subjects, including the Agricultural & Industrial Board, Agriculture, Cotton, Forests and Forestry, Poultry, Soil Conservation, and Tung Oil. 

Hilton Waits Collection 1823-1964. Hilton Waits (1898-1964) was a lawyer in Leland, Mississippi.  Among the files from his law practice is material related to local plantations, farms, and lumber companies (23 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

E.C. Walthall Collection.  1834-1924. E.C. Walthall represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate from 1885 to 1894 and from 1895 to 1898.  Correspondence, speeches and clippings on agricultural topics (1 box).

Jamie L. Whitten Collection 1941-1995. Jamie L. Whitten represented north Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1941 to 1995.  He became chair of the Agriculture Subcommittee in the Appropriations Committee in 1950 and eventually became chair of the committee itself (1,971 linear feet).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

William M. Whittington Collection.  1897-1962. William M. Whittington represented north Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1925 to 1951.  He chaired the Committee on Flood Control (1937-1946) which allowed him to respond to the demands of Mississippi Delta farmers to control the Mississippi River.  Includes files on agriculture and forestry (316 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.

J.D. Williams Collection.  1901-1978. Records of John Davis Williams, Chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1946 to 1968.  Includes a file "Southern Forest Experiment Station, 1955-1971" (Box 34, Folder 3) (34 boxes).

John Sharp Williams Collection.  1862-1943. Research and original material accumulated by John Sharp Williams' biographer George Coleman Osborne.  John Sharp Williams represented the Mississippi Delta in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1893 to 1908 and Mississippi in the U.S. Senate from 1911 to 1923.  Also includes material on James Kimble Vardaman who was Governor of Mississippi from 1904 to 1908 and a member of the U.S. Senate from 1913 to 1919.  Includes correspondence and clippings on agriculture (11 boxes).  Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.