Borrowing for Users
Purpose
To provide members of the University community with research materials not owned by libraries on this campus.
Eligible Users
Interlibrary loan service is available to faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergraduate students under the guidance of a faculty member.
How to Register
How to Manage Your ILLiad Account
Special Services Available Through ILL
Loans, Renewals, Overdues and Returns
Document Delivery
Document Delivery for Faculty, Staff, and Graduate Students
The J.D. Williams Library offers faculty, staff and graduate students free desktop document delivery of articles from our local collections.
When you need an article from a journal or book which is owned by the library only in print or microform, we will scan the article and deliver it to you electronically through your ILLiad account. To request articles, log in to your ILLiad account and click the "Request Document Delivery" button on your ILLiad Main Menu.
If you have not yet set up an ILLiad account for ILL, please go to the logon form below and fill in the requested information. More information is available on our Borrowing for Users tab.
If your have any questions, please contact Judy Greenwood in the main library or Debi McCain in the Science Library.
Document Delivery FAQ
What is it?
A library service set up to provide desktop electronic delivery of articles and book chapters from the libraries printed collections.
Who is eligible?
UM faculty, staff and graduate students (excluding Law and Medical faculty and staff) who have established ILLiad accounts.
What can be requested?
Articles from journals held by J.D. Williams Library or the Science Library which are in print or microform, as well as book chapters.
What can not be requested?
Articles available online through the Library Catalog, whole books or volumes, printed copies of articles and articles over 30 pages long, any material not related to scholarly research or university business.
How do I submit requests?
Faculty, staff and graduate students have a link on their main ILLiad menu: "Request Document Delivery." Please key or paste the information from your citation into this form, rather than using the Interlibrary Loan link under the "Find It" button in databases.
How long will it take?
We aim for 24-hour turnaround with the exception of weekends and holidays. If the requested material cannot be located in our collection, we will obtain it through Interlibrary Loan.
How much does it cost?
We are providing the service at no charge at this time.
Distance Interlibrary Loan Services
Special Services for Distance Learning/Off Campus Patrons
You are eligible for special services from the University Libraries if you are a currently enrolled UM student, UM staff, or UM faculty NOT ATTENDING CLASSES on the Oxford Campus or residing in Lafayette County. This includes the Tupelo, DeSoto and Booneville programs, Department of Pharmacy Practice, online-only classes/programs, and graduate students who have completed their coursework and moved away from Oxford, but are enrolled for Dissertation hours.
Special Services include: Delivery of loans from the UM Library Collections, or loans received through ILL, via the Office of Outreach Shuttle to Tupelo, DeSoto and Booneville Campuses, or Priority Mail to your home address; Document Delivery (electronic only) of journal articles held in print or microform by the UM Library.
To request an item through Interlibrary Loan, you must first identify yourself to the library's ILLiad system. To do this, you log onto ILLiad using your Web-ID. You will then fill out a registration form using your Web browser. When creating your account, you must choose “Distance Learning Undergraduate Student”, “Distance Learning Graduate Student”, or “Distance Learning Faculty/Staff” as your status. If you would like for loans to be delivered by shuttle, please enter “Desoto Shuttle” or “Tupelo Shuttle” as your home address, AND include a note requesting shuttle deliveries on each Loan Request form.
If you have any questions, or need additional information, please contact the ILL office at 662-915-5867 or ill-lib@olemiss.edu, the Distance Learning Librarian, or your Subject Librarian for subject-related information.
Lending for Libraries
INTERLIBRARY LENDING SERVICES
This information is for other libraries wishing to obtain loans or copies through Interlibrary Loan from the University of Mississippi Libraries. The UM Law and Medical Libraries have separate interlibrary loan services.
Catalog: http://umiss.lib.olemiss.edu/
Library Home Page: http://www.library.olemiss.edu
Holdings in:
OCLC (Symbol: MUM) (Group Affiliations: ILLD , NEPU , UASM , SL#N , SIXX , ASRL , RFBP , GCAL , GCKU)
Office Hours:
7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central Time, Monday through Friday
Submitting Requests:
Requests must originate from a borrowing library. Individuals should contact their local library to obtain material from the UM Library. Requests are accepted via OCLC (preferred), Lending Web Page (preferred for non-OCLC libraries), fax, mail, or email. Telephone requests are not accepted.
Charges:
Loans:
Loans: $15.00
For-profit libraries: $25.00
Rush: $5.00 surcharge, plus shipping charges, unless borrowing library provides their FedEx account number.
Copies:
There is no charge for copies to Mississippi libraries, except For-profit institutions.
For-profit libraries: $25.00
All others: $15.00
Rush: $5.00 surcharge
FEIN: 61-6001159
Shipping methods:
Loans: USPS Media Mail, Priority Mail
Copies: Ariel, Fax, First Class Mail
Payment accepted:
OCLC IFM (preferred), check, IFLA voucher, Online
Circulation Policies:
The loan period is normally six weeks. Renewals are allowed, unless the item is needed locally. Special Collections, Blues, entire volumes or issues of serials, and Reference materials do not circulate.
According to the National Interlibrary Loan Code, all libraries are liable for any damage or lost loans from the point the loan leaves the UM library. Lost books are billed at the replacement cost plus a $25 service fee.
AICPA Library Materials & Services:
Non-AICPA members may obtain loans and copies from the AICPA Library Collection through normal ILL procedures described above. AICPA members should contact the AICPA Library Service for assistance:
Contact Information: J.D. Williams Library
Address:
Interlibrary Loan Dept.
J. D. Williams Library
1 Library Loop
University of Mississippi
University, MS 38677
Email:
ill-lib@olemiss.edu
Telephone:
(662) 915-1212
Fax:
(662) 915-5453
Ariel IP:
130.74.92.32
Contact Information: Science Library
Address:
Interlibrary Loan
Science Library
1031 Natural Products Center
University of Mississippi
University, MS 38677
Email:
ill-lib@olemiss.edu
Telephone:
(662) 915-5668
Fax:
(662) 915-7549
Ariel IP:
130.74.116.2
Limitations and Loan Periods
Limitations on Loans
The conditions of ILL services are set by national and regional codes as well as by the policies of each lending library. The following types of materials ordinarily cannot be requested for loan:
Exceptions to this list are occasionally made. Therefore, consult the ILL office about any research material not owned by the library.
No limit has been set on the number of items a patron may borrow. However, borrowers are reminded not to order more than they will be able to use during the allowed loan period. For best service, please submit requests as early in the semester as possible.
Loan Periods
The lending library determines the length of the loan period for books, which is usually between one and four weeks.
Renewals should be requested only in unusual circumstances, and should be requested BEFORE the due date. Many libraries do not allow any renewals, so patrons are urged to plan their research to complete the use of ILL material before the due dates.
Patron Initiated Purchase
The Ordering Department purchases books requested through Interlibrary Loan that meet certain criteria and within a certain price limit. These items are then rush cataloged and placed on hold for users. This on-demand service has been very successful and allows users access to the materials for a longer period of time than typically allowed by Interlibrary Loan requests.
The option to request an item be purchased will be presented to you when you request and item through Interlibrary Loan.
