Access and Borrowing of Library Materials
The University of Mississippi Libraries are open to the public. Anyone is welcome to use Library materials in the building. An adult must accompany children under the age of 12.
Members of the University community: students, faculty and staff, as well as alumni and Mississippi residents with a valid driver's license are eligible to borrow materials from the libraries. Circulation privileges for all categories are subject to approval.
When you use your card for Library borrowing privileges, you agree:
Change of e-mail or address
It is the responsibility of each borrower to inform the library of his/her current address and e-mail address if other than that issued by the University. Any overdue notices or communication from the library is sent via e-mail. To avoid potential fines or delinquencies, a borrower who changes addresses should notify Circulation and Access Services either at Circulation West, or via the contact information provided in the sidebar on this page.
Loans & Limitations
Different types of materials have different loan periods and limitations.
Loan Period Chart
|Books||28 days||112 days||1 year||28 days|
|Periodical (Current)||1 day||1 day||3 days||library use only|
|Periodical (Bound)||1 day||1 day||3 days||library use only|
|Periodical, Science (Current)||1 day||1 day||3 days||library use only|
|Periodical, Science (Bound)||1 day||1 day||3 days||library use only|
|Harrison Room Books (varies)||library use only||library use only||library use only||library use only|
|Maps||2 weeks||2 weeks||2 weeks||2 weeks|
|Scores||28 days||56 days||1 year||28 days|
|LPs||7 days||7 days||7 days||7 days|
|CDs Music||7 days||7 days||7 days||7 days|
|CD-ROM||28 days||56 days||1 year||7 days|
|DVDs||7 days||7 days||7 days||7 days|
|VHS||7 days||7 days||7 days||7 days|
|Cassettes||7 days||7 days||7 days||7 days|
Renewals, Recalls & Holds
Books may be renewed unless recalled by another borrower. At the J.D. Williams Library long-term loan items may be renewed at Circulation West or Circulation East by bringing your books to these locations. Items may also be renewed online through “My Library Account” or by phone. Science Library materials may be renewed at the Science Library service desk or online through “My Library Account” . Renewal of short-term loan items should be done at the original service point.
All library materials may be recalled or have a hold placed on them. A recall is an official request for a book to be returned early. A hold is the reserving of an item, upon return, for the next user. Items placed on hold for another user may not be renewed.
If the item you need is currently checked out, login to your My Library account, click on the recall/request button at the top of the screen, and follow the instructions.
Recalled materials must be returned within 14 days of the recall date to avoid fines.
Holds may be placed at Circulation West in the J.D. Williams Library or the Science Library service desk. You will need your Ole Miss ID. You have the option of canceling your own holds by logging in to your My Library Account.
Borrowers are responsible for returning materials by the date (or date and time) due. Borrowers are encouraged to return items in person; that is, to not give them to another person to return. You are responsible for the safe return of all library materials checked out in your name.
Overdue, Fines & Lost
Stewardship of Library Materials
Patrons who borrow library materials are expected to be good stewards of those materials. This includes returning them when due and reporting lost materials promptly. Failure to return materials or pay fines could result in the blockage of your Library Account.
If a borrower returns or renews an overdue item within 7 days following its due date, the library will not assess overdue fines. After expiration of the 7-day grace period, the fine accrues retroactively from the first day overdue.
There is no grace period for reserve items or for media (sound recordings and videos.) Overdue fines accrue from the first hour or day overdue.
Overdue notices are sent electronically to the borrowers’ university e-mail account unless the borrower specifies another address. Borrowers who have no e-mail account will receive printed notices via regular mail.
Patrons are responsible for knowing and observing due dates stamped in books and should not be dependent upon Library notices.
Fines apply to all categories of users, including faculty, staff, students and community users.
|Books||$0.25/day, per book||$35.00 maximum, per book|
|Video Materials||$0.25 per day, per video||$35.00 maximum, per video|
|Hourly Reserve Materials||$1.00 per hour|
|Daily Reserve Materials||$1.00 per day|
|Recalled Materials||1.00 per day|
Paying Your Fines
Fine payments may be made anytime online by clicking here.
During regular business hours, Monday – Friday, 8am – 5pm, fine payments are processed as they are received. Payments received after hours may take up to 24 hours to process.
Patrons are charged for the replacement of a lost item plus a service fee to cover processing costs.
For questions about library fines and fees contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org