Library Guides: CIE Business Competition: Library Resources: Overview

Need help with a database? Check out one of these tutorials.

Contact:

aesorey@olemiss.edu

(662) 915-7933

Subjects: Advertising, Business Administration, Economics, Government, Government Information, Journalism, Marketing & Demographics

Company and Industry Resources

Advertising Red Books via Winmo This link opens in a new window
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data from within the advertising industry.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles, company information (SWOT), company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Find analysis and graphic display of market conditions and forecasts, supply chains, and competitor activity within an industry.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find business and financial information on U.S. and international companies, industry reports, annual reports, and comprehensive competitors lists.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find company, industry, and country information.

Private Company Resources

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Search for private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, and more.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Find business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies. (Click the green button for direct access or create your own account).

Statistics and Consumer Behavior

Richard K. Miller Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Handbooks focused on marketing and consumer behavior.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.
Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Survey analysis and planning software that includes data from recent Simmons' national consumer studies.

Market Segmentation

SRDS This link opens in a new window
A database of media rates that catalogs more than 100K U.S. international media properties. This resource contains Claritas 360, Nielsen's segmentation tool.

Claritas 360 (free version)
This resource allows you to locate and discover market segments, consumer markets, and customer segmentation profiling. Some features require a subscription.
Tapestry Zip Look-up (free version)
Type in your ZIP Code to see demographic and lifestyle information about your neighborhood. This is the free version of this resource, some features require a subscription.

Tapestry Segmentation PDF
This pdf gives a quick overview of Tapestry’s 14 LifeMode summary groups and 67 segments that describe US residential neighborhoods.

Newspaper Resources for Business

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Wall Street Journal via ProQuest, contains text of articles, no images.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, selected coverage of regional U.S. newspapers, and full text television and radio news transcripts.