Library Guides: Alumni Services at the University of Mississippi Libraries: Home

eGrove
The University of Mississippi’s Institutional Repository, eGrove is freely available to researchers worldwide.

Alumni may:

Browse material in both the J.D. Williams Library and Science Library, to browse online see the UM Libraries catalog
Obtain a borrowing card (if they live in Mississippi) to access materials in the J.D. Williams Library and the Science Library (See borrowing privileges page for details)
Access online journals and databases from public computers in on-campus libraries
Access Archives & Special Collections, Monday-Friday from 8am to 5pm (excluding holidays)
Access publicly available research resources

Agricola
Citations for books, book chapters, journals, articles, and more held by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). This resource covers all aspects of agriculture, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, etc. and also covers other topics of interest to USDA, such as food and nutrition, food safety, etc.
EPA National Library Catalog
Indexes holdings of EPA central & regional libraries as well as NTIS reports. Full text accessible for online federal publications.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Data from hundreds of annual surveys and reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
National Environmental Publications Information System
Catalog of free print and online EPA documents
PLANTS Database (Natural Resources Conservation)
From USDA, comprehensive information on plants found in the U.S.
Science.gov
Searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
SciTech Connect
US Dept. of Energy portal to over 2.5 million citations and full text reports
TREESEARCH
U.S. Forest Service research publications database
USGS Publications Warehouse
Catalog and links to full text and purchase options for over 130,000 USGS reports covering a century of research

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Compiles national, regional, international, and industrial sector economic data. including new sectors such as health care, arts, travel, financial, and innovation. Interactive applications provided.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Regional Data
Source for data on inflation & prices, unemployment, productivity, pay & benefits, and spending.
Census Bureau
Explore census data with access to statistics collected by the census department, including population, income, and more, broken down by geographic area.
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System)
Economic data series via Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Download, graph, and track 418,000 US and international time series from 79 sources via Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
DTIC Online
Defense Technical Information Center search engine. Some reports are publicly available, others restricted. Includes Ask a Librarian link.
FBI Records: The Vault
The Vault is the FBI's FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office.
Homeland Security Digital Library
- The nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Access to the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is available free of charge, but access to some content requires that individuals create an account here.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
Catalog and full text links to military histories as well as photographs and FAQ's on searching for veterans, units, etc.
U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center
Provides access to the online catalog and resources.

ERIC: Institute of Education Sciences
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), via the Department of Education, is a premier database for educational literature. ERIC provides access to traditional content (e.g, journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC reports, conference papers, government documents), as well as nontraditional content (e.g., non-profit organizations, commercial publishers, policy organizations, user-submitted material)
MedlinePlus
Health information for consumers
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Search & download reports and data from the primary federal source for collecting & analyzing education data
National Center for Health Statistics
Search published statistical reports or use online data query tool from the primary source for federal health data.
National Institutes of Health
NIH website with links to resources for consumers, physicians, researchers
Pubmed
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
What Works Clearinghouse
WWC reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.

American Memory: A Century of Lawmaking for the New Nation
Provides full text of Congressonal documents and debates from 1774-1875.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The mission of the BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. There is both annual and periodic reporting of data.
Chronicling America
Digitized historical newspapers from the Library of Congress.
There are a TON of free online primary source collections but these are the biggest/most useful.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
Digital Public Library of American
DPLA brings together the collections of libraries, archives, and museums from across the country into one searchable portal.
FindPolicy.org
Searches multiple think tanks at once for policy papers on a variety of international and domestic policy topics.
ICPSR
ICPSR is the world’s largest social science data archive, and many of the datasets are available for download by anyone.
Mississippi Members of Congress
Provides basic information on everyone who has represented the state in the U.S. Congress from 1801 to the present. The database includes years in office, congressional districts, committee memberships, and leadership positions
NARA Access to Archival Databases
Indexes data about persons, statistics, private sector, wars, immigration, contracts, photographic collections, etc. by geography and time period
NCJRS Abstracts
Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library.
Regulations.gov
The types of documents that can be found on this site include Proposed Rules, Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register – often referred to just as “Notices.” Public Submissions (e.g., comments, citizen petitions, early submissions) and Supporting Materials often associated with regulatory actions can also be found on this site.
Umbra
Brings together half a million items relating to African American history from more than 1,000 U.S. archives, libraries, and museums.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Includes items on working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues.

arXiv.org
A pre-print repository for physics, math, computer science, and more.
ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 63 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
NASA Technical Reports Server
Provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos created or funded by NASA or its forerunner, the National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics (NACA).
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Three million federal sci/tech reports; full text access available with free signup
OSTI.gov
US Dept. of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information portal to over 2.5 million citations and full text reports.
Patent Full Text Databases
USPTO full text (1976+) and image databases, (1790+ )
PubChem
A database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays.
PubMed central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Science.gov
Searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Compiles national, regional, international, and industrial sector economic data. including new sectors such as health care, arts, travel, financial, and innovation. Interactive applications provided.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The mission of the BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. There is both annual and periodic reporting of data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Regional Data
Source for data on inflation & prices, unemployment, productivity, pay & benefits, spending
Census Bureau
Explore census data with access to statistics collected by the census department, including population, income, and more, broken down by geographic area.
Data.gov
Portal to over 131,000 open data sets, including access tools.
Data and Statistics about the U.S. via usa.gov
Go here to find links to federal agencies producing statistics
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Data from hundreds of annual surveys and reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Search & download reports and data from the primary federal source for collecting & analyzing education data
National Center for Health Statistics
Search published statistical reports or use online data query tool from the primary source for federal health data.

The Purdue OWL
These OWL resources will help you use the research you have conducted in your documents. This area includes material on quoting and paraphrasing your research sources, as well as material on how to avoid plagiarism.
Zotero
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

MAGNOLIA
Provides Mississippi residents with access to electronic databases through their local public, school, community college, or university libraries. Funded by the Mississippi Legislature and, in part, by Libraries throughout the State of Mississippi.

Search Guides

Alumni Services at the University of Mississippi Libraries