Thomas G. Abernethy Collection. 1924-1975. Thomas G. Abernethy represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1943 to 1973. His congressional papers include a number of files related to health legislation and health topics in the nation and Mississippi (454 boxes). Note: Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A small portion of the collection is available as a digital collection.
Academic Program Reviews Collection. 1982-1983. Includes accreditation reviews of the University of Mississippi Department of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation and degree programs in Medicine and Medical Technology (15 boxes).
Jennie and Lucia Adams Collection. 1845-1914. Box 1, Folder 59 includes 1885 receipts for doctor's bills; Box 1, Folder 61 holds an 1886 drug receipt. (13 boxes).
Aldrich Collection. 1798-1972. Includes a 7 October 1824 letter on yellow fever in Charleston and Columbia (Box 1, Folder 23); a 24 November 1878 letter on fever in Memphis (Box 8, Folder 45); and a series of 1903 correspondence from Hot Springs, Arkansas concerning medical treatment of a hip problem (Box 11). (25 boxes). Part of the collection is available as a digital collection.
Allan Boyce Adams Collection. 1916-1955. Correspondence of Lt. Allan Boyce Adams of Claremont, Mississippi during his World War I service in France. Includes discussions of hospital and medical care (3 boxes).
American Association of University Women Collection. Box 7 includes a folder on the "Mississippi Association for Mental Health, 1970"; Box 41 "Mental Health and Displaced Homemaker, 1979-1980"; Box 42 "Mental Health Information, 1979-1981"; Box 43 "Family and Medical Leave Legislation, 1988-1989" and "Family and Medical Leave Act, 1989"; Box 47 "Report on Health Service and Education in Mississippi, 1952" and "Health Services in Mississippi, 1952." (129 boxes).
American Family Association Collection. 1990-2005. Publications and circular letters from the American Family Association, a lobbying organization concerned with conservative Christian interests. Several issues of the American Family Association Journal contain articles on health care (2 boxes).
Marge Baroni Collection. 1955-1985. Marge Baroni was a resident of Natchez, Mississippi and active in the area's civil rights movement. The collection includes files on the Medgar Evers Comprehensive Health Center in Fayette, Mississippi and the general themes of health care and mental health care (20 boxes).
Beckwith/Yerger Collection. 1869-1930. Box 7, Folder 8 includes Ladies' Note Book and Calendar. Compliments of World's Dispensary Medical Association, Buffalo, New York (circa 1910) (7 boxes).
Dr. Frederick Robert Bernard Collection. 1855-1892. Born in Providence, Louisiana, in 1850 Bernard graduated from the University of Mississippi and received a medical degree from Tulane University. He returned home to Lake Providence to practice medicine. The collection contains correspondence, clippings, and ephemera (1 box).
Emma Faser Birchett Collection. 1874-1988. Includes the booklet Kuhn Memorial Hospital, Vicksburg, Mississippi, Dedication Ceremony, April 14, 1959 (2 boxes).
Blanton-Smith Collection. 1844-1988 (bulk 1844-1869). Correspondence of Dr. Orville Martin Blanton (a physician residing in Washington County, Mississippi) and family. Blanton also served as surgeon to the First Louisiana Artillery during the Civil War (2 boxes).
Sherwood Bonner (Katherine S. McDowell) Collection. Material related to the life of Katherine S. McDowell who wrote under the pseudonym "Sherwood Bonner." Includes a 24 June 1882 letter by Bonner to her friend Fannie Addison regarding a breast tumor and the advice of Boston doctors.
M.W. Boyd Collection. 1861-1886. Civil War and Reconstruction materials related to M.W. Boyd a surgeon who served in the 20th Regiment Company F (Lay's Cavalry) of the Confederate Army (1 box). Civil War material available as a digital collection in the Civil War Archive.
Juanita Brown Collection. 1829-1948. Box 4, Folder 25 contains an 1885 account ledger by R. Henderson, dealer in drugs and medicines, in reference to the account of Judge Buford (7 boxes).
Hallie Buie Collection. 1924-1949. A Mississippian, Hallie Buie spent thirty years as a Methodist missionary in Korea. Box 2 holds the following two articles from the Korea Mission Field: Mrs. William C. Kerr's "Diet as an Important Factor in the Cure of Sprue" and E.W. Anderson's "Human Interest Stories in Medical Practice" (1926) (2 boxes).
Cassette Tapes and Reels Collection. Includes a recording of a National Association for the Advancement of Colored People meeting on "Providing Health, Housing and Overcoming Hunger" (9 November 1984) (8 boxes).
Grover H. Catt Collection. 1940-1945. Complete set of letters written between Grover H. Catt and his wife Winnie (Bethea) Catt between 1940 and 1945 during Catt's military service. Topics include birth control and pregnancy as well as Bright's Disease and ringworm medicine. A small part of the collection is available as a digital collection.
Lyda Russell Caughman Collection. 1917, 1922-1943. Letters from Lyda Caughman of Daniel, Mississippi, who served with her husband Carl Caughman as a missionary in India between 1922-1929. Includes correspondence from the 1940s when Carl was recuperating from a nervous breakdown (6 boxes).
Chancellors Biographical Collection. 1952-1998. The J.D. Williams folder includes a copy of "Chancellor's Charge to the Graduates, Medical School" (7 June 1959) (3 boxes).
Chancellors Collection/Porter L. Fortune. 1935-1989. Porter L. Fortune served as chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1968 to 1984. Box 62 holds the file "Medical Center Commencement 1973-1981"; Box 92 "Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation (1951-1977)"; Box 93 "Health Related Professions, School of (July 1, 1972 -- June 30, 1978)"; Box 104 "National Institute of Health"; Box 114 "Tenure, University Medical Center, January 1962 to June 1971"; Box 121 "Tenure: University Medical Center, July 1, 1971 to 1976"; Box 148 "Medical Center, 1982-1983"; Box 150 "Health Care Administration"; Box 151 "Liberal Arts -- Health Careers Opportunity Grant, 1979-1983" and "Liberal Arts -- Health Professions, 1981-1983"; Box 154 "Medical Center"; Box 159 "Health, Physical Education and Recreation"; Box 193 "Medical Center Director Search Committee" (208 boxes).
Chancellors Collection/Alfred Hume. 1892-1942. Alfred Hume served as chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1924 to 1930 and again from 1932 to 1935. Box 2, Folder 21 is entitled "Purchase Requisitions: Medical School, 1913-1920"; Box 2, Folder 25 "Purchase Requisitions: Hospital, 1913-1918" (16 boxes).
Chancellors Collection/Joseph N. Powers. 1900-1975. J.N. Powers served as chancellor of the University of Mississippi from 1914 to 1924. Box 3 contains files on "Medical School, Vicksburg Hospital, 1909" and "Medical School, 1944"; Box 17 "Medical School, 1930-1931" and "Pharmacy, 1930-1931"; Box 28 "Pathology and Bacteriology." Finding aid available in Special Collections (45 boxes).
Clark Family Collection. 1832-1868. Includes letters to Mrs. Margery B. Rogers Clark from her husband T. Goode Clark and her two sons Jonathan and A. Henry Clark. All three men fought in the Confederate Army as members of the 42nd Mississippi Infantry and died at the Battle of Gettysburg. Their correspondence contains many references to the health of the army (2 boxes).
Chilton Collection. Folder 3 contains an 1857 partnership agreement between A.R. Chilton and R.R. Chilton in a drug store (1 box).
David Cohn Collection. 1937-1961. The papers of this Mississippi author include an article "The Country Doctor Buys a Car" (Box 8, Folder 32) (25 boxes).
Colin Crawford Collection. 1978-1994. Research material compiled by Colin Crawford, author of Uproar at Dancing Rabbit Creek: Battling over Race, Class and the Environment (1996). Includes correspondence with Alabama Health Services dating from 1978 to 1984 (12 boxes).
Conferences Collection. 1908-2001. Includes programs for health-related conferences at the University of Mississippi (2 boxes).
Joseph E. Davis Collection. 1865-1870. Papers related to Joseph E. Davis (the brother of Confederate President Jefferson Davis) and his former slave and overseer Benjamin Montgomery. Folder A-3 includes an 1867 letter from J.D. Nicholson to Dr. McKay disputing medical services rendered to slaves formerly owned by Nicholson. Folder A-4 has an 1868 letter regarding medical supplies and services by Dr. E.G. Banks for part of 1863. Box 2 contains an 1868 summons for Davis on behalf of A.L. McKay seeking redress for medical goods and services provided in 1863 on Hurricane Plantation (3 boxes).
Charles Dean Collection. 1837-1960s. Papers of a Holly Springs, Mississippi family. Accretion 2002-140 contains a scrapbook with clippings about Holly Springs, Mississippi dating from 1870 to 1890 that include stories about the 1878 Yellow Fever epidemic. Finding aid available in Special Collections (32 boxes).
Diploma and Certificate Collection. 1850-1955. Includes an 1873 Bellevue Hospital diploma of Andrew Jackson Liddell for Doctor of Medicine; 1850 University of Louisiana Medical School diploma of W. Lowndes Lipscomb for Doctor of Medicine.
Druggist/Mercantile Ledger. 1884-1887. Ledger from George W. Boyett & Dr. T.G. Ivy's Drug & Dry Goods Store in Abbott, Mississippi (1 box).
Steven Duncan Physician Ledger. 1804-1809. Ledger of patient medical records of Natchez, Mississippi physician (1 box).
James O. Eastland Collection. 1930-1978. James O. Eastland represented Mississippi in the U.S. Senate for a few months in 1941 and then from 1943 until his retirement in 1978. The collection contains numerous health-related files. For example, File Series 1, Subseries 17 includes correspondence with various federal officials in health-related government departments and agencies; File Series 1, Subseries 18 contains correspondence with congressional colleagues on health legislation and oversight; File Series 3, Subseries 1 holds constituent letters expressing grassroots opinions on all manner of health topics; and File Series 3, Subseries 4 consists of state and local material that include files on health projects and hospitals (1,800 linear feet). Note: Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A small selection of items from the collection are available as a digital collection.
James E. Edmonds Collection. 1886-1934. After leaving the University of Mississippi in 1900, James E. Edmonds worked as a newspaper correspondent/artist in New Orleans. His correspondence covers squalid conditions in charity hospitals due to the outbreak of yellow fever in 1905 (Folders 10 through 13) (3 boxes). Selections are available as a digital collection.
Edmondson/Bray/Williams/Stidham Collection. 1834-1987. Chronicles the interwoven histories of several families in North Mississippi and Tennessee. Box 1, Folder 3 includes a Civil War era list of medical supplies including amputating instruments, opium, and laudanum; Box 1, Folder 28 includes a 27 August 1855 letter from Huntsville, Texas discussing yellow fever in Houston and New Orleans; Box 1, Folder 29 contains a May 1856 invoice for thirteen medical visits in Texas as well as correspondence regarding the death of a child due to scarlet fever; Box 2, Folder 5 and 6 contains a large number of medical disability and medical furlough certificates for Confederate soldiers (43 boxes).
Tim Ford Collection. 1987-1996. Tim Ford served as Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives between 1988 and 2004. Box 2, Folder 5 includes correspondence regarding medicine (4 boxes). Note: Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Framed Item Collection. 1691-1997. Framed item #233 is John Douglas Simmons' Diploma of Medicine from Tulane University; #234 is Simmons' Diploma from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. Note: Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Lynn Gammill Collection. 1908-1996. Box 1, Folder 11 contains material related to the Alton Ochsner Medical Foundation. Finding aid available in Special Collections (40 boxes).
Ivey Gladin Photograph Collection. 1926-1990s. Photograph and negatives by Ivey Gladin, a professional photographer in Helena, Arkansas. Includes a series of images related to Helena Hospital (2 boxes). Note: Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collections Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material.
Gordon Hall Time Capsule Collection. 1908-1909. Box 1, Folder 11 includes the rolls of the junior and senior medical classes at the University of Mississippi in 1908-09 (2 boxes).
Dr. Anne Gowdy/Sherwood Bonner Collection. 1880s-1990s. Box 1, Folder 22 contains two newspaper clippings regarding yellow fever in Mississippi (3 boxes).
Graduating/Senior Theses Collection. 1858-1937. Handwritten and typed theses prepared by graduating and senior University of Mississippi students. Topics include health issues (8 boxes).
Dr. John T. Grantham Collection. 1934-1950s. A chiropractor in Yazoo County, Dr. John T. Grantham's papers hold correspondence and newsletters related to his profession and membership in the Mississippi Chiropractic Association (2 boxes).
Hospital Ledger. 1914-1920. Admittance and diagnosis records of students at the University of Mississippi infirmary (1 box).
Bekett Howorth Collection. 1983 and undated. Contains information about and writing by orthopedist Dr. Beckett Howorth (1 box).
Arthur Palmer Hudson Collection. Accretion Box 1 contains between folklorist Arthur Palmer Hudson and his fiance/wife during their physical separations. Includes letters discussing Grace Hudson's difficult pregnancy in 1917. Finding aid available in Special Collections (13 boxes).
Harriet Davis Jackson Collection. Box 1, Folder 6 contains an invitation to the 1957 University of Mississippi School of Medicine Graduation. Finding aid available in Special Collections (5 boxes).
Winthrop Jordan Collection. The papers of Winthrop Jordan, a noted historian of African American and race relations history, include a file in Box 14 on "Medicine -- Starvation 1830." (61 boxes).
Katallagete/James Y. Holloway Collection. Manuscripts and correspondence related to Katallagete, the journal of the Committee of Southern Churchman. Box 8 holds three files of 1965-1969 correspondence, manuscripts and clippings of contributor Dr. Frank Moller, a South African physician who wrote about religious themes and spoke out against racism (37 boxes).
J.K. Kearney Ledger. 1853-1862. Planation ledger from Moss Side in Madison County that contains doctor's visits to slaves as well as birth records. Transcriptions available (1 box).
L.Q.C. Lamar Collection. Folder 27 has a photocopy of a 3 February 1879 letter from Lamar which mentions relief for Mississippi children made orphans by the yellow fever Location: Small Manuscripts 76-6 (1 box).
League of Women Voters of Mississippi Collection. 1946-2001. Box 13, Folder 10 "Tennessee Valley Authority's Medical Services Development Program, 1977-1978"; Box 31 includes two VHS tape recordings of "Mississippi Citizens' Voices for Health Care Reform, League of Women Voters Health Conference" (12 February 1994). (33 boxes). Patrons should provide notice at least two business days prior to prospective visits so that staff may transfer requested boxes from the Library Annex (an off-site facility) to the Special Collection Reading Room. Please contact Special Collections at (662) 915-7408 to specify requested material. A small portion of the collection is available as a digital collection.
Will and Marjorie Lewis Collection. 1828-1908. Box 1, Folder 24 contains a September 1878 letter from Oxford, Mississippi resident Jacob Thompson regarding the current yellow fever epidemic (3 boxes).
Ligon Collection. 1942-1945. The collection consists of the correspondence of Wydell and Hershcel Ligon from Mississippi. Ligon died shortly after giving birth to twins in 1943. She had a breast lump that required treatment at Oschner's Clinic in New Orleans, and she reported taking the drug Thelin (1 box).
J.J. Little Collection. 28 June 1861 -- 1 August 1862. Collection includes the Civil War correspondence of Jefferson J. Little to his parents while he was stationed in Florida and later in Meridian and Columbus. Little was a doctor in the Bahala Rifles (10th Mississippi Infantry, Company H) (1 box); the collection is also available as a digital collection.
Lockwood Collection. 1875-1958. Includes 1891 Mississippi license to practice medicine for Benson Mott Lockwood (2 boxes).
John Guy Lofton Collection 1860-1863. This collection of letters from Mississippian John Guy Lofton while serving with Confederate forces in Virginia includes references to his personal health and that of the camp (1 box). Available as a digital collection.
Dean L.L. Love Collection. 1962-1963. Includes an anti-Semitic pamphlet entitled "Is the 'Mental Health Racket' a Communist-Jewish Front?" (2 boxes).
Lealon E. Martin Collection. 1914-1980. From 1943 to 1948, Lealon E. Martin served as Assistant Chief of Venereal Disease Technical Services and Education in the Public Health Service in Washington, DC. Later, he worked for the National Heart Institute and the National Institute of Health in various capacities. Collection chiefly consists of Martin's writings (2 boxes).
Christopher Maurer Research Collection on Walter Anderson and Shearwater Pottery 1863-2003. Includes accounts and business records of Shearwater Pottery in Ocean Springs, Mississippi. Includes material related to the mental health of artist Walter Anderson and his brother Peter Anderson (22 boxes).
McAlexander/Marshall County Collection. 1838-1960. Box 1, Folder 14 contains documents related to the 1878 yellow fever epidemic in Holly Springs. The collection also includes a photographic image of people fleeing from Holly Springs during the 1878 yellow fever epidemic and a negative image of an 1878 letter discussing yellow fever and hired gravediggers (23 boxes).
Annie McGehee Collection. 1890-1946. Originally from Como, Mississippi, Annie McGehee was a student and perhaps a teacher at Huntsville Female College in Huntsville, Alabama in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. The collection consists of correspondence sent to McGehee, and several letters from her fiancé, a traveling salesman, discuss the difficulties of traveling due to yellow fever and quarantines in local towns (3 boxes).
Louis Lowry McInnis Collection. 1872-1901. Includes correspondence discussing an 1878 typhoid epidemic (2 boxes).
Memories of Mississippi Essay Collection. Contains submissions for a 1994 essay contest from persons age 60 or over on the memories of life in North Mississippi between 1929 and 1941. Includes Elizabeth Gates' essay "The Country Doctor" and Leora Simpson's "Making of a Registered Nurse" (1 box).
James H. Meredith Collection. 1950-1997. In 1962, James H. Meredith was the first African American student to register at the University of Mississippi. The collection includes a number of research files on the issue of national health care dating from his 1990s tenure on the congressional staff of U.S. Senator Jessie Helms of North Carolina (146 boxes).
Metcalf Ledger. 1897. Records of a Coffeeville, Mississippi pharmacist or physician (1 box).
Mississippi Cities and Counties Collection. 1914-1980. Includes a vintage postcard of the Lamar County Health Department building (8 boxes).
Mississippi Education Collection. 1924-2000. Box 1, Folder 11 contains Fall 1956 and Fall 1957 issues of School Health News. (1 box).
Mississippi Health Care Collection. 1932-1981. Collection has publications and miscellaneous documents related to health care in Mississippi (2 boxes). Available as a digital collection.
Mississippi Mental Health Care Collection. 1956-1980. Miscellaneous publications and documents related to mental health care in Mississippi. Finding aid available in Special Collections (1 box).
Mississippi Organizations Collection. 1920-2003. Box 2, Folder 6 includes 1935 and 1961 Mississippi State Pharmaceutical Association convention programs (2 boxes).
Mississippi Periodicals Collection. 1921-1982. Includes a 16 February 1969 issue of the the Mid-South magazine published by the Memphis Commercial Appeal with an article by William Thomas entitled "The Irony of the South" on Community Health Centers in Bolivar County, Mississippi; an 4 April 1971 issue of Mid-South with an article on an herb doctor named Seth Ballard entitled "May Apple, Sassafras and Philosopy"; a November-December 1968 SK & F Psychiatric Reporter by Richard Potsubay entitled "The Police and Dr. Jaquith" on Mississippi mental health; and a 17 November 1953 issues of Look with J.C. Furnas' story "Mississippi Trains Its Own Doctors"; a February 1952 issue of the American Journal of Nursing with "A Co-Ordinated Nursing School" on the University of Mississippi (6 boxes).
Mississippi Politics Collection. 1908-2003. This miscellaneous assortment of political material includes twenty-first century campaign literature on health care (3 boxes).
Mitchell Family Marshall County Collection. 1812-1984. Includes information on the yellow fever epidermis in Marshall County in 1878 and a 1941 manual for midwives with midwife permit (7 boxes).