Skip to main content

Civil Rights & Race Relations (Archives): Home

Introduction

The Archives & Special Collections possesses a number of items of potential interest to civil rights historians.  This subject guide consists of three parts:

Manuscript Collections.  Provides a list with brief descriptions of collections with material on civil rights and race relations along with links to more detailed collection finding aids.

Primary Source Publications on Mississippi.  A list of catalogued publications and recordings that could be considered primary source material by Mississippians, about Mississippi, or published in Mississippi.

Secondary Source Publications on Mississippi.  A list of cataloged histories, dissertations, and theses on civil rights and race relations in Mississippi.

Related Materials

Digital Collections

Women of the Ku Klux Klan Collection

Bill Miles Collection

Piney Woods School Collection

Citizens' Council Collection

Civil Rights Archive - Contains digitized versions of a number of small civil rights-related collections.

Western Union Telegram Collection - Contains telegrams sent through the Oxford Western Union office during the university's integration

Sidna Brower Mitchell Photographs and Scrapbook

James O. Eastland Collection

Freedom Riders 40th Anniversary Oral History Project

Sheldon Harris Sheet Music Collection which includes minstrel tunes and other racially stereotyped popular songs from the late 19th century through the early 20th century. 

Integration of the University of Mississippi Correspondence

Integration of the University of Mississippi

Nash & Taggart Collection

John Elon Phay Collection

James W. Silver Collection

United States v. Mississippi Interrogatory Answers examines voting rights violations and the segregated school system.

Other Campus Resources

For assistance with non-archival resources see the following guides from the main library:  African American Studies, United States History, and U.S. Federal Documents & Resources.

The library has created a searchable database on its Mississippi Newspaper holdings.  Search by text, year, city, or county to find newspaper titles, time span in the library's possession, and a link to the catalog record.

Departmental Information

Archives and Special Collections
PO Box 1848
University, MS 38677
3rd floor of the J.D. Williams Library

Phone: 662-915-7408
Fax: 662-915-5734
Email: archivesdept@olemiss.edu 

Open Monday through Friday 8am - 5pm (except holidays)
Ask Special Collections

Librarian Contact

Jennifer Ford
Head of Archives and Special Collections and Professor
Email: jwford@olemiss.edu