The items listed below are primary source material by Mississippians, about Mississippi, or published in Mississippi.
However, the Archives & Special Collections also has a large number of primary source publications on civil rights and race relations related to other locales or of a more general nature. Researchers are encourage to consult the library catalog if their interest extends beyond the state of Mississippi.
Researchers will also find it productive to search the primary source publication lists on other subject guides for civil rights material on particular topics.
7th Annual Candlelight Vigil: In Memory of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. January 20, 2003...Second Missionary Baptist Church. [University, MS]: Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc, Eta Zeta Chapter, 2003. Oxford, Mississippi. Call Number: E185.97 K5 S48 2003.
40th Anniversary Symposium and Observance of the Integration of the University of Mississippi. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Justice, [2003]. VHS and DVD recordings of symposium on U.S. Marshals. Call Number: LD3413 F67 2003.
Olive Arnold Adams. Time Bomb: Mississippi Exposed and the Full Story of Emmett Till. [Mound Bayou, MS]: Mississippi Regional Council of Negro Leadership, 1956. Call Number: HV6248 T54 A32 1956.
African American Heritage Guide: Mississippi the South's Warmest Welcome. Ocean Springs, MS: Mississippi Department of Economic and Community Development, [1990s]. Call Number: F339.3 A57 1990.
All-African People's Revolutionary Party. No Matter Where We Are Born or Live -- : If We Are Black, We Are African. Malcolm X on African Identity. Tougaloo, MS: [196-]. Call Number: E185.625 X63 1960z.
Alex A. Alston and James Dickerson. Devil's Sanctuary: An Eyewitness History of Mississippi Hate Crimes. Chicago, IL: Lawrence Hill Books, 2009. Part memoir, part history. Call Number: HV6773.53 M7 A47 2009.
American Civil Liberties Union of Mississippi. The Voice of the American Civil Liberties Union/Mississippi. [Jackson, MS]. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1990 to 1995. Call Number: JC599 U5 V6.
American Repatriation Society. Answer on Race. Jackson, MS: [1949]. Call Number: E185.61 A57 1949.
Americans for the Preservation of the White Race. The White Patriot: Americans for the Preservation of the White Race If It Is Not Preserved, It Will Be Destroyed... Jackson, MS: [1968]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 W55 1968.
Robert Analavage. Labor and the South, Laurel, Mississippi: Black Workers Set Against White: Strike Broken. Ann Arbor, MI: Radical Education Project, [1968]. Call Number: F349 L37 A53 1968.
Robert Analavage and Dottie Zellner. The Lessons of Laurel: Grassroots Organizing in the South. [Louisville, KY: Southern Conference Educational Fund, 1970]. Race relations and labor strikes in Laurel, Mississippi. Call Number: HT1531 A5.
Alexis M. Anikeeff. Dynamics of Intersectional Tension. [State College, MS]: 1952. Special study of the Mississippi State College Business Research Station. Civil rights. Call Number: HF5006 M65 no.7.
Henry Clay Anderson. Separate, But Equal: The Mississippi Photographs of Henry Clay Anderson. New York: PublicAffairs, 2002. Call Number: F349 G8 A85 2002.
Andrew Goodman, 1943-1964: Eulogies Delivered at the Funeral Services of Andrew Goodman, August 9, 1964, at the Meeting House of the Society for Ethical Culture. [1964]. Civil rights activist murdered in Neshoba County, Mississippi. Call Number: F347 N4 A51 1964.
Chalmers Archer. Growing up Black in Rural Mississippi: Memoirs of a Family, Heritage of a Place. New York: Walker, 1992. Call Number: F347 H6 A73 1992.
Associated Press. "Mississippi Walks Out of Convention: Refuse to Give Support to LBJ: Only Three Stay" in Atlantic City Press Vol. 133, No. 18 (26 August 1964). Civil rights. Call Number: JK2391 M5 M58 1964.
Association of Citizens' Councils of Mississippi. Annual Report. Greenwood, MS. Special Collections has 1955, 1956 and 1958. Call Number: E185.61 A82.
Association of Citizens' Councils of Mississippi. The Citizens' Council. Greenwood, MS: [1954]. Call Number: HT1521 A8 1954.
Association of Citizens' Councils of Mississippi. Congressional Committee Report on What Happened When Schools Were Integrated in Washington, D.C. Greenwood, MS: [195-]. Call Number: LB3062 C5.
Association of Citizens' Councils of Mississippi. What Is the Citizens' Council Doing? [Greenwood, MS: 196-]. Call Number: E185.61 W43.
Jeff Baker. "The Ayers Decision: What It Will Mean to Ole Miss: Court's Decision Provides Few Answers" in SouthVine Vol. 1, No. 1 (September 1992). Segregation in Mississippi higher education. Call Number: KF4153.3 B35 1992.
Ross R. Barnett. Mississippi Still Says "Never" by Ross R. Barnett, Gov. of Miss., and Victory at Oxford: An Official Expression of Opinion by the Citizens' Council Concerning the Ole Miss Invasion. Jackson, MS: Citizens' Councils, [1962]. Call Number: E185.61 B277.
Ross R. Barnett. Strength through Unity: Address by Governor Ross R. Barnett of Mississippi to Citizens' Council Rally, New Orleans, March 7, 1960. Greenwood, MS: Citizens' Councils, [1960]. Call Number: E185.61 B28.
Sally Belfrage. Freedom Summer. Greenwich, CN: Fawcett Pub., 1966. Memoir of civil rights in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 B4 1966.
Henk Biersteker. Mississippi: Het Verhaal Eeen Vrijheidsstrijd (het Delta Ministry Projekt). Odijk (Nederland): Sjaloom; [1968]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 B54.
Theodore G. Bilbo. Take Your Choice: Separation or Mongrelization. Poplarville, MS: Dream House Publishing Co., 1947. Author was a U.S. Senator from Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 B55.
Black Achievement, Success Story at Ole Miss. [Oxford, MS: University of Mississippi, 1978]. Call Number: LD3413 B53 1978.
Unita Blackwell. Barefootin': Life Lessons from the Road to Freedom. New York: Crown Publishers, 2006. Memoir. Call Number: F350 N4 B58 2006.
Julian Bond. Black Candidates: Southern Campaign Experiences. Atlanta: Voter Education Project, Southern Regional Council, 1969. Includes Mississippi politicians Geneva Collins, Charles Evers, and James Joliff Jr. Call Number: E185.61 B582 1969.
Tom P. Brady. Black Monday. Winona, MS: Association of Citizens' Councils, 1955. Segregation. Call Number: E185.61 B7 B4.
Tom P. Brady. Black Monday. Jackson, MS: Citizens' Councils of America, 1955. Segregation. Call Number: E185.61 B7 B4a.
Tom P. Brady. Segregation and the South: Address by Tom P. Brady Delivered to the Commonwealth Club of California at San Franscisco on October 4, 1957. Greenwood, MS: Association of Citizens' Councils, [1957]. Call Number: E185.61 B785.
Brave Black Mississippi Witnesses Prove Racial Discrimination by Theron Lynd. New Haven, CT: Yale, [2011]. CD recordings of oral history interviews conducted with 1961 witnesses in voter registration court case in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. Call Number: JK1929 M7 B6.
Thea Bowman. Sister Thea Bowman, Shooting Star: Selected Writings and Speeches. Winona, MN: Saint Mary's Press, 1993. African American Catholic woman from Mississippi. Call Number: BX4485.9 B68 1993.
Thomas P. Brady. Black Monday. Jackson, MS: Citizens' Councils of America, 1955. Call Number: E185.61 B7 B4a.
Albert Gallatin Brown. Address of Hon. Albert G. Brown: Before the Members of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi, November 8, 1859. Washington: Lemuel Towers, 1859. Slavery and civil rights. Call Number: E440.5 B73 1859.
Peter Brown. "Strike City, Mississippi" in Anarchy no. 72 (February 1967). Race relations in the Mississippi Delta. Call Number: F347 D38 B76 1967.
Flonzie Brown-Wright. Looking Back to Move Ahead. Germantown, OH: 1994. Civil rights activist in Canton, Mississippi. Call Number: E185.97 B838 A3 1994.
Blanch K. Bruce. Hon. B.K. Bruce, One of the Most Popular and Impressive Platform Orators of the Day, Will Deliver His Great Lecture, Entitled "The Race Problem." [1888]. U.S. Senator from Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 H78 1888 OVRS.
Adam Monroe Byrd. Address of Hon. Adam M. Byrd: Before the Mississippi Society, Pythian Temple, Washington, D.C., December 16, 1905. [Washington, DC: 1905]. Race relations in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 B97 1905.
Sidney Campbell. The School Bussin' Blues. Picayune, MS: Mississippi Sound Pub., [196-]. 45 rpm record. Call Number: M1978 C47 C35.
Will D. Campbell. Brother to a Dragonfly. New York: Seabury Press, 1977. Memoir of Mississippi Baptist civil rights worker. Call Number: BX6495 C28 A33.
Will D. Campbell. Brother to a Dragonfly. New York: Continuum, 2000. Reprint of 1977 edition with a new forward. Memoir of Mississippi Baptist civil rights worker. Call Number: BX6495 C28 A33 2000.
Will D. Campbell. Race and the Renewal of the Church. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, [1962]. Mississippi author. Call Number: BT734 C3.
Will D. Campbell and James Y. Holloway, eds. The Failure and the Hope: Essays of Southern Churchmen. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1972. Essays that first appeared first in Katallagete: The Journal of the Committee of Southern Churchmen. Includes essays by Campbell, Walker Percy, and Fannie Lou Hamer. Religious aspects of race relations. Call Number: BT734.2 F34 1972.
Will D. Campbell. Forty Acres and a Goat: A Memoir. Oxford, MS: Jefferson Press, 2002. Reprint of 1988 edition. Baptist clergy and civil rights activist. Call Number: E185.98 C36 A3 2002.
Robert Canzoneri. "I Do So Politely": A Voice from the South. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1965. Race relations in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 C25.
Stokely Carmichael and Charles V. Hamilton. Black Power: The Politics of Liberation in America. New York: Random House, [1967]. Call Number: E185.61 C32.
Stokely Carmichael. Ready for Revolution: The Life and Struggles of Stokely Carmichael. New York: Scribner, 2003. Memoir of Mississippi civil rights activist. Call Number: E185.97 C27 A3 2003.
Hodding Carter. Jim Crow's Other Side. Greenville, MS: Delta-Democrat Times, [1948]. Call Number: E185.61 C28 1948.
Hodding Carter. The South Strikes Back. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1959. Mississippi newspaper editor on the Citizens' Council and segregation. Call Number: E185.61 C28.
Willie Malvin Caskey. The South's Just Cause. [Lucedale, MS: Times Print, 1960]. Address delivered on "Mississippi Day" at Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, on Sunday, May 15, 1960. Segregation. Call Number: E1856.1 C294.
Center Light. Greenwood, MS: St. Francis Center. Special Collections has one 1966 issue of the periodical on social conditions of African Americans in Mississippi. Call Number: PN4882.5 C46.
John C. Chapple. Ritualistic Work of the First, Second and Third Degrees of the Supreme Lodge, Knights and Ladies of the Temple of America, and Dedicational Ceremonies. Greenville, MS: 1904. African American secret society in Greenville, Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 R58 1904.
Jennifer E. Cheeks-Collins. Madison County, Mississippi. Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 2002. Historic photographs of African Americans. Call Number: F347 M15 C54 2002.
C.K. Chiplin. Roads from the Bottom: A Survival Journal for America's Black Community. Brandon, MS: Quail Ridge Press, 1996. Vicksburg, Mississippi. Call Number: F349 V6 C45 1996.
James Cincere. Operation Ole Miss. Jackson, MS: Citizens' Council, [1962]. University of Mississippi integration riot. Call Number: E185.61 C5.
The Citizen: Official Journal of the Citizens' Councils of America. [Jackson, MS: 1961-1989]. Call Number: HS1 C5. Serial preceded by title The Citizens' Council.
Citizens' Council of America. Community Plan to Counteract Racial Agitators. Greenwood, MS: [1965]. Call Number: E185.61 C73 1965.
Citizens' Council of America. Famous Quotations. [Greenwood, MS: 196-]. Segregation. Call Number: HS2330 C483 F36 1960z.
Citizens' Council of America. How to Save Our Public Schools. [Greenwood, MS: 1958]. Segregation. Call Number: LC214.2 H69 1958.
Citizens' Council of America. Migration, the Only Reasonable Answer. [Greenwood, MS: 1962]. Call Number: E185.61 M59 1962.
Citizens' Council of America. Project: Understanding: Introducing -- Important New Public Affairs Films Now Available for Your Use. [Jackson, MS: 1961]. Call Number: HS2330 C483 P76 1961.
Citizens' Council of America. Racial Facts. [Jackson, MS: 1963]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 R33 1963.
Citizens' Council of America. Racial Facts. [Jackson, MS: 1964]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 R33 1964.
Citizens' Council of America. Statewide Cash Awards: Essay Contest for Mississippi High School Students, 1961-1962. [Greenwood, MS: 1961]. Call Number: E185.61 S79 1961.
Citizens' Council of America. Statewide Scholarship: Essay Contest for Mississippi High School Students, 1958-1959. [Greenwood, MS: 1958]. Call Number: E185.61 S79 1958.
Citizens' Council of America. Statewide Scholarship: Essay Contest for Mississippi High School Students, 1959-1960. [Greenwood, MS: 1959]. Call Number: E185.61 S79 1959.
The Citizens' Council: Official Paper of the Citizens' Councils of America. Jackson, MS: 1955-1961. Call Number: HS1 C5 OVRS. Serial continued under title Citizen.
Civil Rights Monument Dedication. 2006. DVD recording of dedication of monument on University of Mississippi campus. Call Number: LD3413 C584 2006.
Paul Clark. Let Us Understand the Negro. [Clarksdale, MS: 195-]. Call Number: E185.61 C63.
The Clennon King Story: The Shocking Story of Another Incident in Which a Negro Who Dared to Speak out Publicly Against the NAACP Was Intimidated and Threatened with Death. [1958]. Reprint from the Jackson, MS State Times. Call Number: E185.93 M6 C44 1958.
Joyce Mollie-Jean Coleman. Soul Stirrings: How Looking Back Gives Each of Us the Freedom to Move Forward. St. Louis, MO: Locust Hill Pub., 2001. African American women in Wilkinson County, Mississippi. Call Number: F347 W65 C65 2001.
Committee for the Distribution of the Mississippi Story. Mississippi Violence vs. Human Rights. Atlanta, GA: [1963]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M59 1963.
Comparison of 1960 and 1970 Census Reports: Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: Citizens' Councils, 1971]. Focused on percentage of blacks in each county. Call Number: HB935 M7 C66 1971.
Complete Photo Story of Till Murder Case: First and Only Complete Factual Photo Story of Till Case. Memphis, TN: Wither's Photographers, 1955. Call Number: F350 N4 C65 1955.
Vanessa Cook, ed. Student Reflections: Race, Religion and Reconciliation Programs 2006-2009. University, MS: Division of Outreach, 2010. UM student exchange programs with South Africa and Northern Ireland. Call Number: LB2376 S78 2010.
Douglas L. Conner. A Black Physician's Story: Bringing Hope to Mississippi. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1985. Call Number: R154 C556 A33 1985.
Council School Foundation. School Tomorrow: Building Fund Campaign. Jackson, MS: [1966]. Citizens Council schools. Call Number: LC214.22 M7 S24 1966.
Construction of Events Leading to the Closing of Mississippi Valley State College on February 11, 1970. Itta Bena, MS: [197-]. Civil rights. Call Number: LC2781 C67.
Lucius Osmond Crosby. Speech of L.O. Crosby, Jr., President, Crosby Forest Products Co., Picayune, Miss., to Picayune Rotary Club, January 11, 1963. [1963]. Univerisity of Mississippi integration. Call Number: E185.61 C96.
Wallace D. Dabbs. Stories from the South Country: A Reporter's Journey. Baltimore: Publish America, 2006. Mississippi journalist during civil rights era. Call Number: PN4874 D22 D33 2006.
Danger Sign -- Republicanism: Plan of the Republican Party: To Divide the White People of Mississippi and Increase Black Power. [1966]. Call Number: JK2295 M72 D36 1966.
Nathan W. Daniels. Thank God My Regiment an African One: The Civil War Diary of Colonel Nathan W. Daniels. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1998. U.S. Army Native Guard Infantry Regiment, 2nd at Ship Island, Mississippi. Call Number: E510.5 2nd D36 1998.
Mattie Dear. The Writings of Mattie Dear. [Clarksdale, MS: Delta Press, 1945]. African American author living on a plantation. Call Number: PS3507 E355 W7.
Delta Ministry. Delta Ministry Reports. Greenville, MS. Civil rights. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1967 to 1977. Call Number: F347 D3 D43.
Delta Ministry. DOC: Freedom City, Delta Opportunities Corporation: A Progress Report. Greenville, MS: [1969]. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.93 M6 D63 1969.
Deep in Our Hearts: Nine White Women in the Freedom Movement. Athens, GA: University of Georgia Press, 2000. Includes Emmie Schrader Adams' chapter "From Africa to Mississippi." Call Number: E185.98 A1 D44 2000.
Delta Council. For the Benefit of Negro Health; a Summary Report of Five Years' Public Health Service for the Negroes of the Yazoo-Mississippi Delta. Stoneville, MS: [1944]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 D4.
Democratic Conservative Party of Mississippi. Issues of the Canvass. Jackson, MS: Power & Barksdale, [1875]. Includes "An Appeal of an Able Colored Minister to This Race" by J.G. Johnson and "The Benefits of Democratic Administration to the Colored People" by Charles Nordhof. Call Number: F341 I88 1875.
Delmar Dennis. To Stand Alone: Inside the KKK for the FBI. Sevierville, TN: Covenant House Books, 1991. Mississippi. Call Number: HS2330 K63 D35 1991.
James Desmond. New Cross Afire in Dixie. [New York: National Labor Service, 1956]. Civil rights in Mississippi. Call Number: HS2330 K63 D47 1956.
W.O. Dillard. Caveats from the Bench: Constitutional Warnings from a Mississippi Trial Court. Jackson, MS: Quality Printing Co., 1994. Civil rights in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 D5394 1994.
W.O. Dillard. Clearburning: (For Felonies Compounded by the FBI, et cetera). Jackson, MS: Quality Printing Co., 1992. Civil rights in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 D5395 1992.
W.O. Dillard. The Final Curtain: Burning Mississippi by the FBI. Denver: Outskirts Press, 2007. Call Number: E185.93 M6 D5396 2007.
L.C. Dorsey. Freedom Came to Mississippi. New York: Field Foundation, 1977. African American activist in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 D6 1977.
Robert P. Duncan. To the Honorable the House of Representatives [Statement and Petition]. [1885]. Address disputing election of a negro instead of author. Call Number: JK4680 D8 1885.
The Eagle Eye. Jackson, MS: A.W. High. Caption "Bombarding Segregation and Discrimination." Special Collections has scattered issues from 1955-1956. Call Number: E185.93 M6 E24.
P.D. East. Editorial Reprints from The Petal Paper, Petal, Mississippi: And Personal Comments. [1957]. Civil rights. Call Number: PN4874 E3 E3 1957.
P.D. East. Editorial Reprints from The Petal Paper, Petal, Mississippi: And Personal Comments. [Hattiesburg, MS]: P.D. East, 1959. Civil rights. Call Number: PN4874 E3 E3 1959.
James O. Eastland. The Barter of Our Heritage: Speech of Hon. James O. Eastland of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States, February 9, 1948. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1948. Segregation. Call Number: E185.61 E22 1948.
James O. Eastland. Constitutional Aspects of the Civil-Rights Program: Extension of Remarks of Hon. James O. Eastland of Mississippi in the Senate of the United States, Tuesday, January 10, 1950. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1950. Call Number: KF4557 E37 1950.
James O. Eastland. The Supreme Court's "Modern Scientific Authorities" in the Segregation Cases. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1955. Author was U.S. Senator from Mississippi. Call Number: KF4151 A55 E38.
James O. Eastland. "We've Reached Era of Judicial Tyranny": An Address by Senator James O. Eastland of Miss. Before the Statewide Convention of the Association of Citizens' Councils of Miss., Held in Jackson, Dec. 1, 1955. [Greenwood, MS: Association of Citizens' Councils of Miss., 1955]. Call Number: F209.5 E3.
Marion Wrigth Edelman. Lanterns: A Memoir of Memoirs. Boston: Beacon Press, 1999. First African American woman admitted to the Mississippi Bar. Call Number: E185.97 E33 A3 1999.
Eighty-Third Annual Convention & the Eighty-Eighth Anniversary Mississippi State Federation of Colored Women's Clubs, Inc. & the Mississippi Association of Youth Clubs. [Jackson, MS: 1991]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 E54 1991.
William T. Ellis. The Weak Link: How to Get Along with Negroes. Anchorage: Aurora Borealis Book Co., [1966]. African American author from Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 E49 1966.
Episcopal Church. Diocese of Mississippi. Dept. of Christian Social Relations. The Church Considers the Supreme Court Decision. [Jackson, MS]: 1954. Segregation. Cal Number: LC212.52 C58 1954.
W. Ralph Eubanks. Ever Is a Long Time: A Journey into Mississippi's Dark Past, a Memoir. New York: Basic Books, 2003. Call Number: E185.97 E83 A3 2003.
M. Stanton Evans. Forced Integration Is Communism in Action. Jackson, MS: Citizens' Council, 1962. Call Number: E185.61 E93 1962.
Charles Evers. Have No Fear: The Charles Evers Story. New York: J. Wiley & sons, 1997. African American civil rights activist in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.97 E93 A3 1997.
Medgar Evers. The Autobiography of Medgar Evers: A Hero's Life and Legacy Revealed through His Writings, Letters, and Speeches. New York: Basic Civitas/Harper Collins, 2005. Call Number: F345.3 E94 A3 2005.
Myrlie Evers-Williams. Watch Me Fly: What I Learned on the Way to Becoming the Woman I Was Meant to Be. Boston: Little, Brown, 1999. Memoir of Mississippi civil rights activist. Call Number: E185.97 E95 A3 1999.
Fayette Festival, Fayette, Mississippi, July 16-17, 1971: Commemorating the Second Anniversary of the Evers Administration. [Fayette, MS: 1971]. African American mayor. Call Number: F349 F39 F39 1971.
Anselm Joseph Finch. Presenting -- Changing with the Change: An Address. [Woodville, MS: 1965]. Delivered before the Mississippi State Federation of Colored Women's Clubs. Call Number: LC2802 M7 F56 1965.
Sam H. Franklin Jr. Early Years of the Delta Cooperative Farm and the Providence Cooperative Farm. Alcoa, TN: Lamar Copy Service, 1980. Call Number: HD1485 D44 F72 1980.
Freedom Information Service. Mississippi Newsletter. [Tougaloo, MS]: 1966-168. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.5 M69.
Roland Freeman. Folkroots: Images of Mississippi Black Folklife (1974-1976). [Jackson, MS]: Mississippi Department of Archives and History, 1977. Photographs. Call Number: E185.93 M6 F7.
Roland Freeman. The Mule Train: A Journey of Hope Remembered. Nashville, TN: Rutledge Hill Press, 1998. Photographs of the Poor People's Campaign that began in Marks, Mississippi. Call Number: F349 M29 F74 1998.
H.S. Fulkerson. The Negro; as He Was; as He Is; as He Will Be. Vicksburg, MS: Commercial Herald Printers, 1887. Call Number: E185 F96.
Henry T. Gallagher. James Meredith and the Old Miss Riot: A Soldier's Story. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2012. Memoir. Call Number: LD3413 G35 2012.
Charles Betts Galloway. The South and the Negro: An Address Delivered at the Seventh Annual Conference for Education in the South, Birmingham, Ala., April 26, 1904. Mississippi bishop. Call Number: E185.5 J65 no. 11.
G.T. Gillespie. A Christian View on Segregation: Reprint of an Address by Rev. G.T. Gillespie, Made Before the Synod of Mississippi of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S., Nov. 4, 1954. [Greenwood, MS: Educational Fund of the Citizens' Councils, 1954]. Call Number: BT734.3 G5.
Jessie Gillespie. Views of a Southern Negro Told. Walls, MS: Mid-South Informer, [196-]. Segregation. Call Number: E185.61 V54.
James Goldman. Goldman's Gold: An Album of Photographs Taken in 1968 of the Marks' Mule Train. 2010. Call Number: F349 M29 G65 2010.
Maurice T. Gray. Children of Mississippi to Children of America. Southfield, MI: AGOC Publishing, 1999. Memoir by Mississippi civil rights activist. Call Number: E185.93 M6 G73 1999.
Elmore Douglass Greaves. The Blackamoore of Oxford: A Reply to Attorney General Robert Kennedy's Report on How He Is Making Progress in Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: 1963]. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.61 G74.
Hamer, Fannie Lou, 1917-1977: Papers, 1966-1978, n.d.: Register. Description of collection. New Orleans, LA: Amistad Research Center, [1984]. Call Number: E185.97 H35 F3 1985.
Ira Harkey. Dedicated to the Proposition...Editorials from The Chronicle, Pascagoula, Mississippi, by Ira Harkey, Editor and Publisher. [Pascagoula, MS]: 1963. Race relations and integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 H3.
Ira Harkey. The Smell of Burning Crosses: An Autobiography of a Mississippi Newspaperman. Jacksonville, IN: Harris-Wolfe, [1967]. Race relations. Call Number: E185.61 H248 1967.
Clarie Collins Harvey. Womanpower and the Jackson Movement. [Jackson, MS: Pyramid], 1990. African American civil rights activists in Jackson, Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 H378 1990.
Evans Harrington. Letters and Comments: Living in Mississippi. [New Haven, CN]: Yale University Press, [1968]. Race relations in Oxford, Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 H37 1968.
Alferdteen Harrison. The Farish Street Historic District: Memories, Perceptions, and Development Alternatives (A Selection of Essays and Statements). Jackson, MS: Jackson State University, 1984). African American district in Jackson, Mississippi. Call Number: F347 J13 H37 1984.
Alferdteen Harrison. A Listing from the Mississippi Statewide Survey of African American Records. Jackson, MS: Jackson State University, 1992. Call Number: E185.93 M6 L57 1992.
Alferdteen Harrison. A Pilot Teaching Project on the Farish Street Historic District: African American Culture, 1890-1960. Jackson, MS: Jackson State University, 1995. Call Number: F349 J13 P54 1995.
Carter Monroe Harrison. Sounding Brass and Tinkling Cymbals: Does God Believe in Segregation. Amory, MS: Amory News-Advertiser, [1956]. Call Number: E185.61 H275 1956.
Tom Hayden. Revolution in Mississippi. New York: Students for a Democratic Society, 1962. Call Number: JK1929 M7 H39 1962.
Leatha B. Hayes. Blossom Bit by Bit. Flushing, MI: Autarkee Press, 1998. Memoir African American Mississippi sharecropper's daughter who becomes a teacher and physician. Call Number: E185.97 H38 A3 1998.
Gordon Henderson. "Mississippi, the Most Open Place" in New South Vol. 20, No. 19 (October 1965). Race relations. Call Number: F341 H46 1965.
Aaron Henry. Aaron Henry: The Fire Ever Burning. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 2000. Civil rights activist in Clarksdale, Mississippi and Mississippi NAACP president. Call Number: F350 N4 H46 2000.
Anthony M. Hervey. Why I Wave the Confederate Battle Flag: Written by a Black Man: The End of Niggerism and the Welfare State. Victoria, BC: Trafford Publishing, 2005. Oxford, Mississippi author. Call Number: E185.92 H48 2005.
Walter B. Hill Jr. Federal Records Relating to Civil Rights in the Post-World War II Era. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 2006. Call Number: E185.61 F27 2006.
Hinds County Freedom Democratic Party. Hinds County FDP F.D.P. News. Hinds County, MS. Civil rights. Special Collections has two 1967 issues. Call Number: JK2318 M7 H56.
Endesha Ida Mae Holland. From the Mississippi Delta: A Memoir. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1997. African American woman from Greenwood, Mississippi. Call Number: F349 G82 H65 1997.
Louis W. Hollis. Never!: An Address. Jackson, MS: Citizens' Council, 1966. Call Number: HS2330 C483 H65 1966.
Len Holt. The Summer that Didn't End. New York: Morrow, 1965. Mississippi Freedom Summer. Call Number: E185.61 H75.
William Henry Holtzclaw. The Black Man's Burden. New York: Neale Publishing Company, 1915. Autobiography of director of Utica Normal and Industrial Institute of Mississippi for African American students. Call Number: E185.97 H75.
Davis W. Houck and David E. Dixon, eds. Rhetoric, Religion and the Civil Rights Movement. Waco, TX: Baylor University Press, 2006. Includes "Terror Reigns in Mississippi" and "Mississippi's Challenge in This Grave Hour" by T.R.M. Howard; "Speech at the University of Mississippi" by Robert H. Walkup; "The Moving Finger Writes in Mississippi" by James McBride; and "Report from Alabama and Mississippi" by Duncan Howlett. Call Number: E185.61 R48 2006.
Winson Hudson. Mississippi Harmony: Memoirs of a Freedom Fighter. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2002. Civil rights activist in Leake County, Mississippi. Call Number: F350 N4 H83 2002.
In the Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, 1969, No. --: Hinds County School Board et als., Petitioners, vs. United States of America et als., Respondents: (Including Consolidated Cases): Petition for Writ of Certioari with Motion to Expedite Hearing: Petition for Writ of Certioari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. Kansas City, MO: E.L. Mendenhall, [1969]. School integration in Hinds County, Mississippi. Two volumes. Call Number: KF4155 H56 1969.
In the Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, 1966, No. 79, Robert L. Pierson, et al., Petitioners, vs. J.L. Ray, et al., Respondents: No. 94, J.L. Ray, et al., Petitioners, vs. Robert L. Pierson, et al., Respondents: On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit: Brief for Respondents in Cause No. 79 and Petitioners in Cause No. 94. [New Orleans, LA: 1966]. Civil rights in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 I55 1966.
In the Supreme Court of the United States, October Term, 1969, No. 632: Beatrice Alexander, et als., Petitioners, vs. Holmes County Board of Education, et als., Respondents: (Including Consolidated Cases): On Writ to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit: Brief for the Respondents, Other than the United States of America. [1969]. School integration in Holmes County, Mississippi. Call Number: KF4155 A75 1969b.
In the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No. 28,030: Beatrice Alexander, et als., Plaintiffs-Appellants, v. Holmes County Board of Education, et als, Defendants-Appellees: (Including Consolidated Cases): Petition for Rehearing in Banc by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. [1969]. School integration in Holmes County, Mississippi. Call Number: KF4155 A75 1969.
In the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No. 28,042: United States of America, Plaintiff-Appellant, v. Hinds County School Board, et als., Defendants-Appellees: (Including Consolidated Cases): Petition for Rehearing in Banc by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. [1969]. School integration in Hinds County, Mississippi. Call Number: KF4155 U558 1969.
The Inauguration of Eddie J. Carthan, Mayor of Tchula, Mississippi, 1977. African American mayor. Call Number: F349 T2 I52 1977.
Jackson Citizens' Council (Miss.). Information and Education Committee. Aspect. Jackson, MS: 1963-1968. Call Number: HS1 A8.
James E. Jackson. At the Funeral of Medgar Evers in Jackson, Mississippi: A Tribute in Tears and a Thrust for Freedom. New York: Publisher's New Press, 1963. Call Number: E185.97 E94 J32.
Jackson State University. Prospectus for the Margaret Walker Alexander National Research Center for the Study of the 20th Century African American. [Jackson, MS: 1990]. Call Number: E184.7 P76 1990.
Jackson State University. School of Business and Economics. Jackson Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area Minority Business Directory. Jackson, MS: 1980. Call Number: E185.8 J28 1980.
Jackson State University. School of Business and Economics. A Listing of a Majority of the Black Operated and/or Owned Businesses in Jackson During the Year 1972. Jackson, MS: Jackson State College, [1972]. Call Number: HD2346 U5 J312 1972.
James Howard Meredith, on Behalf of Himself and All Others Similarly Situated, Appellant, vs. Charles Dickson Fair, President of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning of the State of Mississippi, Louisville, Mississippi, et al., Appellees: Brief Appellees. [Jackson, MS: United States Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit Court, 1962]. University of Mississippi integration. Call Number: LC212.722 M7 M47 1962.
James Howard Meredith, on Behalf of Himself and All Others Similarly Situated, Appellant, vs. Charles Dickson Fair, President of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning of the State of Mississippi, Louisville, Mississippi, et al., Appellees: Order Vacating Stay, Recalling Mandate, and Issuing New Mandate Forthwith. [New Orleans, LA: Scofield's Quality Printers, 1962]. Integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LC212.722 M7 M474 1962.
James Meredith Interviews. DVD recordings of oral interviews from the 1980s. Call Number: E185.61 J364 2009.
James Meredith Interviews. VHS recordings of oral interviews. Call Number: E185.61 J3.
James Meredith Speaks at Ole Miss 1979: White Supremacy and Black Cooperation, An Analysis of Past, Present and Future Control of Blacks in Mississippi. DVD recording of 1979 speech. Call Number: E185.61 J354 2009.
James Meredith Speaks at Ole Miss 1979: White Supremacy and Black Cooperation, an Analysis of the Past, Present, and Future Control of Blacks in Mississippi. University, MS: 1979. VHS recording. Call Number: E185.615 J35.
A Jewish View on Segregation. Greenwood, MS: Association of Citizens' Councils, [19--]. Call Number: E185.61 J47.
Jesse J. Johnson. Ebony Brass: An Autobiography of Negro Frustration and Ambition. New York: William-Frederick Press, 1967. Author was born in Hattiesburg, Mississippi and retired frm the U.S. Army as a Lieutenant Colonel in 1962. Call Number: U53 J6 A3.
William Johnson. William Johnson's Natchez: The Antebellum Diary of a Free Negro. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1993. Call Number: E185.97 J697 A3 1993.
Earle Johnston. Mississippi's Defiant Years, 1953-1973: An Interpretive Documentary with Personal Experience. Forest, MS: Lake Harbor Publishers, 1990. Call Number: E185.93 M6 J58 1990.
Laurence Clifton Jones. The Bottom Rail: Addresses and Papers on the Negro in the Lowlands of Mississippi and on Inter-Racial Relations in the South during Twenty-Five Years. New York: Fleming H. Revell Company, [1935]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 J6.
John F. Kennedy. John F. Kennedy and the Negro: Civil Rights Statements from Great Speeches. [Illinois]: Johnson Pub. Co., [1964]. LP recording. Includes television address on integration of the University of Mississippi in 1962. Call Number: E185.6 K45 1964.
Ku Klux Klan. Nightmare! What Could Happen to White Americans in the Late 1970's. Liberty, MS: United Klans of America, Inc., [1970]. Call Number: HS2330 K63 N4.
Ken Lawrence. Thirty Years of Selective Service Racism. Jackson, MS: Anti-Repression Resource Team, 198-. Report submitted by National Black Draft Counselors to the White House Conference on Youth, April 1971. Call Number: UB344 M7 L39 1981.
David Lee. "Mississippi Survey: State No Worse Than Any Other: White Paternalism Key to Negro Understanding" in Telegram (Newark, NJ) Vol. 12, No. 1-2 (January 15-22, 1956). Two parts. Call Number: E185.93 M6 L4 1956.
The Light. Bay St. Louis, MS: Mark B. Carmichael. African American newspaper; Special Collections has 16 September 1942 issue. Call Number: Eastland Newspaper.
Lights in the Delta. Berkeley, CA: UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism, 2004. VHS recording of documentary on impact of casino industry in Tunica, Mississippi in the 1990s. Call Number: HV6711 L544 2004.
Earl Lively. The Invasion of Mississippi. Belmont, MA: American Opinion, 1963]. Segregation. Call Number: E185.61 L58.
Lower Mississippi Delta Development Center. LMDDC News. Memphis, TN. "African American Heritage Moving Forward in Delta." Special Collections has one 1995 issue. Call Number: F347 M6 L64 1995.
James D. Lynch. Redpath; or, The Ku-Klux Tribunal: A Poem. Columbus, MS: Excelsior Book and Job Printing Establishment, 1877. Call Number: PS2351 L532 R4.
John Roy Lynch. Reminiscences of an Active Life: The Autobiography of John Roy Lynch. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, [1970]. Call Number: F341 L97 A3.
The March in Mississippi. [New York: CBS Video, 1994]. VHS recording of CBS News special report on 1966 Meredith March against Fear and for Voter Registration. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M25 1994.
Florence Mars. The Bell Returns to Mt. Zion. Philadelphia, MS: Stribling Print, 1996. Philadelphia, Mississippi. Call Number: F349 P47 M37 1996.
Florence Mars. Witness in Philadelphia. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1977. Civil rights in Philadelphia, Mississippi. Call Number: F349 P47 M37.
Charles Marsh. The Last Days: A Son's Story of Sin and Segregation at the Dawn of a New South. New York: Basic Books, 2001. Laurel, Mississippi. Call Number: R347 L33 M37 2001.
Burke Marshall. Address by Burke Marshall, Assistant Attorney General, Civil Rights Division, Department of Justice, to Yale Law School Association of Washington, D.C. on November 20, 1962. [Washington, DC: Department of Justice, 1962]. Integration of University of Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 M35.
Elizabeth Sutherland Martinez, ed. Letters from Mississippi. New York: McGraw-Hill, [1965]. Correspondence of Student Nonvoilent Coordinating Committee members and civil rights workers. Call Number: E185.61 S95.
Gilbert R. Mason. Beaches, Blood, and Ballots: A Black Doctor's Civil Rights Struggle. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2000. Biloxi, Mississippi. Call Number: F349 B5 M38 2000.
William G. McAtee. Transformed: A White Mississippi Pastor's Journey into Civil Rights and Beyond. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2011. Call Number: F349 C69 M43 2011.
M.M. McGowan. "Integration Amendment" Was Never Legally Adopted! Jackson, MS: Citizens' Council, 1962. Call Number: E185.61 M4775 1962.
Carl McIntire. Revolution in the Delta. Collingswood, NJ: 20th Century Reformation Hour, 1962. Civil rights and religion in the Mississippi Delta. Call Number: F347 D38 R48 1962.
Jack Minnis. A Chronology of Violence and Intimidation in Mississippi Since 1961. [Atlanta, GA: Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, 1964]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M558 1964.
Minority Report as to that Portion of the Proposed Platform Entitled "Civil Rights": Presented on Behalf of Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, Arkansas, Louisiana, South Carolina, Florida, Mississippi, and Virginia. [Committee on Resolutions and Platform, 1960]. Democratic Party platform. Call Number: E185.61 M64 1960.
A Missionary Presence in Mississippi 1964. New York: Council for Christian Social Action of the United Church of Christ, 1964. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.61 M57 1964.
Mississippi and the Mob. State Officials, Officers and Outstanding Members of State Bar Association, and Other Prominent Mississippians Condemn Mob Violence and Call on Officers to Do Their Sworn Duty. [Jackson, MS: Jackson Printing Co.]. Lynching. Call Number: HV6464 M5.
Mississippi Baptist Convention Board. What Every Baptist Should Know About: The Program of Negro Work. Jackson, MS: [1944]. Call Number: BX6444 M7 W52 1944.
Mississippi Bicentennial Commission. Mississippi's Black Women: A Pictorial Story of Their Contributions to the State and Nation. [Corinth, MS]: Mississippi State Federation of Colored Women Clubs, 1976. Call Number: E185.86 M55.
Mississippi Black Paper: Fifty-Seven Negro and White Citizens' Testimony of Police Brutality, the Breakdown of Law and Order and the Corruption of Justice in Mississippi. New York: Random House, [1965]. Call Number: HV8145 M7 M5.
Mississippi. Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning. Ayers Accountability Manual. [Jackson, MS: 2005]. Discrimination in higher education. Call Number: LC212.422 M7 A94 2005.
Mississippi Council on Human Relations. The Council Newsletter. Jackson, MS. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1971 to 1978. Call Number: JC571 M57.
Mississippi Cultural Crossroads. No Easy Journey: The Civil Rights Movement in Claiborne County, an Exhibit. [Port Gibson, MS: 199-]. Call Number: F349 P66 N6.
Mississippi Eyewitness: The Three Civil Rights Workers -- How They Were Murdered. [New York: 1964]. Special issue of Ramparts Magazine. Call Number: E185.61 R25 OVRS.
Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. A Primer for Delegates to the Democratic National Convention Who Haven't Heard about the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. 1964. Call Number: JK2391 M5 M5 1964.
Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party Newsletter. Jackson, MS. Special Collections has two issues from 1965 and 1968. Call Number: E185.5 M665.
Mississippi. Junior Chamber of Commerce. Oxford: A Warning for Americans. Jackson, MS: 1962. University of Mississippi integration. Call Number: E185.61 M7.
Mississippi. Junior Chamber of Commerce. The Oxford Story. [1962]. LP record with audio documentary on the integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: E185.61 M667 1962.
The Mississippi Legislative Black Caucus: Gala Celebration. [Jackson, MS: 1980]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M5588 1980.
Mississippi. Legislature. General Investigating Committee. Report of the General Legislature Investigating Committee (First Section) to the Governor of the State of Mississippi and the Members of the Mississippi State Legislature Concerning the Occupation of the Campus of the University of Mississippi and the Events Resulting Therefrom. [Jackson, MS: 1963]. Call Number: LD3413 M552 1963.
Mississippi. Legislature. General Investigating Committee. A Report to the Mississippi State Legislature Concerning the Occupation of the Campus of the University of Mississippi, September 30, 1962 by the Department of Justice of the United States. [Jackson, MS: 1963]. Call Number: LD3413 M55 1963.
Mississippi. Legislature. General Investigating Committee. A Report to the Mississippi State Legislature Concerning the Occupation of the Campus of the University of Mississippi, September 30, 1962 by the Department of Justice of the United States. [Jackson, MS: 1964]. Call Number: LD3413 M55.
Mississippi. Legislature. Senate. Petition of Members of the Senate and House of Representatives of Mississippi, Praying that a Law Be Enacted Similar to the Bill Known as the "Sumner Amendment to the General Amnesty Bill." [Washington, DC: 1872]. Freedmen and race discrimination. Call Number: HT731 P48 1872.
Mississippi Opening up the Closed Society. Special Issue of Freedomways Vol. 5, No. 2 (Spring 1965). Call Number: HT1581 A2 F7 v.5, no.2.
Mississippi Population Statistics by County, 1963-1965, Projected. [Mississippi: 1963]. Statistics by race. Call Number: HB325 M7 M44 1963.
Mississippi Research and Development Center. Social and Economic Profile of Black Mississippians. Jackson, MS: 1977. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M57.
Mississippi. State Board of Health. Manual for Midwives. [Jackson, MS: 1939]. African American midwives. Call Number: RG950 M36 1939.
Mississippi State Democratic Executive Committee. Resolution. [1948]. Civil rights. Call Number: JK2318 M7 M57 1948.
Mississippi. State Department of Education. Public Schools for Negro Children. Jackson, MS. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1945/46 to 1956/57. Call Number: LC2802 M7 P8.
Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission. Don't Stone Her Until You Hear Her Side: All Mississippi Asks Is Fairness and a Chance to Present Its Side on the Case. [Jackson, MS: 1956]. Call Number: E185.61 D669 1956.
Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission. In the Interest of Better Understanding. [Jackson, MS: 1954]. Segregation in education. Call Number: LC212.522 M7 I58 1956.
Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission. Report to the Members of the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Mississippi. [Jackson, MS: 1957]. Race relations. Call Number: E185.93 M6 A2 1957.
Mississippi State University. Bureau of Educational Research and Evaluation. Years of Unrest. [Starkville, MS: 198-]. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.93 M6 Y42 1980z.
Mississippi reMixed. [Surrey, British Columbia]: Ottewell Media, 2010. DVD recording of documentary telling story of a Canadian who returns to her birthplace in Jackson, Mississippi to view racial transformations in the state. Call Number: F349 A1 M577 2010.
Mississippi State Advisory Committee to the Cabinet Committee on Education. Some Facts, Opinions, and Recommendations by Superintendents: Federal Emergency School Assistance, Ninety-Four Mississippi School Districts, Session 1970/71. [Jackson, MS: 1971]. Desegregation. Call Number: LB2826 M7 F43 1971.
Mississippi Welfare League. The Negro Race in Sunflower County, Mississippi. [Grenada, MS: Press of the Sentinel]. Call Number: F347 S9 M5.
Mississippi Workers' Center for Human Rights for the Community Advocacy Project. Knowledge Is Power!: A Know Your Rights Manual. Greenville, MS: Community Advocacy Project, 2005. Call Number: JC571 K516 2005.
Mississippians United to Elect Negro Candidates. To Get the Power. Greenville, MS: [1967]. Call Number: JK1929 M7 M58 1967.
Thad R. Montgomery. The American Negro: A Few Facts, Briefly Stated, Why His Colonization Would Benefit the People Generally. Kosciusko, MS: Mississippi Publishing Co., 1897. Call Number: E448 M65 1897.
Monthly Programs, Negro Home Demonstration Clubs, 1956. [Warren County, MS: 1956]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M598 1956.
Anne Moody. Coming of Age in Mississippi. New York: Dell, 1976. Call Number: E185.97 M65 A3 1976.
Anite W. Moore, et al., comp. A Guide to Roy Wilkins Special Collection: Donated by His Wife Aminda. Holly Springs, MS: Rust College, 1988. Roy Wilkins was executive director of NAACP and grandson of a Mississippi slave. Call Number: E185.5 N276 G82 1988.
Richard D. Morphew. Ole Miss and the Constitution! An Address by Richard D. Morphew...to an Assembly Program of the Associated Students of the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif., Wednesday, October 17, 1962. [Jackson, MS: 1962] Call Number: E185.61 M78.
Willie Morris. "The Ghosts of Medgar Evers" in Conversations in Black and White. New York: Random House, [1997]. Call Number: PN1997 G447 M67 1997.
Willie Morris. Yazoo: Integration in a Deep-Southern Town. New York: Harper's Magazine Press, 1971. Yazoo, Mississippi. Call Number: LA315 Y38 M6 1971.
Mrs. Charles C. Mosley. The Negro in Mississippi Historical Society: A State Organization Dedicated to the Past and Present Contributors of This Great Commonwealth. [19--]. Call Number: E185 N436 1900z.
Mound Bayou: An Oral Report. [Mound Bayou, MS: 1980]. VHS recording of oral history of African American community in the Mississippi Delta. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M68 1980.
Mound Bayou Progress Association. Facts about Mound Bayou, Bolivar County, Mississippi: With a Brief History of the All-Negro Town. [Mound Bayou, MS: 1935]. Call Number: F349 M67 F33 1935.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. M Is for Mississippi and Murder. [New York: 1955]. Call Number: E185.65 N3.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Triple Murder: States' Rights, Mississippi Style. [New York: 1964]. Call Number: E185.61 T75 1964.
The National Broadcasting Company Presents Meet the Press, America's Press Conference of the Air...Guests: Martin Luther King Jr., Roy Wilkins, Whitney M. Young Jr., Floyd B. McKissick, Stokely Carmichael, James H. Meredith; Special Edition, Sunday, August 21, 1966. Washington, DC: Merkle Press, 1966. Call Number: JC599 U5 N32 1966.
National Evaluative Conference in Black Studies. Black Heritage: Our Cultural Roots. Jackson, MS: 1971. Sponsored by Jackson State College. Call Number: E184.7 N3.
National Negro County Agents Association. Program: Twelfth Annual Meeting. [1963]. Held at Mississippi Vocational College in Itta Bena, Mississippi. Call Number: S544 N28 1963.
National Putnam Letters Committee, Washington, D.C. The Evers Opinion. [Washington, DC: 1964]. Legal opinions regarding desegregation of schools in Jackson, Mississippi. Call Number: LB3062 N388 1964.
The Negro Progressive Forum Magazine. Vicksburg, MS: Brotherhood Publishing Co., [1939-19-]. Call Number: E185.5 N4.
Melany Neilson. Even Mississippi. Tuscaloosa, AL: University of Alabama Press, 1989. Race relations. Call Number: E185.93 M6 N35 1989.
Dotson McGinnish Nelson. Conflicting Views on Segregation: Reprints of a Series of Letters between Dr. D.M. Nelson, President of Mississippi College, Clinton, Miss. And an Unnamed Alumnus. Winona, MS: Association of Citizens' Councils, [195-]. Call Number: E185.61 N443.
An Objective Look at Black America!: Synthesis of the Book, Whole Nigger or None by Black Businessman Albert Lee Burton. Bay St. Louis, MS: Jack Mohr, [199-]. Call Number: E185.61 M63 1990.
Open Doors Oral History Interview with Arthur Meredith, 2002 July. DVD recording; two parts. Brother of James Meredith. Commemoration of the integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 O735 2002.
Open Doors Oral History Interview with James Meredith, 2002 July. DVD recording; two parts. Commemoration of the integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 O735 2002.
Ted Ownby. American Dreams in Mississippi: Consumers, Poverty & Culture, 1830-1998. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1999. Call Number: HC107 M73 C66 1999.
Oxford Development Association. Soul Force. Oxford, MS. African American periodical. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1970 to 1996. Call Number: E185.5 S68.
Oxford!: The Mississippi National Guard Stands Fast. Washington, DC: National Guard Association of the United States, 1962. Integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 O94 1962.
Oxford, U.S.A. Sims Associates, 1963. VHS recording of documentary produced by segregationists in Mississippi to describe the integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: F349 O94 1963. Also available as a DVD. Call Number: F349 O94 2012.
William Paine. To Do Justice: By the Photographers and Editors of Black Star. [New York]: Pyramid Publications, 1965. Includes sections on 1962 University of Mississippi integration riot and Medgar Evers. Call Number: E185.615 P32 1965.
Joseph Papp. The Films of the Civil Rights, June 16-24, 1989: Presented at the Public Theatre by Joseph Papp, in Honor of the Chaney, Goodman Schwerner Memorial Coalition. [New York: 1989]. Call Number: PN1995.9 N4 F55 1989 OVRS.
Alan Parker. Mississippi Burning: Production Notes. Los Angeles: Orion Pictures Corp., 1988. Call Number: PN1995.9 N4 P37 1988.
J.L. Parker. Crisis at Ole Miss. 45prm record. Satirical humor on integration at the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 C75 1962.
Robert B. Patterson. The Citizens' Council: A History: An Address. [Greenwood, MS: Association of Citizens' Councils, 1963]. Call Number: HS2330 C483 P38 1963.
Robert B. Patterson. The Road Ahead: An Address. Greenwood, MS: Association of Citizens' Council, [1965]. Call Number: E185.61 P38 1965.
Robert B. Patterson. The Truth Cries Out: An Address. Greenwood, MS: Association of Citizens Council, [1966]. Call Number: E185.61 P385 1966.
John Perkins. Let Justice Roll Down: John Perkins Tells His Own Story. Glendale, CA: G/L Regal Books, [1976]. Race relations in Mississippi. Call Number: BR1725 P47 1976.
John Perkins and Thomas A. Tarrants III. He's My Brother: Former Racial Foes Offer Strategy for Reconciliation. Grand Rapids, MI: Chosen Books, 1994. Mississippi race relations. Call Number: E185.615 P42 1994.
John E. Phay. Characteristics of Black Students Who Were Enrolled at the University of Mississippi, Oxford Campus, Fall Semester 1977. University, MS: 1978. Call Number: LD3416 P49x.
John E. Phay. A Proposal for Accommodating the Warren County Negro High School Students in the Vicksburg Schools. 1963. Call Number: LC2803 M7 P3.
Piney Woods School. Mississippi White Folks Helped Us to Do This for Piney Woods School. Piney Woods, MS: [19--]. Call Number: LC2852 B713 M57 1900z OVRS.
Piney Woods School. What a Student Should Learn in School Beside Books: The Serious Thoughts of Negro Youth on the Objectives that Students and Teachers Should Have If Education Is to Be Fundamentally Useful as Well as Cultural; Are Their Ideas in Keeping with Post-War Plans for Education in a New and Better World? Piney Woods, MS: [194-]. Call Number: LB41 W3 1940z.
Progressing Together. Tupelo, MS: Progressing Together Pub. Co., 1947. "A Magazine Designed to Mold Inter-Racial Goodwill." Special Collections has Vol. 1, No. 1. Call Number: E185.5 P76.
Prom Night in Mississippi. Docurama, [2009]. DVD recording of documentary on 2008 desegregation of prom at Charleston High School. Call Number: E185.61 P766 2010.
Carleton Putnam. Genetic Race Differences: The Findings of Dr. William Shockley. [Jackson, MS: Citizens Council of America, 1969]. Call Number: HT1523 G46 1969.
Carleton Putnam. Race and Reason Day in Mississippi. Jackson, MS: Citizens' Council, [1961]. LP record of 26 October 1961 banquet in Jackson, Mississippi. Call Number: HT1521 P88 R23.
Race. Jackson, MS: The New Patriot and Race, 1967. Special Collections has volume 1, numbers 1 and 2. Call Number: HT1501 R3.
George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. Westport, CN: Greenwood Pub. Co., [1972-]. Transcripts of oral histories with former slaves conducted in the 1930s. Mississippi represented in Volume 7. Call Number: E441 A58.
George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography: Supplement, Series 1. Westport, CN: Greenwood Pub. Co., [1978-]. Additional oral histories with former slaves during the 1930s. Mississippi represented in volumes 1 through 4. Call Number: E441 A58 supp.
D.B. Red. A Corrupt Tree Bringeth Forth Evil Fruit: A Plea for Racial Segregation Based on Scripture, History, and World Conditions. Hattiesburg, MS: [1956]. Call Number: E185.61 R293.
D.B. Red. Race Mixing a Religious Fraud. Hattiesburg, MS: [195-]. Call Number: E185.61 R295 1950.
Rep. Abernethy Takes Wisconsin Solon to Task on Human Rights in Mississippi: Text of Reuss Speech and Abernethy's Reply in Congress. [1965]. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.61 R42 1965 OVRS.
Republican National Committee (U.S.). Original Brief on Behalf of the Mississippi Republican Party in Contest of Delegation with Mississippi Black and Tan Grand Old Party. [1956]. Call Number: Jk2358 M706 1956.
Responsibility for Bloodshed at Ole Miss and Oxford, Mississippi: September 30, 1962. Jackson, MS: Purser Brothers, [1962]. Call Number: E185.61 R43 1962.
Restrictions on Negro Voting in Mississippi History: Appendix to the Brief of the American Civil Liberties Union, Amicus Curiae. New York: Record Press, [1964]. U.S. Supreme Court case. Call Number: KFM7011.5 N4 R3.
Malvina Reynolds. "Rabbi and Two Youth Beaten in Mississippi" in Broadside: The National Topic Song Magazine No. 48 (20 July 1964). Civil rights song. Call Number: M1977 C47 R49 1964.
Ritual: Afro-American Sons & Daughters. Yazoo City, MS: Birdsall, 1930. Secret society. Call Number: E185.93 M6 R579 1930.
Dunbar Rowland. A Mississippi View of Race Relations in the South...Read before the Alumni Association of the University of Mississippi, June 3rd, 1902. Call Number: E185.61 R88.
Rural Organizing and Cultural Center (Holmes County, Miss.). Minds Stayed on Freedom: The Civil Rights Struggle in the Rural South: An Oral History. Boulder: Westview Press, 1991. Call Number: F347 H6 M56 1991.
Herbert Ravenel Sass. Mixed Schools and Mixed Blood. Greenwood, MS: Citizens' Councils, 1956. Call Number: E185.61 S3.
Mario Savio, et al. The Free Speech Movement and the Negro Revolution. Detroit: News and Letters, 1965. Includes Eugene Walker's "Mississippi Freedom Summer." Call Number: JC599 U5 S35 1965.
Paul J. Scheips. The Army and the Oxford Troubles, 1962-1963: A Summary. 1964. Preliminary working paper. Call Number: LD3413 S328 1964 OVRS.
Paul J. Scheips. The Role of the Army in the Oxford, Mississippi Incident, 1962-1963. [Washington, DC]: Department of the Army, 1965. Integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 S33.
J. Julius Scott. Race Relations, Social Change and the Church. [Jackson, MS: Belhaven College, 1966]. Call Number: BT734.2 S36 1966.
The Segregation Decisions: Papers Read at a Session of the Twenty-First Annual Meeting of the Southern Historical Association, Memphis, Tennessee, November 10, 1955. Atlanta: Southern Regional Council, 1956. Includes papers by Mississippi author William Faulkner. Call Number: PS3511 A86 A16 1955a.
Jordana Y. Shakoor. Civil Rights Childhood. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1999. Memoir of African American family in Greenwood, Mississippi. Call Number: E185.96 S42 1999.
James W. Silver. Mississippi: The Closed Society. [1963]. Silver's presidential address before the Southern Historical Association. Race relations. Call Number: F345 S488.
James W. Silver. Running Scared: Silver in Mississippi. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1984. University of Mississippi faculty member; race relations. Call Number: E185.5 S49 A37 1984.
William J. Simmons. A Comparison of Attitudes during Reconstruction & and II. Shreveport, LA: Citizens' Council of La., Inc., [1962]. Address to the Jefferson Davis Camp No. 635, Sons of Confederate Veterans, Jackson, Mississippi, April 5, 1962. Call Number: E185.61 S585 C6 1962.
William J. Simmons. The Mid-West Hears the South's Story: An Address. [1958]. Speech by Mississippian before the Oakland Farmers-Merchants Annual Banquet in Oakland, Iowa on 3 February 1958. Call Number: E185.61 S527.
William J. Simmons. The Race Problem Moves North, a Paper by William J. Simmons...Presented at Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota. [Jackson, MS]: Citizens' Councils of America, 1962. Call Number: E185.61 S5 R3.
William J. Simmons. Why Segregation Is Right, a Paper by William J. Simmons...Presented at Notre Dame University, South Bend, Indiana. [Jackson, MS]: Citizens' Councils of America, 1963. Call Number: E185.61 S5 W3.
Otho r. Singleton. Speech of Hon. Otho R. Singleton, of Mississippi, on Resistance of Black Republican Domination; Delivered in the House of Representatives, December 19, 1859. Washington, DC: Congressional Globe Office, 1859. Call Number: E185.61 S53.
Dale Edwyna Smith. The Slaves of Liberty: Freedom in Amite County, Mississippi, 1820-1868. New York: Garland Pub., 1999. Call Number: F347 A5 S64 1999.
Frank E. Smith. Look Away from Dixie. [Baton Rouge]: Louisiana State University Press, [1965]. Memoir of U.S. Representative on race relations in Mississippi. Call Number: F216.2 S56.
Dan Smoot. The Mississippi Tragedy. Dallas, TX: Dan Smoot Report Inc., 1962. Integration of the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 S66 1962.
Southern Christian Leadership Conference. News Bulletin: To Our Friends. Atlanta, GA: 1967. Civil rights in Grenada, Mississippi on page 5. Call Number: E185.6 S688 1967.
Southern Conference Educational Fund. Mississippi -- Old and New, 1821-1971. [Jackson, MS: 1971]. Black nationalism in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M559 1971.
Southern Leadership Institute. Bulletin Flash!: Beware of Foreign Ideological Penetration. Meridian, MS: 1946. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.93 M6 B85 1946.
Southern Leadership Institute. Echoes. Meridian, MS: [1951]. Collection of pictures and radio lectures on civil rights. Call Number: E185.61 E225 1951.
Southern Leadership Institute. Speaking Out! Meridian, MS: 1950. Civil rights in Mississippi. Call Number: E185.93 M6 S69 1950.
The Southern National Newsletter. Memphis, TN: Southern National Party. Special Collections has scattered issues from 1978/79 to 1990. States' rights party. Call Number: JK2391 S7 S68 OVRS.
The Southern Patriot. 1963 (December), 1964 (January-June, October), 1965 (February-December), 1966, 1967, 1968 (February-December), 1969-1976. Newspaper published by the Southern Conference Educational Fund which had a goal to eliminate segregation and racial injustice in the South. Call Number: HN79 A2 S67.
Southern Regional Council. Law Enforcement in Mississippi. Atlanta: 1964. Civil rights. Call Number: E185.61 S69.
Southern Regional Council. The Other Mississippi. Atlanta, GA: 1963. University of Mississippi integration riot. Call Number: E185.61 O84 1963.
Thomas Spight. Danger in Teaching the Utterly False Doctrine of the Political and Social Equality of the Black and White Races. Speech of Hon. Thos. Spight, of Mississippi, in the House of Representatives, Wednesday, March 16, 1904. [1904]. Call Number: E185.61 S74.
Alfred Holt Stone. Civil Rights, States Rights, and the Reconstruction Background by the Hon. Alfred H. Stone. Greenwood, MS: Citizens' Councils, [1965]. Call Number: E185.61 S86 1965.
Alfred Holt Stone. Civil Rights, States Rights, and the Reconstruction Background by the Late Alfred H. Stone, Written in 1948. [Church Hill, MS: 1965]. Call Number: E185.61 S8.
Alfred Holt Stone. Material Wanted for an Economic History of the Negro. [190-]. Mississippi author. Call Number: E185.6 S78.
Alfred Holt Stone. Studies in the American Race Problem. New York: Doubleday, Page & Company, 1908. Mississippi author. Call Number: E185.61 S87.
James H. Street. Look Away!: A Dixie Notebook. Westport, CN: Greenwood Press, 1977. Reprint of 1936 edition. Mississippi author on race relations. Call Number: E185.6 S79 1977.
Charles Stringer. Diary of a Dixie Cop: Based on a True Story. Monterey, CA: Angel Press, 1986. African American law enforcement officer in Clarksdale, Mississippi. Call Number: HV7914 S87 1986.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (U.S.). Hattiesburg, Miss., Freedom Day: January 22, 1964. Atlanta, GA: [1964]. Call Number: JK1929 M7 H38 1964.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (U.S.). The Student Voice, 1960-1965: Periodical of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee. Westport, CT: Meckler, 1990. Call Number: E185.61 S916 1990.
Tracy Sugarman. Stranger at the Gates: A Summer in Mississippi. New York: Hill and Wang, 1966. Civil rights memoir. Call Number: E185.93 M6 S88.
Sunbelt. Jackson, MS. Periodical on "Black life in Mississippi." Special Collections has one 1979 issue. Call Number: E185.5 S85.
Thomas A. Tarrants. The Conversion of a Klansman: The Story of a Former Ku Klux Klan Terrorist. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1979. Call Number: BV4935 T37 A33.
Clifton L. Taulbert. Once Upon a Time When We Were Colored. Tulsa, OK: Council Oak Books, 1989. Memoir of African American from Glen Allan, Mississippi. Call Number: F350 N4 T38 1989.
Alexander Leonidas Teague. Autobiography of the Late Rev. A.L. Teague, D.D., Holly Springs, Mississippi. Memphis, TN: Ewd. S. Snelling Print., 1917. African American author. Call Number: BX6455 T4.
Allen C. Thompson. Impromptu Remarks Relative to TV Program "Bonanza" by Mayor Allen Thompson. [Jackson, MS: 1964]. Segregation in Mississippi. Call Number: F349 J13 T47 1964.
Today's Mississippi. Jackson, MS: United Communications Corporation of America. African American business periodical. Call Number: E185.8 T6.
Tougaloo College and Millsaps College. Mississippi's "Freedom Summer" Reviewed: A Fifteen Year Perspective on Progress in Race Relations, 1964-1979. [Jackson, MS: 1979]. Program. Call Number: E185.93 M6 M597 1979.
Shirley Tucker. Mississippi from Within. New York: Arco Pub. Co., [1965]. Chiefly extracts of civil rights articles from Mississippi newspapers in 1964-1965. Call Number: E185.61 T86.
United Klans of America. An Introduction to the United Klans of America. Liberty, MS: [196-]. Call Number: HS2230 K63 I57 1960z.
United Klans of America. K.K.K. Brings Real Facts to the Surface. Natchez, MS: [1960]. Call Number: HS2330 K63 K19 1960.
United Klans of America. A Message from the Invisible Empire. Natchez, MS: [1960]. Call Number: HS2330 K63 M47 1960.
United States Commission on Civil Rights. Hearings Held in Jackson, Miss., February 16-20, 1965. [Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1965]. Call Number: E185.93 M6 A57.
United States Commission on Civil Rights. Voting in Mississippi: A Report. [Washington, DC: Government Printing Office], 1965. Call Number: JK1929 M7 A57.
United States Commission on Civil Rights. Mississippi Advisory Committee. Administration of Justice in Mississippi: A Report to the United States Commission on Civil Rights. [Washington, DC]: 1963. Call Number: JC599 U5 A336 1963.
United States. Congress. Joint Select Committee on Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States. Report of the Joint Select Committee to Inquire into the Condition of Affairs in the Late Insurrectionary States, so Far as Regards the Execution of the Laws, and Safety of the Lives and Property of the Citizens of the United States and Testimony Taken...Made to the Two Houses of Congress February 19, 1872. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1872. Volumes 11 & 12 are on Mississippi. Call Number: E668 U5.
United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Federal Records Relating to Civil Rights in the Post-World War II Era. Washington, DC: 2006. Call Number: E185.61 F27 2006.
United States. District Court (Mississippi: Northern District: Greenville Division). Jake Ayers, Jr. [et al.], Plaintiffs, United States of America, [et al.], Plaintiff-Intervenor, v. Kirk Fordice, Governor, State of Mississippi, [et al.], Defendants: Memorandum Opinion and Remedial Decree. [1995]. Discrimination in Mississippi higher education. Call Number: KF4153.3 J34 1995.
United States. District Court (Mississippi: Southern District: Jackson Division). H.D. Darby, on Behalf of Himself and Others Similarly Situated, Plaintiffs, v. James Daniel, Circuit Clerk of Jackson [sic] Davis County, Mississippi, and Joe T. Patterson, Attorney General of the State of Mississippi, Defendants: Before Cameron, Circuit Judge, and Mize and Clayton, District Judges. [Jackson, MS: 1958]. Voter registration in Jefferson Davis County, Mississippi. Call Number: JK4691 H332 1958.
University of Mississippi. Black Involvement at Ole Miss. [Oxford, MS: Office of Admissions and Records, 1975]. Call Number: LD3413 B535 1975.
University of Mississippi. Characteristics of Negro Students Who Were Enrolled at the University of Mississippi, Oxford Campus. University, MS: 1974. Special Collections has various issues from 1973 to 1977. Call Number: LC2802 M7 U5.
University of Mississippi. Participants in Change: Black Students at the University of Mississippi. [University, MS: 1974]. Call Number: LD3416 P37 1973.
University of Mississippi. Report to the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning Concerning Implementation by the University of Mississippi, University, Mississippi, of the Plan of Compliance to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 Approved by the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning... University, MS. Special Collections has reports from 1975 to 1994/95. Call Number: LD3402.9 U552.
University of Mississippi. The University of Mississippi and the Meredith Case. University, MS: 1962. Integration. Call Number: LD3402.9 M5 U5 1962.
University of Mississippi. Afro-American Studies Program. Remembering Medgar Evers -- for a New Generation: A Commemoration. Oxford, MS: Heritage Publications, 1988. Call Number: E185.97 E94 R3 1988.
University of Mississippi. Black Student Union. The Spectator: A Publication of the Ole Miss Black Student Union. [1971-]. Special Collections has issues from 1971-1972. Call Number: LD3416 S64.
The University of Mississippi vs. the United States of America. CD-ROM disc with photographs of the enrollment of James Meredith at the University of Mississippi. Call Number: LD3413 U54 2003.
University of Southern Mississippi. Center for Oral History and Cultural Heritage. The Mississippi Civil Rights Movement: A Bibliography of Oral Histories. Hattiesburg, MS: One House Pub. Co., 1997. Call Number: Z1361 N39 M56 1997.
Nicholas Von Hoffman. Mississippi Notebook. New York: D. White, [1964]. Memoir of journalist in Mississippi in 1964. Call Number: E185.61 V75.
Margaret Walker. On Being Female, Black, and Free: Essays by Margaret Walker, 1932-1992. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1997. Mississippi author. Call Number: E185.92 W35 1997.
Edward Carey Walthall. The Race Problem in Politics. Speech of Hon. E.C. Walthall, of Mississippi, in the Senate of the United States, August 27, 1888. Washington, DC: 1888. Call Number: JK1929 M7 W3.
Anthony Walton. Mississippi: An American Journey. New York: A.A. Knopf, 1996. Call Number: F350 N4 W35 1996.
Norma Watkins. The Last Resort: Taking the Mississippi Cure. Jackson, MS: University Press of Mississippi, 2011. Memoir. Call Number: CT275 W32826 A3 2011.
Thomas E. Watson. The African. Clarksdale, MS: Paul Clark, [1956]. Originally printed in 1912. Call Number: E185.61 W3.
Dolphus Weary. I Ain't Comin Back. Wheaton, IL: Tyndale House Publishers, 1990. African American minister from Mendenhall, Mississippi. Call Number: BX6455 W43 A3 1990.
Ida B. Wells-Barnett. Crusade for Justice: The Autobiography of Ida B. Wells. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, [1970]. Call Number: E185.97 B26 A3 1970.
Ida B. Wells-Barnett. On Lynchings. Amherst, NY: Humanity Books, 2002. Content originally published 1892-1900. Call Number: HV6457 B37 2002.
J.H. White. A Noted Negro Educator Speaks for Mississippi. [Mound Bayou, MS: 1956]. Segregation. Call Number: LC2802 M7 W45.
Milton R. White. Life and Racial Conditions in the Delta. [1937]. Call Number: F347 D38 W45 1937.
Karl Wiesenburg. The Oxford Disaster...Price of Defiance. Pascagoula, MS: [The Chronicle], 1962. University of Mississippi integration riot. Call Number: E185.61 W7.
Curtis Wilkie. Dixie: A Personal Odyssey through Events that Shaped the Modern South. New York: Scribner, 2001. Mississippi journalist. Call Number: F216 W55 2001.
J. Rice Williams. Segregation. Pontotoc, MS: 1950]. Call Number: E185.61 W732 1950.
John Bell Williams. Interposition, the Barrier against Tyranny: Speech of Representative John Bell Williams (D-Miss) in the United States House of Representatives, January 25, 1956. Montgomery, AL: Citizens' Councils of Alabama, [1956]. Segregation. Call Number: E185.61 W735 1956.
John Bell Williams. Where Is the "Reign of Terror": Racial Differences: Speech of Hon. John Bell Williams of Mississippi. [Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1956]. Call Number: E185.61 W634 1956.
John D. Williams. The University and Integration: An Address before the Commonwealth Club of California by John D. Williams, Chancellor of the University of Mississippi. University, MS: 1963. Typewritten manuscript. Call Number: LD3411.8 W5.
John D. Williams. The University and Integration: An Address Given at the Commonwealth Club of California, San Francisco, California, Feb. 21, 1963. University, MS: Program for a Greater University of Mississippi, 1963. Call Number: LD3411.8 W5a.
John Sharp Williams. Chinese Problem on the Pacific -- The Negro Problem in the South -- Race Problems Generally -- Race Feeling a Conclusion of Induction -- Defense of Mississippi Constitution...Speech of Hon. John S. Williams of Mississippi in the House of Representatives, Monday, March 31, 1902. Washington, DC: 1902. Call Number: E185 W75.
Mary Winstead. Back to Mississippi: A Personal Journey through Events that Changed America in 1964. New York: Theia, 2002. Tracing a family's history of racism and connection to the 1964 murders of Andrew Goodman, Michael Schwerner, and James Chaney. Call Number: F345 W55 2002.
Frank G. Woodworth. The Kind and Scope of Education Needed for the Colored Race. A Paper Read Before the Mississippi State Teachers' Association (White) in December, 1892. Call Number: LC2801 W6 K5.
Moses Wright. How I Escaped from Mississippi. Chicago, IL: Johnson Pub. Co., 1955. Article in Jet about Emmett Till. Call Number: E185.61 W75 1955.
Simeon Wright. Simeon's Story: An Eyewitness Account of the Kidnapping of Emmitt Till. Chicago: Lawrence Hill Books, 2010. Call Number: E185.93 M6 W83 2010.
James Yates. Mississippi to Madrid: Memoir of a Black American in the Abraham Lincoln Brigade. Seattle, WA: Open Hand Pub., 1989. Call Number: E185.97 Y38 A3 1989.
Year Book of the Division of Negro Schools of the Jackson Public School System (and Jackson Business Enterprise and Professional Directory). Jackson, MS: 1931. Call Number: LC2803 J32 Y4.
