Search Guides

Chemistry and Biochemistry

SciFinder Help

SciFinderⁿ provides a wealth of training materials.

The most common error message you’ll see when trying to access SciFinder is "Not Authorized from this IP address"

Try logging on using the link from the Libraries website: https://olemiss.edu/cgi-bin/library/scifinderwb.pl

If you’re working from home make sure your VPN is working correctly

If you’re still running into issues try clearing your browser cache, cookies, and history. Once they are cleared connect through the Libraries website. If that fails try using a different browser. Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge are all supported.

If you are still unable to access SciFinder please contact libadmin@olemiss.edu and we can help pinpoint the problem.

Still have questions?

Check out our SciFinder LibGuide.

Journal Abbreviations

Use these links to help you decipher abbreviated journal titles.

All that JAS
Interdisciplinary list of abbreviations.
CalTech Library
Abbreviations for science and engineering titles.
CASSI Source Title Index
American Chemical Society abbreviations.
Genamics Journal Seek
Broad and interdisciplinary.
MathSciNet
American Mathematical Society includes journal abbreviations.
NLM Catalog
National Library of Medicine journals database.
UC Berkeley Library
Biology and chemistry journal abbreviations.

Databases for searching the chemical literature

ACS Journals

Provides abstracts and full text for all journals produced by the American Chemical Society.
Annual Reviews

Provides full text access to volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical/life, physical and social sciences.
Dissertations & Theses: University of Mississippi

Provides access to the citations and abstracts, as well as full text when available, for dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at the University of Mississippi.
Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
SciFinder-n

A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
Individual accounts are required. Click here to register.
Scopus
Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities. Scopus does not test or support Mac/IoS Devices. Scopus recommends IE 8 or higher, Chrome or Firefox.
WebCSD
WebCSD is the online version of the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD). The database records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds.
JoVE Unlimited: Video Journal

JoVE Unlimited Video Journal is the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal which publishes experimental techniques in a visual format.

Databases for searching chemical patents

SciFinder-n

A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
Individual accounts are required. Click here to register.

US Patent and Trademark Database
U.S. Patents
Espacenet European Patents
Patentscope Worldwide Patents
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.

Tools & Gadgets

Visit our Tools & Gadgets page to see all that we have to offer to make your library research easier.

UMissMe
A bookmarklet that you install in your browser that will rewrite the link of the page you are on so that you can log in via the libary's proxy server to show that you are a member of the UM community.