General Databases
Databases covering a wide variety of English language and literature subjects.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe standard source for information on articles about English, literature, and literary criticism. WARNING: most articles are not full-text.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source for articles on literature and literary criticism, among other fields. A good place to find articles older than 1980.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA selective database including some of the most prestigious journals in the area of literary criticism, among others.
-
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowA good source for literary criticism and the full texts of some poems, plays, and prose.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowAlso known as the OED; the most comprehensive dictionary and word history resource for the English language.
-
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
Early English and Medieval Databases
Databases specialized in pre-1800 English resources.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowAlso known as ECCO; includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the UK, and many from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
-
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowAlso known as EEBO; the full text of 125,000 books published in English before 1700.
-
Early English Books Online: Text Creation Partnership This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text of EEBO from the University of Michigan.
-
Dictionary of Old English Corpus This link opens in a new windowA complete record of surviving Old English texts.
-
Dictionary of Old English: A to Le This link opens in a new windowThe vocabulary and usage of English from the years 600-1150. Links to the Oxford English Dictionary. Further letters beyond G are added as the project progresses.
Prose and Poetry Resources
-
American Poetry This link opens in a new windowPoems by American poets from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries with criticism and biographical information. Part of Literature Online (LION).
-
African American Poetry This link opens in a new windowPoems by African American poets 1800-present. Part of Literature Online.
-
NoveList This link opens in a new windowSearchable subject terms, reviews, and notes for over 135,000 fiction titles.
-
Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowDetailed indexing for over 100,000 short stories, with full text for thousands of them.
Related Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowGeneral database with good subject coverage across all fields.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text access to more than 1,200 journals in many areas of the humanities, including English and literature.
-
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new windowDetailed information on journals including peer review status and frequency of publication. WARNING: not a full-text database.
