Statista

Step 1: Go to libraries.olemiss.edu.

Scroll past the image until you see the UM Libraries search box. At the bottom of the box, the third option from the left is "Databases." Click on "Databases." 

Step 2: The database A-Z page.

Now that you are on the database A-Z page, click on "S" and scroll down the list of "S" databases until you find Statista.

Step 3: Begin your search in the default search box.

To search for statistics in Statista being at the search box in the center of the homepage. For this example, we will search for "social media."

Step 4: The Results Page

On the results page, you will see different types of statistics and reports. You can filter by content type, location, and more using the Refine Your Search box options on the right below the search bar.

Step 5: Click on a result.

Results with the blue icon are single statistics and are the most common type of result found in Statista. 

Step 6: Each result will list the original source and details of the statistic.

To the right of the chart you will see a box that lists, Source, Details, and FAQ.

Source

This section is open by default and provides details on the original source of the information in the chart. The Source Link will often take you to the original document, report, or website for the information used in the chart. 

Details

You will need to click on Details to option this section. It provides the methodology for the information in the chart. This section can be particularly useful if you are looking at survey or poll data.

Step 7: Downloading.

To the right of the chart and above the source box, you will see the download options for each statistic. Most statistics can be downloaded as a PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.

Step 8: Settings options.

Between the chart and the download box are various settings icons that allow you to change the charts type, share, get a citation, and print.. 

Gear

The gear or settings icon will allow you to change the chart type. The options are bar, line, or table.

Share

The share icon allows you to share the statistic via social media, email, or get an embed code. The email option is to the far right.

Cite

The quotation mark icon provides a citation for the statistic in APA, Chicago, or MLA format. Simply click on the dropdown box to see all citation options.

Print

The print icon allows you to print the statistic.

You are welcome to share any of this information with others. If you are a librarian or educator, you are welcome to use this guide and its contents for your own purposes.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.