Social Work

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Includes America’s ongoing conversation on race and historic changes; such as Barack Obama’s election, the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.

Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy resources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Indexes journals about Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the US.

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.

Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library.

Social science article database with an emphasis in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.

Premier source for articles in psychology. Provides access to articles in 2,450 scholarly journals in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Also includes books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Offers comprehensive coverage of socal work and related, disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Women's Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America

Full text coverage of general news, business, legal, government and other topics.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.

UM Libraries has partnered with the Friends of the Library, Croft Institute for International Studies, School of Journalism, Sally Barksdale Honors College, Law Library, School of Education, and Department of Writing and Rhetoric to provide access to the web edition of the New York Times.

All new users must:

1. Visit the New York Times using this link: http://nytimes.com/passes
2. Create a New York Times account using your University of Mississippi email address

The subscription is All Access, providing all UM students, faculty, and staff with access to:

• NYTimes.com, including mobile app
• New York Times in Education
• Learning Network
• Games
• Cooking
• Audio
• Wirecutter
• Athletic

For detailed instructions on creating an individual account, please see our New York Times LibGuide.

The New York Times Web Edition is provided through a partnership with the Croft Institute for International Studies, Department of Writing and Rhetoric, Friends of the Library, Grisham Law Library, Sally McDonald Barksdale Honors College, School of Education, School of Journalism, and the University of Mississippi Libraries.

Online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to modern and historical census data and demographic information. Users can access this resource as a guest or create a Social Explorer account.

Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions.

One of the world's largest repositories of social science data and documentation. Topics covered include sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime, minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations.
Personal account required to download some datasets

A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.

Visual platform that enables users to browse the University Libraries' full-text scholarly journal subscriptions by subject area.

Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, particularly political and social issues.

Open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.

Includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Beginning August 1, 2024 Artstor's content is now accessed on JSTOR. 

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.

Comprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities. Scopus does not test or support Mac/IoS Devices. Scopus recommends IE 8 or higher, Chrome or Firefox.

A cooperative catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Worldcat is also available through FirstSearch here.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see WorldCat's blog.

Academic Video Online provides access to more than 63,000 videos. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.

Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video services for libraries that provides you an easy way to watch movies and documentaries whenever you want, on the convenience of your own device. The library does not subscribe to all of the titles available on Kanopy.

Searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Anyone with access to the video library can create clips and store them in the Video Library. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles.

Swank Motion Pictures is a streaming video platform for feature films. Only titles the library subscribes to are available.