- University of Mississippi Libraries
- Library Guides
- Physics & Astronomy
- Physics and Astronomy Resources
Search Guides
Physics & Astronomy
Databases for searching patents
-
US Patent and Trademark DatabaseU.S. Patents
-
Patentscope Worldwide PatentsThe World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.
Grant Information
-
Pivot Funding OpportunitiesFrom Community of Science. A searchable database including research grants across many disciplines.
-
Grants.govGovernment-wide source for information about more than 800 grant programs across all 26 federal grant-making agencies.
-
Sigma XiGrants in aid of research.
Video Resources
-
Academic Video Online @ ProQuest This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online provides access to more than 63,000 videos. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive titles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the ProQuest Research Assistant FAQ.
-
JoVE Unlimited: Science Education This link opens in a new window JoVE Unlimited - Science Education includes simple video demonstrations for teaching scientific fundamentals
-
Interactive Video-Enhanced Tutorials Interactive Video-Enhanced Tutorials are online activities that combine videos of real instructors who guide students through an expert-like problem-solving process with a series of required questions that prompt students to interact with the material.
Image: Carina Nebula by NASA's James Webb Space Telescope
Physics and Astronomy Databases
-
ArXivOpen access to millions of e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.
-
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data SystemA digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
-
INSPIREOpen access digital library for the field of high energy physics
-
CERN Document ServerArticles, reports and multimedia content in high energy physics
-
Mathematical Physics Preprint ArchiveAn electronic archive for research papers in mathematical physics and related areas
-
INSPEC This link opens in a new windowContains abstracts and indexes to the world's scientific and technical literature in the physical sciences, communications, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, and computer science.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowProvides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as in the arts and humanities. Scopus does not test or support Mac/IoS Devices. Scopus recommends IE 8 or higher, Chrome or Firefox.
-
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new windowMirroring the growth and direction of science for a century, the Handbook, now in its 93rd edition, continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting tables of data, its usefulness spans every discipline. This edition includes 17 new tables in the Analytical Chemistry section, a major update of the CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants and updates to many other tables. The book puts physical formulas and mathematical tables used in labs every day within easy reach.
-
JoVE Unlimited: Video Journal This link opens in a new window
JoVE Unlimited Video Journal is the leading peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal which publishes experimental techniques in a visual format.
Data and Images
-
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic DatabaseA comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications
-
CDS PortalA mashup application which provides a single entry point to search and access the different CDS services including SIMBAD, VizieR, Aladin, and a number of other tools
-
SIMBAD Astronomical DatabaseProvides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system
-
Astronomy Image ExplorerA convenient and efficient tool for researchers working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics to gain access to images published in peer-reviewed journals
-
HEPDataA repository for publication-related high-energy physics data
-
Webb ImagesThis page contains slideshow galleries of Webb's latest science images as well as curated galleries of other specific topics.
Subject Guide
Science Library Chat
Journal Abbreviations
Use these links to help you decipher abbreviated journal titles.
-
All that JASInterdisciplinary list of abbreviations.
-
CalTech LibraryAbbreviations for science and engineering titles.
-
CASSI Source Title IndexAmerican Chemical Society abbreviations.
-
Genamics Journal SeekBroad and interdisciplinary.
-
MathSciNetAmerican Mathematical Society includes journal abbreviations.
-
NLM CatalogNational Library of Medicine journals database.
-
UC Berkeley LibraryBiology and chemistry journal abbreviations.
Creative Commons
Physics & Astronomy LibGuide by University of Mississippi Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.