Back to olemiss.edu

Interlibrary Loan

Using Interlibrary Loan to Request Full-Text Articles

Step 1: No full-text option? Use "Citation Online" instead. 

If you are searching one of our databases for articles, you may notice sometimes we have access to the full-text article and sometimes we do not. When the Library does not have full-text access, you will see a "Citation Online" link instead of a PDF direct link or other "Full Text Online" link. To request an article, click Citation Online. 

citation only

Step 2: The "Find It!" button

If you are in a library database that does not show the "Citation Online" option, but does not list an option for full-text. You may see a red button labeled "Find It!" You can choose this option to request an article. 

Item 3 from the results list

Step 3: Submit ILL Request 

After choosing either "Citation Online" or "Find It!" you will be directed to a page that allows you to request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This page may have a link to "Submit Interlibrary (ILL) Request" or "Request." Both will take you to the login page for Interlibrary to finalize the request. ILL can deliver electronic articles within 48 hours for FREE to your ILLiad account.

citation request

Step 4: Login to ILLiad.

Enter your Ole Miss WebID and password and click Logon to Illiad. Remember, your entire Ole Miss email is NOT your username. 

Step 5: Article Request Form.

Once logged in, you should notice that the article request form has automatically populated with the article's information. Click Submit Request at the bottom of the form to proceed.

submit ILL request page

 

If you do not see Submit Request , close out the cookie request message "Got it" on the right side. 

 Select "Got It" to close the cookie page and see the submit button

Step 6: Submission complete.

After submitting your request, you will be taken to a page that shows all of your ILL requests. You will be emailed when your article is available to download. Remember to download your articles when you receive them. The ILLiad platform deletes articles after 30 days. 

Attribution and Sharing

You are welcome to share any of this information with others. If you are a librarian or educator, you are welcome to use this guide and its contents for your own purposes.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

  • Last Updated: Dec 4, 2025 9:03 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.olemiss.edu/ill
  • Print Page