Search Guides
Fannie Lou Hamer
Digital Archives
-
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist and Woman This link opens in a new windowContains more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items by or about Fannie Lou Hamer--all digitized.
-
SNCC Digital GatewayOutstanding digital archives. Features high quality audio of Fannie Lou Hamer interviews and speeches, transcripts in her handwriting and other digital object. The information on the pages in well written and reliable. Highly recommended.
-
Fannie Lou Hamer, Civil Rights Digital LibraryA collection of links to reliable websites with digitized information related to Fannie Lou Hamer.
UM Archives & Special Collections
-
Fannie Lou Hamer CollectionMaterial dating from 1965-1978 related primarily to Hamer's work promoting African American voting rights and candidates as well as her involvement in various organizations.
-
Contested-Election Case of Fannie Lou Hamer v. Jamie L. Whitten, from the Second Congressional District of Mississippi, Eighty-Ninth CongressCall Number: KF4977 W45 H3 1965
(Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1965). -
Ed King CollectionKing was a fellow member of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, and his papers include a folder specifically on Hamer (Box 1, Folder 8).
-
Jamie L. Whitten CollectionIn 1964, Hamer challenged Whitten for his seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. Although her name did not appear on the ballot, Hamer and other members of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party filed a formal challenge with Congress protesting the seating of the state's five white congressmen on the basis that whites had excluded African Americans from participation in the primary and general elections. Series 13 contains files devoted to the campaign and election contest in Congress.
-
Katallagete/James Y. Holloway CollectionThe files of this publishing archive for a journal of moderate and liberal southern churchmen includes correspondence by and about Hamer as well as drafts of an article written by Hamer (Box 5).
-
Mississippi Politics CollectionIncludes a 1964 campaign poster for Lyndon B. Johnson as well as Hamer and other Mississippi Democratic Freedom Party candidates for Congress (Oversized Box 1).
-
Voices of the Civil Rights Movement: Black American Freedom Songs, 1960-1966Call Number: M1670 S55
An LP record album that includes the voice of Hamer. . (Washington, DC: Smithsonian Collection).
Primary Source Databases
-
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new windowThe Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century includes primary source material from federal agencies, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries relating to the Civil Rights movement in the latter half of the twentieth century.
-
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional publications including Congressional research and hearings from 1789 to the present, linking to full text when available.
-
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new windowThe NAACP Papers collections contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country.
Image from Mississippi Digital Library. Student voice, Vol. 5 no. 13; 2 June 1964.
Image from Congressional Publications database
Historical Newspapers and Magazines
-
Chicago Defender, 1910 - 1975 This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond Chicago. This database offers downloadable PDFs from each issue in published for the entire run of the newspaper, from 1910 to 1975.
Image from the Chicago Defender
-
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers published by or for African Americans in 35 states from 1827 to 1998. Funded by the Dr. Gerald W. Walton Endowment.
-
Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 This link opens in a new window
The Pittsburgh Courier was an African-American weekly newspaper published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.