ENG 462: Special Topics in the Global South

Generally contains more citations than full-text articles, and may need an interlibrary loan to complete, but a good source of subject terms.

An excellent source for articles, but contents are generally more than 5 years old and do not have good subject tagging.

A good source of full-text articles with an idiosyncratic interface.

LION is a grab bag of sources, but many of then can't be found anywhere else.

A peerless source for word history and etymology. Skews heavily toward British usage, but makes a game attempt at American usage.

A slightly more focused database search compared to OneSearch, with a good cross-section of popular and scholarly topics.

Contains articles in the wider humanities (EG art, theater, or music).

A good source on the culture and history of the United States and Canada.

Despite its northern city of origin, the Defender was one of the preeminent African-American newspapers of its day with detailed coverage of the Deep South.

Ignore its problematic title; this is a good source of articles from newspapers and other publications from the "ethnic and minority press" in the United States.

A good introductory source of reference books, historical encyclopedias, and history periodicals. More broad than America: History and Life and also includes some primary sources.

Important/historically significant LGBT periodicals, newspapers, and books.

While our coverage ends in 2014, the Times remains a great source for goings-on starting in 1851. Includes reviews and weekly news magazines from the Times as well.

Don't look for this archive to contain anything after 9/11, but it's a great source for mid-century content and a good counterpart to the Times and the Defender.