DS 094: Integrated English and Reading

Databases to help you find and research a topic

One Search
Unified discovery service that searches the library catalog, article databases, electronic resources, digital collections and more from one search box.

Academic Search Premier
A fulltext database spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.
CQ Researcher

Contains original, comprehensive reports and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is part of CQ Collections.
Statista

Statista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
This database includes an AI powered tool. For more information see the Statista Research AI information page.

Google - Use Limiters
You can limit to government sites using .gov or educational sites by using .edu. Example: site*.edu "smoke-free campus" would search all university and college websites for mentions of these keywords.
Topic Guides
Look through other topic guides created by librarians at UM. From "Contextualization at UM" to "Human Experimentation & UFOs," we cover a lot of ground.
The Daily Mississippian
Browse the DM newspaper archives for topic ideas.

Time:	Day of event	Days later	Weeks later	Months later	Years later
Sources	Television, radio, web	Newspapers, TV, radio, web	Popular and mass market magazines	Trade magazines and scholarly journals	Scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings Reference sources such as encyclopedias
Type of information	General: who, what, where (usually not why)	Varies, some articles include analysis, statistics, photographs, editorials, opinions	Still in reporting stage, general, editorial, opinions, statistics, photographs Usually no bibliography at this stage	Research results, detailed and theoretical discussion Bibliography available at this stage	In-depth coverage of a topic, edited compilations of scholarly articles relating to a topic General overview giving factual information Bibliography available
Author	Journalists	Journalists	Journalists: usually not specialists in field	Specialists and scholars in the field	Specialists and scholars in the field
Audience	General public	General public	General public to knowledgeable layperson	Scholar, specialists, students	General public to specialists Scholars, students, laypersons
Locating tools	Web search tools, social networks	Web search tools, newspaper and periodical databases	Web search tools, newspaper and periodical databases	General and subject-specific databases	Library catalog, general and subject-specific databases Library reference collection

Credit: Virginia Tech Libraries

Subjects: *Course Guides